PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from russ hobaugh
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 29, 2014 @ 04:16 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
russ hobaugh

Beer Reviews
(50)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

50
Beer Reviews from russ hobaugh
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Robert Thomas Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I was disappointed in the beers. I have had Roffy in the past, and enjoyed them, but RT does not compare. The beers from RT were lame. None really stood out, and the porter was definately NOT a robust porter. I was way underwhelmed.

(04/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Grand Rapids Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I tried several brewpubs in Grand Rapids, and found this to be the best of the lot. Their Russian Imperial was very good, as was an extremely hoppy APA. Service and food were both good as well.

(04/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants), Reading, PA

Fancy Pants has taken over operations for Neversink. Neversink made some good beers, too bad I can't say the same for Fancy pants. I had their beer at Canal street(restaurant above the brewery) and it was garbage. An APA that looked like a Hefe-weizen it was so cloudy and hazy. It tasted even worse than it looked. Maybe they need some time to get their act together, but they are bad now. If you want to buy local beer get Victory or Stoudt's, which are outstanding.

(04/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Canal Street Pub and Restaurant, Reading, PA

This was my first and last visit to Canal Street. They had 2 of Fancy Pants beers on tap, an APA and an Old Ale. I tried the APA. It looked like they served it right from the fermenter: it was cloudy and dark instead of being crystal clear. It also tasted sour, soapy, and foul. It had no hop aroma or taste. Neversink actually made some good beers, if this is what Fancypants makes, they are in trouble. I sent this back and had a Guiness which was also off-I would guess they don't clean their beer lines very often. The food took over 50 minutes to get there, and the waiter was horrible. To add insult to injury, the bill for two bad meals and one horrible beer was almost $50.00! If you want bad beer and high-priced average food give this a shot, otherwise go to Stoudt's. If you spend $50 there, you will eat like a king and have good beer.

(04/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Columbus Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

The food was decent, but the beer was poor at best. I got the sampler, and only the porter was worth drinking, and it was not a good porter. Most of them had off tastes, or were NOT the style they were supposed to be. The staff had no clue either, my waiter tried to convice me that the porter was a sweet beer like a brown ale. Not really worth a visit.

(03/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Black Forest Brew Haus, Farmingdale, NY

This place looked like it was transplanted from Germany so I was looking forward to some good German food and beer. Boy was I mistaken. They had 4 beers on tap, I tried the Pilsener, and could not even finish it it was so bad with a sour soapy taste. My food arrived BEFORE the beer, and it was barely edible. I then had to wait 25 minutes for my check. Lousy food, beer, and service: Do NOT go here!

(03/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Wild Wing Cafe, Reading, PA

More a place for wings(FANTASTIC), than beer, but worhth going on a weeknight.

(01/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

The beer is average at best. I live nearby, so Yuengling is readily available on tap. Compared to BudMilCo, it is better, but compared to Micro's, it is bland at best. The Traditional Lager could be an awesome beer if they would just use some hops. In fact they use Cascade which has a wonderful taste and aroma, but never comes through in the beer because they use so little.

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Middle Ages Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

Extremely friendly Micro. You just stop in, and can sample everything on tap. The Impaled Ale(IPA) is one of the best I have ever had--I would say it is on same level as Victory Hop Devil. All of their beers were big on taste, and unique on flavor. The Head Brewer(Marc) is extremely friendly and answers any questions you may have. This is a must stop in Syracuse.

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So Lousy

Establishment: Distillery, Rochester, NY

I had read the bad reviews, but was looking for someplace to watch football and have a beer. What a bad idea. I tried 1 beer--the English Ale. It tasted like REALLY BAD homebrew. It was undrinkable-sweet, no hops, no head. I tried the food, and it was marginally better. Avoid this place.

(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Black Diamond Brewing Company, Walnut Creek, CA

The only difference in their beers is the color--they all tasted the same. They advertised an "authentic" Bavarian Weizen, and it was a plain American wheat beer. Service was horrible, on a weeknight with a small crowd. Don't even waste the time going here.

(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: 21st Amendment Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Very good beers. The IPA is ultra hoppy, but still drinkable. The Stout was excellent. Food was good, and the service was great. The bartender gave me directions for other brewpubs to check out while I was in town!

(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Typical chain brewpub--bland beers, decent food, decent service. Lots of nicer and better places to eat on Fisherman's wharf.

(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

They had something like 14 beers on tap when I was there. I tried a sampler to taste 6 of them, and only the Stout stood out. All of the pale ales(bitter, pale, and IPA)all tasted the same. The Porter was extremely sour. I might have hit a bad night, but I would go to 21st Amendment before coming here.

(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

The tour was great--the full fermentation tanks, the hop room, Fritz Maytag in his office. But the best part was the tasting. All of Anchor's beers are excellent. I found the Old Foghorn to be one of the best Barleywines I have ever had. Take the 19 bus, and it stops right in front of the brewery. If you like beer, visit Anchor!

(09/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Gettysbrew, Gettysburg, PA

Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews before I went here. The only good thing about Gettysbrew is the historical building it is in. The beer was flat, watery, and sour. I thought they might be having a bad batch, but from the comments here, that is the norm. They brag they serve the beer right out of their tanks, they should let it get carbonated BEFORE they serve it. The food was iffy, and the service was horrible. We waited 20 minutes to place an order, and the food took almost 45 minutes to get there. And this was on a Sunday afternoon with few people there! Unless you like sour flat beer, do NOT go here.

(08/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Barley Island Brewing Company, Noblesville, IN

Looks like they are fairly new operation. The beers were good but not great, they need a little work on the brewing end of things. The food was good, but service was poor. It is worth a visit if you are in the area.

(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

I have visited here twice, and their beer is OK, but nothing great. The food is very good. What sets this off is their great selection of guest beers--an excellent selection of really good beers.

(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Indianapolis, IN

4 beers, and no taste in them at all. They all looked and tasted like they were watered down, and the only difference was in the color. Don't even think about going here.

(07/27/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Elevator Brewery and Draught Haus, Columbus , OH

The food and service were good, but the beer was just OK. They had 12 selections, I tried 3 and only 1 decent. The porter was very bland--it was dark with no flavor. The doppelbock was iffy, the elevator pale ale was the best of the lot. The place is OK, but don't go out of your way to visit.

(06/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Bonfire Bistro and Brewery, Northville, MI

The beer selection was OK, but the quality was horrible. I had 2 beers, and both had a sour, infected taste. On top of that, the beers tasted kind of watery with no real flavor. The service was terrible--slow and a long time to place and get an order.

(03/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Stout Brothers Public House, Milwaukee, WI

They had 7 of their own beers and 1 guest beer when I was there. Half were your typical "light" style beers, but there were also some really good beers. The brown ale was good, but the Underground IPA, and Celtic Cross Stout were excellent! The food was also very good. After visiting Water Street, and Milwaukee Ale House, Stout Bros has the best beer of any brewpub in Milwaukee(IMHO).

(02/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Great So So Good

Establishment: McGarvey's, Annapolis, MD

This place is NOT a beer bar: the only thing they had on tap was Bud, Bud Lite, and Aviator. The Aviator wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. The food was fantastic, but don't go for the beer.

(02/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great So So So So

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

After reading the reviews here, I was completely underwhelmed by the beers. I tried the sampler, and none had any real flavor or were impressive at all. In fact the IPA and Barleywine were so watered down, I could not tell what they were supposed to be. The service was also really slow, and it was not crowded at all. I would NOT recommend this place for beer, although the food was good.

(02/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery, Pittsburgh , PA

Good solid beers that are well worth a visit. The food was good, and the service was very good. It is a little hard finding the place for out of towners, but worth it!

(01/24/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.153 seconds) 04:16:49 54.227.63.195, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS