PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from robert brandon
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 09:25 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
robert brandon

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from robert brandon
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, Austin, TX

The Gingerman is Mecca for beer lovers. Staggering selection -- local stuff, rare stuff on draft, cask ale, staff that know EVERY beer -- what more could you ask for? Okay, a little broader food selection but hey, what they've got is pretty good.

They'll be moving in the next few months, so double check before you go. And when you go, take the Dillo (free downtown bus) or a cab so you have have a roaring good time and still get home safe. See you there!

(09/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: (512) Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I had the Pale Ale at Uncle Billy's and was disappointed. There wasn't a lot of hop aroma and the flavor just seemed kind of . . . simple. Uncle Billy's Ax Handle Pale Ale just has a lot more going on.

I found the Wit at Opal Divine's. Ah -- much better. A little on the mild side -- not too much yeast, orange, or coriander. It's not Celis White but a very drinkable alternative to Blue Moon.

And I had the IPA at Lovejoy's. Ooh -- so close! Oddly cloudy, but a really nice malt profile. That's what so many IPAs lack in my book. Just crank up the hops and it'll be a champ!

These guys are brand new, so I'll try them again. With so many great local beers in Austin, how could ANYBODY order a CoorMillWeiserLite?!

(09/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Uncle Billy's Brew and Que Smokehouse and Brewery, Austin, TX

These guys are off to a great start. The Hefe-Weizen is fabulous -- it'll give Live Oak's a real run for the money! And the Pale Ale was great, too. I'm not a big fan of ambers, but theirs had just the right nutty flavor it should. The Blonde wasn't very interesting, but I think that's the point -- something harmless for the CoorMillWeiserLite crowd. The IPA was a disappointment, kinda thin and wimpy. But I'll bet they get it right in another batch or two.

I've been in three times now, and even if the beer wasn't great, I'm come in for the BBQ. The chicken was quite possibly the moistest, most delicious I've had. Great ribs, and fine brisket and sausage, too. I hope they'll expand the menu a bit -- it's all BBQ at this point.

Check 'em out!

(06/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Live Oak Brewing Company, Austin, TX

I used to hate hefe-weizen. In fact, I used to LOVE to hate hefe-weizen. And then I had Live Oak's -- WOW! NOW I get it. Gobs of banana and clove, and you can almost chew the yeast. Nothing better for a hot Austin day.

The Pilz is divine. A CoorMillWiserLite kid would strain a taste bud on the hops, but it's just right. Chip says he and the other brewers go through lots of this stuff - yum!

The Liberation Ale is a fine IPA with a great hop nose and plenty of malt to balance things out.

All the rest are very good, too. Try 'em all!

(06/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe, Kalamazoo, MI

The best brewerery in America. Period. Rich, complex, fresh, perfectly balanced. Some of the most equisite beers I've ever had -- Two Hearted Ale on tap, an Amber that I'd choose over long list of strong ales, my first sip of Expedition Stout, Cherry Stout with chocolate cake (yes! try it!), a Sparkling Ale gives Duvel a hell of a run for the money. These guys do everything right . . . except ship Texas, where I live!

(05/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

I'm a local, and for my money, this is the best brewpub in town. The brewer does lots of styles very well and rarely wastes taps with beers for the masses. All the strong beers are great, especially the Wee Heavy and the Whiskey Stout. There's almost always something for the hophead -- recently one with *nine* separate hops additions. There's always a good stout on nitrogen, and the lagers and ambers are consistently good. Come hungry because the food is fantastic. Try the prix fixe dinner on Sunday or Monday. A very nice wine selection, too.

(05/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

Terrific, clean beers, very true to style. Standouts were the Grande Messe Alt, Elixir Celeste Lager, Paienne Blond Ale, Voyageur des Brumes ESB, and the Rigor Mortis Abbey Blonde (a bit like Leffe). One nitrogen tap and a hand pump, too, but only toaster oven food. Don't miss this place!

(05/06/2004)














(0.064 seconds) 21:25:32 23.20.33.176, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS