PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rick jarvis
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 24, 2014 @ 03:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rick jarvis

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from rick jarvis
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Upstream Brewing Company, Omaha, NE

The Upstream is a great looking place done in a "Yup-scale" look. I loved the way it looked and felt. The beer selection was great, though this is far from a great micro-brewery. The Railyard Ale is the best of the taps, but the stout was limp. They were out of Wheat and Brown too. Food on the other hand was awesome. Soups to have include the Smoked Gouda with ale and the Onion. Great for appetizers is the artichoke dip. Our gang thought the rustic beer breads were terific.

Dinner selection could keep me coming back for weeks. The Irish Lamb stew and Jambalaya were hits with us. As for their specialty pizzas, skip them. This is not their forte.

Go and try this place, it is a good place to eat and drink nonetheless. Next time I hope their Brown Ale is in

(07/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

My Oatmeal stout served under nitrogen was awesome. One of the best stouts I have ever tasted at a micro. They were unfortunately out of their Foundry brown, but their Ale brewed Marzen was also great. Appetizers outstripped the meal. Go for the beer and order many appetizers

(05/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Mad Mex, Pittsburgh, PA

For the one in the North Hills: One of the best selections of micro brews both in bottle and on tap, 20+ on tap. Mexican food is the menu, done with a slant on health (no refried beans just blackbeans!!) We love the bug burrito!!

(01/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Valhalla Microbrewery and Restaurant, Pittsburgh , PA

A very trendy conversion of a warehouse located next to the Cordage Express Paper Center (great paper people too!!) Food is pricey and too trendy, though the rings and appetizers are great. The strange thing is they have a very Scandanavian look (Valhalla is the ultimate resting place for Vikings killed in battle) but they try to brew German beers and give them Scan names>> During good weather, it is a great sidewalk location on the edge of downtown providing a great pedestrian view. Try it and get some paper at Cordage Express

(01/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

The grandaddy of brewpubs in Pittsburgh, they do serve 4 beers at all times, though the Penn Pilsner is their best, followed by a decent wheat beer. Food can vary, but follows a good German routine. German entertainment and long tables add to the enjoyment, and they brew to the Purity Laws!!

(01/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Beautiful conversion of a old church lends an air of appreciation to the Brewing process prominently displayed in the altar area. Best choice of beers is the Bell Tower Brown in our tastings, though non drinkers will appreciate their brewed Birch beer and Gingerale. Food is great but a tad on the pricey side.

(01/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Great conversion of another industrial building into a brewpub. They had 11 beers on tap ~~wow. The best were the Browns and their stoudt. We were on a fast tour, so the food was not an issue. This place shows great promise.The light beers were like Bud...who cares. But we loved the variety ~ something for everone

(01/01/1998)














(0.117 seconds) 03:28:59 54.87.109.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS