PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from robert borsato
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 28, 2014 @ 01:33 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
robert borsato

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from robert borsato
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

Stopped in for lunch and a few samplers at the bar. The bartender was great and she let me taste each (gratis) before I ordered my 22oz'r with lunch. Beers are your typical German variety with the Octoberfest standing out far above the others in my opinion. A place I would definitely go to again but I was bummed that they only had 4 diff ones available.

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

My second favorite Brewpub in Vegas behind Holy Cow. Great location at night since it's so close to the Fremont Experience. The Black Chip Porter was very nice; roasty and chocolatey. The Marker Pale Ale was my second favorite here -- nice hop aroma and taste. The High Roller Gold was advertised as a wheat but I thought it was more like Bud. Bartenders were great and samplers were generous.

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

As evidenced by my marks I found this place to be very average with average beers. A pretty typical brewpub (a lot like the big chains - HOPS) that would be great for introducing people to microbrews but nothing special for those of us that seek out extraordinary beers. The Silver State Stout was the only thing I would go back for; the Pale Ale was good - only slightly hoppy in my mind/taste.

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: Holy Cow Casino, Cafe and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Of the 5 brewpubs I visited in L.V. this was the best in my opinion. They had a wide selection with 8 diff beers and the styles were great. The Mango Madness topped my list and I'm not a big fruit beer drinker - great aroma and very fruity; nice change from raspberry brews. For hop-heads, they had a great Pale Ale and IPA. Both had a great hop aroma and the Pale Ale was a nice Grapefruity taste - pretty sure it was Cascade Hops. The IPA was really creamy and delicious. The Rebel Red is more of a brown ale and very good. Last but not least they had a "true" hefeweizen - nice to see! At the top of my list when I return!!!

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Of the 5 Brewpubs I visited in L.V. this ended up at the bottom of my list. They do a very poor job in promoting their beers and microbrewewing in general. They did not have samplers for purchase and the beers were very bland in general. The best was the 3 and You're Out Stout: smooth and slight chocolate tones. The amber was a big disappointment as it was advertised with "lots of hops!"; NOT ! I'd pass this place on my next trip unless they make some changes...

(11/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Was disappointed that they did not have samplers. This was the only drawback I could find though since I thought the beers were delicious. My favorite beer was the Penn Dark -- I can see how it won an award at the GABF! The Octoberfest was also excellent and I got to take home a six-pack from the brewpub -- not something you often get to do in VA. Also, for the hopheads out there, try the Kaiser Pils. In addition, this place had a very friendly waitstaff.

(11/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Great place to go for samplers -- 10 different beers on tap when I was there. Was impressed by almost all of them but none moreso than the "LYTE". Not normally being a light beer drinker I almost passed on this sample. Was pleasantly pleased that it had a great hop character -- you could actually tast the hops; unlike every light beer I've had. Also, liked the Amber so much that I took home a growler (don't forget your's; you'll definitely want to go home with something!)

(11/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Arlington, VA

Obviously packed since it is brand new and probably working out some kinks as a result but had a very good bartender in spite of the madness. The range of beers was good but no attention grabbers just yet. The first seasonals were not ready yet when I was there.

(09/10/1999)














(0.151 seconds) 13:33:29 54.227.20.250, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS