PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from robert porter
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 18, 2014 @ 11:47 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
robert porter

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from robert porter
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Bethlehem Brew Works, Bethlehem, PA

Wish I could give a better rating and review. For the area, the place is great, partly because there is just not much else there for the beer drinker. But overall, the beers were OK. Nothing outstanding. The Pale was a little bland, the ESB was , OK, bland, and the Stout, flavorful but not full flavored. The place is very nice, very comfortable and full of locals. I believe that the food is usually good. I had a special that was not. But I would go again to try something else. I did not get a chance to venture into the Steelgarden... After reading other reviews now I wish I had. But I will go back here and try again... that says alot because there are many other places where I just won't go back if the local beer is not good. Theirs is good enough for this area... sorry if you live there and don't mean to insult - just not much to choose from (that I found).

(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

In town on business, tried the Port twice. Fantastic selection of micro brews, both their own and others. And a hop head dream come true - 6 IPA's. Most of them were pretty hoppy. The Wipeout was excellent. The double IPA on the cask was very good. Especially liked the Porter - very smooth due to the nitro pour and oats. Not too smokey. Good guest beers from Russian River, Stone and others. The pizza here is good. Service at the bar is good once they figure out your sitting there to run a tab to eat and drink, and not just to order one beer. The place is noisy and can get crowded. Have been there twice in a week, will go back again.

(01/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Fitzgerald's Harp 'n Bard, Clifton, NJ

Wasn't very easy to find the place but, once I did was glad to be there. Very friendly locals, decent beer selection (including my newest favorite "Smiddicks"). Had fish n chips that were pretty good. Missed the Irish music but plan to go back there to catch that as well as more beer.

(11/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Office Beer Bar and Grill, Montclair, NJ

No comments on this place for awhile so I'll add mine... went here while in NJ on business and was looking for brew pubs. This is not but has a decent beer selection. But be forewarned: it is loud, not the best service and the food, as noted in other reviews, is basic pub fare. But what a great place to go with folks from your office for after work beers. And you don't get stuck with just basic beer.

(08/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Gaslight Brewery and Restaurant, South Orange, NJ

Was in NJ on business and tried to find beer bars and brewpubs. Glad I found this one though I drove by twice before I saw it. Service was great with very friendly staff at the bar. The beer quality was very good. Not a huge selection but nice to have guest beers available also. I will go back here next time I am in the area. If you don't know the area, look carefully to find the place and park in the back.

(08/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Drank and ate here last night. Have been to other of their locations in the past. This one is nice being on the water. Beer selection a little limited this day...no Porter available. Tried the Pale Ale, Brown and Stout. The Brown was excellent. Not like boring and bland browns you see so often these days. Stout was good, on nitro tap. Food was decent, pub fare with a seafood slant. Bar staff was very friendly and seemed knowledgable of beers as well as the Baltimore area.

(08/28/2004)














(0.065 seconds) 23:47:47 54.234.217.247, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS