PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rob davis
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 12:34 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rob davis

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from rob davis
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lake Titus Brewery, Malone, NY

R.I.P...Of the many concepts and quotes that Fred unkowningly put in my head as a professional brewer was "NOW that's good ale!" after his first sip of a new batch of pale ale. If only success in business was a product of honesty...

(02/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

I'm using this space to applaud Victory's greatest ambassador, Joe Maloney. Every year Joe comes to Lake Placid, he supplies myself, Lake Placid Pub&Brew and Great Adirondack with an abundance of Penn beer (mostly Victory) which we normally can not get our hands on up here in the great white north. I can only speak for myself, and I want to express publicaly my gratitude. Everytime I open my fridge I am greated by Old Man Horizontal, Storm King and HopDevil--a site that makes me a very happy man. The beers are great. When my girlfriend opened the fridge and noticed the new additions her exact comment was "Wow, he did give you alot of beer". Victory should be greatful they have Mr. Maloney spreading his good cheer/beer this far north. Thanks again Joe for the beer, and you were right, the Pils rocked!

(02/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

Heya Joe, you're starting to pick up on the local lingo...before ya know it, you'll be thinking of moving year round up here...god knows we could use another beer loving soul!

(08/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

In regards and defense to McNeils...I have not been here since New Years of 2000, but I will say that the time spent then was enjoyable and the beer was original and delicious. To chide in on the 2 lesbians kissing teenagers...I saw a guy and a monkey doing tricks on Broadway in New York City...Does this mean that it's a true and blue circus town. Allthough N.Y is freak show central, I wouldn't declare something "true and blue" after just one experience. I've hung with a few Vermonters from that region, and the last word I would use to describe them would be "hippie"--raw, maybe, but not "hippie. McNeils is not for the soft of heart, but it reaks of authenticity and beer quality, an unfortunte missing element in our "sterilized" society and beer culture.

(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

Been so busy with trying to get reopened across the lake that I forgot to congratulate Matt, Kevin and Chris on taking the Matthew Vassar Cup home! Certian brewers at P.J's know that even microbiological life love to hear Garcia rifts and have been shown to produce better beer. Call it cosmic fermentation mixed with "sound" knowledge. By the way, along with Lisa G's, this place has some great wings. Get the hot honey garlic...you will not be dissapointed!

(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

Opening day arrived Sunday the 26th of May (had to make a baseball analagy...the Red Sox are up a game and a half on the despised Evil Empire!) and the restaurant looks absolutely beautiful. I will take this time to acknowledge a small crew of 9 individuals who labored through 4 months of construction rebuilding the Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood/ Brewing Company. As owner and CEO Joan Kane stated, the 9 men "bonded" over the 4 harsh months of this past winter. We worked through the bitter cold (50 below!), snow, freezing rain and Bobby the Bruce's mouth spewing out his many stories (I'm still trying to figure out how you met Babe Ruth, Joe DiMaggio, Shoeless Joe and many other deceased baseball legends at Yankee Stadium on 9/11/02) . In no particular order here are the names: Rob and Ed Kane, Eric "Hutch" Kugeman, Dave Recchio, Tom Sharlow, Jamie Dupree, Bobby Bruce, Jim Luce and myself (I suppose Joe McKeogh gets an honarable mention). Fellas, it looks like we are back to our original occupations--brewing, cooking, bartending and waiting--but we did something that most never will. We built the kitchen we cook out of, the bar we serve drinks on, and the dining room in which we present the food--individual parts that create a much larger, unspoken whole. I would encourage anyone who has ever enjoyed food and/or beverage at the Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood to come try us once again. I think you will be happy you did!

(05/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Three Needs Taproom, Burlington, VT

Stoped in here a few times during my one night stay. Every single lager that I had was very clean, crisp and darn tasty. Watched the Simpsons at 4 and had a few "duff" beers for a dollar. Later in the night I ended up drinking the Chec Pilsner which had great mouth feel and wonderful hop finish. Great place...and yes, if you are one of those, "where is the non-smoking section", you might want to go elsewhere

(03/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

Some general good news to note. We will be running beer lines from bright tank straight to the taps. This will allow us, the brewers, much more creativity in both styles and rotation.

(03/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

The Gilded Otter brewery offers, along with Wagner, quite possibly the finest array of both ales and lagers. Have drank much of their beer at festivals and never once have I been let down. One of those, "I'm going back to the Otter's tent to get more of that WeizenBock"....Have never been to the brewpub for the one time I ventured there, I was a bit too early. Coolest damm website I've seen for a brewpub. serious, great beer! rob davis,

(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Good

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

I have stopped in a few times over the past few weeks and am pleased to see that the Pub and Brew has ventured into Belgian Style beers. The first was a golden the second a belgian dubbel. Unfortantly got stuffed (not exactly a bad thing)with the brewers chicken sandwich (try it cajun style folks! a good time) and couldn't finish all of the dubbel.I thought both beers were great for being first timers! Hope to see these stick around and evolve for awhile. Another thought for people coming to town...If you are around on Tuesdays, check out their two for one deal from 9-?? Best place to be on a Tuesday night regardless of the season. Rob Davis, Great Adk Brewing Co.

(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

To Mr.Smith (that is your name, right?) I felt the need to respond, not defend (choice of words, Mr. Smith, after all, are crucial in conveying your purpose in writing; I hope that you look at this as a discussion and not an argument, also) to your posting on this web site. Since this is a public forum, I feel that I have the right to counter anything you choose to publish here regarding my beer and personal actions. With that in mind, I will freely respond to certian points you took the liberty in bringing up in your last review. What exactly is your point regarding TAP N.Y? Personally, I would like to clear up this whole "award" issue allowing our readers, and ourselves, the opportunity to move on to other more meaningful things. Are you saying that the John Brown Pale Ale was judged in error and should not have won a medal (after all, there are a "hundred" better beers in the state)? I will take the liberty to read between your unclear lines and deduce that was the point you were trying to make (I am not a "pro" within the school of rhetoric nor logic, so I hope that you will grant me the liberty to do such). If that is true, then you also must believe that the other awards--besides of course--the ones garnished by Wagner and John Harvards (for you feel these worthy),must also be "unworthy" of awards. As far as I know, a panel of judges can not be a 1/3 wrong or a 1/3 right in choosing which beers are better then others during a blind tasting--it's a all or nothing thing. So Mr.Smith, you are either yea or nay for TAP N.Y, which is it? Regarding the issue of me personally self-proclaiming myself to be the brewmaster for the Great Adirondack Brewing Co. What is the title giving to the person who creates all recipes for all the beer and conducts daily, the general operations of a sucsessful brewhouse? Please inform me of a better title for my proffesional job. Was I drinking a John Brown Pale Ale when I wrote my review of the Suds factory? Actually I was drinking a cup of coffee. Why did I wait so long to "bash" (readers, please read my review, I think "bash" is a harsh word...I will agree that it was not positive) the brewery. I just happened to see that someone posted a review from the pubcrawlers homepage, clicked on the link and read the responses. In a spur of the moment whim I wrote my review from a hotel lobby sitting over a cup of coffe, Mr. Smith (that is your name, right?) Accusing me of "just sitting around one day,drinking a John Brown Pale ale, looking at your TAP N.Y awards, thinking of breweries or brewpubs to bash" allthough comical, is completly untrue. Gross exaggeration has its time and place, but not when you are trying to explain to people the parameters of "rudeness" and "distaste". Please, adhere to your "iota of class" policy. I must go to work now, Mr.Smith--"Squeking" out beer out of my kettle unfortunately has limited my time with you. Sincerely, with an email address, Rob

(05/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Shifty's Bar and Grill, Syracuse, NY

Shifty's simply is a great bar. We went on the night that Collin and his "mudjugsuckers" (is that right??) played a rippen set of live music. The beer selection is very good though on this particular night I was indulging in scotch. As the reviewer said before, this is "the" neibhorhood bar!

(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Shifty's Bar and Grill, Syracuse, NY

Shifty's simply is a great bar. We went on the night that Collin and his "mudjugsuckers" (is that right??) played a rippen set of live music. The beer selection is very good though on this particular night I was indulging in scotch. As the reviewer said before, this is "the" neibhorhood bar!

(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Syracuse Suds Factory, Syracuse, NY

To all at the Syracuse Suds Factory, I hope that no one took what I said about your beer personally. I just wanted to state my honest opinion from the experience that I have had in the past. I will say that it has been some time (6 months) since I last have had your beer. I will be in Syracuse and hope that my opinion will change greatly--if so, I will gladly post a good review. If your wondering, someone from Boston thought it "mean-spirited" with my review. Please, understand that I am just trying to raise the standard of beer within this great brewing state. Again, no personal offense meant.

(05/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

To Mr.Smith (for you did not leave an email address). I am sorry that you think it "distastefull" of me to give my honest opinion about the beers that I have tasted over the years at the Syracuse Suds Factory, but I still hold the opinion and think that it should be known to anyone who might be interested in going there. From what I can conclude, these postings should exist in hope that brewpubs will be forced to do a better job at producing their namesake, their heart and soul--beer! If I find a brewpub that I feel does not do a par job--and my judgement really is made from my two feet, not a "high horse"--then I believe that the people who are in control of the business should consider making changes. The reason for this specific response stems not from an isolated account but from 4 years of consistent sampling. I do understand that being in the business might not give me the right to publicly announce my opinion, but I do consider myself to be a pubcrawler and enjoy beer greatly. It is one thing to write completly false things about a place, but honesty should be this industries main objective, and this websites general mode of operation. I'm also sorry that you are discrediting most of New York States breweries with your comment about "meaningless awards". Considering the quality of Broklyn, Big House, Wagner, Ommegang, Gilded Otter, C.J Evans Pump House, John Harvards, and many others, I feel proud and lucky to have been awarded the medals that I have garnished. Again, Mr. Smith, I am sorry that I have offended you adn the Syracuse Suds Factory. It was truely nothing personal. Rob

(05/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Syracuse Suds Factory, Syracuse, NY

The real deal??? come on...I have never (and I honestly mean never) have had a decent beer from this place. There have been many times that I have had to dump out the beer at beer festivals because I couldn't get through the few ounces. I generally like to find good in all beers, but have always found this beer to be bad and completly uninspired. Plus I have seen the owner or brewer?? I honestly do not know which one drinking a micehlob lite at a festival. In all honesty, for the general business of micros, I think these guys should restructure their recipes. Rob Davis Brewmaster Great Adirondack Brewing Co. Lake Placid, N.Y

(05/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Nodding Head Brewery and Restaurant, Philadelphia, PA

Visited the brewpub three different times over a two day stay and was able to session all four of the beers. The best was the pale ale with the pilsner a decent second. Thought the beer to be a bit bland but have had much worst. Was treated very nicely by the head brewer and bartender. So nice in fact that they invited me to the "World Strongest Beers" tasting. Great experience, but if one can imagine, I went to Ludwigs (everyone should check this place out!!!can not say enough about the beer and food) at 2 p.m for one beer and walked out at seven for the tasting. Long story short, midway through the tasting, I realized that my intoxified mind took off for vacation. Great event and many thanks for the hospitality of the brewer and of Lew Bryson. I invite anyone from Nodding Head for dinner and beer at the Great Adirondack Brewing Co./Steak and Seafood if they are ever in the vincinity of Lake Placid, N.Y.

(04/20/2002)














(0.071 seconds) 00:34:24 54.166.17.26, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS