PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from stephen magill
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 08:01 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
stephen magill

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from stephen magill
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Venom Pale Ale: Complex and hoppy--the hops were surprisingly strong for 36 IBU. Bad Moon Porter: Big and black with lots of roast malt. 13 Degrees Wheat: Very spicey and clovey (is that redundant?). Darn good. Alchemy Oatmeal Stout: Full roast barley. Smooth. Misfit Red: A good red ale, that's just not my style. Our server was great. The two behind the bar were downright rude. Our server was very attentive. I went to ask a question at the bar and the barmaid looked me in the eye and turned the other way. This happened more than once to our party.

(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

I'm looking over my notes and one word seems to keep showing up: sweet. Pagan Porter, ESB (cask), and Olde Ale. (Of course sweet is appropriate for an Old Ale). I also had an Ironman Pale Ale that was nondescript. Beers were being served in plastic cups (12 oz?). Food is unavailable by 10pm. More patrons were buying Miller Lite than pub-brew. And it was loud, Loud, LOUD. So what does this place have going for it? They have about 10 beers on tap, and they're an easy walk from Camden Yards.

(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company, Annapolis, MD

Copperhead Ale is an immemorable Altbier. Tavern Ale has more hop flavor. Oyster Stout/Genius Stout--same beer served differently. I guess that's the Genius of the operation. At any rate, it's a good Guiness imitation. On a hot July afternoon, sit outside under the trellis, drinking the Wisteria Wheat. Life is grand. Does this place have the best beer in America? No. Is it well worth the stop? You bet. I get to the Rams Head about once a year and find it one of the best places to relax with a pint anywhere.

(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

I've been to the other location of Capitol City and always found it good but not great. Maybe they have better beer here, or maybe I was just in a great mood, but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the beer. The Imperial IPA hit me, WOW! A wicked good, hoppy beer. The pale ale was much hoppier than expected, which is to my liking. The Abbey Pale had a nice corriander finish. Amber Waves had a flowery hop essence. The worst I tried was the Stout, which was a good solid stout, but nothing special. As for the food, I did actually taste one piece of the Lamb Shish-kabob. It was awesome. The whole experience had the added bonus of being happy hour, so the pints were $2.50. If we hadn't been racing off to a Nats game, we would have just stayed there 'til seven, then passed out on The Mall.

(07/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Alchemist Pub and Brewery, Waterbury, VT

This place opened less than a month ago. The owners used to work at "The Vermont Pub and Brewery" in Burlington. We recognized other faces from there as well. I guess some people wanted to get out of the big city. I started out with an IPA. It had lots of hop bitterness and aroma. My only criticism would be to add more flavoring hops, but it was still a great beer. My wife started out with the porter. Many brewers make porters as if they are to be drunk by people who don't like dark beer. They kind of taste like Michelob Dark. Not this place. The first thing I noticed in their porter was the powerful smell of roasted malt. That was followed by a full, roasty mouthfeel, with just enough hop bitterness to balance it out. For seconds I ordered the Rye Beer. I didn't have any expectations, as it's not a common style of beer. It was great, with a crisp, rye flavor and plenty of hop bitterness. My old lady ordered the Red—a style I don't usually care for—and it was another great beer. The food was very good, although my burrito might have been a little hotter out of the kitchen. My son's pizza was awesome, as was my wife's sandwich. The fries would be worth ordering just for the presentation. The only real complaint is the noise level: beautiful hardwood floors and loud music combine to distract from the dining experience.

(12/08/2003)














(0.046 seconds) 08:01:48 54.211.7.174, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS