PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from steve tuttle
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 03:01 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
steve tuttle

Beer Reviews
(46)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

46
Beer Reviews from steve tuttle
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tap and Mallet, Rochester, NY

It took over six months to get the Tap & Mallet and my first review of it from 12/7/07 posted on Pubcrawler. That's ridiculous! This site seems to be sliding downhill. Anyway, it's high time I updated my original comments about the service. All the kinks are long gone and the service is consistantly excellent. The Bartenders know the beer and are friendly and attentive. As I said before, this is by far the best beer bar in the region. I haven't been to The Old Toad since the Tap opened and see little reason to go in the future. The beer selection, food, and atmosphere are much better here.

(09/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mill Street Brewery, Toronto, ON

I really wish American hop heads would stop complaining about the lack of "hop bombs" in Canada! The Canadian brewing tradition is closely linked with the British and they make well- balanced, English style beers for the most part, with some unique interpretations of their own. If all you care about is "hop bombs" stay in the US and you'll get plenty! Otherwise try enjoying each countries beers for what they are. Would you go to France and then spend your time looking for American style food and complain that it wasn't like what you get back home? -- or would you appreciate French cusine for all it offers?

(05/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Granite Brewery, Toronto, ON

You're a real piece of work Shaun. Exactly why did you rate everything "lousy"? What's wrong with the Granite's selection? They're a brewpub - aren't five different regular beers plus two real ales enough for you? Didn't you enjoy ANY of their beers? Why not? What else didn't you like and why?

Reviews like yours are no help to anyone. From the way you talk, you sound like an inexperienced young kid with an axe to grind.

(03/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Tap and Mallet, Rochester, NY

Joe McBane's long awaited new pub finally opened in early November and instantly set a new standard for Rochester beer bars. Located in the original MacGregors building in the South Wedge, The Tap & Mallet has about 30 taps featuring a variety of interesting and unusual beers that you won't generally find elsewhere in the area. There is one beer engine for real ales, which rotate quickly. An extensive list of domestic and imported bottled beers is also available. Wine is served but there is no liquor. Over the first few weeks a couple taps have been "wasted" on J.W. Dundee's and Yeungling, but the overall slection is outstanding. Prices are very expensive however, with the cheapest draft at $4.50 per 16oz. pint. and some Belgians and others topping $7 for a smaller glass. The prices would be easier to accept if imperial pints were served. MacGregors uses them, charges less, and still, I'm sure, makes a healthy profit. The food is very reasonable though, with many entrees in the $12-$14 range. The menu is eclectic and several notches above typical pub food.The bangers and mash, unlike the fast food version at the Old Toad, is the equal of what I've had in good English pubs. The interior has been totally redesigned and the atmosphere is somewhat upscale but you'll be comfortable wearing jeans. Thankfully, they seem to be looking for a different clientele than the Alexander/East Av. bars. Most people that go here are interested in quality beers and relaxed conversation and hopefully the lack of hard booze, overly loud music, and TV's will keep it that way. I only rated the service "good" because several friends have had problems getting served in the back room on a couple occasions and at times the bartenders aren't paying close enough attention to those in need of drinks. Hopefully this is due to being new and working out the kinks and I'll soon be able to rate the service "awesome" as well. The bottom line is that The Tap & Mallet is by far the best beer pub in the area!

(12/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Granite Brewery, Toronto, ON

Sorry Doug but you're a little confused. The Granite Brewery is at Eglinton and Mt. Pleasant -- nowhere near the Distillery district. It sounds like you visited the Mill St. Brewery or another bar in the area.

(11/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Awesome! So So

Establishment: Irish Embassy Pub, Toronto, ON

With several great beer bars such as Beer Bistro and Cest'What nearby, why waste your time in this place drinking Guinness, Smithwicks, or mass produced swill like Molsons,etc.? So what if the service and food are great. There are hundreds of restaurants in Toronto that have that. The beer choices here are very ordinary.

(09/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bow and Arrow, Toronto, ON

I'm curious who the unsigned writer below is. I know every craft beer lover in the Geneseo area who has gone to the Bow over the years. It's a small town and those of us who know cask ale and have been there are very few. Who are you and why didn't you identify yourself?

(08/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Only Cafe, Toronto, ON

The Only Cafe is a unique, one of a kind pub that deserves to be an evenings destination.I should have posted it on Pubcrawler before now, since I discovered it several years ago. They have an extensive selection of bottled beers from around the world and a good choice of microbrew draughts. What sets it apart is the funky and unusual interior. The bar area is long and narrow and opens to a larger space to the rear. Two person tables feature cool old lamps of various types and the walls are covered with a crazy mix of photos, posters and art. I really like the laid back atmosphere and the interesting clientele with a wide age range. They have live acoustic music several nights a week and I've been told they serve a great weekend brunch. It's located east of the Greektown area of Danforth Ave. and is easy to get to -- take the Danforth subway to Donlands,then walk right(west)on Danforth. It's just a few doors down. Make an effort to visit and settle in with some great beers for a few hours - you won't be sorry!

(01/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bow and Arrow, Toronto, ON

Things have changed considerably at the Bow since I posted it on Pubcrawler in 1998 so I'm updating my comments. The managing partner who tended the beer with care and skill was ousted in a coup in '03 and things are different now. The Bow continues to be a good beer bar but it has lost some of the characteristics I raved about in my previous reviews. Alot of the "specialness" left with the ousted partner, Keiron Meaney. I still go there to hear Sandy MaCintyre's band Sunday afternoons and it remains a great experience but I no longer feel like part of a family. It's now merely another Toronto pub I enjoy -- which still says alot. The real ales aren't being kept very well and I can't recommend them any longer. I haven't had what I consider a good one there in several years. I had one over New Years that was so bad I poured it out while on the patio(in the parking lot). Should have mentioned it to the staff but just didn't feel like making an issue. They still have plenty of good regular microbrews to choose from. A huge big screen tv in a rear corner now detracts from the overall atmosphere. Times change and so do pubs, but I really miss the way the Bow & Arrow used to be. Do check out the Sun. p.m. music sessions though -- it's tremendous!

(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom, Lombard, IL

I've stopped at The Only Cafe a number of times over the years, usually when I was in the area. I should have posted it here years ago. Better late than never though! This one of a kind place is one of the more interesting and unique pubs in Toronto and deserves to be an evenings destination.It's easy to get to -- get off the Danforth subway at Donlands, turn right(west)on Danforth and it's just a few doors away.

They have a varied list of bottled beers from around the world and 7-8 taps with a good selection of Canadian microbrews. They reportedly have a grest weekend brunch. The atmosphere is really different with lots of old posters and pictures on the walls, old lamps on the tables and an interesting clientele of varied ages. Live acoustic music happens several nights a week. Check this place out - you won't be sorry!

(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Only Cafe, Toronto, ON

I've stopped at The Only Cafe a number of times over the years, usually when I was in the area. I should have posted it here years ago. Better late than never though! This one of a kind place is one of the more interesting and unique pubs in Toronto and deserves to be an evenings destination.It's easy to get to -- get off the Danforth subway at Donlands, turn right(west)on Danforth and it's just a few doors away.

They have a varied list of bottled beers from around the world and 7-8 taps with a good selection of Canadian microbrews. They reportedly have a grest weekend brunch. The atmosphere is really different with lots of old posters and pictures on the walls, old lamps on the tables and an interesting clientele of varied ages. Live acoustic music happens several nights a week. Check this place out - you won't be sorry!

(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C'est What?, Toronto, ON

I've been stopping here for over eight years when I'm in Toronto, but not as often over the last few years. Big mistake! I was here in Oct. and returned this past weekend. What I found was the best real ale in Toronto, including that at Volo, and some of the absolute best I've had anywhere in North America! They have five available. I had two Al's Cask Ales, contract brewed by Durham Brewery, and a Black Oak Pale Ale. Both were phenomenal! They've had real ale for years but no better or worse than several other area pubs. It was decent, but I wasn't overly impressed. What an improvement. Cest What is a tremendous craft beer bar and should be on everyones short list!

(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good

Establishment: The Abbott on the Hill, Toronto, ON

I stopped here last Saturday after seeing the previous unsigned reviews. It's a real nice looking place with lots of wood, candles at night, and a friendly staff. However, I wouldn't make it a special destination if you're a craft beer lover looking for an interesting variety. There are several good bottle choices, including Fullers London Pride and Porter but nothing that isn't available at some other pubs with a much larger selection. The draft selection wasn't very exciting. I had the Shepard's Pie and found it rather bland. I had trouble locating pieces of lamb and couldn't taste it. Other people's dishes I saw looked quite good. This is primarily a beer site though and food should be a secondary consideration. It's worth a stop if you're in the nearby area but I wouldn't make a special trip.

(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Custom Brewcrafters, Honeoye Falls, NY

Mike Alcorn's review may be SLIGHTLY biased -- he's the owner of Custom Brewcrafters. Come on Mike, all "awesomes" and not identifying who you are?? Give us a break!

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Distillery, Rochester, NY

Wretched so-called "brewpub" that rivals only the Syracuse Suds Factory for their watery, insipid, tasteless beers. Add in the loud, undiscriminating,college age patrons and you can understand why serious microbrew drinkers avoid this place like the proverbial plague.

(03/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Elephant and Castle, Toronto, ON

Why anyone would waste their time at this chain pub with a mediocre at best selection of beer is beyond me. There are great,unique pubs serving many microbrews near all the Elephant&Castles. The two on Yonge St. attract the tourists who never venture farther up Yonge than Bloor St. or more than two blocks east or west of it. Even for those timid types there are plenty of alternatives like Cafe Volo, Local 4, The Beer Bistro, and Cest` What. This chain is worthless.

(03/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rebel House, Toronto, ON

It's high time I reviewed the Rebel House since it's one of the best pubs in Toronto and a favorite stop on my frequent trips to this city. I'm surprised there's only one other review here - it deserves better recognition! While the bar itself is small, there is plenty of table seating upstairs as well as on the first floor. The bar attracts an interesting group of beer fans who enjoy the well chosen and always changing range of beers. There's always a lively exchange going on between staff and patrons. I always feel welcome and at home here. The food is WAY beyond typical pub fare and should not be missed. Sunday brunch is great. During good weather, the back patio is one of the best in Toronto. The Rebel House is very easy to get to - take the Yonge St. subway to the Rosedale station and then walk up(north) the left side of Yonge St. a half block.

(03/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Toad, Rochester, NY

Hi Beav -- I don't want to use this site as a personal communication vehicle but how about letting me know when you're coming to Rochester again. I'd enjoy having a couple pints with you and comparing notes on pubs and beers. You can reach me at stevetut@hotmail.com. Maybe Bill Laubert could join us too.

(03/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Toad, Rochester, NY

Some further thoughts on the "authenticity" of the Old Toad - don't get me wrong, I like the pub and it has some great beers - particularly the real ales. Having English staff is a cool feature but the place definitely lacks the essential character of the real thing. Beav and Bill are obviously very knowledgable beer fans, but have you guys ever spent any significant time in a cross section of rural and urban British pubs? If not, what are you basing your your statements on? If so, you should understand my point. Others I've talked with who have traveled in Britain agree with my "issues" with the Toad's claim of being an authentic pub. It's kind of like an "American Diner" I ran into in Vienna a few years ago. It had all the cliche props and trappings, etc. but totally missed the real character of a diner and had a weird, unnatural feel to it. I let it off the hook though because it didn't proclaim itself to be authentic. The Toad does, and hence my gripe. Great real ale though!

(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: City Grill, Toronto, ON

I suspect Joel is an employee or the manager. Why no comments on the pedestrian beer selection? This isn't a restaurant review site. No matter how "great" the food may be, if the beer choices are lame the place shouldn't be listed here. A 5 star restaurant with lousy beer is nothing more than a crappy bar.

(02/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: City Grill, Toronto, ON

I suspect Joel is an employee or the manager. Why no comments on the pedestrian beer selection? This isn't a restaurant review site. No matter how "great" the food may be, if the beer choices are lame the place shouldn't be listed here. A 5 star restaurant with lousy beer is nothing more than a crappy bar.

(02/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Renaissance Cafe, Toronto, ON

My friend and I stopped here for several pints on a Saturday afternoon a couple weeks ago. It's a ways down Danforth about two blocks inbound from the Woodbine subway station on the same side. Great funky, eclectic atmosphere with frequent live music. Good beer selection featuring micros such as Mill Street, Black Oak, etc. A great stop if you're in the area and worth a trip if you feel like doing a Danforth pub crawl

(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Granite Brewery, Toronto, ON

Once again a negative review of he Granite. Makes me wonder if I'm going to the same place! A friend and I were in Toronto again a couple weeks ago and spent several hours there on Sunday afternoon. We both have been into craft beer for years and are knowledgable about it. We have long considered The Granite one of the best pubs in Toronto and love their real ales in particular. As for the several complaints that their beers are weak and bland -- The Granite brews English beers that adhere closely to that style and tradition. As a CAMRA member who has spent many months in Great Britain, I can assure you that Granite's real ales could hold their own at the Great British Beer Festival as well as any good pub. I suspect those who make these complaints are hopheads who's taste in beer has been shaped by overhopped American versions of classic English styles and other extreme types of ales common in North America. If that's your taste, fine, but don't condemn beers that don't conform to it. A British IPA will seem a little weak compared to an American or some Canadian versions but that doesn't mean it's a lousy beer. If you're not experienced with real ale that might be another factor. Cask ales offer subtle nuances that don't overpower your sense of taste like some of our beers do. The cleanliness issue has me puzzled as well. I've probably used the Granite's mens room 30-40 times over the last eight years and always found it very clean and well tended. Flies in the kitchen?? -- how did you close enough to see them? Once again, those considering a first visit to the Granite Brewery should trust the many positive reviews here and enjoy their beers annd food!

(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: BrĂ¼, Rochester, NY

Sorry to report that Bru closed this past weekend. It may reopen in a few months as a beer bar, but not a brewpub. Rochester has lost another great beer establishment.

(10/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Bell in Hand Tavern, Boston, MA

Very mundane beer selection and full of tourists doing the Freedom Trail. The only micro available was Harpoon IPA, which is ok in a pinch but is bland and watery. I don't understand the perspective of those who claim this place has a "great" beer selection.

(09/25/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.317 seconds) 15:01:06 54.145.182.50, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS