PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from ric kempton
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 21, 2014 @ 03:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
ric kempton

Beer Reviews
(45)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

45
Beer Reviews from ric kempton
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Olde Towne Brewing Company, Huntsville, AL

What a great success to the huntsville brew scene. you will find olde town on many accounts in town, most notably, humphreys. and a brewery in the south, kickin it up with hops, what a novel idea, and a great one, keep it up. stop by the brewery if able and they are open, small, but the brewers/owners like to chat it up.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Montgomery Brewing Company, Montgomery, AL

sure, not even close to being one of the top brewpubs in the us, but the best one in montgomery anyways. mainstream offerings, nothing with any appreciable hops, food is good, but the bands and crowds later at night will drive ya outta there. better brews on tap other places, but a brewpub that keeps trying gets my money.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Pub Italia, Ottawa, ON

Don't let the name fool ya, since Italian brews usually suck, they have 35 taps of mostly imports. But then, you will also find a nice balance of canadian craft brews. Great place to spend the afternoon.

(07/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Tavern on the Hill, Washington, DC

This place has long been closed...gone....kaput! Too bad, it was great while it lasted and had sooo much potential for more.

(12/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rosie's Brewpub, Leadville, CO

uh-oh...drove over independance pass from aspen to revisit the boomtown bp...only to find it closed. this was on a monday, but no hours were posted in the window. the inside does not appear to be abandoned, yet there is a big real estate for sale sign in the window. the phone number listed now belongs to a private residence and some other websites show this place closed...bummer. bottom line, i can neither confirm nor deny the closure of this brewpub, but i would definately not drive all the way to leadville with out some confirmation that they are indeed open.

(06/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Backcountry Brewery, Frisco, CO

ok, ok, so the food sucked. so do the chicken wings, but i am originally from buffalo, so no wings will please...this is still a must stop in summit county...the telemark ipa is my personal fav..and in season, make sure you get the breakfast stoudt...will not disappoint...if you are hungry, stick to the pizza, thats what they advertise..

(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

what a great reason for free wifi...i can sit at the bar, pounding down a few excellent brews and rate them at the same time....while i don't think i have been to a brewpub in colorado that i didn't like, and i have hit them all now except for the extreme southern area...this "DAM" place is in the tops...varied style selection, quality is above average and the service cant be beat. disparity in beers and styles...is a good thing...but i cant attest to the quality of the pilsner, didnt try it, not with and excellent ipa, coming in at 9% loaded up with cascades and who knows what else...had to drop down a notch and the epa was wonderful, just as pleasing on the palate, but having a few of won't land you in trouble with local law enforcement. i don't go there for the food, but the menu is as varied as their beers and good. i don't think you can get bad service in colorado...the people are very outgoing, friendly and helpful...so this place is no exception, always ready to help, get you a sample, explain the beer or give local info. definately worth the drive from breckenridge...matter of fact, this place is on the free bus route in summit county, so you don't have to even worry bout the drive...just down the road from the factory outlets...so let the lady shop while you sample!!

(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: ws Avenue Tavern, Baltimore, MD

i'm with you...does not belong in pubcrawler...doesn't even fit definition of a microfreindly beer bar...nice restaurant...but seemed a bit bizarre at the bar the night i was there...every seat taken...people drinking a variety, wine, beer & cocktails...not talking though...all had their cell phones sitting on the bar in front of them and just starring or picking them up to look every couple of minutes...just weird

(06/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Heavenly Daze, Denver, CO

wow, what a bummer. this place was my all time favorite in denver. i get to the area once of twice a year and for the week that i am in the area, heavenly daze was the place that i would end every evening for the entire week. on my last visit, a friday night, they had a "rave" going on. not only do they hit you up for a cover, it was tough to enjoy their incredible backpacker ipa with the way too loud music. to top it off, the management seems intent on forcing the regulars out. i only stopped in for one beer and was about halfway done when the rave ended and some oversized guy that thinks way too much of himself told me to drink up and get out!!i must have had a surprised look on my face, not being part of the young, happening crowd that was there, but more fitting in the mature, older, white collar bracket. anyways, because i wasn't "chugging" my beer as the others were doing as instructed, this guy "snatches" my beer from my hand throws it in the trash can and threatens me with bodily harm. i asked to speak to the manager and the owner did come up to talk. she was very confrontational. now mind you, this was my first drink of the night and i wasnt looking for trouble, only a pleasant beer...wow, this place sure has changed...and not for the better, and definately not for the person who enjoys sampling the wares and supporting brewpubs. (to his credit, the bartender was very apologetic, friendly and offered to buy me a beer.) too bad, i really liked this place, but with breckenridge just up the street, and even though i dont enjoy their brews as much as hd, at least breckenridge makes you feel welcome and lets you know that they really want your business.

(11/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company, Duncansville, PA

open only 8 months and the beer quality is this good!? great stopover on my way to state college. 8 beers on tap, including two seasonals. had the sampler that only included six, so had to forgo the the typical american lite lagers, which isnt my forte anyways. but the ipa was adequately hopped and balanced. add an alt, stout, and a couple of ambers, and heffeweize to the mix and you will find that they are true to the brewing styles. not any particular standouts nor major deviations, so you should be very pleased ordering your favorite style. so many good styles and only in operation such a short time, i only expect even greater things from this place.

as far as the layout, great place to watch a game. the bar design is almost exact to "red brick station" in whitemarsh, md if you have ever been there. large, rectangular bar, with drop down console with tvs all the way around.

didn't sample the food, but it looked good, and with the brick oven, who could go wrong!?

(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery, Lewistown, PA

not brewing at present, which is a bummer, this is a nice, small pub (although the do have a large dining room). and the beer is pretty good. they are renovating the place (hopefully enlarging the bar). they are expected to be back in full operation by june 2004--lets hope so

(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So Good

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Montgomery, AL

excellent bottle selection, bar area very small though...and it took a while to get the bartenders attention...a local place, so if you aren't a local expect to wait. pizza looked and smelled great...people come here more for the food than the beer, but go for both.

(11/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Montgomery, AL

good selection of bottled beer. previously could not serve draft beer, but rumor has it that the county can now serve draft so will have to see what they put on. besides the standard micro selections like sam adams and sierra, they also had some imports and micros not normally seen, especially in montgomery. food was good and also a great place to watch the game...

(11/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great Good So So So So

Establishment: Ropewalk Tavern, Baltimore, MD

while they have a good selection of beer, they do not pay attention to the condition of their taps. many of the beers taste contaminated, either dirty taps or just not turning over their kegs enough. haven't noticed the "rudeness" expressed by some reviewers, just the typical uncaring attitude exhibited in most bars from young kids making less than minimum wage...for all you "awesome" raters...get real. you are doing a disservice to those that use pubcrawler to truly find out what to expect from a pub and where to enjoy a good selection of micros...take your politics elsewhere...

(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Finnigan's Wake, Pittsburgh , PA

this is not a beer bar by definition for inclusion in this website. it may be an irish pub, so list it on an irish pub website. it is not micro friendly, nor does it have a good selection of imports, so lets not dilute the value of the pubcrawler by just listing every beerbar in the city

(09/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Tomato Palace, Columbia, MD

How did this get into pubcrawler. This is not a database for everyones favorite restaurant. It is supposed to be for brewpubs and micro friendly bars. This place is neither. There are other websites for rating your favorite eatery. Putting places like this in here just dilute the focus of pubcrawler...to find a place to enjoy a good, quality brew...

(10/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Great Good

Establishment: Heroes Pub, Annapolis, MD

it has reopened and going strong. good size crowd any day of the week, but not usually overcrowded. not all the taps are flowing yet, but they promised that they all will be soon. must be that they lost their cook during the rennovation cause it seems that the food has taken a definate downturn, same menu though. only real change seems to be that the taps have moved from the front of the bar to the back wall. still a good place to seek out, especially if you want to avoid downtown annapolis. entertainment nightly.

(08/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good

Establishment: KClinger's Publik House, Etters, PA

as the other location, a good beer bar. rogue brewing is setting up a brewing operation in a section off of the main bar. doesn't look close to being completed anytime soon. easy off and on 83, a worthwhile stop. make sure you stop downstairs and check out the dead guy...nice touch.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery, Lewistown, PA

what a well kept secret. great place to hang out, but you gotta be here for some other reason, cause it is not on the beaten path. a worth while detour on the way to or from state college. adequate selection of beers, nothing off the charts, but some worthy of praise. friendly staff and clientele. a very local place, so it is easy to be ignored if not a regular.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Ein Stein's, Hermosa Beach, CA

off the main drag so it is more relaxing and less crowded than other places down at the beach. staff helpful and knowledgeable. no stand outs with the beer, but very drinkable. did not check out the food...but a lot of people were eating and it looked good.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Brewski's Brewing Company, Hermosa Beach, CA

great place to hang out and check out the scenery coming off the beach. food was good and the service great. the beers were bland, but drinkable. once the sunsets head over to manhattan beach brewing or einsteins.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Wolf Creek Restaurant and Brewing Company, Valencia, CA

pretty much a local hangout. the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. the timberwolf had a satisfying hop flavor and the golden eagle good malt. a little difficult to find, but worth it.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good

Establishment: SLO Brewing Company, San Luis Obispo, CA

have to agree with previous reviews. not a great place, but better than the regular pubs. beer was average, food was average, the service sucked.

(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Sullivan's Emerald Isle Restaurant and Pub, Washington, DC

No need to be an ass about others ratings, especially if you are not even going to check the place out. what better way is there to get in the database than if an owner feels that he or she wants to make for an enjoyable place to have a microbrew, and lets the world know about it. i found just that environment here at "sully's" as many prefer to call it. a bit hard to find in the capital hill area of dc,down a side street. good selection of micros, a few national brands, like sierra nevada and some locals, like old dominion. food was good and very plentiful. bar staff was very friendly and outgoing and the crowd was a balanced mix of professional and casual. as a bonus, at least for my interests, the place is frequented by rugby players from many of the area teams. only drawback is that the upstairs bar gets very smokey and loud when crowded. i'll be back though.

(03/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Dubliner Irish Pub, Washington, DC

This does not qualify as a beer bar. The primary taps are a-b products. sure, they say that they are an irish pub, so they do have guiness on tap. the attitude of the manager/bar staff sucks. they are just there to grab your money, not ensure that you have a memorable dining and drinking experience. to top it off, one can not order food unless they have a credit card!? that's right, the manager said that most people are dishonest and will run off without paying!? so, we were allowed to pay cash for our beer, but were not allowed to order any food, because we did not want to give them a credit card. go to capitol city brewing right across the street. at least they treat their customers with a minimal bit of respect and also have a better selection of beers.

(03/27/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.35 seconds) 15:55:04 54.205.144.54, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS