PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from steven g.
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 31, 2014 @ 05:24 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
steven g.

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from steven g.
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Borinquen Grill and Brewing Company, Carolina, PR

They are closed. Luckily, a new brewpub has opened in Old San Juan. It is also listed on Pubcrawler

(07/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Prairie Rock Brewing Company, Schaumburg, IL

Curt Spindler wishes that they would open up a branch in Waukegan, IL

(06/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Cheshire Cat, Arvada, CO

I had a superb Cask Conditioned ESB. It was smooth, creamy and well balanced yet hoppy. My order of Lamb was messed up and I got pork instead. I did not complain because it was an excellent dish.

My only complaint is that they do not sell logo pint glasses. The Cat is on my list for when I return to the area.

(06/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

Bill Madden has left the building. Translation, the brewer has left for other pursuits. Damm, he is probably one of the most gifted brewers on the East Coast. I just hope that he can find a suitable venue.

(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, West Chester, PA

If this place is like the one in Newark DE it must be excellent.

Hey Tubby impersonator, you don't even come close to the legendary Tubby Raymond, football coach. You do not offer anything constructive.

(01/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Franklin's, Hyattsville, MD

A most excellent Brewpub. The IPA was superb, lucious floral hop notes and well hopped but not to an excess. My wife, primarly a Stout drinker, stole my IPA when I was not looking. She could not get over how great it was. The stout was very good but not outstanding. I ate the Beef Sheperds pie which was excellent and had just the right amount of spice.We will definetly return soon.

The general store is very interesting and eclectic. It reminded me of 5&10 stores when I was a kid. Lots of neat candies and fun toys and interesting knicknacks.

In summary, this place has all of the elements of a great brewpub; excellent beer, good food and the place is very well designed and interesting.

(06/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Borinquen Grill and Brewing Company, Carolina, PR

This is, to the best of my knowledge, Puerto Rico's first brewpub. Puerto Rico is dominated bt Coors Light. Having said that this is a great place. Yes, the beers tend to be light bodied, but they are fresh, clean and crisp. When we visited in early September the Red Ale was the best selection. The Wheat was a little less than I hoped for. This should be a showcase beer for the tropical climate. The location is only blocks from the Isla Verde beach. Friday nights can be a little loud with a band.

I will definetly return.

(01/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: King Street Blues, Alexandria, VA

A great restaurant with an O.K. beer selection. For great beer go around the corner to a real brewpub, Virginia Beverage Company.

(01/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Downtown Brewing Company, Wilmington, DE

I was impressed. I especialy liked the Pale Ale, hoppy and balanced. The Stout, while being tasty, came across as a little thin. Food was superb. Well done Owen. BTW, I used to patronize Blue-N-Gold the original home of your tanks. Great beer has been brewed in them, keep it up.

(06/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

VBC is not closed and will re-open soon. I received this e-mail from the owner: Steve --

I will post something to the DC-Beer Page.

We had a small (really small) fire in the basement of the restaurant. Nobody was hurt and the building is fine. Jason was scheduled to brew that morning and said he had seen more smoke in the building when the kitchen burned something. Unfortunately, the alarm went off and whenever that happens, the Health Department is called. Since there was smoke in the building, they condemned everything made of plastic, rubber, paper or cork. They made me pour my collection of single malts down the drain along with all the Belgian beers, wines, and liquors. They also made me replace the draft system since it is made from plastic.

Since we are a brewpub, I can't very well sell Bud bottles -- so we decided to close until we can get the new draft system installed. As it happens we have picked up one of the best staffs we have ever had. So instead of just throwing the doors open, we are taking this time to run some staff training and take care of other things that are very difficult when we are open. There is not really a new theme -- just more attention to what we are supposed to be doing in the first place.

We are planning to open Wednesday night. (5/30/01 ?)

Hope to see you around,

Melton McGuire

(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

VBC is CLOSED ! I guess that their good beers could not make up for the lousy service and average food. A cryptic sign out front seemed to indicate that the place will re-open again.

(05/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

My wife said that this is her favorite Brewpub in the entire US of A. The Porter was awesome and the food was outstanding. She brought a group from work and they all loved the place.

(03/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Tuppers' Hop Pocket Brewing Company, Bethesda, MD

This is not a brewery but a beer that is brewed at Old Dominion. One of the best that I have ever had, especially as cask conditioned at the Old Dominion BP. The Pils is also great Maybe pubcrawler could add a list for beers.

(10/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Blue N Gold Brewing Company, Arlington, VA

I saw the tanks being removed from the former BnG and were being placed on a flat bed. Word has it that a bar is coming in that location, but obviously not a BP. The Neon Bird logo is still in the window. That must have cost a mint.

(08/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

The Mecca of beer. Surpassed my expectations. We had a private tour by Jim Fristoe. The place is truly incredible, clean, superb quality control. At the end of the tour the taps were flowing as was the hospitality. Anyone who thinks that micro's are a fad should visit Anchor. The Hop storage room was my favorite.

(06/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

Eclectic atmosphere. Much like you would find in a college pizza joint. The beer is very good. The Stout was smooth and had a smoky finish. The IPA was well hopped and had a crisp finish. Overall, a very good brewpub with pizza and pasta menu.

(05/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Awesome! Good

Establishment: Sweetwater Tavern, Centreville, VA

This is a very good restaraunt but a below par brew pub. Although the Porter is good. Had an IPA that was listed a hoppy. It did not resemble an IPA. The beers tend to be "dumbed down" to a mass audience, unlike those great places that are closed.

(09/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Blue N Gold Brewing Company, Arlington, VA

Word has it that BnG has filed for Chapter 11 because the owner and his wife are going through a divorce. Hopefully, the doors will remain open and the filing is only for legal protection.

(08/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Old Dominion Brewing Company, Dover, DE

This is the place for beer lovers in NoVA. Tuppers Hop Pocket , Real ale cask conditioned. As it should be, beer first rate, food decent. Hard to find but who cares. Across the street from AOL; no wonder they have alot of busy signals. Alot used to sneak out from work to go here. Now I am doing scrub work. Not lots of skirts.

(06/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great So So Great

Establishment: Bardo Rodeo, Arlington, VA

Interesting house brews. Very daring, and good too. The ales are very hoppy and well rounded. The decor reminds me of my around the world trek, and the Dhali Llama. Marion Berry beer is interesting. They can really make some top beers.

(06/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Blue N Gold Brewing Company, Arlington, VA

One of the best east Coast brewpubs. Very interesting selection of beers. Many cask conditioned. Stouts and IPA are tops. I have yet to be disappointed. Only negative are that they open at 4pm weekends (?) knowledgable wait staff. Food prices are reasonable now with some good dishes for the money.

(06/04/1998)














(0.237 seconds) 17:24:40 54.234.0.85, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS