PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from timothy j. o'connor
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 27, 2014 @ 11:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
timothy j. o'connor

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from timothy j. o'connor
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Redbones, Somerville, MA

24 taps and no crap! Had most of the stuff at some point or another so we had to try the strange ones - Concord Grape, Cisco Whale's Tail Pale, and Burgerbrau Dunkelweisse to name a few. Where else can you get Jever Pilsner and Unibroue Ephemere on tap!? If you can’t make up your mind they’ll spin the beer wheel for you.

The service was excellent - fast and friendly. The barbecue was the best I've had outside of Alabama. And the prices at Redbones are VERY reasonable. These are real blue-plate specials – lot’s of food and good.

All of the folks at the bar commingled and chatted with one another. There are no “air’s” here. It’s a friendly place with the kind of atmosphere where you just wanna put your feet up. I’m sorry I didn’t get the young lady’s name behind the bar, but she had a solid knowledge of the beers she was pouring.

I hope I can find the place when I go back and I'm driving...

(05/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Big House Brewing Company, Albany, NY

This place is a Friday happy-hour staple as they always have a decent band (many times excellent) and for free, along with happy-hour drink prices. By 5:30 the place is filling up and you sometimes have to elbow your way into the bar. The bar staff is on their toes and you rarely have to wait for a beer (good job Steve managing). And if you sit at a table the waitresses are fast and efficient. Oh, the beer. I usually stick with the Cherry Raspberry Wheat - a nice combination and especially nice as a wheat. There is a once-a-year Red on right now that’s a little bland but still drinkable. And their pale rates up there with the best of them, but there are better in the Capital District. You never see the brewers which is my only bitch with the place. It would be nice if they came around once in a while and got some feedback about their beers. Tuesday and Saturday nights there are a dozen or so menu items that are half-price. So if your down to your last few bucks you can still get a decent sandwich and a few beers for under $20! This is a brew-pub with a brew-pub menu (and a good one). Don’t expect Chez-Pierre’s and then complain about it afterwards.

(04/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lionheart Blues Cafe, Albany, NY

This is THE place to go on Madison Avenue! They have 32 taps and you won't find Bud or Coors light amongst them (thank God). Check the chalkboard down the far end of the bar as the selection changes daily. Thursday night I was introduced to a very hoppy Southern Tier IPA, which I followed with a couple of very fresh UBU Ales. They had just kicked the Rogue Dry-Hopped Red (rats). If I had more time I would have hit the Allagash 3X and Big Foot. Oh, well – there’s always Sunday.

Chris the barman is a gentleman and statesman, and can carry on a conversation about the vicissitudes of life without the usual whining. There is a mixed crowd and always good conversation with the guy sitting next to you. That and I always run into someone I know there. Park across the street behind El Loco and stay off of Delaware Avenue. And I almost forgot the happy hour – 4:00 to 7:00 PM M-F with all pints priced at $2.00 each. Sunday is a buck off pints and free pool and popcorn. And for sporting events they have the largest projection television in Albany in the back room.

(04/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Miami, FL

I barely got to the bar when congenial host Eric placed before me an open menu and started pouring sampler glasses and placing them on their respective "spots" on the list describing the beers. As I started to quaff he described the different beer styles and the fact that all but one are Lagers. They were all superb but I was at the end of my vacation at the end of the day and was beat. I stuck with something I knew so I managed to choke down two Kolsch's as I remember. I lost my notes (again), but their web site shows a Blonde Bock without the Kolsch description (yes, it’s normally a Blonde outside of Germany). Regardless, it was good.

The beer was reasonable priced at $3.72 each (must have been a tax thing), and the service was with a smile and a bit of knowledge which was refreshing. While I see on the menu they have won quite a few medals at the GABF and World Cup, that point wasn’t driven home. As a thank-you I bought two glasses on the way out!

One last thing – this place is easy to miss and parking is limited. It’s on the first floor of a large office building set back from a large staircase from the street. I drove by it three times before I finally saw the sign.

(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Jekyll and Hyde Pub, New York, NY

Go just for the bathrooms. I should make you look for them, but they're located in the bookcases in the back hallway. Tough to find when you really gotta go!

I had to try the Rheingold on tap and it was loaded with diacetyl. When I complained she said, "Oh - that's what that stuff is - try this," and handed me a "fresh" Budweiser (ugh). That too was loaded with diacetyl. I don’t know what’s wrong but I don’t care. I won’t be back as I had to listen to the bar wench complain about the smoking laws the whole time I was there.

(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Parting Glass, Saratoga Springs, NY

Went Saturday night and saw the once-a-year reunion of the Foothills Trio. As always, the wait staff was right on top of things, regardless of the fact that the place was a mob scene. The venue was sold out, yet I was still afforded a table.

I must have blinked in recent history because of the number of taps at 28. It's probably because I never got past the Guinness. Anyway, there are plenty of local and regional beers, and they are all fresh. The Anchor Steam tasted like it was brewed yesterday. And rather than drive the extra 15-miles or so to Glens Falls I was able to bask in a nice Davidson’s Irish Red. And back to the Guinness – it’s the freshest you are going to get anywhere because nobody within 300-miles serves more of it.

This place is a quality venue for good beer, good music, and good people. And it keeps getting better. The same bar staff have been here since the beginning. That ought to tell you something right there.

(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

Unfortunately, this place is located in the Nit-wit capital of the world right now, so unless you drive into town the "back way," you have to be treated to the world's new-found circus characters, “Look at me,” on every street corner on the way down from the Thruway.

The ambiance sells this place for sure. The architect did a nice job replicating the region's indigenous flavor and working it into the building. Sitting at the bar and staring out the huge western window-wall at the 'Gunks is a real treat, especially when the sun is setting. The bar trivia games are a nice diversion after a day of work too.

The beer is drinkable but don't look for any GABF medals. I always enjoy a good red and their New Paltz Crimson Lager is good, but I'd prefer it as an Ale rather than a Lager. I’ve had all their beers at one time or another, but I come for the ambiance. That and it’s a short hop to the Country Inn!

There is usually one clown at the bar that has to chime in on everyone’s conversation, but I was lucky enough to miss him Friday. Phew!

(03/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Lake Buena Vista, FL

There is nothing I hate more than when the bar staff does not know what they're pouring. Night one I got, "We won a medal with that one," every time I asked about a beer. Night two I was glad to see the first dope gone, but dope number two was reciting the same thing all over again. Is that what management teaches them??

I tried all of their beers over two night and they were "adequate." But looking back, they could have been the best beers in the world, but I was so put off by the staff my taste buds went on strike. I do remember their Red Ale being very good, "We won a medal with that one." Ah, shut up. Skip this place and head over to the ESPN zone up the other end of the boardwalk.

(03/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Country Inn, Krumville, NY

I wish it wasn't so far away! Worth the drive from anywhere though. Thanks Pete for your hospitality sans arrogance. A congenial humble, and hospitable host indeed.

I had to jump all over the Lindemans Kriek on tap first off which was fresh and served in the correct glass. I was pleased to see some quality "locals" on tap also like C. H. Evans and Keegan's. That shows a nice commitment to the region. I found a few bottles I haven't hade like Saigon, Lord Chesterfields and the original Three Philosophers from Ommegang. We found a light-struck Kalic and Pete was more than happy to take it back. My associate was happy sticking with the freshest London Porter he’s ever had, and continued to look around and refer to the place as, “Beer camp!”

We struck up a few conversations with some nice local folk while at the bar. Everyone seemed to be on the same wavelength and were enjoying themselves and their beer. Pete’s got the goods and delivers it with a smile, and refreshingly leaves out the diatribe that he’s the only one that has this or that particular beer within a thousand miles.

If I was to find one fault (I won’t) it would be nice to see more taps. The prices are very reasonable at the Country Inn, and well worth the extra drive. Keep up the good work Pete - I hope I can get back soon!

(03/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Big Belly Brewery, Orlando, FL

That's some nice brewing equipment sitting there wasting away. I asked the dope (er, gentleman) behind the bar what happened, and he said the brewer wanted too much money to brew. And your point is . . . ?

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Raleigh, NC

I stopped on a Wednesday night and it was mug night. What a deal at $10 all-you-can-drink, and you get to keep the glass. The problem for me was, they were featuring Brooklyn Brown that night. Seeing as I'm from New York, I politely declined as I can get that all the time.

Out of 85 taps they had 83 working. The place is full of college kids from the various schools in the area, but they are all polite and respectful. One young gentleman offered to shift around some bar stools to make way for our party of three.

They have a nice beer menu setup so one can quickly "zoom in" on a good draft at the right price. I started with a Young’s Double Chocolate Stout at a very reasonable price of $3.50 or $4.00. Either way, some arrogant pubs in the Northeast will want $6.00 for this.

The bar staff were VERY attentive and also very knowledgeable. We never had to wait for our next beer order, and the food came out extremely quick. I did not eat but the others in my party were very pleased with the quantity and quality of the food.

And just when I thought I’ve seen every crazy beer “cocktail,” I had a “Lava Lamp”, which was Harp, Lindemans Framboise, and Guinness. I left a happy boy!

I wished I lived closer to the Flying Saucer. It would definitely be one of my favorite hangouts.

Keep up the good work!

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Kate O'Brien's Irish Pub, Orlando, FL

One of the worst, if not the worst dump I have even been in. What gives these places the right to be called an "Irish Pub?" Oh - you have Guinness on tap? Right next to the Bud Light, Coors Light, Miller Lite. OK - you have Killian's too. Wow.

The place hasn't been cleaned in 20-years. I made the mistake of moving one of the eight bar stools to a high-top table (that also hasn’t been cleaned in 20-years) and got my ass chewed out. The barmaid had the personality of a dog turd. Not only was she not Irish, but other than me there wasn't an Irish person in the dump. In New York, we have IRISH people working in IRISH pubs. Neat concept, eh? Try it some time.

There were an obnoxious bunch of loud-mouth BBC’s (Backward Baseball Caps) playing darts. Obnoxious music on the juke box (Irish pub, eh?). A band starts warming up, and what are they playing? Irish music? Of course not. The usual garage-band crap you can get in every cruddy college-town bar across the country.

The place is loaded with pictures of Orlando firemen doing their thing. I hope the next "thing" they do here is pour water on the burning embers of what’s left.

(03/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Titanic Brewing Company, Coral Gables, FL

I started with the Old Gnarly Barleywine, but it missed the mark by quite a bit. It had a nice floral nose but was too estery. The taste was way too citrusy and went flat on the palate fast. There was considerable phenols present also. But wait. The Boiler Room Nut Brown is a gold-medal winner in my book. I know what one taste likes because my brewer friend won three of them at the GABF over the years. It is a perfect example of this style. My favorite though was Captain Smith's Rye. I've never seen this in the Northeast and it's listed in the "Specialty" category at the GABF and also by the BJCP guidelines. It had a very warm malt nose with no detractors. The taste was malty and perfectly balanced and was very long on the palate. There were hints of nuts and spices alternating along with subtle fruits, but nothing was overbearing. This was a nice session beer and I could have stayed all night.

They should post the ABV's, but my server Angie was terrific. If she didn't have the answer at hand, she went and got it with no complaint and returned a minute later each time. I kidded her about being in the corporate world and being forced to go through ISO certification where you're taught if you don't know the answer to just say, "I don't know the answer but I know where to get it." I hope I wasn't too much of a pest, but Angie was a terrific host and I took care of her accordingly.

I nibbled on some non-descript wings while quaffing, but my other half had a specially good prime rib at a Saturday special price of $10.95, which was a tremendous bargain considering what she got. This place went straight to the top of my “to do” list and I hope to get back soon. The place was full of college kids, some with parents, but it was an adult crowd none the less. It’s located on the Metrorail line and I wished I had taken it south from Miami as US 1 was a mess getting there. It looks like there’s a stop a relatively short walking distance away (or cheap cab ride).

(03/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Abbey Brewing Company, Miami Beach, FL

I was a little taken back by the looks of the place, but I would definitely be frequenting the Abbey if I lived in the vicinity. The beer is being brewed up in Melbourne now as Dave (?) the bartender was glad to volunteer. I was short on time I'm sorry to say, and started with the Abbey 12-degree to get a good head start. It came up a little short in the Belgian category, but the Abbey IPA more than made up for it. The menu is conflicting as it's listed as both and IPA and an American Pale. Judging by the amount of hops - it's an American Pale, and a great one.

I'll be back guys when I can spend some more time. Keep up the good work in the mean time.

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Keegan Ales, Kingston, NY

I hate to rate the selection "so so" but there are only three beers! That's too bad too because the three they have are great. Mother's Milk is a delightful creamy sweet stout (milk stout according to their web site). But their flagship beer in my book is their Hurricane Kitty which is a terrific, properly hopped IPA. Just like some pubs try to get cute with the hot sauce on the chicken wings, some brewers try to get cute with their hops in their IPA's. Not the case here. This is a "perfect" example of what an IPA is supposed to be. Colin is a wonderful host at the taps and brewer/owner Tom always makes it a point to say hello. I have a feeling these guys are going to be around a while! And Colin – I didn’t forget the “Woodstock” glass!

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

George is at it again! This time it's a "Grand Cru", the type of which I believe is a "fest" type beer originally brewed for special occasions. It is a wonderful Belgian Ale and is written up on the Web Site as having a complex, spicy character. Don't let the "spicy" part scare you. It has a wonderful malt character and is indeed complex, but without a preponderance of spices or fruits. It is perfectly balanced is the best way to put it. At 6.2% ABV it's slightly higher in alcohol than what you're usually used to, and is properly served in a tulip glass. Great job as always George!

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

Get down there ASAP and get some of Peter's St. Brendan's Red Ale and the "secret" Cask-Conditioned Cherry Raspberry Ale on the beer engine. The Red is rare - maybe Peter's third batch over as many years. The Cherry Raspberry is always on but this is the first cask-conditioned batch. There are 13-beers on right now - a near record. Bring a driver. Stay a while (I will).

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Firebirds Rocky Mountain Grill, Durham, NC

I would generally tend to not rate a chain restaurant, but this place made my trip to Durham. They have many beers from in and around the Carolina area, which I wish more "chains" would do (heaven help us if a Hard Rock ever had anything on tap other than Bud, Coors and Bud Light). The service here was the most attentive I have ever had. The young waitress took pride in knowing the different beers available. I settled in on the Ravishing Red from the Mash House Brewery located an hour west I was told. This was a delightfully tangy red ale with a sharp clean nose, with every so slight estery notes. It had a nice aftertaste and was long on the palate. The only fault I could find is that it was slightly coppery in color. I switched to the Battlefield Black Lager from the Red Oak Brewery which was very good, but could not stay away from the Ravishing Red and switched back. Sensing my desire for a wide variety of beers, the young waitress was kind enough to direct me to the Flying Saucer for next night's foray. I owe her a Cadillac! Review to follow.

(03/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Good Great

Establishment: Coleman's Authentic Irish Pub, Syracuse, NY

I make it to Coleman's at least once a year, and it seems to be heading in a direction other than I would like. A spent a long Saturday afternoon and evening there recently. The young gentlemen behind the bar were adequate, but could use some training in customer service. I always had a properly-poured Guinness delivered to me, but no smile, "Where ya' from," or anything. Finally young Dennis Coleman came in later on and took a genuine interest as to who his patrons were. I had a delightful conversation and look forward to the next trip out in a couple weeks as a result. But - the band they had in that night that I waited patiently to hear was about the worst I ever heard. Unless they did some Irish tunes after I left, all I heard was garage-band crap that might work with the Junior-high crowd.

(08/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

The Belgian-Style Strong Ale is on now, and it's life a 200-MPH! Put on the seatbelt, because two's the limit on this one at 9% ABV (have a DD with you). It is a perfectly balanced example of the style with just the right combination of fruitiness, malt, and hint of hops. If heaven came in a glass - this is it!

(08/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

Mr. Potter must be one of those guys that thinks the "Brew Pub" in the mall is fantastic, because that's the only place his wife lets him go while she's shopping. If you wouldn't know a good beer if it hit you in the head - kindly go back to your Coors Light and shut up. I travel the world for both pleasure and work, and there is no better Brewmaster ANYWHERE. The other brew pubs in the Capital District are only make-believe. The Pale Ale at Evans is WORLD CLASS. And the Kick-Ass Brown goes beyond. The recent Braggot was worth dying for. And as far as the bartenders, I have never met a more accommodating and friendly bunch. They're all Irish - need I say more?

(03/01/2002)














(0.343 seconds) 11:48:52 54.196.63.93, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS