PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from russell schweikhard
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 17, 2014 @ 02:43 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
russell schweikhard

Beer Reviews
(13)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

13
Beer Reviews from russell schweikhard
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, McLean, VA

This is the latest installment in the Gordon Biersch chain and the fifth that I have visited. As with all of these establishments, there is a serious effort to provide a quality dining and beer enjoyment experience. The food is quite good (both lunch & dinner menus) and features the standard GB offerings plus some local variations. The beers are up to the GB standards but the variety is somewhat disappointing -- they have the standard maerzen, golden, wheat and pils. The one notable exception is that they brew a schwarzbier that is both relatively light (in alcohol content) and extremely flavorfull. The brewmaster is approachable and knowledgable, and promises more interesting variety in their seasonal offerings. Overall, I would recommend a visit here whenever you are in the Tysons Corner area.

(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Thoroughbreds Grill and Brewing, Leesburg, VA

I'd like to echo the beer reviews previously submitted. The three beers I sampled -- the pale ale, IPA, and hefeweizen -- were all very good, but not the best examples of the styles I've ever tasted. Where Thoroghbreds excels is their food and service. The menu has a lot of variety and everything my party had was superb. The service in the restaurant was top notch, among the best I've ever encountered in the many brewpubs I've visited. It is also unique in that it is extremely family friendly including an extensive kids menu, wine list for the non-beer drinker, and reasonable prices. I highly recommend a visit.

(02/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Kona Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

The highly successful Kona Brewing Company from the Big Island has finally opened a brewpub on Oahu. It is located in Hawaii Kai overlooking the Koko Marina. It has been open for about two weeks now and, like any new establishment, is still working out some of the kinks. I have visited twice and have come away pretty impressed. In addition to their standard three brews that can be found bottled throughout the islands, they had 7 additional offerings plus 3 "seasonal" brews. None were terrible, although many were not particularly distinctive. However, their hefe, IPA, pale ale, and porter were quite good. I am happy to report that the food is extremely good. Their pupu and pizza offerings are exceptional (haven't tried the sandwiches yet). The only cautionary note I offer is that this is not a place for the kids. They do not have a keiki menu nor do they serve any mainstream soft drinks. All in all, it is definitely worth a visit.

(01/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Phoenix, AZ

The fifth GB I have visited. This one maintains the overall qaulity of the beers and brewed an exceptional wheat for the summer months (although at 110 degrees in the first week of Sept, I wonder when summer really ends). The food is comparable to other GB's which is to say quite good. Worth the visit.

(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Waimea Brewing Company, Waimea, Kauai, HI

After a horrible experience at Whatlers, I desperately wanted to write a positive review for Waimea. Unfortunately, I can only tell you that the beer is mediocre. The light was not bad, the wheat had a bit of a bad bite on the finish, and the ales were largely tasteless. On the plus side, the food was pretty good -- go for any of the dishes with the Kalua pork. Given the lack of alternatives for brewpubs on Kauai, this is an OK stop as you return from Waimea Canyon (don't go out of your way for it).

(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Whalers Brewpub, Lihue, Kauai, HI

In real estate, location is everything -- not so in brewing. Whalers is in the perfect location, with ocean on two sides and a golf course in between. Unfortunately, their beer is terrible. The wheat has a bitter finish that can't even be masked by the addition of fruit extract in their "guava wheat." The ales are aggresively hopped, but have a harsh flavor that ruins any hope of enjoyment (and I am a hop head). I love to explore new brewpubs (even mediocre ones) but I have to recommend that you pass this one by.

(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

Clearly our friend from Chicago is either incapable of judging good beer or had other issues. The beer here, as with other locations in the GB chain, is well crafted in the German style. Their Blonde Bock and Dunkles are enjoyable. However, the seasonals are not to be missed. The current Maibock is a wonderful concoction, strong and sweet, with a thick body and head. The food is quite good -- once again, opt for the specials rather than the menu. Finally, the location is not to be missed -- on the water with plenty of seating.

(05/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

The latest Gordon Biersch location lives up to the reputation established by its West Coast cousins. It is located in the historic Riggs Bank building in downtown DC, just down the street from the MCI Center. They feature four German-style lagers. On this visit, I sampled the blond-bock (extremely good) and a dunkles that was superb. The food was great, particularly their signature garlic fries. This brewpub is well worth the visit.

(03/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Englewood, CO

Yawn -- CB Potts is the very definition of mediocrity... Denver is a town of great brewpubs and this isn't one of them. Don't get me wrong, if you don't have the time to go downtown or the additional 15 minutes to run up the road to the Bull and Bush, by all means stop here and have a beer. The beers are fine and the food is tasty, just not remarkable.

(09/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

I was very impressed with the Bull and Bush -- an extremely comfortable establishment featuring great beers and food. The interior looks like an old English country pub and provides the perfect atmosphere for the enjoyment of their British style beers. Their pale ale, cream ale, IPA, brown and stout are all well-crafted and enjoyable. However, their ESB is heavily hopped and, although an enjoyable brew, does not taste like an English bitter. Oddly enough, they also brew two German beers -- a hefeweizen that was not available and a superb Kolsch (in my experience, second only to the unbeatable Kolsch brewed by Goose Island in Chicago). I also can vouch for the quality of the ribs. The only downside to the Bull & Bush is its location -- best to call for directions so you don't get lost -- it is worth the trip!

(09/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Peter B's Brew Pub, Monterey, CA

Peter B's is a great disappointment. The beers are forgetable and nothing is true to style (with the exception of a passable pils). The facility is nice, but they can't seem to decide what business they are in. For example, they placed their pool table adjacent to the dining area, ensuring a constant stream of loud outbursts from the players (at least a dozen of which were below the age of 12). The service was slow and inflexible. A request for samplers of each of their beers got the response that only five could be served because that was how they did it. Add to this the realization that their dark wheat is nothing more than a mix of their mediocre wheat and poor stout, and you can see why Peter B's is not worth the stop.

(09/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

The beer is great, although the selection is somewhat limited. However, a visit to GB is mandatory for anyone passing through Honolulu. The location is fabulous -- on the water with lots of outdoor seating, live music on weekends, and excellent food (be sure to order the garlic fries).

(03/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So So So Lousy

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Alexandria, VA

This is really an experience best missed by anyone who appreciates a good brewpub. Take the extra five minutes and go to any of the other establishments in the area...

(02/26/2000)














(0.097 seconds) 14:43:44 54.197.74.130, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS