PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from steve nostrand
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 30, 2014 @ 09:37 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
steve nostrand

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from steve nostrand
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Belmont Brewing Company, Long Beach, CA

On our pub tour of Southern CA, we stopped here after a positive recommnedation from the Stone Brewery. This was a very good experience: we orderd the sampler as we usually do at a new place to get an idea of the beer quality. Three of the five beers were very good: Stout, Pale Ale and the Amber Ale. Don't bother with the very lite Pils or the flavored beer. Plus the food was excellent and the staff very helpful. The setting here is terrific, right on the sand in southern Long Beach. They has a huge outdoor patio.

(08/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Newport Beach Brewing Company, Newport Beach, CA

On our recent pub tour from Florida we stopped by here. The three of us agreed that the servcie was bad and the beer was good. We had a sampler and found the cream ale and ESB the be the best. They were very good beers. The rest of the selection was only fair, including the stout. This is a very local hang out, we were there Friday afternoon and it wasn't crowded but everyone there knew each other. We were glad we stopped by.

(08/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Abbey Brewing Company, Miami Beach, FL

I have to admit, I am bias. This is our favorite beer bar in Miami and we go all the time. David, the bartender is one of the friendliest guys you will meet. Thier own beers are now brewed, not in Tampa, but up the east coast of Florida by the same brewmaster. It is a great selection. Try the IPA. They have about ten taps half of which are their own beers. I go with a brewmaster from another brewery in town and as he says "the beers are over the top". Higher in alcohol content than most places. This is a charming out of the way place and so much much better than the Titanic which is amateir hour in the beer business.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Yard House, Long Beach, CA

Everytime I visit CA from Florida I go out of my way to go to the Yard House. It has the largest selection of draft beers in the world (210 this last time) and they are always fresh. This extraordinary place has it all: great atmosphere with a large outdoor patio overlooking a marina, a huge menu with food for all desires and above all, great, great beer. It does get very crowded so a wait is the usual for dinner. I tried many local CA beers that were suggested by the very courteous server and had some very special Belgians on tap like Maredsous, Piraat and Gulden Drak (11% ABV). I can't say enough great things about this company and I have no reason to promote them other than spreading the word to beer lovers..VISIT THE YARD HOUSE..you won't forget it.

(06/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Four of us visited from out of town. We found the beer quality very good. We are regular beer drinkers and one is a beer collector. Quality is what we really found here. Most of us had the seasonal Vienna which was a great Lager. ABV around 6, great balance and Joey the manger on duty was extremely helpful. This place, which a little off the beaten path for tourists is worth the trip. Good Job!!

(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Awesome! So So

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant, San Diego, CA

We were dissapointed after hearing that this was "the" local brewery to go to. The beer quality was weak. Everything tasted watery. Final settled for the Red which was the best offering after trying all the beers. They have 5 oz. tasters which is a good idea. The food was good and the service great but we went for the beer. Hit two other places on our trip to San Diego and while this may sound kind of strange, we found the best beer at Gordon Biersch.

(02/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Titanic Brewing Company, Coral Gables, FL

Even in beer-starved Miami, don't waste your time here. Just full of the next door college kids. No serious effort to turn out a quality beer product..too bad because the atmosphere has real promise..sorry. Drive a few miles to Miami Beach and visit the Abbey.

(02/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

One of the best! Three of us went for the first time. We loved it so much we went back two more times during our three day trip. The most impressive aspect is the knowledge of the servers. We asked them dozens of beer questions about their selections and they knew everything including how one beer tased against another and so on. They told us they go through blind taste tests. They have 75 plus on tap and another 80 or so in bottles. We are Belgian fans and we got everything we wanted. Great crowd also and really nice homey, dark wood, pub atmosphere.

(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery at Union Square, New York, NY

Had a very good meal and beer. Selection is very nice. Service is extremely helpful. I will make it a point to visit here when I'm in NY. This is a first rate place. Gets pretty crowded!

(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

Stopped by here just because of the location. Some of the worst so-called beer I've had. Three of us had separate beers and they were all horrible-Don't waste your time-there are plenty of really good beer bars in NY.

(02/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sunset Grill and Tap, Allston, MA

Once in a life-time experience! Couldn't believe how much our server knew about the beers, the hundrds of beers, including Belgians.111 on tap probably hundreds more in bottles. Very good food as well. Don't miss this place. Get their early, it gets very crowded.

(12/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Commonwealth Fish and Beer Company, Boston, MA

Really nice selection. Even though they don't have a sampler, you can taste anything you want. The casks are really good. Nice friendly service. Overall one of the best in Boston even though it was a big place, not your local neighborhood pub.

(12/01/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Seabright Brewery, Santa Cruz, CA

My first visit while I was travelling through to Carmel. Indoor and outdoor seating, beer selection includes all their own brews about 10-12 that I can remember. Unique offerings. fresh beer and very good food.It looks like a busy, young locally supported brew pub.Very nice experience!

(09/19/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Abbey Brewing Company, Miami Beach, FL

Small local pub.Unlike many Miami bars.New England feeling. Terrific beer selection.10-12 on tap including own brews made off premise.Nice variety from Stout to lite largers. 10-12 bottle selection.

(09/19/1997)














(0.199 seconds) 09:37:34 54.161.214.221, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS