PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tj
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 05:09 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tj

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from tj
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Trinity Beverage Company, Los Alamos, NM

An oasis of beer in an out of the way place. Very nice selection of American craft beers. Comfortable atmosphere with a decent pub-type food menu. I don't remember anyone smoking, which was also pleasant. Had a nice Stone IPA and Deschutes Black Butte Porter. Be sure to ask for a NON frosted glass. The beer here is as cold as I've ever had to begin with, and then they serve it in a frosted glass! Order your second beer well ahead of finishing the first to let it warm up a little bit!

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Chama River Brewing Company, Albuquerque, NM

Upscale restaurant with the focus on food service. Not much of a place to come and hang out at the bar or sit outside in a beer garden. The beers we tried were clean and well representative of the styles listed. We didn't stay here long because we weren't eating.

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Billy's Long Bar, Albuquerque, NM

Nice place to hang out on a warm, sunny afternoon. They open the back room to convert it into a "beer garden". VG beer selection, seemed like the best selection in town. The place gets a little smoky inside. Food looks like standard pub grub, but their chili cheese fries sure were good! There is some serious eye candy among the staff here too! During the week the pub was relaxed, but I hear it gets crazy on the weekends

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Second Street Brewery, Santa Fe, NM

Great locals place away from the touristy part of Santa Fe. They were out of the IPA, which came highly recommended. The Imperial Stout was VG, others ok to good. We had the BBQ special, which was decent. They have an interesting menu.

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

Nice place to hang out on a sunny afternoon. This is just a brewery tap house, not a pub. Can't get the beers any fresher! All we tasted were good, though I'm not fond of their hop blend in the IPA.

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Eske's Brew Pub and Eatery, Taos, NM

Stopped in late afternoon ... funky little place, locals charm. Had a nice appetizer and got a sampler of the beers. All had a detergent-like aftertaste that lingered. We chose the pale ale, which at first seemed ok but soon exhibited the soapy flavors as it warmed up. Cool place, but I can't recommend it cause the beer needs help.

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Britannia Arms, San Jose, CA

With a name like Brittania Arms, you might expect a British Pub atmosphere. Not even close. Just a generic bar with some tables and a small stage, a game area ... no character at all. About a dozen beers on draft, not a bad selection but nothing fancy. Anchor Steam and Alaskan Amber were my two selections. Overall an ok place, especially considering the lack of decent watering holes in the area.

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Mission Ale House, San Jose, CA

Lots of taps here, but overall a pretty generic selection. I did get a nice Lagunitas IPA. Service on a weeknight was horrible. They seemed grossly understaffed. Two bartenders had to serve tables as well! Food was average pub fare. They screwed up the order but we didn't bother to complain - it would have been another hour to fix it.

(04/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Madison, WI

I've been going to Great Dane when I'm in town since it opened 10 years ago. I was always impressed with the layout, location, food, and beer. As others have suggested, the service is spotty. (College student help usually is). The original brewmaster and part owner Rob has now left and in the last two years the beer quality and consistency has taken a noticeable hit. A few beers I sampled on my last visit had a sour tinge in the finish and the cask ales were just plain off. Beers tended to be a little cloudier than usual as well. Still, all that said this is still a fine establishment well worth a visit.

(08/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Highland Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

Highland Beers were very good on our recent visit to Asheville. Celtic Ale is on tap everywhere, though I found it boring. Better is the Kashmir IPA and Oatmeal Porter. Black Mocha Stout is a great dessert beer. Try a few of their beers if you're in the Asheville area.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery, Asheville, NC

We stopped in for a quick beer near our hotel. The selection is limited to a few big Brit/Euro brands and a few Green Man beers. The porter was good, though fairly sweet. Loved the non-smoking interior.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: French Broad Brewing Company, Asheville, NC

We tried a few French Broad samples in a few bars around town and couldn't really recommend them. The ESB was buttery and the Wit had a strange, soapy flavor. After those two couldn't work up the courage to try any others.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Wild Wing Cafe, Asheville, NC

Has that chain restaurant feel ... but still not a bad place. I had a nice Sweetwater 420 on draft and we had the Tuesday special half price wings. They have 35(!) different wing sauces. Beer selection is ok for a chain. Cavernous place with high ceilings and cool decor. Big outside patio. There were smokers outside and in the bar area where we sat. Maybe just the main dining room is smoke free?

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Westville Pub, Asheville, NC

Very eclectic place and clientele. No tourists (well, we were), no smoking inside (yes!). Outdoor patio for smokers. Decent but not great beer selection on draft. Very friendly neighborhood bar and restaurant. We didn't eat here but would be willing ... the menu was small and offbeat.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Ruby's Tap House, Asheville, NC

If you want to avoid any tourists, find this place. Out of the way, most are regulars (we were probably some of the rare tourists). We came at a bad time for draft beer ... more than half were empty! Decent bottle selection in a large, easily viewable cooler. BBQ was good ... Ed makes a huge range of sauces to put on his homemade BBQ.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Hannah Flanagan's Irish Pub, Asheville, NC

If you're in the mood for a good British beer, this is the place! They had more Brit beers on tap than I've seen anywhere outside Britain! Had a nice McKewan's (sp?) IPA, Young's Special Bitter, and Hobgoblin. I would suggest asking for a taste before ordering a pint if it isn't busy. Brit beers can be variable, and not necessarily the bar's fault. The Fuller's London Pride was buttery, fortunately I asked for a sample. They even had a Maredsous beer on draft. As soon as that silly 6% law is kicked, this place will probably have some fine higher gravity imports as well.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Asheville, NC

Quirky, funky atmosphere. Fun place, great beer selection, about 58 on tap when we were there. Very fresh tasting beers from NC, CO, California. Pizzas are good, we had no problem with service, though we like to sit at the bar. I always seem to have a better time in a taphouse sitting at the bar. Mellow Mushroom and Barley's are the best place for beer selection in Asheville.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Barley's Taproom, Asheville, NC

The Barley's chain has really got a winner. Down home atmosphere, great beer selection featuring mostly American craft beer, and a wide variety of pizzas. Downstairs is a big, open restaurant and bar (no smoking early!) and upstairs is the games, more beers, and smoke.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Molly's At The Market, New Orleans, LA

The last review must have been written by Molly's owner. This place should not be listed as a "beer bar." We peeked in and kept on walking while looking for a good beer. It might be a nice place, but a beer bar it is not.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bulldog Poolhall, Lafayette, LA

If you're in Cajun country there aren't a lot of choices to find a decent beer, so by that criterion this place rates awesome! This is the University of Louisian-Lafayette campus hangout bar, so don't go there after 11pm unless you like a crowded bar full of hammered students, all smoking. It's much more relaxed earlier and they have a few decent bottled beers. SNPA, some German and British imports, and a Chimay or two. Lots of TV screens, but this was ok for us because we came it to watch some college basketball during March Madness on a rainy day. Worth a visit if you are thirsty for a good beer.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Lager's Ale House, Metairie, LA

This is simply a great establishment. Not exactly a great location, but well worth a visit (or two). I would go here a lot if I lived in the area. The draft selection is superb, best in Louisiana, the service good, and food good also (we had a nice appetizer). The atmosphere is cozy, with lots of dark wood, much better than you'd expect for its strip mall location. It's right off of Hwy 10, so if you have a car it's a perfect stop going in or out of the city. If you don't have a car, forget it. Good place to hole up and wait for the rush hour traffic to ebb. Happy hour knocks a dollar off the regular price. We had a Rogue Brutal Bitter, Warsteiner Dunkel, Chimay White, and Unibroue Maudite on tap while we were there. If you can't find something you like to drink here, you don't like beer.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Good

Establishment: Club Decatur, New Orleans, LA

We stopped in here at about 10pm on a Friday nite and the place was dead. It's kind of on the fringe of the quarter and it was a chilly April nite, so maybe that had something to do with it. It seemed more of a locals place than a tourist hangout (good!). They have a good selection of draft beer and a GREAT selection of bottled beer. I think they said 200 bottles. Plenty to choose from, including some good Belgian selections. I would be careful about the age on some of these. The turnover might not be too high. I ordered a Caracole Nostradamus, relatively rare in these parts. It was past the best before date on the bottle but was still good. The alcohol strength helped, I'm sure. They had pizza but we didn't try any. Not much on atmosphere but great on beer selection! I would go back anytime for a few beers instead of the bad 3 for 1 crap beer and cheap hurricanes (headache-canes) that are ubiquitous in the quarter.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Good

Establishment: d.b.a. (DBA), New Orleans, LA

We stayed near dba in the French Marigny area and stopped in for a nightcap on two occasions. The place is small, crowded, and smoky, especially when there's live music. The place is really not set up well for live music. The band is just jammed at the end of a narrow corridor. It's hard to get a beer, you have to elbow somebody up at the bar and try to get the bartender's attention. That said, they have the best selection of beer near the quarter, especially if you like Belgian beers. We were able to get a Duchesse de Bourgogne and De Dolle Oerbier, almost unheard of in Louisiana. The prices weren't bad considering, either. I think they were about $6 - 6.50. Definitely a younger crowd for the music, which we didn't care for much.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Balcony Bar and Cafe, New Orleans, LA

We stopped here after a long walk looking at all the beautiful homes in the Garden District. It was a warm day in March and what a nice oasis! They had a nice range of beers on tap, including a few unusual ones like Schneider Weiss. It's a two story pub with an outdoor balcony on the second level. Very nice on a warm day. Happy hour extends to 10pm here! $3 pints. The Anchor Liberty was good. We even had a pint of Chimay White for only $5! Definitely recommended if you are in the Garden District.

(04/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

On Decatur in the heart of the quarter, so you know it's expensive! I ordered two beers, with tip it cost me $15!! They were large beers, but still ... the red was grainy and nondescript and the porter was acceptable but not exceptional. We had one and left.

(04/20/2005)














(0.344 seconds) 17:09:10 54.87.15.219, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS