PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tim rask
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 27, 2014 @ 02:00 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tim rask

Beer Reviews
(36)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

36
Beer Reviews from tim rask
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, West Des Moines, IA

Because it's a chain, Rock Bottom tends to get a bad rap, I think (I know I've referred to it as the "McDonald's of Brewpubs). Jokes and snide remarks aside, Rock Bottom's pubs generally do a fine job. I paid my first visit to the West Des Moines location on the 4th of July. The pale ale, IPA (which was a seasonal) and Jazzberry (another seasonal) were all terrific, and the calmari appetizer I had was delicious. For what it's worth, I've heard from others that it's best to stick to the hoppy beer styles here, as that is what the brewmaster does best. Hey, hoppy beers are just fine with me, so I can do that! So, if you happen to be stuck in the suburbs of Des Moines, Rock Bottom probably is your best bet for beer.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Old Capitol Brew Works and Public House, Iowa City, IA

Now that Old Cap has been open a while, I feel confident in revising my original review upward.

Despite what some buffoons might write, good beer is available in Iowa. Yes, I know writers like "Jim" think we're all a bunch of stupid hicks, but he is badly mistaken, and there are plenty of us in the state who appreciate a good pint.

Strangely, Iowa City was cursed for the longest time with Old Capitol's unspeakably awful predecessor. That has changed for the better.

Old Capitol now offers a fine lineup of their own beers, along with several outstanding guest taps, including some hard-to-find Belgian brews. Be sure to stop by on Thursdays, if you can, as that is "Firkin Day," when a new cask-conditioned ale is unveiled at 5:30pm.

The food also is good (especially if you can make it to one of their special Cajun dinners), although the service can be somewhat spotty (sadly, that's a common problem with Iowa City establishments).

Grab yourself a pint and converse with some of the regulars, one of whom is quite possibly me.

(06/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lost Duck Brewery, Fort Madison, IA

Good beer in Fort Madison? I always thought of Fort Madison as the kind of town where they serve "both kinds" of beer--swill and swill light. This small, cozy place sits facing the Missisippi River so you have a pleasant view as you knock back a few pints. I found both the pale and the nut brown had just a hint of smokiness and the oatmeal stout made a wonderful dessert beer. The menu is fairly small, but try the outstanding jambalaya.

(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Schlafly Bottleworks, Maplewood, MO

I have never been to the Tap Room, so I can't use that as a basis of comparison. I have, however, sampled Schlafly's beers at events such as the Great Taste of the Midwest. The beers at Bottle Works were every bit as good as I expected them to be. The hand-pulled chocolate porter was my favorite on my lunchtime visit. The venison cheesesteak sandwich was also terrific. On a nice summer day, I can imagine the beer garden is the place to be in the neighborhood.

(03/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Silver Creek Brewing Company, Cedarburg, WI

This is a cozy little pub on the lower level of a large old Mill (there are several businesses in the Mill, so look closely for Silver Creek's sign). I'm sure it would be a fantastic place to visit in the summer--they have a nice outdoor seating area along the mill stream. On a recent visit, they had two of their own beers on tap. Their weizen was one of the finest versions of the style I've had at a brewpub in quite some time. They also had an "IPA," which really didn't taste at all like an IPA, since it was far too light on the hops. Despite not resembling the style, it was good beer--more of a dark, malty ale, though. I like their system of guest taps. It seems that they try to find a representative of as many beer styles as possible, means that just about anyone should be able to find something they like. They also have a few Belgian beers in bottles.

(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Old Capitol Brew Works and Public House, Iowa City, IA

Old Capitol opened on October 31, 2004, taking over the brewpub formerly called Fitzpatrick's. Fitzpatrick's brewed some of the worst beers around, so I figured anything the new owners did would be an improvement. After almost a month, I feel confident that the new guys are on the right track. For now, I'll give them a "good" overall rating (I haven't tried the food yet, and the service seems a bit spotty right now) but I have a feeling I may revise my rating upward in the future, as Old Capitol works out their start-up kinks.

Right now, they only have three of their own brews on tap--a light lager (for the novice drinkers) a pale ale (not as hoppy as I'd like, but it scores highly on the "drinkability" scale and is a perfect beer for knocking back a few pints while hanging out with friends) and a nut brown ale (a bit thin and disappointing). Word is a stout will be coming on line in a couple weeks.

For now, Old Capitol makes up for the lack of their own beers by offering an impressive selection of guest taps. Well known micros (Sierra Nevada, Goose Island), regional favorites (Millstream, Capital) and imports you don't see mormally see on tap (Hobgoblin old ale, Entire Butt, Saint Bernardus, La Binchoise).

I wish Old Capitol well. If the beer keeps showing improvement, I may find my keister parked on a barstool here on a regular basis.

(11/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Olde Main Brewing Company, Ames, IA

This is a new place, so I'd like to give them the benefit of the doubt, but the beer was awful. I tried the American Pale Ale and the Amber, and was hard pressed to detect malt or hops in either of them. In fact, both tasted a bit like sanitizing agent. This seems to be yet another of those "good food/lousy beer" brewpubs.

(10/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bitter Root Brewing, Hamilton, MT

A friend and I were driving through Hamilton when we spotted the "Brewery" sign and checked it out. This was a real unexpected treat. A nice, laid back tasting room with great beers and a friendly barkeep. Stop in if you're in the area.

(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Tablerock Brewpub and Grill, Boise, ID

I stopped in for a Sunday lunch with friends. We started out with a sampler to get a feel for their beers, and found them to be fine across the board. In particular, the nut brown, stout, and extra hoppy IPA were our favorites. The service did seem a bit lacadaisical, but overall it was a fine place for a meal and beer.

(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Bertram's Brewery and Restaurant, Salmon, ID

Stopped in for a couple pints and an appetizer after a long day of hiking. There's nothing wrong with the beer--it sure beats drinking a Bud--but there's nothing particularly noteworthy or memorable either.

(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company, Iowa City, IA

Fitzpatricks is closed as of May 25, 2004. Rumors around Iowa City indicate that it will reopen under new ownership. Will the beer be any better? Let's hope.

(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Green Mill Restaurant and Brew Pub, Albert Lea, MN

It's never really a good sign when a brewpub serves Bud Light and Miller Lite, too. I had a sampler of Green Mill's six brews, and none impressed me. They were clearly all "lowest common denominator" beers, and lacked any real flavor or character. The pizza was pretty good, and the walleye looked fantastic. A good place to stop for a bite, but look elsewhere for quality beer.

(05/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fred's Lounge, Mamou, LA

Looking for good beer? This is not the place for you. Looking for a great time? Then definitely, put your taste buds on hold, choke down some of the mass market swill, and enjoy a rollicking good time with Tante Sue and Cajun bands. I just visited this legendary hot spot while on Cycle Zydeco. I can't really add much to what others have written already. Wow, what a place. If they actually served good beer, I probably never would have left.

(04/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Bier Stube, Davenport, IA

Cozy little German pub in the Village of East Davenport district. Excellent selection of German beers on tap, and the menu is loaded with hearty German favorites like weisswurst and rouladen at very reasonable prices. The service is the only wild card--on some of my visits, the service has been outstanding, other times sub-par. There also is a second location across the river in Moline, Illinois.

(04/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Millstream Brewing Company, Amana, IA

Not a place to linger in the winter months--this is a brewery, not a brewpub, so the sampling area is pretty tiny. The outdoor seating area is enjoyable in the summer months, though. They've been experimenting quite a bit lately. Last year introduced a seasonal pale ale, which is quite good. They just began producing a Belgian White for John's Grocery in Iowa City (they took over the beer from the defunct Stone City Brewing). In the winter, check out their Schokolade bock.

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Cedar Rapids, IA

Let's get one thing straight--Cedar Rapids is not a good beer town. That, combined with my skepticism about this brewpub chain, had my expectations pretty low. After a recent, my verdict is: this place is all right. Of the four beers that had on tap, I tried three (I didn't bother with their "light lager," although I'm sure Cedar Rapidians lap it up). The pale ale was decent. Not as hoppy as I'd like, but a very good session beer. I was disappointed with the Mai Bock, which I'd heard good things about. Just not a lot of body. For dessert, I tried the stout, which was a perfectly acceptable version of the style. The food was very good--I had a generously-sized burger, which was grilled medium rare to perfection. The service was a bit over-enthusiastic, but I think that's the kind of place they're going for. If you're looking for a beer in C.R., you might as well stop here.

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Busted Lift, Dubuque, IA

It's about time this establishment made it on to Pub Crawler! If you visit the Dubuque area, go here. This is, quite possibly, the best bar in the state--excellent beers, a friendly staff, and a great atmosphere. I wish they could pull it out of the ground and plant it in Iowa City, so I could visit more often.

(02/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Court Avenue Brewing Company, Des Moines, IA

Stopped in for the first time in several years. I found the Pointer Brown to be awfully thin and watery, and the IPA was not nearly as hoppy as I'd expect. The beers were drinkable, but nothing to rave about. The food, however, was excellent, as was the service. It's a fine restaurant, but the beers are very ordinary.

(09/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Amicas Pizza and Microbrews, Salida, CO

Stopped by twice on a recent trip to Colorado. The pizza and calzones are fantastic, and would be worth a trip even if the beers were lousy. Fortunately, the beer's terrific, too. My only complaint was the selection was a little low, and two of the guest beers were IPAs (their own excellent IPA was also on tap). In just the two days between my visits, there was substantial turnover in the styles offerred, both of their own beers and the guest taps. At last visit, they had their IPA, Belgian white, and brown ales on tap.

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Rosie's Brewpub, Leadville, CO

This is a pleasant little pub for a lunchtime stop. I didn't encounter any problems with the carbonation levels, but I stuck with the less carbonated scottish ale and stout. Both were excellent, and as it was brew day the scent of malt permeated the air.

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company, Iowa City, IA

The beer is only OK, but that's actually a huge step up from where this place used to be--you can believe the older posts here, the house brews used to be absolutely horrible. It's getting better, but there's still room for imrovement. For one thing, they serve their beers WAY too cold, and most of the patrons still drink Bud and Miller. I hope they continue to improve, but I remain skeptical.

(11/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

I was in the Reno area on business, and since I don't gamble, this was a very welcome oasis and I ended up spending the better part of three nights at Great Basin. I'm a bit perplexed by some of the food comments. I found the food to be excellent, and very reasonably priced (especially considering the overpriced slop at my hotel's restaurants). The beer is definitely the primary reason to go, however. I didn't care for the Oktoberfest, but everything else was terrific, especially the Icthyosaur IPA, Hop Head Ale, and Scotch ale.

(11/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Saint's Brewing Company, Urbandale, IA

Saint's Brewing is no more. The brewery closed the first week in July for good.

(07/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Upper Mississippi Brewing Company, Clinton, IA

Clinton is about the last place I'd expect to find decent beer, so I went to this brewpub with very low expectations. Turns out, the beer's actually pretty good. They serve their beers far too cold (hopefully they'll be able to wean the locals away from "ice cold" beer eventually), but there's some definite potential here. I tried all five of the styles on tap, and all had some merit. the month's "Brewer's Special" (an Irish lager) was surprisingly hoppy, and the Lumberking Lager (billed as an 'American-style lager,' but definitely more flavorful than the typical industrial swill) were my favorites. The place has a comfortable atmosphere--I didn't try the food, but hope to soon.

(08/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Delafield Brewhaus, Delafield, WI

They've obviously spent a lot of money getting this place up and running--it really is a huge, yet comfortable place. Of the beers I had, the pilsner was terrific--very hoppy. They also had a Belgian-style trippel, which also was good. Apparently, they rotate the beer selection frequently, with a lot of seasonals, and only two or three constants.

(02/19/2000)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.157 seconds) 14:00:41 54.83.230.219, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS