PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from the cruiser
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 30, 2014 @ 12:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
the cruiser

Beer Reviews
(59)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

59
Beer Reviews from the cruiser
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

Flossmoor Station really is one of the best truly small brewpubs. The brewer(s) are constantly innovating new variations of exciting and rare styles that make it always well worth the trip to taste their lastest artwork. I can sense the joy of brewing that comes from master who is actually at a job and in a scene he loves. Cheers!

(01/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

Very cool cozy brewpub with friendly staff of cool real people and Three Floyds brewers and old friends. Got your plasma TV's and alternative mix of obscure classic films or hot sport events. Great menu with much variety and new creations often. Always at least half dozen and usually more selections of Tres Floyds world class beers on tap along with very challenging Belgium selections. I consummed a 1/2 bottle of Darklord 2006(Gold Wax) at the Kuma's Corner Brewmaster's Dinner. Excellent vintage with strong Intelligentsia coffee enhancing the Imperialistic stout flavors. What a mind boggling pairing with flourless chocolate cake. Try it at home. This beer needs good food pairings to enjoy not just sitting there guzzling them. Go Sox!....Again!

(04/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Piece, Chicago, IL

This is by far the best brewery in the city. Every style is an outstanding work of art. The strong beers even reach for greatness. Currently there is a tripple on that is spot on excellent. It should last a while since all the ladies love their weiss beers. This place proves that greatness is routinely hidden to the masses. The microbrew scene of the late 80's in Chicago has ended up here. Catch it before it retires into the blackness of the corporate driven entitlement generation with no taste whatsoever.

(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

The super strong beers are good here mainly because it's fresh. All other beers are serviceable but lack craftmanship I've come to expect from the two superb breweries in the midwest that I don't have to even mention here. Alas, the veteran barkeep with the looks of a goddess is leaving to avoid stagnation I suppose. I could do the same but one world is enough for all of us.

(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Three Stags Brew Pub, Geneva, IL

I'm glad you can still do that work man. I ain't got the stomach for it no more. The term brewpub like alternative rock was flipped for corporate use many years ago. I think it's safe to say we can A-bomb that town and no one would miss their little insulated version of safe reality (oxymoron's).

(05/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

As I sip this Darklord Imperial Russian Stout I noticed...screech!!!!!!! Hey, all Floyds Brews are unreal. Why am I worried about this beer so much when a Sextuple and an English IPA are on that taste supurb? I'm not. Every few months as the seasons change and life is renewed another great Floyd beer is borne into existence. And now as the mother brewery yields to a brewpub we shall move to the next stage of existence. Why was I born now and into a place where the greatest beers in the world are being forged? Why was I able to shake free the chains of a Moosehead and then Sam Adams and go beyond the chains of those earthly beers? Just lucky.

(04/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Prairie Rock Brewing Company, Schaumburg, IL

What are you doing Enemy? It wasn't worth your time to even go to a corporate dump like this. You are crying out for help and I hear you. I know you long for the time of discovering new great beers but Schaumburg? What were you really looking for ehh? Nick Floyd and Larry Bell are more than enough to make it by on. Although it's funny and shocking to know what's good and bad and see people mindlessly obey the neon lights and their base urges. But that's how this country works. All mania and no contemplation.

(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A So So Great Good

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

This will be the place to be this summer. Since Sosa's gone the Cub's will finally focus more on the ballpark and not the team. There will be great luxury seats behind home and more bleacher seats in the sun. Beats the tanning salon! Goose Island makes an unreal Bourbon County Stout. You can get it at Sam's Liquors. It only comes from the brewery not the brewpub. Sorry about that guys. We cut the overhead on that years ago. Have a sosa year!

(03/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good So So

Establishment: Henry's 12th Street Tavern, Portland, OR

Upscale Yuppie place where you can come to be a yuppie see a yuppie or act like a yuppie...or see a yuppie bartender or waitress. They have dozens of taps but of course they are selected simply to get quantity not really quality. You can find one or two good ones but you might find yourself drinkin a Belgium instead. Do I really want to try all the bad IPA's in Oregon? No. I'm sure the food is OK. Probably served in those huge portions. I know the music is terrible 70's and 80's crap. It's truly a numbing experience. Nice people though.

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Tugboat Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Very cool joint downtown. Live jazz all the time at night. Very tasty IPA and stouts. Wild selection of historic books to look at all around. Big windows to the alley like street outside. Very hip bartender in charge serving up a few samples of simple Mexican food and such if you get hungry. Yea, keep this one on the crawl route and it'll be a success.

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

This is the place to go in Portland for some real ales. They have almost all of the beers they make on tap (~15). Imperial IPA and Stouts were excellent. Big food menu and great service. I was there long enough to see if the cellphone free thing was real. It's not. How you gonna stop a hot babe with her chiseled doofus boyfriend from taking a cellphone call. Get real. No one stopped them. They know that these people give the joint atmosphere. They probably would enforce it on some dork like me though.

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: McMenamins Cornelius Pass Roadhouse, Hillsboro, OR

Cute little concept place. It was the only place to get a microbrew or maybe even a beer around here it seems. I can't explain the popularity of this chain. The beer is mediocre to lousy from what I sampled. They're not hitting the mark on high styles of IPA and stouts. Maybe their red ale is drinkable to novices but I can't drink that. Food is slightly above bar food. Service is friendly and good.

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Bend Brewing Company, Bend, OR

High quality brewpub and restaurant in wide open room on the river with great views and eclectric design. Broad selection of true styles like stout, dobblebock, IPA. I found the dobblebock very good. The IPA had some hop but more like a good pale ale. The Imperial IPA indicated that they are a little out over their skis. It was good and stronger but no real indication of high hoppiness happening. Beers in the middle are solidly done. Anyway, this will definitely do for some beer relief and great food on a trip to unknown parts where a good buzz is challenging to achieve. Glad to help out comrades.

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR

Excellent brewpub and restaurant. High quality food menu. Great service. I had a very good pale ale called Jubele. The IPA was way off the mark. It had no flavor to it. I think they invented a new beer style but that ain't IPA. So then I tried the Barley wine aged in whiskey barrels...Bingo!!!! That was fantastic. Multitudes of wood and whiskey flavors super enhance this beer. It seems a sampler might have done me some good since it was miss or HIT!

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

The Brewpub is closed until late 2005 for complete remodel. However, look for their very good IPA in town.

(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Emmett's Ale House, Downers Grove, IL

Oops, I forgot to be explicit about how I feel. Here's the numbers coming now...

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Emmett's Ale House, Downers Grove, IL

Wow, what a huge improvement over the previous microbrewery at this location. Very good stouts and ales that I tried. Yes, that IPA was outstanding. Where to go from here? maybe an Imperial Stout? Give a shot man. Dining and menu much improved also. Crowd is much more genteel too. So there's a worth to forcing the issue of higher standards.

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

I had a couple of the recently released barrel aged Porter and Stout. I'm sure it's difficult to find space for this kind of craft brewing but they were fantastic. The soup is always excellent and a nice bowl with my brew is the sweetest thing. Parking is so easy as there are several hundred multi-use spaces at the train station. Since most people don't work the night shift downtown it's kismet. I like to walk about 50 yards a day but no more lest I drop below 185 pounds.

(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

Had a very good time drinking here. All flavors(brewmaster specials not the simple stuff for the yuppies) are very solid. So this is California...No pressure no weather just happy monotony. Works for them I guess. Was it a fluke in both pizza ports I visited patrons would scoop up leftover pizza from abandoned plates? In this place some soldiers I exchanged macho pleasantries with from nearby suffered no loss of pride in doing this. These guys may not be ready for civilian life yet or ever but God bless their loyalty to the administration in power? Or is it just a job that happens to fit well to their stilted personalities?

(11/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Safe House, Milwaukee, WI

Thanks, Enemy for taking some bullets for this semi retired reviewer. It's truly a small world. Not only that, we may be in a low phase of microbrews and a high phase of Republican, corporate sterile, commercialized crap. Hope you make it to the other side. I'll be at Bell's or Three Floyds.

(11/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mickey Finn's Brew Pub was Libertyville Brewing, Libertyville, IL

That's right John. The whole Chicago area is experiencing a brain drain. Almost every brewpub is way down. Piece's brewmaster specials are still very good, and Goose Island Clybourn only (no goofy Wrigleyville) has a good beer once in a while. Moonshine has Rev. William Kittrell,Expert, turning out one(uno) hell of a beer. The Onion makes an occasional good beer. Let's congratulate the shrewd, owners of these bastardized brewpubs. Americans just want to get fat not experience craft and art. I could tell you where the future is but I'd have to kill you. It's the first exit across the Indiana border and 2 miles south.

(08/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

Nice Train Wreck. Where you hiding that stuff? Give it up. There's apparently a black market of F Station kegs out there. Anyone who went to the Aged Ale Fest at Delilah's and tasted 2-5 year old Barleywine and Imperial Stout will be on a quest now until he's sure it's all gone. I found the decor beautiful and the setting was quite pleasant. I was quite shocked that the previous reviewer would dare rate service based on these obviously strained conditions. He might just be THE Enemy to do that. Come and see the plentiful Cub fans suffer their usual roller coaster, uninformed ride to nowhere. See a pop fly by Sammy drive them wild. The food here is very good. The staff is veteran and professional. I guarantee it.

(07/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

What? Get a clue pal. Yea it's better than a stick in the eye but the moment in time is gone. This is life and you should consider that with respect to everything. Either that or move to Green Bay?! Ahhhhh, that's rough man.

(03/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Flossmoor Station Brewing Company, Flossmoor, IL

I tried the new brewer’s “wee heavy”. It’s decent but the delirious feeling is gone. I see that an ESB is on but I don’t want to go back now. I have seen the promised land. The Nut Brown Ale and the Stout remain the same. I haven’t figured out what’s doing with them or how they maintain their quality yet but I may never have the chance anyway. The jukebox remains brutal and you’re at the whim of the current manager or bartender for the satellite radio transmissions. They range from okay to mainsteam crap to downright queer eye for the straight customer. The service is very good and friendly. The food is good also.

(11/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Great So So

Establishment: Brass Restaurant and Brewery, South Barrington, IL

Brass is in the mold of the giant upscale rather sterile microbrew that most people have come to expect and apparently enjoy. The bar has a giant multi TV array as it’s backdrop. The service is excellent. The beer selection is rather unimpressive. Only the seasonals such as the porter are okay. I don’t know why I bother. Just look at the website beer style descriptions of any of these places and you know you won’t be getting a good buzz. But they ain’t making there money from beer geeks and I was the only such one present. The food is served up in the modern fashion of quantity over quality. This justifies the stiff price since you can’t eat but half of it. Nice going guys. Anyway, unless you’re a local yuppie you can’t really enjoy spending much time in here. I did have a peppy conversation with a nice but one dimensional young woman in the sales game. I enjoyed the pitch but no sale. Kinda like a funny Miller commercial.

(11/29/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.136 seconds) 12:29:59 54.80.100.90, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS