PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from stewart pounds
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 23, 2014 @ 04:37 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
stewart pounds

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)







25
Beer Reviews from stewart pounds
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Bo's Brewery and Bistro, Pontiac, MI

No longer brewing their own beer. Good seletion of other micro brews

(02/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

I'm not sure what set Rob off, but I’ve been a home brewer for nearly 25 years. I also belong to a local brew club and have samples my share of micro brews over the years. Everyone in our club considers the Redwood Lodge to be above average. They always have a large selection of great beers many of which are dark and bold, so I’m not sure where this “yellow and fizzy” comment comes from. So if you’re in the Flint area stop by and see Joe in the Old Sequoia Lounge and try a sample of their beers. If you don’t like them you can move on with nothing lost. Another recent improvement is the addition of ½ off appetizers during social hour. They have great food and this is a chance to try some out on the cheap. I feel the Redwood has come a long way since they opened. There not perfect, I feel they should have a red beer as a regular and there food is not cheap, but it’s very high in quality. I do believe the Redwood doesn’t deserve all this negativity; I’ve met a lot of great people and had many good times there. Just my 2 cents

(09/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Taps Sports Bar, Grand Rapids, MI

Went in on a Saturday, Waited till 4, cause there website showed a happy hour from 4 till 7. The waitress told us that happy hour was only during the week and didn't seem to care when we told her of the miss information on there website. All and all the place was nice. Pints run around $4.

(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Firkin and Fox, Burton, MI

Great little place connected to a hotel. Great specials Tuesday Taco's $.39, Wednesdays Wings $.25 & $2 pints of New Castle Brown Ale. From Noon to 6:30 Mugs are the same price as pints. After 10 stops you get to keep the mug. We go often. Try to set at the bar, the help’s great.

(12/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Old Boys' Brew House, Spring Lake, MI

Group of 4 had an early dinner on Saturday. The place was still slow when we arrived. Lisa D. was our server, it started out well. She recommended a Spinach dip appetizer, which was good. It came right out nice and hot with good chips. But then out comes the salads before we could finish out Appetizer and that’s when I should have slowed her down. Hindsight is 20-20. Right behind our salad came the main course. To late now we basically had all our food setting in front of us at once. I'm not about to complain and have them take our dinners back and hold them, I've seen the movies. The beers were average, but over priced as was the food. $4+ pints, $9 burger advertised as a ½ pound but it seemed small with a small side of fries. A frozen mixed drink went for $8. All in all it seemed overpriced and nothing special. I won’t be back, except maybe in the summer when there deck is open and its happy hour.

(12/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Liberty Bar, Pontiac, MI

Great little place, with a great beer menu. Friendly service and great food menu. Very resonable prices

(11/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Sanford Lake Bar and Grill, Sanford, MI

Stopped by on a Saturday afternoon, the place was slow, setting up for a Halloween party. They had 1 beer brewed on premise. The waitress told us it just when on for the party. The beer was called Witch’s Brewm. It was a dark lager, it was very smooth and clean tasting, suspiciously tasted like Michelob Amber Bock. We didn't eat but the place was homey and friendly. The prices were very reasonable. We'll stop back next time through.

(10/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Sherwood Brewing Company, Shelby Township, MI

My wife and I stopped by and checked out the new brewery. As the web site sez it’s located in a strip mall. Inside you feel like you’re in a strip mall, nothing fancy. There beer and wine selection was good. My wife had the wine sampler and found she enjoyed most of there wines. The only one she wasn’t sure of was the “Sugar & Spice” Although it was not bad, it was just a taste she did not prefer. I had the IPA and the Amber. The IPA had a great hop taste and aroma, could have been hopper. It did seem a little thin, so if it was hopper without being a little thicker it probably would have been out of balance. This beer seemed like it just finished a little low. Maybe different yeast would be the ticket. The amber was great, nice hops, good color, perfect finish. This beer had the maltyness that the IPA needed. As for the food we had the Asiago Cheese & Olive Bites and the Basket of Tortilla Chips with humus. Both were very good the humus was excellent although it would have been nice if they fried there own chips. All and all being this is a new establishment I think they rate a 7 out of 10. With a little fine tuning hopefully they will survive. Good luck guys, we’ll be back.

(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Quay Street Brewing Company, Port Huron, MI

My wife and I spent the weekend in Port Huron; the tall ships were in town. We stopped in several times, once for dinner and once for lunch. On both stops the service was great and the Pale and Cream ale were also very good. Besides the beer being good and reasonably priced, I was impressed with how fresh and tasty there salads were. Another plus is if your traveling by boat you can tie up along side there pub and wait on your boat for a table.

(08/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Stopped by on 5/26. They were serving a selection of microbrews from other brewers, due to the fact there moving down the street closer to Ybor Central. They had drained there serving tanks for the move. Hope there up and brewing on my next stop.

(05/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Dark Horse Brewing Company, Marshall, MI

Nice down to earth brewpub good food at reasonable prices. If the're busy you might have to wait a bit for food. I guess I’ll have another beer. Overall I wish I lived closer, Great Place

(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Lumber Barons' Charcoal Grill and Brew Pub, Bay City, MI

Stopped by on a slow night, only checked out the cigar lounge. It was quite nice; they converted the old horse stalls in the downstairs stable into individual rooms, lots of TV’s. Good selection of reasonably priced cigars. The IPA was nice and clean tasting could have been hoppier. My wife liked the Amber. Still have a happy hour 3-6. Worth the stop. Hope they can make a go of it. Good Luck

(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Schmohz Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Your average taproom, with above average beer. Pints priced at $3.25, below average, which is good. No food so BYO. Over all I liked it and will surely return. If you don't need all the frills of a fancy brewpub or the high prices this is the place. Just good beer and folks who appreciate it

(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Black Mountain Brewing Company at Cave Creek, Cave Creek, AZ

Not at all impressed! Seems their main concern is brewing that God-Awful Chili beer for the tourists. The place seemed dirty and the menu had us going across the street to a great Mexican Cantina. Get the sampler its more than enough to feed 2.

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Scottsdale, AZ

Great place, The IPA was very good, as was their stout. The help was very helpful. I wanted to purchase the Stout T-shirt and they didn't have it at this location, Tim the manager called all over town to their other Pubs and had them hold one for me. As Chain Brew Pubs go this is my favorite.

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Jerome Brewery, Jerome, AZ

As stated these is not a brewery, they claimed it cost to much to change their name after the brewing equipment was removed to make more kitchen space. Their beers come from an assortment of microbrewers. Their specialty pizzas were very good, as were their salads. Nice town. Worth the stop if its on the way.

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

WOW, whata town, the wife and I stopped through to sample the beers and enjoyed the brewery and town so much we had to stay an extra night. Stayed at the St. Michael across the street, very cool 100-year-old hotel. As for Prescott Brewery the beers were very clean and right on style. The head brewer, Jan, was very tentative, yaked to us for at least ½ hour. The food was also very good and reasonable. Great happy hour $2 pints. Also gotta go to the Palace Bar across the street. It’s more like a museum then bar.

(05/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Elevator Brewery and Draught Haus, Columbus , OH

Great place, Very cool old building. Good beer selection. Tried the IPA, very good a little light on the hops but still good. Wife loved the Red and stout. Best brew pub in Columbus.

(03/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

Their beer seems to change. Although most are very good the IPA goes back and forth in strength. The serving room is nothing special, free peanuts. Beer seems a little pricey. Their little taproom can't have too much overhead. So why not drop their pints back to $3 or have a daily happy hour?

(03/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Frankenmuth Brewery, Frankenmuth, MI

Good beer selection, but there's something going on with there beers, might be a mild infection or to much sanitizer in their rinse. Although I asked to have my glass rinsed before my next beer, it didn't seem to help. The place is beautiful and a great location. We went on a Tuesday night they have a special Burger and a beer $7 and all beer is $2 from 3 till close, great deal. We'll be back

(03/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

Great place! Happy Hour 4-7, 7-Days $2 pints and cheap appetizers. The IPA was awesome.

(03/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

I thought the IPA was great and the wife liked the Raspberry Wheat. Happy Hour 4-7 $2 pints and cheap appetizers. Very nice place, can’t wait to get back.

(03/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

While the beer was good and service OK. $1 for a Mico brew is great. But the bar was pooly kept and smelled of sour beer. Not worth the walk.

(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

Only had 3 of there beers, ESB, IPA and there Red. All were to sweet,like the yeast had pooped out. The IPA was also way under hopped. The Red and ESB were OK except for the final gravity was to high causing sweetness. I've been a all Grain home Brewer for 8 years. The menu looked nice as well as the atmosphere.I hope they get a handle on the process.

(12/20/2001)














(0.315 seconds) 16:37:32 54.166.53.169, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS