PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rich
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 05:22 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rich

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from rich
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Atwater Block Brewery, Detroit, MI

Atwater is now under new ownership (yet again) with hopes of making this establishment as great as it was when it first opened in the late 90s. Be assured that the beer is all outstanding! The brewer is one of the finest in the state, if not country. This is the place to enjoy German style lagers, including an amber lager (helles), light lager (Kolsch), Rost (red lager), pilsner, and Mai bock; along with ales like a perfect hefe-weizen, porter, and IPA. The food is sometimes very good and sometimes not. Hopefully this will improve with the new owners. The service is excellent with extremely nice servers. Enjoy!

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

A very nice looking place. The beer was mediocre at best. This was the first stop of a pub crawl weekend in Grand Rapids. We were very disappointed with most of the beer. Maybe just a bad night. Will try again next year.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I know that Founders is an institution in Michigan brewing and I was very excited to visit during a recent pub crawl in Grand Rapids. I'm a lager kind of guy and they only had ales the evening of my visit. Even more, almost all of there ales that night had a IBU rating of 60 plus. This was a Friday night and the place was packed with college student-aged customers who were all smoking and listening to the Rolling Stones played at the volume of 11. We had one beer and quickly left. If you like hoppy ales, loud music and smoke, then Founders is your kind of place. Not mine.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Hideout Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I visited this past January on a brewpub crawl in Grand Rapids. This was the most unique place of all the brew pubs in the area (we went to all of them). Finding the place is part of the adventure. I had a wheat beer that was probably the worst tasting beer I have ever tried, including my own efforts. The place was packed with folks so they obviously have some good beers, I just couldn't imagine trying another one after the wheat. I'll try again next year and hope for better results.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Michigan Brewing Company, Webberville, MI

The new location behind the old one is much nicer, though with less ambiance. Huge cooler section with their bottled beer and some home brewing supplies. The Celis brand is one of their big sellers, especially down south. There is always a great selection to meet each customer's taste.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Black Lotus Brewing Company, Clawson, MI

I visited for the first time in March. I very nice place with really nice folks working behind the bar. No smoking! Coffee and desserts are on the menu. Bringing in food is fine. I recommend take out sushi from Noble Fish which is only a couple doors away. Mostly ales with some quite tasty.

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Karras Brothers Tavern, Detroit, MI

Unfortunately, Karras Brothers is now closed. Another owner has moved in and it is quite similar to Karras Brothers, with smoking added (yuk).

(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

My recent visit to the Detroit Beer Company was a couple days ago. It has been at least 6 months since my last visit. Travis, the brewer, continues to make very tasty brews. My favorite is the Red, which is very malty with full flavor. It is an excellent red and probably the best in the area. I also enjoyed the IPA very much. Travis's beer are extremely well made, with a lasting fullness of flavor. Well done Travis. The food is also great. Make sure you start with a cup of the beer cheese soup. My only complaint with my visit was our server. She was very sweet but not informed at all regarding the beer or even the food. When asked about what kind of cheese is used in the beer cheese soup, she responded with "beer cheese", instead of Munster Cheese. When I ordered the Hefe, she looked at me with no clue of what I asked for. She's not the first server at the Beer Company to not understand that their Schizo-Weizen is the name of their Hefeweizen-style beer. How hard is it to have Travis give the servers a short class on basic beer information? Otherwise, a great place for great beer and great food!

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Great Baraboo Brewing Company, Clinton Township, MI

I recently visited Baraboo on a Saturday night. I have never been especially impressed with the beer but was surprisingly delighted with a couple of their seasonals. The Hoppy Pale is a Sierra Nevada Pale copy and done quite well. The IPA was especially tasty and again, well done. The food has always been good and still is. I had no problem with the service and enjoyed my visit very much.

(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Yard House, Long Beach, CA

More draft beer than I have every seen anywhere! While this is great, here's the down side: 1) it's really expensive; 2) much of the beer has no explanation, just it's trendy name from the individual micro breweries (mostly from CA); 3) the bartenders can't tell you the difference between different beers (there really are too many to choose from.....I can't believe I said that); 4) bartenders say they can't give you a taste because it is against state law....I think that's bull....they just don't want to be giving tons of tastes out with so many beers to choose from (I don't blame them I guess); BTW, the bartender at Rock Bottom was pouring plenty of tastes for folks and laughed about the supposed state law. This is the place to go and try different beers, as long as you know the beers ahead of time. Being from the midwest, there were plenty of CA microbrews which I had never heard of before. When you're paying for each, it's easy to spend too much money on something you may not like. If you're hungry and thirsty, be prepared to drop $50 with no problem (that's for one person). The atmosphere here is for young folks.

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Upland Brewing Company, Bloomington, IN

I visited Upland several times during my 3 week stay in Bloomington recently. The beer is good, especially the weizen (which is sold at many other establishments throughout Bloomington as well) and food is interesting. I'm not blown away by this place. But then again, it's always very busy when I visit. I love to sit at the bar and chat with the regulars and maybe even catch the brewmaster. This rarely happens at Upland since the bar is filled regularly. Of course this is great for the business aspect of this brewpub, just not the right atmosphere for me. I prefer the BBC instead.

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bloomington Brewing Company, Bloomington, IN

I visited the BBC this past spring when I was in Bloomington for 3 weeks. I spent a number of evenings there enjoying their beer and food. I remember when the place first opened, when I lived in Bloomington. They have gone through a few brewers since then (around 1995) but have managed to keep the same brewer now for quite a few years. While they didn't have a large selection of beers to choose from during my visit, I must say that all were very tasty. Bartender James is the person to ask for during your visit. He knows a lot about the beer and will take good care of you. I think the food is great as well, especially the gourmet pizzas and strombolis. On one night they had a special of weiner-snitzel (sp?) which was outstanding! Thanks James for the hospitality. See you again on my next visit in the fall.

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

I visite Copper Canyon this past Saturday, around 12:15 P.M. The service was great at this time of day (I was the only one in the place). The bartender took good care of me and was very nice. I had been told by local brewmasters that Copper Canyon has a great brewmaster and that his beer is delicious. I must agree. I tried a sampler of all their beers and enjoyed all of them. I brought my old growler from about 4 years ago to fill with Alt, my usual favorite. However, I was very impressed with their seasonal Mai-Bock and ended up with a growler of that instead. I didn't have food this time but have enjoyed the food in the past.

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Bastone, Royal Oak, MI

This place is certainly a typical Royal Oak restaurant, with tons of customers and extremely busy. However, the brewer, Kim, who came from Dragonmead in Warren, is an excellent brewer. I enjoyed all the beers very much and the food was pretty amazing as well. Kim knows how to brew Belgian style ales and her Dubbel was quite tasty. Put this place on pubcrawl list along with the Royal Oak Brewery (just a block away) and WAB (Woodward Avenue Brewery). They are all within a few minutes of each other (by car for WAB).

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Atwater Block Brewery, Detroit, MI

Formerly the Atwater Block Brewery, then Stoney Creek Brewery, this great beer establishment is now Atwater Block Brewery again!!! New owners, same great brewers and hopefully better food. Atwater is the place for German-style brewing. Currently on tap includes a Pilsner, Kolsch, Hefe-weizen, Helles, Pale (American), Porter, Vanilla Porter, and Double Chocolate Ale (stout). These are great tasting beers! A new menu is on its way and the new owners are determined to have the food be as great as the beer! Close to downtown Detroit, Atwater is the place for serious microbrew drinkers.

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Dragonmead Microbrewery, Warren, MI

As a semi-regular to Dragonmead, I was extremely disappointed during my last vist there (about 2 weeks ago). At the time, I didn't know that one of their best brewers, Kim, had left for another brewmaster position. I did know that something was wrong though when I tasted the beer. I tried three of my usual favorites, Erik the Red, Kaiser Kolsch and their Alt Bier. The Alt had a very strange taste though the color was good. The Erik the Red was very weak, with no substance. The usually light Kolsch was almost transparent, with a very weak taste. This place normally has wonderful beer and I am hopeful that they will find a good brewer to take the place of Kim. Meanwhile, I recommend driving downtown for some excellent German-style brews at Atwater Brewery.

(06/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Long Beach, CA

I prefer the non-corporate microbreweries/brewpubs but this one is okay too. There was a very foul smell coming from the bar on my visits, which was probably the smell of spilled beer though I thought it was the sewer. The best beer was probably the stout though nothing impressed me. My chicken with hot sauce pizza was okay but nothing to get excited about. The bartender warned me about the blue cheese on the pizza but I hardly saw any and definitely didn't taste any on the pizza. However, my second visit included an appetizer called toothpicks (like very large toquitos). These were tasty, especially with the barbeque sauce. The cask beers were interesting but again, nothing outstanding. I'll visit the Rock Bottom in Chicago next March. Hopefully it will be much better!

(01/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

Great news (since my last review..see below), Patrick has taken over the brewing at Royal Oak (he's an owner too). Patrick will certainly have this place back asap, making it a definite destination for great beer. My only concern is that I hope the quality of the beer at the Detroit Beer Company (Patrick's other place where he was the brewmaster) stays great!

(04/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Woodward Avenue Brewery, Ferndale, MI

If you like loud punk music, Gothic waitresses and cigarette smoke, then this is the place for you. I can only handle it in the summer when the downstairs is open (literally, .....the walls are large garage-like doors that they open). The beer is nothing to write home about. I usually stick to the wheat though "Como's" down the street serves Widmer Brothers Hefe on tap (thier food is much better too). Otherwise, spend a couple more minutes in your car and head north to Royal Oak Brewery!

(04/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Kuhnhenn Brewing Company, Warren, MI

This is a very strange place. On my first visit, I found a couple tasty brews. The next time I visited, their beer menu was completely different and I couldn't find anything worth drinking (which is rare for me). I think the brewers like to try many different styles of beer here and are not interested in having any regular brews. I wish I could recommend this place but its inconsistency keeps me from doing so.

(04/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Dragonmead Microbrewery, Warren, MI

I have become a regular at Dragonmead, visiting almost once a week. Don't expect food there, though you can order in. The beer selection is like no other microbrewery I've ever visited (and I've visted close to one hundred). They have around 30 different styles, including Belgians, British, Irish, Scottish, German, Czech and American. My favorite is Erik the Red, Bronze Griffin and the London Brown. However, you can't go wrong with any of the beers. My only complaint is that sometimes their small batches are a bit thinner than other times. Enjoy!

(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Royal Oak Brewery, Royal Oak, MI

I've been going to the Royal Oak Brewery for years. My last visit was quite strange. I ordered a red, which is usually very tasty. What I got was one that with a real hoppy taste and not very malty at all. I then went for my other standby beer, the ESB. It looked like a light style and when I asked the waitress if it was the ESB, she said yes and quickly walked away. It didn't taste anything like their ESB. Thinking that Mike (the brewmaster) had an off day brewing, I paid my bill and left. The next week, I ran into Mike at another beer establishment and found that he had left ROB a couple months ago. Wow, I will not be returning to ROB with their current brewer. Go to the Detroit Beer Company, owned by the same folks with the same food menu. Their brewmaster is excellent!

(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Atwater Block Brewery, Detroit, MI

Probably the best beer in the Detroit area. Start with the Helles (Hell), the red is okay, stay away from the vanilla porter, great Hefeweizen, excellent dunkel, the anniversary ale is beyond description. Great German style beer. Food is okay. I wish they would bring back some German dishes to go with their great beer.

(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

I've been to the DBC about 6 times. The beer is always outstanding and the food is usually great. Watch the service, since I've noticed that not all the servers (including bartenders) really understand the beers available. One waiter brought us a sampler that had two lights (their weakest beer), no weizen at all and in its place, an IPA with a lemon in it. Yuk! Otherwise, the beermaster does an excellent job and all beers are great.

(04/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Rochester Mills Beer Company, Rochester, MI

The place is huge, especially compared to its siblings (Royal Oak and Detroit Brewery). I was there on a Saturday night. Absolutely packed with folks. Long lines. Very noisy. Very good service, especially with the crowd. Beer cheese soup was cold and Cobb salad was not nearly as good as Detroit Brewing Co downtown. They have a better selection of beer than others but were out of several too. I will try again, perhaps during the week or earlier on a weekend day.

(02/11/2004)














(0.137 seconds) 17:22:32 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS