PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from steve albrecht
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 21, 2014 @ 03:44 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
steve albrecht

Beer Reviews
(56)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

56
Beer Reviews from steve albrecht
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

Sat at the bar...pretty neat place, they had a model train set going around the bar/restuarant. The bartender was very attentive. Did a sampler first and found all the brews to be very tasty. I particularly enjoyed the Bitter...they also had it on cask. Had a Prime Rib (Out Of This World). The crowd was very friendly too! A MUST GO! when in the area.

(04/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good

Establishment: River City Ale Works, Wheeling, WV

Restuarant they are...as for the brews, only one drinkable and that was the RED. The food was great and service too. Could be the WATER...cause something was going on with the flavor of the brews...kind of chemical tasting.

(03/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Brews were all good...but found the ESB to be the best...NO IPA,they just ran dry. They also ran out of the Growlers so couldn't get one to go. Over-cooked my steak...but redeemed themselves with a Prime Rib out of this world!

(03/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Had a great selection, all brews were very drinkable...especially liked the Barley Wine! Good food and Service. NO GROWLERS TO GO Though :(

(03/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

This was my 2nd visit, this time I brought the rest of the "Brew Krew", Scott and Tim. I'll admit we were definitely impressed with the BP itself, being an old ornate church. It was breathtaking seeing all the stained glass windows throughout the establishment and the towering Brew Vessels at the alter. unfortunately that's where the greatness ended. The brews were OK, but nothing to write home about. Scott and I liked our sandwiches (Beer-Battered Clubs), but Tim had the Fish Sandwich which was somewhat dry. The service was good. Overall the visit was good and just to see the sight is worth one visit.

(07/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

I really liked this place...one thing was their admiration for frogs, they had them all over. I too collect Frog Figures and have them spread thoughout my HomePub. The brews were excellent the only one that didn't grade good was the Miabock which was a little on the weak side and lacked the characteristics of that style. But the other 9 were great. I especially enjoyed the Barley Wine and Abbey Dubbel. The Red was also tasty. The food and service matched.

(07/31/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

A nice rustic appearance with extremely large vats displayed across one whole side of the pub. They had 8 brews on tap and the majority of them were great and true to character. Went there with Scott and Tim, we make up the "Brew Krew" We definitely enjoyed the Scottish Ale and the Kipona Fest. Pale Ale was good but felt the Stout was a little too weak. The service was great and the pizza was very tasty.

(07/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: West Virginia Brewing Company, Independence, WV

The brews were ok, I liked the Blackwater Stout and their seasonal a Blackberry Ale...but the selection wasn't that good with only 3 Signatures and 2 seasonal. The food was good and outside of the Brewing Vessels in view of the patrons, the atmostphere was more like a local country bar. Don't get me wrong though, I've hung out at many "a country bars".

(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, Ellicott City, MD

The brews were pretty good...loved the Miabock and the Marzen! The selection had 7 to choose from and the food was pretty decent. The only downfall to this place was that I'm a smoker and we had to sit down in their basement where the bar was "BatsKeller" and the music was so loud that we could not even have a conversation. Others were talking so loud just to be heard over the music. But I guess that my problem that I still smoke...overall the BP rated "Great". The service was also great and very personable.

(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

The brews were all excellent. I enjoyed the Marzen and Weisen the best. The selection was only 5 brews...so I possible came on a bad day, they had no Bocks :( Nice atmostphere-with brick decor. Didn't try the food, just there for a sampler and a growler to go!

(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Deep Creek Brewing Company, McHenry, MD

Read all the reviews and don't know what I was thinking when I included this on one of my recent BrewTrek...ON SUNDAY! This place can't sell BEER on Sundays and I knew that looking at "Beer Trekker's review. You're right "WHAT A STUPID COUNTY LAW"!!!

(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Columbus, OH

Not Impressed!!! Typical Franchise cashing in on the brew boom. I'll agree that the beers (All 4 of Them) were a notch above the "Big 3", but lacked all characteristics of the finer brews created by elite Brewmasters of the many other Brewpubs across the Country.

(07/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Elevator Brewery and Draught Haus, Columbus , OH

The brews were a little lacking, but all were drinkable. They had a Marzen and a doublebock that I liked the most. They had a large selection of brews on tap...but maybe if they focused on quality and not quantity the brews would have a little more character. The food was good and the service too.

(07/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Stopped in to check out the brews, sat at the bar. When I asked about the different brews on tap, Christie the bartender was quick to describe each one. I must say she was very knowledgeable on the characteristics of each brew, and took her job very serious. I first tried their "Full Moon" Ale, it was a sweet beer with a hint of alcohol at the end and was ever so bitter in the middle with hops. The next was their GlenLenny's Scotch Ale...this one a winner, but when you have Scott Francis as your Brewmaster what else would you serve. Scott's a class-act in his field! They also had a brew call "Stoutasaurus Rex" which was from their Annual Homebrew Competition Winner. Each year they have this competition in which homebrewers can enter their brew, it's judged and the winning recipe gets to be brewed at the Brewpub by the homebrewer and the brewmaster. The Rex was described as an imperial stout and was very tasty. When in town both Barley's Brewpubs are a must!!!

(07/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cincinnati, OH

For a franchise this place had some pretty decent brews, I like the Stout the most. I've been to several of the Rock Bottom BP's and have enjoyed all the visits. The Brewers produce a good product that other franchise brewers lose with growth.

(06/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

Story has it, When this property was first aquired for Breckenridge Brewery, the intention was a bottling facility. But when the announcement that Coors Field was being built in the vicinity...a gold mine opportunity erupted and the adding of the BP was done. I've always been a fan of Breckenridge, their Oatmeal Stout is to die for. I didn't eat there, but my friend did and said it was good.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Oasis Brewery, Boulder, CO

Decorated with egyptian motive, this place had a unique look to it. The brews were good, and the food was outstanding. A definite visit when you're in CO. is in order.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

The "Koop" was the first BP I ever visited sometime in the start of the 90's, and it was the beginning of my BP Quest. From there on I traveled looking for the great brews of the world and cut my ties with the "Big 3". The brews are all exceptional and the Stout and ESB are tops. The Bangers and Mash was my favorite on the Menu. And if you were into a game of pool there were plenty of tables. To me, the "Koop" is probably one of the best BP in the country, and is the best in CO.

(06/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

This place was definitely the best in St.Louis. The brews were exceptional and the food and service complimented them greatly. Reminded me a little of being back in Germany. The Dunkel and Weisse were my favorites. This place was a lot of fun...will definitely stop again when in town!

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Really nifty decor all old wood brought in to decorate the place looked a little like an english pub at the bar. The brews were ok but nothin' to write home about. I did like those Scotch Eggs for my appetizer...gotta try em!

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Boscos Nashville Brewing Company, Nashville, TN

Outside of the service this place was ok. Unfortunately when one go to a restaurant and the service is lousy, that their impression of the whole place. Our waitress was extremely rude and also forgot to put our order in. We waited 20 mins to get our drinks and at the end she throw the check at me because she was frustrated at how her day had been. I did bring this up to the GM and he assured me he would handle the situation accordingly.

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Blackstone Restaurant and Brewery, Nashville, TN

I've been here twice now and both times have been very pleasurable. The brews are outstanding and the food in great and plentiful. Service was exceptional!

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Chattanooga, TN

I only stopped to have a sampler and take a growler to go. All the brews were quite tasty and the atmostphere of the place was rockin' Enjoyed the IPA and ended up taking it in the growler.

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

The Brews and the food are pretty good, I use this place as a mid-way stop to my Mothers house in Northern MI from OH.I particularly enjoy their Russian Stout and Porter.

(06/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

There was a 90 min. wait for a table so I just grabbed a growler of their Porter to go, it was good. Will try to stop again to try their food.

(06/27/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.327 seconds) 15:44:55 54.161.192.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS