PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rick
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 22, 2014 @ 08:57 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rick

Beer Reviews
(27)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

27
Beer Reviews from rick
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Review of their new location. They only had three beers on at the time. I tried the IPA which was as good as always. My wife had their other ale on offer and they also had a porter on too. Food as always was great. Table service was weak as our guy was new. I generally sit at the bar to avoid this BS...

(11/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Second visit. My sister, wife and I hung out in the bar section having a few pints. I tried the Jolly Scot scottish ale which was nice and true to style. My sister tried the Susquehanna stout which we all tried and also liked. I had the hoppy trails IPA on cask and it was wonderful. Why don't more places do casks?!!? A very pleasant session in a nice atmosphere. I did not have any problems with the staff either...

(08/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Yeoman's Road Pub, Tampa, FL

What a nice selection of beer they have on tap(20 unique and different brews)! I had a hazed and infused, a mojo ipa, and a delirium tremens on tap. All were in good condition and tasted great. My wife had the Dunedin Brewing Special Apricot peach wheat ale (bottle) which she really enjoyed. We split an order of chili cheese fries and wings. Both were quite tasty. They had an acoustic duet playing who were pretty good.

The only negative is that this place is a FREAKIN DIVE from an atmosphere perspective. Think of your favorite dive college bar but with an excellent beer selection and you will hit the nail on the head.

(07/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Dunedin Brewery, Dunedin, FL

Housed in what looks like an old service station (the front walls are garage doors) is the Dunedin brewery. They have 7 regular taps and one seasonal. They also had Stoudt's IIPA on draft during this visit. They have a beer engine, but sadly it wasn't in use I had the pipers pale which was a nicely hopped pale ale that tasted great. I also tried the Highland games ale which is best decribed as a smoked porter. Very tasty. My wife tried the red a nice style that benefitted greatly from the nice use of English Hops. She also tried the beachtale brown which was much better than some ales masquerading as browns! The food looked great but we were stuffed from our previous stop. This is the only place in FLA. Ive found that makes Fish Tacos... Will def be back for a meal!

(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great N/A

Establishment: Saint Sebastiaan Belgian Microbrewery, Spring Hill, FL

This place is amazing. A belgian style brewery and restaurant located in the middle of nowhere on the west coast of FLA. Normally four beers on three regulars and a specialty. While we were there they had a belgian strong on that kicked ass. I had the mussels as an appetizer and they brought back visions of Antwerp... Had a chopped steak smothered in mushrooms and my wife had the chicken reine. Both were very tasty. They also do samplers which was very nice!

(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dogfish Head Craft Brewery, Milton, DE

Aww, leave the guy alone. Judging by the 100's of reviews he has ;) He obviously knows his stuff! Bwahahahahaha.

(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Brandon, FL

Have been here twice in the last three/five weeks. They have about 22 taps with NO BMC on tap. What they did have was: Seadog Blueberry 2 Shipyards 1 or two Rogues 2 DFH 60 and 90 IPA Honey Blossum Pilsner Albita turbo (?) Hazed and Infused Never Winter Guinness Harp Anchor Steam I know I'm missing a few... The pizzas we ordered were very good. The decor is Alice in Wonderland funky with giant mushrooms and other weird stuff all over the place. They also played pretty good music when we were there.

(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

This was one I wanted to try for a while. Was in PA over Thanksgiving and found their sampler 12 pack in a beer distributor. God how I HATE that you can't buy singles in PA(well, I couldn't find a place in Gburg...)!! It contained the Pale Ale which was amazing. Also included was the the hopback ale which was killer. There was also the Dream Weaver Wheat which I didn't get to try. This is a great brewery and if I have the time I would love to tour the brewery on my next visit.

(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Was visiting my family over Thanksgiving and we had dinner here Friday night for my parents anniversary. We had two children under 4 and the hostess sat us in the back room by ourselves which was awfully nice. They also provided crayons! Now, on to the beer. They must have had over 12 different ales on tap, plus an IPA cask conditioned. We ordered a sample which included 8 beers one of which was their meade! I was impressed with most of the beers which were quite tasty. I also tried the IPA cask(nice and hoppy) and my wife had the Scotch Ale(pretty accurate style) which was really good. The food was also great. The only bummer was that they no longer offer the Shepperd's Pie(my mom's 1st choice). I had their Schnitzel which was excellent. My wife tried the crab cakes which were good too. Sis had the steak salad which was pretty good and my folks had the fish and chips (auce on Fridays) , my baby sis had a pulled pork barbq sandwich that also looked great. This place has neat oldschool beer memorabilia AND civil war stuff all over the place. They also do crawlers as well. If all this wasn't enough, the bill was $100. Not bad for seven adults and two children. HIghly recc'd.

(11/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Stewart's Brewing Company, Bear, DE

Was here for UDs homecoming. We tried the sampler which contained 8 4-5 oz beers of your choice. The stout and porter were good and their barley wine was great. Their IPA missed the mark but it could've been b/c I saw drinking DFH 90 min before this. Their 10th anniv. ale was EXCELLENT. It was a belgian style ale with lots of flavor.

(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gettysbrew, Gettysburg, PA

Man, I gotta go here when I visit my folks in G-Burg... I have to see for myself how bad it really is!!!

(06/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

I grew up drinking their Porter. Pretty good beer when compared to the mass produced swill listed previously. For the price, it's pretty good but probably won't hold up as well against the killer microbrew... ps. william, sorry you lost bro! Try to cheer up...

(05/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

Couldn't make their tasting so I did my own! Living in the east, this was my first exposure to the company. Man, can they brew! I had the Stone pale draft and bottled and really liked it. The Ruination IPA I had bottled and it was great too! Also found the Arrogant bastard on draft and it was awesome. The levitation was amazing as well. When back, will definitely try to make an "official" tasting!

(05/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant, Carlsbad, CA

Had their sampler. Most of the beers were just ok. Really enjoyed their Minden Maibock and the Stargazer IPA. They were the best of the lot. Food was great and the service was very friendly. Has a great location by the flower fields.

(05/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

Was in Carlsbad on vacation. Tried their Wipeout IPA, Frank IPA, and HopBag IPA. All were excellent. Plus had Stone arrogant bastard and some lost coast beers too. Probably 20+ beers on tap. They have really good pizza here too. Picnic tables are the motif with lots of interesting surf memorabilia. May not be fancy enough for the panties in a wad beer snob bunch...

(05/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: M.J. Barleyhoppers, Riverview, FL

Had just returned from the Orange/Blue Game and didn't feel like driving very far. So, we checked out this place as it had just opened. Nice outdoor seating in the front and back. Large indoor eating spaces too. They had Easily 30-40+ beers on tap from the big boyz down to DogFish Head. I didn't even get into the Bottled Stuff. Pints are $6.00 but they're Brit Pints (20 OZ.) which took off some of the price sting. The food was also very good. Service was a little slow but it was pretty crowded. Will prolly go back.

(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cincinnati, OH

The food here was really good. We tried three apps. seared tuna, wings, and asiago dip. All were great. The beer was just ok... kind of a bummer considering everything else was really good.

(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

"i only wish they would open another one over here in orlando" Heh, I hear you. Wish they'd open one in Brandon!!! Was there this past weekend. Still Killer!!!

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Prairie Rock Brewing Company, Schaumburg, IL

Liked the Bock. Their pale ale was nice and hoppy too. Had the jerk buffalo wings which were awesome!

(03/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

"why is there 110 reviews for a place that only has 2 beers ?"

Those who have been there know. Those who haven't should go...

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Ragtime Tavern, Atlantic Beach, FL

Was in Jax for the Gator bowl and hit this place. Beer was just average. The food was VERY good though.

(01/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Old Chicago, Brandon, FL

Have been here 2x. Had the app. plate and it was really good. Also liked the pizza... Wait staff was awesome and didn't wait long for stuff at all. I was there durin Sun. football and on a Sat. night both times pretty busy! Oh, got their beer card thing too. Hope some day I'll remember it!

(10/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Great N/A

Establishment: Dunedin Brewery, Dunedin, FL

Caught these guys at the Florida Brewers Guild Beerfest in Ybor City. Tried their Apricot Wheat and a few other selections. They were all pretty darn good. Plus, the folks working the stand were Awesome! Thanks for a good time!

(01/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Tried the cask new years ipa. Really good. Had the Kolsch, also very tasty. Ended w/the Elephant Foot, killer! The beer and cheese dip was also excellent as was the meatloaf and pizza! Keep up the great work! Only bummer was they were out of triple bock... Damn!

(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

With a group, splitting tables with complete strangers(great way to meet people and talk story), it was all great! Once, My cousins and I got so ripped we couldn't find our subway stop... had to take a cab to Brooklyn! Never been banned from singing nor did I run into any weird ethnicity issues. But I'm not an anal retentive beer snob either! Love the crackers cheese and hella mustard. Once had the booth by the front window ended up answering the phones and giving directions. Classic Joint and I REALLY miss it!

(01/06/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.137 seconds) 20:57:07 54.204.142.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS