PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rob
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 20, 2014 @ 11:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rob

Beer Reviews
(126)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Some people make things happen, some watch things happen, some wonder, What just happened?
Favorite Beer: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL.
Located In: Chicago

126
Beer Reviews from rob
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Revolution Brewing LLC, Chicago, IL

Former Goose Island Brewers Josh Deth and Jim Cibak find themselves together again at Revolution Brewing. I went last Friday at four and I was lucky to get the very last seat at the bar. I tried three beers starting with the Belgian Wit called "Bottom Up". I could have drank several more of this very clean and tasty Belgian Wheat. Blue Moon drinkers will be very happy. Next I had the Scottish Wee Heavy called "Willie". It was extremely smokey and flavorful at 8%. My last beer was the English luncheon beer called "Workingman Mild". Not bad, but not exciting either. Revolution also brews a "Cross of Gold" golden ale which I did not try. They were out of both of their most popular beers, the "Iron Fist Pale Ale", and the "Anti-Hero IPA". Patrons at the bar assured me that both beers were awesome. Knowing Jim, there is no doubt im my mind that every beer here is going to be a winner. I did not eat, but the food looked and smelled delicious.

(02/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Limestone Brewing Company , Plainfield, IL

We attended the F5 Flying Pig IPA release party on Wednesday. My expectations were not very high because the three other beers are just average. Buy, we were very impressed with the F5. It has an extreme citrus and grapefruit begining, pleasant middle and an appropriate, slightly bitter finish. I am going back today for a growler.

They have a lot of guest tap, including HopSlam, but they were out of at least 75% of what was listed. They are new, and they should be able to fix this problem eventually.

(01/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brass Restaurant and Brewery, South Barrington, IL

Bad news. This place closed a while ago.

Good news. "The Lucky Monk" brewery has opened in its place.

(12/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: The Lucky Monk, South Barrington, IL

My experience at the Lucky Monk was similar to my experience with the Chicago Bears this year. In both instances my expectations were so high that a let down was inevitable.

When I heard a place called "The Lucky Monk" was opening, I was very excited. I envisioned a brewery like Ommegang, brewing awesome belgian styles right here in the states. But, not so much.

There are currently six house beers on tap. The "Cardinal Sin" is a Czech style pilsner, the "Gr'ale" is a Belgian stytle amber, and the "Tritico" is a Hefeweizen. They also have a "Pale Belgian style", "Pal's Porter", and a "Holiday Bock".

I tried all of the beers except the Cardinal Sin. The Gr'ale had a caramel taste and finished clean, but it tasted green and had little head. The Pale Belgian was better, but also needed more conditioning. The Porter was even better and had a strong scent and taste of coffee, but it was slightly thin. The Bock was enjoyable with its foamy feel and smokey taste. All of the beers were 5% except for the 6% Porter, and the 7% Bock.

The guest taps and bottle selection are great including, Jolly Pumpkin, Three Floyds, Two Brothers, Half Acre, Ommegang, Victory, and many imported Belgians.

The food is mostly pub food, pizzas and burgers. The staff is great, friendly and attentive.

None of the beers was bad, but I feel if you are going to call your place "The Lucky Monk", you should at least brew a dubbel or tripel. Still a nice place that is worthy of a visit.

(12/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Limestone Brewing Company , Plainfield, IL

The doors are finally open, and the beer is flowing. There are three beers on, The Wheatlander a German Hefe, The Old Chicago an Amber, The Indian Boundary Ale an India Brown Ale. They opened officially on December 23. I am looking forward to going on Monday.

I have been peeking through the windows the last several weeks and watching as they get ready. There is a large square bar and stage in the main room, and dining in the back rooms. There is a lot of space. It looks very upscale, yet comfortable.

I hear they plan to make a double IPA. That is really great news.

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Brickworks Brewing Company, Hobart, IN

I wish I could be more positive, but the beer has some problems. Of three advertised beers, two were flowing. They were out of their porter, so we tried their Raspberry Wheat, and the APA. The Wheat was very bad. I had one sip out of a sample galss, and I did not even think twice about taking a second sip. The APA was much better. I had a full pint, My only complaint is that the beer tasted a little green, as if it should have conditioned a little longer.

This place is still pretty new. Hopefully they will continue to improve.

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Crown Brewing Company, Crown Point, IN

We visited today and we were suprised to see the bar completely full at two in the afternoon. But, there are only five seats at the bar.

It is a very small place, but the beers are big. I started with the Special Forces IPA. Very hoppy, clean taste, nice finish. Next I had the Lady in Red (Amber I assume). Not as impressive as the the IPA. Everyone raves about the Winter Warlock, but they were out of it.

Worth the drive to get there.

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Harbor City Brewing Company, Port Washington, WI

This place is no longer in business. I don't have a date for you.

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Oconomowoc Brewing Company, Oconomowoc, WI

Don't try to go, this place has been closed since 2006.

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Nicolet Brewing Company, Florence, WI

You are too late Enemy, this place closed recently.

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: WarBird Brewing Company, Fort Wayne, IN

Closed October 1, 2009. So sad. Great products and nice guys. Read the story here. Support your local breweries!!!!!!!!

http://www.warbirdbrewing.com/home/Warbird_Closing_Media_Release_October_2_2009.pdf

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: NINE G Brewing Company, South Bend, IN

Closed in 2007 :(

Oh, fifty character minimum, uh let's see. Sorry to see it go. Odd location. It was in a warehouse in kinda a crappy part of South Bend (redundant, I know).

(12/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Half Acre Beer Company, Chicago, IL

This is a newer place on Chicago's North side. Back in April they opened a small tasting room. No tables or chairs, just a small standing room only area. A true tasting room. A very friendly young lady poured very small samples of the current brews. I tried the Gossamer, a golden Ale, the Magnus, a shwartz, and the Daisy Cutter, a very hoppy Pale Ale. Everything was good, but the Daisy Cutter absolutely rocks!

(11/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Art Brewery, Morrisville, VT

Pubcrawlers, please support Rock Art Brewery in their fight against Monster Energy drinks. It seems Monster objects to Rock Art's brew named "Vermonster". Monster intends to sue Rock Art if they do not change the name. Join me in boycotting any product affiliated with Monster, Anheuser-Busch, and Hansen Natural. You can also go on Monster's website and voice your displeasure. See the story here,

http://www.rockartbrewery.com/

(10/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

I was amazed at the beers. Completely unlike any Rock Bottom I had been to before. The Double IPA and Walleye Wheat were nine out of ten, and I'd even give the regular IPA an eight. Don't drive if you can avoid it, the parking garages will cost you at least twenty, and the meters are fifty cents for fifteen minutes.

(04/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

CHEERS!!!!!

Goose has renewed its lease at the Clybourn location for another 3-4 years.

Went there last Saturday, after hearing the good news I tried a Pilgrim Pale, an Aviator Dobblebock, and several IPA's.

Thanks to be god that I do not have to drive to Wrigleyville to enjoy some Goose.

(12/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Two Brothers Brewing Company, Warrenville, IL

Wow! A lot has changed since I last wrote about Two Brothers in 2005. Absolutely everything has changed for the better.

First of all they have moved, though not far. They are still located within the same commercial park. Secondly, they have opened a "taproom", but it is actually a full service brewpub.

The brewpub staff is the best you will ever hope to meet. Regular, down-to-earth people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The food is very good. My favorites include the Cuban and Muffalota sandwiches.

The beers are incredible. Back in February when the taproom first opened, they brewed a double "Cane and Ebel". To die for! They claim they are unable to reproduce the exact recipe since it was somewhat of a "mistake". But something tells me they will try.

"Hop juice" is a double IPA that is without peers. I have never had anything that comes close. Despite our pleading with the owner, it remains a seasonal beer.

"O Brother" is a fantastic belgian, and "Heavy Handed" continues to be a solid IPA.

Check it out for yourself. Don't go on Monday, they are closed.

http://www.twobrotherstaphouse.com/

(09/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

Whoo hoo!

Bell's is coming back to Illinois.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/chi-ap-mi-bellsbeer-chicag,0,1143004.story

Now we can get all the "Uberon" we need. lol

(08/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Shoreline Brewery, Michigan City, IN

I called today. They are still open. No explanation as to why the building looks "boarded up". Part of the ambiance perhaps?

(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Browning's Brewery, Louisville, KY

I want to live in a city that has a ballpark with its own brewpub attached. If that ever does happen, I hope it is as good as Browning's Brewery.

I should have tried more of their beers to give a more comprehensive review, but I knew exactly what I wanted before I even walked in the door. The She/Devil IPA is a fantastic beer. Lots of citrus and floral taste in the begining followed by malts that really balance the beer. Served in a half-pint it rings the bell at 8.5%. I had several and never regretted not trying any of the other beers.

The pub, and the ballpark that surrounds it, is clean and upscale without being pretentious. I had crab and shrimp bisque followed by fried calamari, both were done very well.

Service was great, and people are nice. This place is a grand slam.

(03/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

Bell's may have a temporary solution for their problems in Illinois.

Check out the story.

http://drinkcraftbeer.com/tag/bells_brewing.html

(01/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

Bruce,

Where in Chicago are you buying Bell's? You must be crossing the Wisconsin border.

(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Brickstone Restaurant and Brewery, Bradley, IL

The beer is officially flowing at the Brickstone, and they are doing a pretty darned good job. Of seven beers they are brewing, I tried three. The pale was my favorite, though very hoppy for a pale (which is not a problem for me). The IPA had real promise, but lacked hops and finish. Their Wit was also very good.

The guest taps rock! They had Three Floyds Gumball Head and Alpha King, Great Lakes Burning River, and lots of good beers in bottles.

The food is very good and was served promptly. The building is comfortable and welcoming.

My only gripe is with two of their bartenders. One, an attractive brunette, (I won't give her name) when asked which was her favorite beer replied, "I don't like beer". I am always suprised when a bartender cannot even feign interest in their product. Another pretty, yet prissy, blonde bartender repeatedly passed empty glasses pushed so far towards the edge of the bar they nearly fell at her feet. This occured before it even got busy.

Nonetheless, this is a great place. I plan to return.

(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

Dude, Redwood tottaly rocks, at best!

I was their too nites ago, or was it three, anyway I ordered a PBR but they were out of it so I ordered a Redwood lite. Whattaya no, they taste the same. Latter on I got a Pail Ale, and it tasted like the others too. What a greet place.

I met this dude their, his name was Jack or Adolf, I ferget, anyway, he is like supper smart. We drunk lots of reel good beers. But sometimes he gets reel angry. He kept goin behind the bar and yellin at people. It was like he worked there or somethin.

Later on he hit on me and I had to deck him. I love this bar. Yous shud come.

(See, anybody can write phoney reviews with several misspellings).

(09/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

Perhaps you should attend a spelling workshop Adolph. All of your misspellings and rambling did little to strengthen your position, at best.

Also, why do you write reveiws under false monikers? The reviews written by "Adolph", and "Jack" (both of whom have written one whole review each) were obviously written by the same person. How do I know? It was the usage of the phrase "at best". You used it in both reviews.

Writing phoney reviews is a common practice used by some unscrupulous individuals who pollute pubcrawler looking to promote their own agenda, or vendetta. You were very defensive in both reviews, at best. It is more likely that you are somehow connected to Redwood Lodge. Pity that, most places have beer that speaks for itself.

I anxiously await your immediate denial, but your motives are obvious, to all of us who frequent Pubcrawler, at least have the balls to use your real name. Or better yet, just give it up.

(09/13/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]













(0.155 seconds) 11:45:23 54.205.247.203, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS