PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rob johnston
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 04:40 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rob johnston

Beer Reviews
(18)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

18
Beer Reviews from rob johnston
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Great Great Good

Establishment: Plymouth Bay Brewing Company, Plymouth, MA

They were out of the porter when I was there so I had to double up on the brown for the sampler. The brown was the best beer there. I tried their baby back ribs and thought they were excellent. Great service.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Good Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Cambridge, MA

Good overall food, beer was average. The milk stout was nasty. I guess I am not a milk stout fan except for the one the Widmer Brothers' produce in cooperation with the Oregon State fermentation sciences department. Good clam chowder. Nice location.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Cambridge Brewing Company, Incorporated, Cambridge, MA

They have some great beers. During my trip to the Northeast, this place takes the blue ribbon followed by Boston Beer Works and Heartland in NYC. Great dark beers, great Hefeweizen, great red ale. I wish I had discovered this place sooner. Great wings too!

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Buzzard's Bay Brewing Company, Westport, MA

I am spoiled with Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. The Buzzard's Bay Pale Ale is nowhere close to being a good pale ale. If you want to try a good pale ale, Go West young man!

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

Great beer selection. Try the Buckeye Oatmeal Stout and the ESB. Other beers were good too but these were the best. Great boneless Buffalo wings. I like the imperial pints (20 oz.). Worth the trip.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Back Bay Brewing Company, Boston, MA

When I went there, they were out of their porter which happens to be my favorite style. I tried their special which was a weak brown ale. Not malty enough for my taste. Their red was better but not up to expectations. I tried their Buffalo wings and they have to be the worst and most expensive wings I have ever experienced. Go ahead and check out this place. You will learn to listen to the reviews on this website.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Greenwich Brewing Company, New York, NY

Their best beer is the red. The rest of the beer is average.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

I am one of those people that must find out myself. I read all the reviews before I went and guess what? They are true. The bock was the best but that is about it. I tried the sampler and that was all I needed to find out how bad this place was. If you are on a pub crawl, check it out after you try Heartland or the Tap room. Why ruin your taste buds on bad beer.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Good Great

Establishment: Tap Room, New York, NY

I was disappointed they did not offer a sampler. I had to get their happy hour special (buy a large get a small free) to try their beers. I tried the Hefeweizen which was great and their Marzen which was better. If you like beer, this place is worth the visit.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Heartland Brewery at Union Square, New York, NY

The Farmer John's Oatmeal Stout is excellent. The next best beer is their Red Rooster. All beers are better than average. I tried their Buffalo Wings and they are probably the best I have had. Nice atmosphere. I have been to a lot of brewpubs and I would definitely come back to this one.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

Their best beer is the red ale. Others are about average. It is definitely looking into though.

(09/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Napa Valley Ale Works, Napa, CA

(07/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe, Eureka, CA

I get to stop by every once in awhile during business trips and always visit this place when I stay overnight. They have a great beer selection and great food. Try their clam chowder. I have tried their Scottish Ale (brewer's special only once a year) and it is great. I wish they would brew it more often. It is a nice place to hang out when you are all alone on a business trip. People are friendly and there is always a game on tv.

(07/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Jefferson State Brewery, Crescent City, CA

They have great beer but their wheat tastes like it is contaminated. Ditch the wheat recipe. I only tried their wings when I was there and the wings were terrible. Great building though and good beer selection. They sell six packs to go including a pub pack which includes one of each of their beers. The Porter and Pale Ale are the best. I travel up there every once in awhile for work and will visit again.

(07/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! So So Good Good

Establishment: Faultline Brewing Company, Walnut Creek, CA

Great selection of beer. They have a Burtan Pale Ale that uses water using the same chemistry as they do in Burton, England. Add nitrogen to the mix and they have a good beer. Their porter is pretty good too. Their beer was bad in the begining but they have turned it around. Now if they would change their menu...Great location.

(07/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Blue Water Brewing Company, Tahoe City, CA

I know this place has closed but it was great when it was open. Their Oatmeal Stout and Scottish ale were great. I hear their brewer now works at 3rd Street alehousr in Santa Rosa, CA. No, I have no connection to the brewer. Just damn good beer.

(07/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Black Diamond Brewing Company, Walnut Creek, CA

True parking can be a pain at times but their beer is really good. Try the cask IPA and the Amber. They now have a new brewer so I don't know if he will brew the Scottish ale but their seasonal Scottish ale is one of the best I have ever tried. Their beer selection sucks though. They offer an Irish style stout almost all the time. They need to rotate their dark beers to increase variety. The former brewer had some great brewer's specials. As far as the food goes, their pizza is great. They also have some beautiful waitresses so you'll never get bored drinking a brew. The people who knocked on this place don't know anything about real beer. Budweiser better than this beer? Please!!!

(07/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: American River Brewing Company, Auburn, CA

They had a great oatmeal stout

(07/09/1999)














(0.092 seconds) 04:40:44 54.82.66.236, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS