PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rob erdman
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 01, 2014 @ 07:09 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rob erdman

Beer Reviews
(11)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

11
Beer Reviews from rob erdman
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Eastern Shore Brewing Company, St. Michaels, MD

Visited Saturday afternoon and shared two samplers with friends. All beers on draught are served in 4oz tasters. If you want you can order 5 tasters of the same beer, but at $8 for 20oz, a bit steep for micro brewed beer, even in St. Michaels! The beers - Magic was a bit sour with some citrusy nuance, but no classic german hefeweizen character, perhaps american wheat beer would be a better description. Duck Duck Goose tasty with flavorings of chocolate malt, a German porter? Knot So Pale Ale was IMHO the poorest brewed beer of all with off flavorings, and no cascade or simcoe hoppiness (a bad batch?). St Michael's Ale was a typical amber ale, drinkable and tasty, lightly hopped with a carmel malt flavor. Lighthause Ale, surprisingly, may have been the best brewed beer, no hidden flaws, simple and approachable. Nice quaint atmosphere, friendly patrons and service. Best micro brewery in town!

(07/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Berwick Brewing Company, Berwick, PA

Visited during the grand opening and managed to try all the beers offered. Number 1, served from a wooden keg; a Rauch Bock that was da bomb; perhaps one of the finest Peach Wheats Ive tasted, with a subtle fresh peachy finish; Cinnamon Boldy brewed with cinnamon and honey, surprisingly drinkable; a traditional dark lager and pils that were finely crafted and of course the ever approachable Berwick lager. The food consisted of a fresh pork sandwich and traditional kraut, which paired well with the beers (unfortunately i was told not to be a regular item). Sorta like have a beer in your neighbors garage, a bit unpolished but friendly and comfortable. I could easily find myself going for one and staying the afternoon, in fact, thats exactly what I did! This place is about good beer and Im looking forward to my next neighborly visit. Only open Saturdays and Sundays.

(01/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: ZOT, Philadelphia, PA

A nice bar-restaurant with a comfortable, yet upscale atmosphere. A varied selection of Belgian and US micros along with other beers, however nothing too exciting. Also early on a Saturday night only three of six draft lines were on and a fourth went off while we were there. I found the beer menu a bit confusing, when i could read it as one of the many people behind the bar kept removing it from in front of me and placing it back behind the bar(Excuse me, do you only have one of these things?). The beers were randomly(not alphabetically or stylistically) listed according to country of origin, unclear of the size offered, as many Belgian beers can be offered in both small(33cL) and large(75cL) bottles. Ordered a large bottle of the beer variety which just kicked, and was asked if a different beer "brand" glass would be okay. No problem, i appreciate that they try to serve beers in the proper glasses, but may not have them all, however one of the other people behind the bar, was removing all of this particular beer's glasses for, i was informed, the chef's private party upstairs, hmmm? Our pate appetizer was tasty and nicely served and our mussels were done well. Service was attentive but perhaps a bit inexperienced and confusing, there were no less than five different people behind the bar(better than no one behind the bar). We really weren't sure who should be or who was our server, and not really sure if they knew! Bottom line - in some other town this would be a great bar, but you're in a town with some awesome established Belgian bars and restaurants (and they aren't too far away, walked from here to there), I hope that some attention is paid to detail because with some time this could be one of them!

(11/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Awful Al's Smoke and Whiskey Bar, Syracuse, NY

Awful Al's has reopened as Al's Whiskey and Wine Lounge. Much the same as it was, with the usual taps and whiskey selection, and Friday happy hour food offering, but with a more extensive selection of wines and small offerings of cheeses, meats, breads, and sweets. Perhaps more importantly, no cigars and no smoking!

(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bedondaine and Bedons Ronds, Chambly, QC

If you find yourself in Chambly, perhaps to visit Unibroue or the Fourquette Fochette, a visit to this brewpub and “beer museum” would be in your best interest. Located close to the Forquet Forchette this pub offers a wide variety of well-made ales, including a top-rated extra bitter, L’amere Veilleuse, oatmeal and imperial stouts and some specialty beers such as La Mentheuse, brewed with juniper berries. Service was attentive and friendly, and the brew master was simply a great “publican.” The museum part of the establishment I believe is derived from the unbelievable display of beer bottles and paraphernalia. Overall a great place!

(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Greenwich Brewing Company, New York, NY

As far as i could tell this place has been closed for quite a while!

(05/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Ale House 'The Beer Joint of Your Dreams', Vestal, NY

Nice “local bar” atmosphere located in the middle of strip malls and hotels. Tap selection emphasis on micros, with a few imports. However, I was disappointed that three of my tap selections were out! Limited menu of sandwiches and pizza (no fryer so no fries, wings, etc.). Our food was served promptly and was adequate. Although the small space became crowded quickly this particular evening, (perhaps from a pre-basketball game crowd?) our server/bartender was pleasant and attentive. After experiencing The Ale House first hand I would have to say that earlier reviews show great bias pro or con for this establishment. In my opinion not the best beer bar in the universe, and definitely not the “Beer Joint Of My Dreams” but, overall a nice find in, from what sounds like, a poor beer environment.

(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Kitty Hoynes Irish Pub and Restaurant, Syracuse, NY

I've been coming into Kitty Hoynes for a few years and after reading Tim's review, it's time I give it its due. I get to Syracuse twice a year for a few days, after drinking around downtown we finally settle on Kitty's for the atmosphere and hospitality. We are always welcomed warmly by David and the bartenders and have one of the best pints of Guinness in town. The beer selection isn't huge, but fresh and adequate. The food has always been tasty and authentic, from smoked salmon with capers, red onoins, and brown bread, to a full irish breakfast. The atmosphere is as close to an authentic Irish pub as it gets. I will admit that i spend mostly afternoons here, however they have often lasted into the early evening watching football or basketball. I can imagine it getting a bit raucous later in the evening, this atmosphere also doesn't appeal to me, but I have to appreciate people having a good time.

(09/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Trap Rock Restaurant and Brewery, Berkeley Heights, NJ

Due to some comments from someone at a previous pub and remembering some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive coming to Trap Rock. We certainly weren't dressed like slobs but we weren't in our finest, (no collars, no ties, no sport coat, no sweater ? basically jeans, sweatshirts, and no hats) and it was Friday evening. We were warmly welcomed in our Ford Escort by the valet parkers. Greeted by the hostess, who we informed that we were just here for beer. Looking at the crowded bar area she informed us that she would ?be moving this group of people to a table shortly so there would be room here." We ordered a beer, and stood in the tight bar area. Sure enough we had seats before we could finish our first beer. The bartenders were extremely busy but were attentive and polite and even found a few moments for some light conversation. After looking at the lighter pub menu, we decided to order some appetizers, which were excellent. We also managed to try a few beers, which were impressive. The five varieties we tried were well crafted, and brewed with character and depth, each tasting distinctly different with stylistic balance. Granted this place isn?t your average brewpub, but they?re not serving your average food or BEER, but they are, at least in our experience, doing it politely and without any pretentiousness. Well worth a try.

(10/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

A bar-like atmosphere, with a lively Friday-after-work crowd. A friendly bartender who was eager to serve. We tried four of their beers, which we found to be good, but not outstanding. The beers tended towards more malty styles. The Bison brown, a malty interpretation of an English brown, had some good depth and character. There were also some draft "guest" beers available.

(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub, Sparta, NJ

A quaint, almost cheeky, building. Darkly painted log interior with a closeness warmed by the sun coming through the large window in the bar area. Our bartender was polite and attentive. We started with a sampler and moved on to some full size samplings. All beers were stylistically brewed and very drinkable. Their "light" gold was surprisingly flavorful, the pale ale was well balanced and not over-hopped, the nut brown was delicously malty, and the oatmeal stout had great body and mouthfeel. The food which we ordered for lunch was moderately priced, promptly served and very tasty. An overall enjoyable pub.

(10/21/2002)














(0.102 seconds) 19:10:00 54.90.19.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS