PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from rogue
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 30, 2014 @ 11:35 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
rogue

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

4
Beer Reviews from rogue
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Southport Brewing Company, Southport, CT

Well, I have to say after my last visit on 4/14. I will probably not be going back. I remember when they first opened and how impressed I was that they has 12 of their own beers on tap. From the lightest to the darkest. All the beers flavors were good. My girfriend(at the time) and I were #3 & #4 members of the original mug club. You could say we were sort of like Norm on cheers. After the last couple years the beer has become very watered down and has no flavor. I use to love the stout and the porter. Its now just dark brown water. I had their seasonal bock on my last visit. It sucked. I then switched to a stout. It also sucked. The sesonals are always the same. The brewer needs to start experimenting. Different IPA's, Different Stouts etc. A monkey can brew their beer now. Not sure if its because they grew too fast. 4 Locations. Food: is always good. Didn't eat last time I was here. Service was decent.

Just a good place that has gone bad. Probably because the only competition for them in the local area is themselves.

(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe, Willimantic, CT

This place is by far the best brewpub in CT. I drove 1.5 hours to get here on 4/20. Wish it was alot closer so I could become a regular there. I have been here before and always can't wait to get back. Beers: 10 of their own on tap. All very good. My favorites: * Pushing the Envelope Extreme – An India Pale ale brewed with 755 lbs of malt and aggressively hopped with Centennial, Chinook, Simcoe and Columbus. 8.8%abv

* RoadenZok – A recipe by homebrewer Paul Zocco honoring Belgian Sour Ales. Brewed with Belgian malts and Styrian Goldings hops a sour beer infused with tart cherries. 5.2%abv

* Jack Daniels Barrel Aged Willi Whammer “04” – Aged for 6 months in a Jack Daniels whiskey barrel, this barleywine has a mélange of flavors. Served at room temperature. 10.7%abv Beer was so good took 4 growlers home. Food: Had some appetizers. They were great and the presentation is like you see on Emeril Service:great Atmosphere: Great its in an old post office.

You Must Go Here If You Like Good Beer!!!!!

(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So

Establishment: The Cambridge House, Granby, CT

Well, I have to say I was very disappointed in this place. I will probably give it another shot in a year or so as it is a new place.(That's if it's still around!)

I drove 1.5 hours to get here on 4/20. Beer selection: Kolsch, ESB and Red. They were out of the stout and the IPA. ESB and Red were good enough for me to take home a growler of each.

Food: Only had some calamari. Was nice and spicy but rubbery. Needs to be nice and crispy like calamari is suppose to be.

Service: SUCKED!!!! Sat at the bar. Thought I was invisible as the bartender walked by me and my wife numerous times and did not take our order. Then he goes and takes someone elses order that just walked in. Bar was not very busy. Had an empty glass sitting in front of me for about 10 + minutes every time I was finished with a beer. Never asked how the food was or anything like that.

(04/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Manchester, CT

Went here on 3/8. To my surprise they had two of my favorite style beers on tap. Scotch Ale and Imperial Stout. I was very impressed by both beers. So impressed I took a growler of each home. Had some appetizers. They were really good. The only complaint I have about this place is the building. Just doesn't give you that good brew pub feeling. If they keep having great beers. I'll get over the building.

(03/12/2006)














(0.047 seconds) 23:35:36 54.87.44.72, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS