PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tj
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 05:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tj

Beer Reviews
(61)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

61
Beer Reviews from tj
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro, Hastings, MI

I visited this place on Aug. 5 shortly after they opened. It has a great atmosphere, and I was impressed that there is such a nice brewpub in small town like Hastings. The pale ale was good, but most of the beers on the list looked like very low alcohol, lighter versions of beers you'd normally find in brewpubs. The menu looked good, but the service was absolutely horrible. It took about 20 minutes for the server to get me a beer, after reminding him a couple of times. Then it took about an hour for our food to arrive--and it was just soup and salad!! A number of other tables around us were also getting fed up with the horrible service. I hope they work out that problem soon, or they won't be around very long. Also, please brew more robust beers.

(11/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Short's Brewing Company, Bellaire, MI

This place has one of the most amazing IPAs I've ever had. I think it's one of the best IPAs in the state, if not the whole country. It's also a very cool atmosphere. It's a must-visit if you are anywhere within driving distance.

(11/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Arcadia Brewing Company, Battle Creek, MI

The brewer for Arcadia made a visit to Dilly Deli in Cincinnati for a special roll out of their beers here. I've had Arcadia beers at their brew pub and also on tap at various places here in Cincinnati, and their IPA is good (though I tend not to prefer the British style IPAs). To the event at Dilly Deli, they brought several beers. Their Hopmouth Double IPA was excellent, and their barleywine was quite good. But their Scotch Ale was horrible--it had a very sour taste and was nothing like what a true scotch ale should be. I'm not sure if it was a bad batch or what, but it was very insulting that the head brewer tried to make it seem as though those who didn't like it just didn't like scotch ales in general. Come on, you don't go to an event to introduce your beers to the most discriminating beer drinkers in Cincinnati, serve them a horrible scotch ale, and then act as if they don't know what they are talking about when they tell you it is not good! Just admit that you brewed a bad batch and move on!

(11/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Brugge Brasserie, Indianapolis, IN

When I visited, they had only 3 beers on tap: pilsner, wit, and saison. I was disappointed that all three were fairly light styles. I tried only the saison, and it was very good for its style. I hope this place starts offering some stronger beers on a regular basis.

(09/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Lousy Great

Establishment: Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro, Hastings, MI

This place was only a couple of weeks old when we visited on Aug. 5. It looked like a really cool place in a renovated old building. I tried their pale ale, which was very good. But the other beers on their list looked far too light for me. For example, I think their stout was around 3.5% alcohol, and that was typical of several of their other beers. Sounds quite close to water to me!

The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The service was extremely slow!! It took about 15 minutes to get my beer after ordering it, mainly because the server forgot it at the bar. It took about 45 minutes for our soup and salad to get to our table! Yes, I said soup and salad (which should take about 5 minutes or less). Unbelievable!

If you're stuck in Hastings with nothing better to do, have a pale ale at the bar. But don't go out of your way to visit this place.

(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hideout Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I tried the IPA, which I thought was excellent, and the Cement Shoe Stout, which was good but had a slightly off flavor that I couldn't identify. The brewer was the bartender on my visit, and he was very friendly. Overall, this is great place, but it's very small with a very basic decor. I'd say Hideout is a good name.

(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Awesome!

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

I had the Red Rye, Imperial Stout, Old Ale, and Devil Dancer (triple IPA). All of them were outstanding! Great place! It's very much a bar atmosphere, so not a great place for kids.

(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Brazenhead Irish Pub, Mason, OH

I was very impressed by the beer list, which was not typical for an Irish pub. They had several Great Lakes Brewing Co. beers, including Burning River and Commodore Perry IPA. They had Bell's porter, Stone IPA, and many other great microbrewed beers. They have a great outdoor patio for dining. In terms of beer selection, I think I'd rank this place just below Dilly Deli, but still in the top 5 of all restaurants in Cincinnati. The food was good, but not outstanding (I had the fish & chips). Overall, this is a great find, and I'll definitely be back.

(07/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Teller's of Hyde Park, Cincinnati, OH

This place has taken a turn for the worse. It appears they've lost the person who used to choose their beers. They still have a lot of taps, but the selection isn't nearly as great as it used to be. They've also substantially reduced their list of bottled beers. Most of their great microbrew offerings are no longer there, although they did have Stone Arrogant Bastard on tap when I visited. However, that was about the only exciting microbrew they offered on tap. They are starting to put things like Michelob Light on tap. Very sad! The food is still good, but something tells me this place will not be around much longer. The other restaurants from this group seem to be closing.

(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Mecklenburg Gardens, Cincinnati , OH

Mecklenburg has a great patio covered with grape vines, and they have music on the patio during the weekends. They typically have a great list of draft beers, if you like German beers. This is one of the only places in Cincinnati that has Spaten Optimator on tap. What a treat!

(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Za's Pizza Pub, Louisville, KY

The Bluegrass pale ale on tap was excellent, and the pizza was outstanding! My kids also loved the pizza. It's hard to find a place that has both great pizza and great beers, but this place has both.

(06/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

I tried the IPA and red ale, and both were okay but nothing special. I wouldn't go out of my way to have a beer here. However, it's a decent place for eating out, if you can stand the crowds in Broadway at the Beach.

(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mad Mex, Columbus, OH

This place is a great find! I went there for lunch with my young son, and they had a nice kid's menu that had non-Mexican as well as Mexican items. The food I had was great. Also, they have an outstanding beer selection, with lots of flavorful microbrews. Too bad I didn't get to sample the beers, but I'll be back. It's an excellent place to take the family and still be able to enjoy a nice beer!

(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good Lousy

Establishment: Mac's, Columbus, OH

If you're looking for good beer, don't go to Mac's. They have your typical, run of the mill beer selection, such as Killian's, Guinness, Blue Moon, Labatt's, etc. Nothing exciting.

(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cincinnati, OH

My family went there just before they closed for renovations. The quality of the beer has improved quite a bit since my last visit (more than a year ago). The pale ale is very good, with a nice hoppy character. They also had a rye red ale when I was there, and it had a wonderful hop flavor to it. The food was good. It's nice to see Rock Bottom pick up their game now that we no longer have the Barrelhouse brewpub.

(05/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Peach's Grill, Yellow Springs, OH

This place has an excellent draft selection. They have 20 beers on tap, and most of them are outstanding. When I was there, they had Flying Dog's Gonzo Porter, Bell's two-hearted ale, Three Floyd's Alpha King, Lagunita's Max IPA, Summit Porter, Pyramid Hefeweizen, and many more. This place is definitely worth a visit!

(04/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Upland Brewing Company, Bloomington, IN

Upland's beers are very good. The IPA is good, but too low on bitterness for the style. The Winter Warmer was excellent. The atmosphere is nice, and I was able to take my kids there for dinner.

(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Acoustic Coffeehouse, Johnson City, TN

They usually have a few great beers on tap, and lots of choices in bottles. Probably one of the best beer selections in Johnson City (which is not exactly a beer oasis). Also a very laid back place where it's always open mike night.

(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

I went there on New Year's Eve for dinner, and was pleasantly surprised by their IPA and scotch ale. Both were brewmaster specials, and they were outstanding. I wish they would add these beers as regular offerings. The food and service were also great.

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Great

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

I visited on Saturday night, and loved the IPA. I also tried the Wee Alec and Big Boy, neither of which were impressive. But the Ankle Biter was great. I've had their IPA and their porter in the past, and they are consistently excellent. The service was friendly, but a bit slow on Saturday even though I went when the place wasn't very busy.

(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Holy Grail Tavern and Grille, Cincinnati, OH

This place has reopened as a bar with quite a few taps. The problem is that they've devoted the vast majority of the taps to crappy beers such as Pabst Blue Ribbon, Bud Light, Coors Light, etc. They had a couple of typical imports, such as Guinness and Newcastle. However, they did have ONE great microbrew on tap--Goose Island IPA. Now that's a great beer, and it made my visit worth it, especially since the happy hour price was $2.50 a pint. I hope these guys wake up and realize that they are in Clifton and they should add a few more top-notch microbrews to their tap lineup. I predict that they'll be out of business soon if they don't do something to set themselves apart from every other run-of-the-mill bar in Cincinnati.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Oaken Barrel Brewing Company, Greenwood, IN

I tried the pale ale and IPA, and both were excellent. I usually head up to Broadripple brewpub to get a great IPA, but this one was just as good. The food was good, and our server really went out of her way to provide excellent service. A great place!

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Niagara Falls Brewing Company, Niagara Falls, ON

The beers here are average at best. The pale ale is too whimpy. The Olde Jack is decent, but could use more character. The Eisbock was stronger, but it wasn't really a true Eisbock.

The previous reviewer is correct about the sales approach. I just wanted to taste their beers, but they insisted on a "tour."

(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Merchant Ale House, Saint Catharines, ON

The ESB was very good, and the stout was okay. Not much in the way of other flavorful beers on tap. Worth a stop if you are in the Niagara area because good beers are so hard to find around there.

(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Honolulu, HI

I think this place is a bit overrated. The beers are okay, but nothing outstanding. The view from the patio is fairly industrial. And the food was okay, but nothing to seek out. Go to Kona Brewing in Hawaii Kai (east of Honolulu) for the best beer on Oahu.

(08/02/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.343 seconds) 05:50:32 54.161.202.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS