PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from road mode
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 24, 2014 @ 09:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
road mode

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from road mode
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

A little more form than function here. Nice interior (old train station), but less pub-like and more upscale-like. The beer was mostly OK (one touted as having bubble gum tones -- sorry, but that doesn't cut it for me), the food was OK, but the service was not. I'm glad I have other choices.

(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub, Asheville, NC

Good Irish pub atmosphere, good beer selection, but way too smoky for me unless I sit outside. However, the outside atmosphere is not so good: new decking, plastic chairs, and a hemmed-in feeling. I don't go here much.

(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Bier Garden, Asheville, NC

Large selection of beers, varied menu, good food, but gets a little on the smoky side for my tastes. New, the windows now open onto the sidewalk; good for people watching, esp during Bele Chere. Not my fav in town, but not bad.

(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Barley's Taproom, Asheville, NC

Another of my favorite hometown spots. Beerhall atmosphere and excellent pizzas. 40+ beers on tap and no macros -- makes my head spin.

(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery, Asheville, NC

My wife and I like this place better than any other in town. While it usually has only three of its own brews on tap at once, they're always very good, often including a seasonal. There are renowned non-locals on tap, and a good selection of single-malts, as well. The service and food are unusually good, with hearty satisfying fare. But its atmosphere promotes it into the "Great" category: intimate, Irish/English-like pub, yet smoke-free thank God, right on the main drag, with outdoor seating for sipping on the sidewalk. They often have live Celtic or Bluegrass music on the weekends. It's a great place.

(09/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Denison's Brewing Company, Toronto, ON

The hefeweitzen and helles were both good, though not notable. Same for the food. But the service was notably poor, at least out on the outside deck. On my next trip into TO I'll likely skip Denison's.

(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: North End Tavern and Brewery, Parkersburg, WV

Decent beer and a decent selection for a small brewpub. We tried the Red, which was pretty good. Unfortunately, there was no place for non-smokers to sit in comfort. The service and food were passable at best, but the prices were very good.

(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

I have zero complaints or suggestions for improvement, but I have several compliments: The beers, the atmosphere, the food, the service, all, even the swing band, were great! And I'm not saying this flippantly; it was all truly excellent. It's almost enough to make me want to live in Pittsburgh. Instead, I'll plan to revisit the Penn Brewery the next time I'm in town.

(09/25/2002)














(0.068 seconds) 21:55:51 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS