PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rob bedford
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 21, 2014 @ 03:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rob bedford

Beer Reviews
(11)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

11
Beer Reviews from rob bedford
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

At one time, I really liked this brewpub and felt it was one of the better, more consistent brewpubs in NJ in terms of beer selection/quality and food (as evidenced by my brief review in 2002).

Since then, the quality of the food has taken a drastic down turn in taste, variation, and selection. Long time favorites are often removed from the menu and one of the odder things NOT on the menu is a Nacho Platter. Maybe they are trying to differentiate themselves from other brewpubs by NOT having a Nacho Platter, but it still is odd.

The beer selection is average, with the Raspberry Wheat as a consistent standout. In the times I've gone to JJB over the past few years, the beer selection hasn't changed much. On one hand, the good beers stay around, on the other, it tells me the brewer isn't trying new recipes.

The worst part of Bittings; however, is the service. Every time I've been there over the past few years, the service and wait time continues to decrease. The bartenders are efficient, even if they aren't personable but the meals always take a very long time to be brought out. It got to the point that we thought the bartender didn't put our order in it was taking so long.

I'd like this place to return to what it was because they had something good going, but it just goes downhill a little more every year.

(06/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Andy's Corner Bar, Bogota, NJ

This may not come across the right way, but Andy's has that great "hole-in-the-wall" place where you know everybody. It is almost like a little secret place of beer magic. The beer selection is, as noted by many reviewers, phenominal.

(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

This might be my favorite NJ brewpub. I've always had good luck with my food selection and the beer are always good. The bartender is very knowledgeable and amicable.

The building is beautiful and provides great ambiance, whether upstairs or at the bar itself.

(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Good Good Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Framingham, MA

I've only been to this particular Harvard's twice. Luckily both of those times were during the fall season, so I was able to enjoy their Harvest Spice beer. If you like holiday beers with cinnamon, then this beer is tough to beat. Served much like a margarita, the rim of the beer glass is coated with cinnamon sugar. If you buy a growler (which cannot be beat at $10), you are provided with cinnamon sugar. At the time I was last there, the Red Sox were in the World Series so the joint was jumping.

Highly recommended.

(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Silver Peak Restaurant and Brewery, Reno, NV

Reminded me a bit of Harvest Moon in New Brunswick in terms of atmosphere and layout

(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

It's been a couple of years since I was there but I remember the food being great and the best Hefeweizen I've ever had.

(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

I had dinner here at about 6Pm. At the time only one other person was at the bar. Three bartenders were there and I didn't even get a menu until about 10 minutes of sitting there.

(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

The food is always great here, atmosphere is good and beer selection is good

(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Alcatraz Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

Nothing special here, very much the feel of a brew-pub chain>>>>>Service was terrible, I was there on a slow Friday night, one of 3 people seated at the bar, three bartenders and I was sitting for a good 10 minutes before I was taken care of.

(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Indianapolis, IN

Foood was very good

Beer selection was so-so, Hefeweizen was good, the Indy Brown was VERY good

Atmosphere wasn't bad, had more of a feel of a Bennigan's or large chain than a brewpub

(11/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ram Restaurant and Brewery, Indianapolis, IN

I tried most of the beers on the menu. -The ButtFace is a great Amber beer, one of the best I've had. -The Hefeweizen was so-so, I didn't like the aftertaste -The Disorder Porter was very good -Indy Light wasn't bad either, not outstanding

Atmosphere and the great ButtFace was what really made this one of the better Brewpubs I've visited

(11/13/2002)














(0.067 seconds) 15:21:52 54.198.142.255, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS