PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tim tomlinson
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 21, 2014 @ 03:09 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tim tomlinson

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from tim tomlinson
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Emmett's Ale House Oswego, Oswego, IL

Will add that the patio has a decent view of the Fox River, and the entire facility, including the restaurant, bar and patio is 100% non-smoking.

(07/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Pasadena Brewing Company, Pasadena, CA

After being to 400 brewpubs, this place may rank as the worst I have ever been to. Let’s start with the service – slow, inattentive, angry, employees, who seemed far more interested in talking to each other than ever serving a customer. If these same people ran a hospital - we’d all be dead by now. 13 employees on the floor, 5 customers, that shouldn’t be a problem right? To get my only beer of the night, it took over ½ hour, and that was after I had to raise my voice to the bartender, who kept racing by my empty sampler glass.

The TVs – well my associate and I came in to watch the college football game. It was on when we arrived. But it appeared as if some idiot savant had gotten ahold of the remotes. The TV we were watching got turned off, turned back on, to the World Series, to our football game, turned back off, and finally to the World Series again. When we objected (not one other of the five customers was watching TV) they refused to change it. It amazes me how a packed Gordon Biersch, with lots of TV watchers found a way to get the game on for me after I walked out of this place, but these clowns couldn’t and wouldn’t do anything.

But we are here to discuss beer. And I think the lousy service may have been superior to the beer. If I were the brewmaster, I would refuse to work here – as the owners must dictate to make something like Bud Lite (Light) something like Heineken (Pale – yuk!) something like Killian’s (Red) and Hefeweizen (that lemon thing makes it stylish doesn’t it). These beers were painfully inferior, and were so formulaic, it wasn’t funny. For you Mr. Brewmaster, I will tell the three owners (Larry, Moe, and Curley?) “Let this guy brew!”. Thank God they had Craftsman IPA on tap – at least they know that their customers may not like their beer.

It pains me to write a negative review on a new brewpub. But brewpubs are often about attitude – friendly, collegial, fun places to be, with people that enjoy their work and customers who are brought into the “family”. This place is about attitude too – some of the worst attitude I have ever seen.

There is a name for a place where everyone just hangs around, talks among themselves, ignores outsiders, and serves bad beer – it’s called a frat party! So to the three owners – great move – you’ve flushed your money down the toilet. And to all of you reading this review – don’t waste your time here. Lucky Baldwin’s and Crown City have great beer and atmosphere.

(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Govnor's Public House, Lake in theHills, IL

Very, very inconsistent beer. The Hefeweizen was wildly defective and had the smell (and slight taste) of baby diapers. Several of the others were near perfect examples of English Style Ales, including the Pale Ale and the IPA. Stout was very good, but the porter tasted like Coconut oil. The Dubbel was a complete miss as well. My recommendation - taste something until you find something you really like. Food was non-spectacular, but the service was excellent. Would I go back? Probably only if I was in the neighborhood. Many others in this area (Emmett's, Prairie Rock) deliver far better.

(12/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Lousy Good

Establishment: Emmett's Tavern and Brewery, Dundee, IL

With Chicago as my hometown, I expect that this will be my new hangout. The beer/food combination surpasses anything I have previously had. First the beer - Awesome. Pale and West Coast Amber as good as anything Oregon or the West has to offer. Oatmeal Stout as roasty and smooth as I have eve had. Oktoberfest excellent! The service was a different story - our server Raquel took our order and was never seen again - food not hot and late, water never refilled, no beers offered, you get the picture. A discussion with the manager helped a little, but the very, very poor service tainted what would have been an outstanding service. My advice: ask for their "best" server the next time you go to assure sufficient service. Again, as good a beer and food combo as anywhere in the USA!

(10/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Duneland Brewhouse, Michigan City, IN

I agree with Donna's review below about being scizophrenic. The amber and brown were wonderful examples. Everything about these two beers showed tremendous character and knowledge of beer. Unfortunately it was hidden under a watery flavor. Less water and this could have been two of the Midwest's better beers. Then there is the good and the ugly. The Pale Ale was badly infected - really bad diacetyl and undrinkable. The IPA was outstanding (and this after being in the Pacific NW all week before Duneland - so my tastebuds would have rejected weak IPA) and just rocked my world. They had a Winter Warmer coming out, and that sounded like it was going to be excellent too. Service by the bartenders was rather erratic too - one who had worked over 13 hours was very attentive and helpful. The other was out smoking and chatting with the clientele, and didn't give a hoot if you ever got a beer. My measure for brewpubs is a.) don't bother b.) worth a stop if it is nearby and c.) by all means go out of our way to get there. This rates somewhere between a. and b. If you are on I-94 in NW Indiana, it might be worth a stop. With the new lady brewer, the beer is better than stated below, but it is not yet stellar.

(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

This beer was just plain lackluster. We sat next to the brewmaster/owner as he admitted that a particular beer (Umphrey's Ale) wasn't made right. Ironically, it was about the only beer I felt that either tasted good or had any character. In a beer starved portion of Indiana, I can only wish that this place was better!

(09/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Diamond Knot Alehouse and Brewery, Mukilteo, WA

Flat out, the best beer in Seattle. IPA (English style), Imperial IPA (strong, West Coast style) and Barleywine are awesome. Atmosphere is very friendly, if a bit smokey. Go! I always plan on hitting more brewpubs while in Seattle, and always end up going to Diamond Knot almost exclusively.

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Scuttlebutt Brewing, Everett, WA

Very limited hours (closes at 8pm) overshadow what is some very, very good beer. Awesome Amber and IPA on tap on my last visit. Again, call ahead for hours, as they are very limited.

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Elliott Bay Brewing Company, Seattle, WA

The house brews were very marginal. Certainly do not measure up to its Pacific NW competition. The service, food and location were all great. The guest beer, a nitro pushed Boundary Bay IPA was excellent (but of course not made there).

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

Love this place! Try to go on Thursday nights - their special beer night. Smoke free which makes it even better! Should be your first choice in Portland!!!

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's, Portland, ME

Good news! Excellent handpulled Best Bitter. No regular Best Bitter on tap. Other beers were marginal at best. The bad news! The female day bartender was regularly trying to rip us off!!! Be very careful of her!

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Sherlock's Home, Minnetonka, MN

Lots of excellent handpulled selections. The Bitter, IPA and Scottish were all excellent representation of English styles. Were I more of an English beer fan, Sherlock's would have received an excellent. If you do like the handpulled English style, this is a can't miss place!

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Water Tower Brewing Company, Eden Prairie, MN

A very good Scottish and IPA on tap. Worth the trip to Eden Prairie! Good service, and you can even bowl while you are there!

(08/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Vine Park Brewing Company, Saint Paul, MN

A very solid place. Excellent IPAs and other beers were equally tasty. Will go back to "brew my own" too!

(08/12/2002)














(0.214 seconds) 15:09:58 54.205.144.54, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS