PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tim smith
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 05:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tim smith

Beer Reviews
(33)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

33
Beer Reviews from tim smith
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Carter's Brewing, Billings, MT

This visit I got to try the StationMaster Pale Ale, great stuff & friendly staff.

(05/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Trinity Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Awesome beer! A very unique atmosphere, friendly staff, and tasty food. Flow IPA, Awaken Stout, & Farm House Saison are amazing. The first two are available via nitro or CO2, the saison is one of the most unique beers I've drank. This is a MUST STOP!

(11/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great So So So So

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

This is a great place to eat dinner but head to Trinity for fabulous beer.

(11/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Midnight Sun Brewing Company, Anchorage, AK

Still the best thing Anchorage has going; I LOVE this brewery! The new building is great. Lots of elbow room, spots to park, and no stinky taxidermy next-door. If I could marry a brewery . . .

(09/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Company, Fox, AK

The Fairbanks Lager and Pick Axe porter were the best of the bunch. There is no "Taproom"; instead you fill growlers in the restaurant bar. No free samples leave you wondering how the owner sleeps at night, most likely on piles of cash. Overall this is my least favorite brewery in the state, too bad it's all Fairbanks has within 200+ miles. Sorry suckas!

(09/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Carter's Brewing, Billings, MT

Great selection, well renovated building, and tasty beer. I love Yellowstone Valley's beer but I think this is my new favorite. This is a must stop for craft beer appreciators.

(12/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Yellowstone Valley Brewing Company, Billings, MT

These guys are still one of the top breweries in the state. Their web site is out of date and doesn't reflect their newer craft beers. They have added at least two beers to their selection since I had last visited. This is a must stop if youre in Billings.

(03/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Angry Hanks, Billings, MT

The renovated filling station has a lot of character. I sampled one pint of IPA, which was decent, and filled a growler with an interesting Belgian style beer. I look forward to a return visit.

(03/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Lone Peak Brewery, Big Sky, MT

Lone Peak opened about three months ago and is located in the meadow. The staff was friendly. The hippie in the kitchen really needed a hairnet. Their Hippy Highway Oatmeal Stout is tasty. Now that Big Sky Brewery has retired Slow Elk, and been bought out by Coors, this is an exciting substitute for Oatmeal Stout fans.

(01/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Milestown Brewing / Golden Spur, Miles City, MT

RIP - This brewery is officially closed. The Milestown equipment has been sold to a brewer in Wibaux and he's hoping to have a taproom open in early 2008.

(10/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Jackson Hole Pub and Brewery was Snake River Brewing, Jackson, WY

This is a lively joint even when it's off season in Jackson. The food was fine, the beer was excellent. I highly recommend Good Alt Daze and OB-1. The porter and stout were also quite good. The prices are surprisingly low and happy hour can't be beat.

(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Kenai River Brewing Company, Soldotna, AK

I was given a nice tour the first time I visited this establishment. The brewmeister is experimenting with different IPA recipes; the Summit IPA was temporarily available while I was in town. Summit was to be the first of several IPA experiments with more coming soon. The Pot Hole Porter, Summit IPA, and Skilak Scottish were favorites. I wouldn't recommend the ESB.

(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Homer Brewing Company, Homer, AK

This is my favorite brewery on the Kenai Peninsula. The Broken Birch Bitter is excellent. There is a great selection of beer, friendly service, and the best brewery merchandise anywhere.

(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Kassik's Kenai Brew Stop, Kenai , AK

This remote brewery is well worth the trouble of locating. The owners are very friendly and the beer is great. My two favorites were Morning Wood IPA and Caribou Kilt.

(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Great Northern Brewing Company, Whitefish, MT

Since I drank Black Star by the gallon in college I was surprised to hear it was no longer brewed by Great Northern Brewery. The waitress said she thought it was being bottled by a different brewery, possibly in the Midwest. Fred's Black Lager was decent and the IPA was average. It seems that Snow Ghost is the breweries flagship. I'll have to visit again.

(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Flathead Lake Brewing Company, Bigfork, MT

This being my second visit, I decided to try the White Cap Pale Ale. I wasn't disappointed but the Mile 26 remains my favorite beer from this establishment. The service was only mediocre this visit but the place was busy.

(03/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Glacier Brewing Company, Polson, MT

This visit I was able to relax is a small sitting area above the taproom with a few friends, a drooling cat, and a pint of Slurry Bomber Stout. At seven dollars GBC pint glasses are very overpriced. The available beers were the same as the last visit. They don't seem to have time for new brews.

(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Kettlehouse Brewing Company, LLC, Missoula, MT

The Fresh Bongwater Pale Ale is tasty but can't compete with the Double Haul. Speaking of, Double Haul is now available in 16-ounce cans.

(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Kenai River Brewing Company, Soldotna, AK

Officially opened on June 17, 2006.

(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Lamppost Pizza and Main Street Brewery, Corona, CA

The Black Pearl Stout is bad. The consistency is on par but the flavor is sharp and slightly bitter. The Main Street Maibock is light on flavor. The Sweet Georgia Brown has a nice mild nutty flavor and was by far the best of the three beers I tried. The establishment itself is nothing special. Lamppost Pizza was decent but way over priced and trained monkeys would provide better service. One interesting side note: we were informed that due to California Liquor Laws breweries can only fill growlers that they have sold. Nice Law Commy-Fornia!

(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pump House Brewery, Moncton, NB

The seasonal IPA is great; I wasn't too impressed with the Muddy River Stout. It was a little too smoky and bitter for my tastes. As everyone has mentioned, the brick over pizza is excellent. The prices were also a sight for sore eyes after spending a few days in Toronto. Pints are just under $4.

(06/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: ThirstyBear Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Magnolia's beer was slightly better but the combination of beer and food was the best I had in town. The nitro pushed Meyer ESB was unbeatable. The Brown Bear, Baren Marzen, and Koslov Stout were excellent. This place has a very laid back and swanky feel. This is a MUST visit!

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

This building has character, no doubt, but the beer is fairly run of the mill. Their seasonal scotch ale was okay; the Andromeda Wheat a little better. A mild reek of vomit and mildew accompanied the cool interior. $6.75 growler refills is a great deal. $4.50 pints are steep. Stop by if you are in the neighborhood.

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

This is the best brewery in San Francisco!! There is real craftsmanship involved in their brewing. There were eight draught and five cask conditioned beers available. A 20oz beer is $4.50. The Cask Blue Bell Bitter is excellent and the Spud Boy's IPA is no slouch, both sharp and bitter. Avoid Sara's Ruby Mild and the calamari appetizer.

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

The Vienna Lager is excellent and there were seven other beers available. Pints are $4.00. After spending several days in San Fran I decided this was my favorite neighborhood, but not my favorite brewery. Grab a bus or walk up to Haight Street for the best beer in town. This place feels forced chic; it's trying to be hip but doesn't quite pull it off.

(06/11/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.116 seconds) 17:41:36 54.205.179.23, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS