PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tim tomlinson
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 20, 2014 @ 05:43 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tim tomlinson

Beer Reviews
(254)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

254
Beer Reviews from tim tomlinson
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery, Ann Arbor, MI

An update/revision - both the service and beer on a recent visit were superior! The Oktoberfest was one of the best I have ever had. On a football day, service was very prompt and friendly. The next time I am in Ann Arbor, Leopold Brothers will be my first stop.

(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: Leopold Brothers of Ann Arbor Brewery, Ann Arbor, MI

A very good hefeweizen, and the other beers including the red and the dark weren't bad either. However, these folks need to treat their customers a whole lot better. It's a long story, but the bottom line is that they treated me very poorly - if you are going to be a "green" brewery, how about starting by treating your fellow paying, sober customers with some respect and dignity? It is about three blocks north of Michigan Stadium, so this will be my pregame spot for any games this season!

(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ashley's, Ann Arbor, MI

This is the Best Beer Bar in America. True places like Taco Mac in Atlanta have more taps, but along with Falling Rock of Denver, these guys value every tap, and try to put the best beer in the world on every one. Recently had some Bell's Two Hearted IPA, Gulden Draak and Piraat from Belgium, and some Final Absolution from Dragonmead - and one mighty awesome headache! Only one negative comment: Now that we have entered a new decade, would someone consider cleaning the bathroom! It's not just a mess it is scary!

(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

An update - this remains the class act it has always been. The beers are awesome, service is great, and the atmosphere just makes you want to have another. Bryan Pearson is a first-rate brewer and individual - his consistently focussed efforts make every beer he brews a first-rate beer!

(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: Granite Brewery, Toronto, ON

Some very nice enterpretations of English Ales. The Best Bitter was my favorite, and the IPA was very good (and properly English) as well. The lady bartender here couldn't have been more unfriendly if she was toting a shotgun!!!

(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: C'est What?, Toronto, ON

After reading this page, my expectations were very high, and quite honestly, they were not met. The Coffee Porter was very good, but they had no Hemp Ale, and the rest were pretty non-descript summer beers. While I would strongly recommend a visit to C'est What, Denison's was where I went back to when I was in Toronto.

(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Denison's Brewing Company, Toronto, ON

Denison's makes one of North America's finest Hefeweizens. Nice banana/clovey flavors in a very comfortable setting. Service on one visit was outstanding, on another night abysmal - but overall this would be my choice in Toronto.

(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Miami Trail Brewing Company, Xenia, OH

A friendly place with great beers. The Dopplebock and Pale Ale were outstanding. The pale was very well hopped and was as good as the Pacific NW style pales. This is out of the way for anyone, but is very well worth it.

(01/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Mighty Casey's Eatery and Brewhouse, Lebanon, OH

If you love beer, be scared, be very scared of Mighty Casey's!!! The first clue that it was going to be scary - 4 house brews surrounded by Bud, Bud Lite and Miller Lite. I made the wrong choice, choosing the Mighty Casey beers. The Pale Ale and the Porter had a lovely dishwater taste to them. To say that these beers are undrinkable would be a compliment.

(01/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: O'Grady's Brewery and Pub, Arlington Heights, IL

Thanks to those of you who wrote up the previous reviews. The clues were obvious - drink the specialty ales. Had an outstanding Strong Scottish Ale and Belgian Grand Cru. Didn't try the other beers because I didn't have to. The specialties were excellent brews!

(01/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Millrose Restaurant and Brewing Company, South Barrington, IL

On a holiday visit this place fell right into my Worse Ten Brewpubs in America. Let's see, where do we start: Beer was colored water, no flavor, no character. Food was outrageously expensive and bad - when you charge this much, the quality of the food should be excellent, not "Sam's Club" quality. Finally, the service was horrible. Our $13 dinner Caesar was asked for with anchovies - they never came. The waitress seemed particularly put out whenever we asked for more beers or water. It is hard to believe that in a great restaurant city like Chicago, an awful place like this survives selling uninspired, mediocre $20-$30 entrees. Millrose is a great advertisement for going on a diet!!! Don't go!

(01/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

Simply put, this is a nice place if you live North of Austin, and don't want to go downtown for a great beer. However, if you don't live near the North side of Austin, this beer is pretty normal non-offensive stuff and at times leans toward being bland. I visited this place in September, in more of its infant phase. Will visit again in hopes that it has improved as the brewer becomes more accustomed to his equipment. At this point though, this ranks as #6 among the six brewpubs in Austin.

(11/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

Fantastic beer coupled with awful service. As an example, the owners (whom we saw later that night pouring beers at the GABF) were wandering around watching their only waitstaff person try to serve a packed restaurant. Getting served as poorly as we did really ruined the great tasting beer. The ButtHead Dopplebock is one of this country's best dopples.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Good

Establishment: Yard House, Long Beach, CA

I would recommend this place only because the brewpubs are so awful in Long Beach. However, this place ain't a whole lot better. It is amazing how 250 taps can deliver so few selections for a beer enthusiast. Of the taps, only the Anderson Valley beers (very common in CA) and a couple of Belgian taps seemed worth my time. As the old saying goes, quantity does not equal quality.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

No reason to write too much given the numerous reviews. This is rock solid, true to style good beer. The Stout I had was a very satisfying and flavorful beer.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Pig Brewing Company, Everett, WA

After seeing several unflattering reviews of the Flying Pig, I almost skipped it. I'm glad I didn't, as the beers were very good. The Smoked Porter, Stout, Bock, and IPA were particularly good. This place may have improved due to better brewers or different techniques, but trust me, this is really good stuff.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Horse Brass Pub, Portland, OR

This IS NOT A BREWPUB!!! However, you can not do any better on the Oregon beer scene than the HorseBrass. They have the finest selection of Pacific NW taps in America. This includes several cask conditioned taps (Deschutes Mirror Pond Pale for example) and some rare treats not commonly found (Terminus Gravity's IPA - possibly the USA's best IPA, and Sasquatch Strong Ale from Wild Duck). If you can only go one place to sample great Oregon beers - go here!!!

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: McMenamins Kennedy School, Portland, OR

This elementary school, saved from the wrecking ball, is one more great McMenamin's property. The beers are no different than the other McMenamins, maybe a bit better. Had a Class Clown (a strong ale) that was outstanding. While I would give a slight edge (no pun intended) to Edgefield, this is a close second to it in terms of the Bed, Breakfast & Brewpub experiences.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Coopersmith's Pub and Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

Just another awesome place in Fort Collins. Coopersmith's has outstanding beers, and enough variety to please everyone. They had a spectacular IPA. If you get a chance, they have beautiful handmade ceramic mugs for purchase ($18). All are one of a kind and huge. It's also the favorite mug in my collection. Another great Fort Collins place worthy of your time.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Linden's Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

While selection is the lowest in Fort Collins, execution is outstanding. The Amber and Hefeweizen were both some of the best I had in Colorado. The bartenders were exceptional - they made you feel right at home. This would be the finest establishment in almost any city - but with the fierce competition in Ft. Collins, it sometimes gets forgotten. Save yourself some beer space and don't miss Lindens!!!

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: New Belgium Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

An outstanding tour and stop in Fort Collins - open only during the day. The beers are renowned and with good reason. The Fat Tire and Pilsner are excellent and do a great job of capturing popular styles without giving its drinkers a mass produced, "common" flavor. The Belgians are where they really do well - the Saison, Abbey and Trippel are first rate - beers that challenge your palate and leave you satisfied.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Odell Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Other than their renowned 90 Shilling, this beer is somewhat overrated. All of their beers were just a bit underflavored - something you wouldn't expect in Colorado. However, since it is halfway between New Belgium, and HC Berger, it is worth the stop in Fort Collins.

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: H.C. Berger Brewing Company, Fort Collins, CO

Tasty beers - their Chocolate Stout and Dopplebock were fantastic! Only open for tours/tastes on Saturday PM, so find a bar that serves Berger and have at it!

(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sacramento Brewing Company, Sacramento, CA

Simply one of the best that I have ever been to. Every single beer was fantastic!!! The Scottish Ale, the Imperial Stout, and the Red Horse were beers that I could just not stop tasting. This would rank around #2 of the 300 brewpubs that I have visited.

(10/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: JP Hops House, Houston, TX

This is the kind of place that I badly wished served great beer. The beer they make is pretty marginal - the good news is that they have tons of other beers on tap and in bottles. The folks here try hard, and may eventually make better beers - my recommendation is to pay them a visit if you are in the Southwest section of Houston

(09/20/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ 10 ] [ 11 ] [ ALL ]













(0.373 seconds) 05:43:44 23.23.9.5, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS