PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from the enemy
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 04:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
the enemy

Beer Reviews
(38)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

38
Beer Reviews from the enemy
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dotty Dumpling's Dowry, Madison, WI

RIP Dotty's, victim of abuse of government power. I hope you open up shop somewhere else soon.

(04/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Map Room, Chicago, IL

I've noticed a phenomenon among beer bars in Chicago; that is, whether a place has 10 beers on tap or 40, it tends to be a variation on the same beers available elsewhere. It's rare that a bar in this town has a number of truly unique taps that are difficult to find elsewhere in town. The Maproom is the place that bucks that trend. While the tap selection isn't extraordinarily expansive--some 30 or so--what they do have is a truly unique lineup. They have beers that I've never seen on tap anywhere else in this city, such as De Dolle Oerbier or Capital Autumnal Fire or Delerium Tremens or La Trappe Quadrupel or Bluebird Bitter. What's more, their tap selection rotates constantly, so it's almost like you're going to a different bar every time you go. As if that weren't enough, they have an excellent bottle selection too, considerably more expansive than the taps. If it's available in the midwest, you're likely to find it here. And most importantly, like the reviewer before me notes, your beer is served at the right temperature and in the right glass. The crowd is on the yuppie side of average and overall a decent bunch of folk. The service is usually attentive but they can sometimes get overwhelmed when it's crowded. So far, my favorite pub in Chicago.

(12/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Angelic Brewing Company, Madison, WI

It's been over 3 years since I last visited Angelic and submitted a review. In that time I had hoped it would improve. I'm disappointed to say, it hasn't. I was lenient in my last review, owing to the relatively new status of this place. Most places get better with time and experience. Angelic has not. There were only 5 varieties available (still!), and none of them were that great. The stout was oddly carbonated and just didn't have the right balance; the abbey-style Belgian almost tasted like a wit... bizarre. the Scotch ale was too hoppy and not malty enough for its style. The blonde ale was good for its variety, but those are pretty damn hard to screw up. The nut-brown was actually rather good, but having nailed 1 out of 5 doesn't cut it for me. A true let-down, especially given the vast improvement its cross-town rival Great Dane has made over the same time period.

(02/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: The Cubby Bear, Chicago, IL

I can't believe I actually suckered into spending money to walk into this place. What a bomb crater. If it weren't across the street from Wrigley it would have gone out of business years ago.

(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: J.T. Collins Pub, Chicago, IL

Nice little hangout place. They have not a very big tap selection but what they do have on tap is of good quality. They have a fine selection of Irish whiskey to boot. The service was friendly and prompt and willing to humor my tireless rants about a wide range of subjects. No comment on the food since I didn't try any.

(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Ginger's Ale House, Chicago, IL

There are a handful of North side bars that Irish immigrant tradesmen head to when the workday is over, and this is one of 'em. I figure that's testament enough to the relatively authentic working-class Irish atmosphere. There is a touch of Pat and Mike cheesiness but thankfully it's kept to a minimum. The food is not gourmet but it's satisfying. The Guinness stew is yummy. Sometimes the service can be a little flaky. The tap selection is fairly broad (about 20 or so) and has a handful of beers you're hard-pressed to find on tap elsewhere in the city.

(10/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Never actually been to the pub itself but I had a chance to sample their bottled products while I lived in Pittsburgh. Each variety was of excellent quality. No doubt about it, when comparing Eastern PA breweries vs Western PA breweries, the East wins out big-time, thanks to breweries like Victory (and Dock Street and Yuengling and others). Rolling Rock? No thanks!

(11/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Ginger's Ale House, Chicago, IL

Decent Irish type joint, not too cheesy. There were a small Irish flags, some rugby jerseys on the wall, some signs and knick-nacks. Overall pretty tastefully done and not overkill. Something of a blue-collar ruckus crowd gives the place a ton of atmosphere. Not a dive, not a snooty yuppie joint either--just perfect for a hangout place. Some 15 beers on tap, including Guinness and Harp and Bass of course, and Oregon IPA, Kelley's Cider, good ol' Budweiser, Coors and others. The food is good and not very elaborate and reasonably priced. My only complaint is the service. Oddly, the bartender was maticulously tending to the rest of the patrons, but for some reason I had to shout her down to get her attention. I didn't think I was *that* ugly...

(11/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sheffield's Wine and Beer Garden, Chicago, IL

Fantastic tap selection of well-known brews (Guinness, Bass) and more regional, eclectic beers (Grays Oatmeal Stout, Bells Oberon), and a couple seasonals to boot. This is the only place I've ever seen that has Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale on tap. Service is prompt, music is cool, atmosphere is relaxed, neighborhood bar-like. I take the L past several bars just to go to this one.

(11/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Mickey's Tavern, Madison, WI

Sadly, Mickey's owner passed away a couple years ago at the tender age of 96 or so. Even in his 90's and barely able to walk, he would come down and watch over his bar. Since his death the bar has undergone some drastic changes. For starters, part of what used to be the owner's apartment (he lived in the same building) has since been opened up and included as part of the bar. It now has a "main" bar area, a sitting room off to the left, and a pool table room to the left of the sitting room. It has also gone from a local neighborhood bomb crater to a local neighborhood respectable establishment. While their best tap selection 2 years ago was Berghoff Dark, nowadays the taps include such offerings as local favorites New Glarus, Capital, and Sprecher, and national/international favorites like Guinness, Anchor and Sierra Nevada. Despite being well away from campus, it still tends to draw out some of the "beatnik" elements of the U-W community. Best of all, it serves as a venue for improv jam sessions of Celtic music on Wednesday nights. Some people drive in from as far away as Milwaukee to join in and play. Anyone who can play an instrument and carry a tune is welcome to join in. What a great way to fritter away a Wednesday night!

(11/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Duke of Perth, Chicago, IL

This bar has a Scottish theme. They have more varieties of scotch than I've ever seen in one place. They have some good British Isles beers that are hard to find on tap, such as Fullers London Pride, John Courage, McEwan's Export, etc. The food has a Scottish theme but is basically American in origin. (sorry, no haggis here). Best thing I like about this place is that you can go there on a Friday night and still hear yourself talk. Great hang-out place for the mellow.

(11/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great So So So So

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

The only reason I keep coming back to this place is because my wife likes it so much. Besides, it's sort of a post-game tradition. This place is legendary for its crappy service and mediocre beer--though as noted in other reviews, you'll get better service at the bar than at a table. Final verdict: an overpriced, overrated Chicago institution that is more image than product.

(09/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Walnut Street Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

Itty bitty intimate little place. Great place to hang out with your mates in the afternoon and talk about how much the Cubs suck. Better head elsewhere as the night wears on, though; it gets very crowded and very loud during "prime" pub hours.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sharp Edge Beer Emporium, Pittsburgh , PA

For the year and a half that I lived in the fine little city of Pittsburgh, I had seen the Sharp Edge a number of times. I always dismissed it, however, because it looked like a plain-Jane local bomb crater of a bar. On the outside is the world's tackiest lit-up plastic awning. I walked by once and looked inside and saw dingy crap-ass carpet and a tacky drop-ceiling. No thanks. Finally, a couple of my wife's co-workers persuaded us to check the place out for real. I was skeptical, but my wife really wanted to go, so I went. I walked in, again underwhelmed by what I saw. That is, until I looked over at the bar taps. (Insert Hallelujah chorus from Handel's "Messiah" here.) Unbelievable! 52 beers on tap, about half of which were Belgian. Duvel, Piraat, Corsendonk Pale and Brown, Silly Scotch, even Lindeman's Framboise on tap! The non-Belgian tap selections were no slouches either: Rogue Old Crustecian Barleywine, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale, Anchor Liberty Ale, Beamish, Belhaven on nitrous, just to name a few. It's a good thing that we discovered this place only one week before we were to move to Chicago; in the three times we went there, our tab (including a well-deserved tip to the lovely and friendly bartenders) ran over $70. Hey, every last $6.00 goblet of La Trappe was well worth it! Even in Chicago, a city 10 times bigger than Pittsburgh, I have been unable to find any place with a remotely comparable tap selection of Belgians and other fantastic brews.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So

Establishment: Roland's Seafood Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

I don't think I've ever seen so many beers under one roof in my life--including liquor stores and beer distributors. Their beer menu reads like a Who's Who of the beer industry. Ever heard of such-and-such a beer? it's on the menu. NEVER heard of such-and-such a beer? well, it's on the menu too. The food was delicious and filling. The unfortunate dark side to my visit was the absolutely appalling service service we received. Our waitress would come by in 20- to 30-minute intervals; the person who seated us told us we could order beer from the downstairs bar and have it brought upstairs, which the server then refused to do; more than once the server messed up our order; they tried to overcharge us by $40; and to top it off, when I went to the manager on duty, she frequently interrupted me while I was trying to air my grievences and then told me I was being unreasonable when I asked that I be allowed to finish a sentence. I didn't think it's too much to ask that I get my order right, it be brought out before next Thursday, and my bill be added up correctly. The management apparently did. It is too bad that our service was so wretched as to prohibit our return to an otherwise fine place.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mad Mex, Pittsburgh, PA

Nice tap selection, dazzling bottle selection. The food is rather unique and is part of what keeps this place busy at all times, any day of the week. It's not exactly Mexican--rather, it's more accurately billed as "Cal-Mex." It's about time someone thought of it. Tex-Mex places are a dime a dozen around the country, and yet until now I've never seen any place acknowledge the distinct and equally important hybrid of Californian- and Mexican-style cuisine. The big-ass marguiritas are killer--don't get more than two unless you're a heavyweight.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Fuel and Fuddle, Pittsburgh , PA

Only go here if you're still young enough to put up with a college crowd. Fortunately, not a drunkard joint like some of the other bars in the Oakland area that serve the Pitt/Carnegie-Mellon clientelle. Good tap selection, great bottle selection, competent and friendly bartenders, and quite acceptable pub fare. Neat little joint; hope I get the chance to return.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Valhalla Microbrewery and Restaurant, Pittsburgh , PA

The beer is sub-par by brewpub standards, but still decent and drinkable. I never did figure out why a place with such a Scandanavian theme served primarily German-style beers. The service was phenomenal; our every need was met with near ESP-like precision. Food was also quite good. They had a jazz trio up on some sort of mezzainene (sp?) the night we were there--nice touch. The layout of this place is pretty neat and pulls at you to explore.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Foundry Ale Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Excellent food, excellent beer, excellent service, gritty industrial-like location. If I could only go to one eating/drinking establishment for the rest of my life, this would be the place.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: United States Beer Company, Chicago, IL

This place sucks horse balls. The sign outside says "Over 100 Beers" or something to that effect, which is an outright lie. They had maybe 20 tops, including tap and bottles. I cannot stand businesses that resort to outright fabrication to get people in the door, and they couldn't give me a pint for free if they tried. I only associate with persons and establishments that value integrety. This place clearly does not.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hopleaf Bar, Chicago, IL

Fans of Belgian beers, this is your place. They don't have many Belgians on tap--only two when I went--but they have about 20 or so in bottles. Atmosphere is cozy; this is clearly a neighborhood bar rather than a high-profile joint such as Goose Island. The icing on the cake is the 50's or 60's vintage juke box stocked with blues, soul, and other classics on vinyl. It's places like this that make Andersonville the splendid little neighborhood that it is.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: Clark Street Ale House, Chicago, IL

I don't get the rave reviews. I must have gone on a bad day. The slanty-eyed little bollocks who was tending bar spent most of my half-hour stay talking to his girlfriend on the phone. Incredulously, he acted put out whenever I asked him to put the goddamn phone down and pour me a pint. And I've heard of overpriced joints in the River North area, but charging $3 for a small glass of ORANGE JUICE? There are places that will serve me a pint of Guinness for that much. Tired of waiting for the astonishingly rude server to acknowledge my existence, I finally walked out without paying. That probaby insures that I can't ever go there again; no problem, for I never planned to anyway.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

The name says it all.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Great

Establishment: Great Dane Pub and Brewing Company, Madison, WI

OK, this is my third go at reviewing this pub. Having recently moved back to the Midwest, I took it upon myself to visit my sis-in-law up in Madison, and to see if the Great Dane has improved any. I'm pleased to annouce that its beer has improved tremendously over the last couple of years, so you people can get off my case about giving the place such harsh reviews. I was especially intrigued by one of their seasonal specials, a blueberry ale. One thing that hasn't improved, however, is the horrible service. Chalk that up not so much to the incompetence of the servers as the fact that the place is chronically understaffed. C'mon, cheapskates. Pony up the extra couple of bucks and hire a couple more servers.

(09/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Chicago, IL

I'll try any brewpub I see, and I happened upon Rock Bottom by accident, as it was the first thing i saw after getting off the Grand/State red-line L stop. Once I saw the literature and realized it was a chain brewpub, I pretty much knew what I was in for. The beer is decent--leaps and bounds better than, say Miller Genuine Draft--certainly didn't meet the expectations I have of a brewpub. The best one there was the terminal Stout. It was tasty, if a little too sweet. The labyrinth interior is fun to explore and the food is good, though--as to be expected with any restaurant in the River North area--pretty expensive. Stop by if you're in the area and have nothing else to do, but don't go out of your way.

(08/14/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.141 seconds) 04:52:50 54.82.1.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS