PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tom
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 11:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tom

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from tom
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good So So Good

Establishment: River City Brewing Company, Wichita, KS

This place had a huge selection of beers on tap, but many of them seemed to have been concocted by sorority girls (pineapple saison?, mojito wheat?). We had a decent stout, and one their IPAs (they had several) were not too bad. But, as is usually the case, nearly all of the beers were a little too light for the style. If oddball beers are your thing, this place sure has a big selection. If you are looking for a west coast-like IPA, one of their "special" IPAs might suit the bill.

(07/05/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Green Flash Brewing Company, Vista, CA

This is one of the best breweries we have visited (only surpassed by Ballast Point). The selection is enormous, and nearly all of them excellent. The Green Bullet casked IPA was spectacular, one of the best IPAs we have tasted. The entry way to the tap room is palatial, but inside, it is industrial. Do not pass up this brewery if you are visiting San Diego. The tap room does open later than most, so be aware. Apparently they have a rotating schedule of food carts/trucks, but we did not notice such a thing.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: AleSmith Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

The beer selection tends not to be as dominated by IPAs at Alesmith as at other San Diego breweries. We tried several of their beers (photo of tap list was uploaded), and all were excellent. But the standout was the Speedway stout. This is an Imperial Stout (12%), so it would be nice to have a DD. This is one of the best stouts made in America. There are several imperial stouts that are similar, but for my taste, this is the winner. None of the other beers was especially unusual or exciting (we had been to Ballast Point earlier that day).

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Pizza Port / Solana Beach Brewery, Solana Beach, CA

Lunch time, nothing better than Pizza Port. They always have an interesting selection, with plenty of guest beers if you do not like what they have on tap. Since it was Thanskgiving, the had "Santa's Little Helper", a beer that will knock you on your butt, but is delicious Their IPAs are always excellent. A picture of their tap beer selection at this time was uploaded.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ballast Point Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Of all of the breweries I have visited, Ballast Point is the winner. I have uploaded a picture of the beer list during our visit in November of 2012, hopefully it will show up. An awesome selection. Everything we had (and we had nearly everything except for the pepper, curry or lime flavored beers), was excellent. We could have this many as they had cheap (3oz) tasters, and were happy to have you try as many as you wanted--I think it was $5 for three. In addition to the tap list, there was a special cask-conditioned, gravity fed, pumpkin, Victory at Sea. Maybe one of the best beers of all time. Apparently this shows up at Thanskgiving--a growler would have been nice, but we tourists. They have no food, but that's life. I suspect they'd be ok if you brought food, but it is probably worth asking first. The friendliest staff, and unlike most of the San Diego breweries, they open at 11 am. I wish they had a campground.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

There were 11 beers on tap when we visited Thanksgiving week. The Sock Knocker, Idiot and Black Sails (black) IPAs were very good. We also had the Holly Daze and Blue Bridge Coffee stouts--decent beers, We tasted the Milk stout and Stupid stouts, also very good beers. None of the others were very appealing since it was winter, and they were all much lighter varieties (golden, wit, red, and brown). The food was very good. This is a nice place to just hang out.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Banff Avenue Brewing Company, Banff, AB

Probably a good place for generic tourists, but not much for the *beer tourist*. None of the beers had sufficient quantities of malt for their styles. Head Smashed IPA had some hops, but zero body. Saskatoon Berry Wheat had a nice tart berry start, but no finish. Reverend Rundle Stout is about as much of a stout as Shiner Bock is a stout. At least it had a tad more hops than their other beers. The Lower Bankhead Black Pilsener (a "German Schwarz" beer) was ok for its type, but did nothing for us. The food is pricey here, but it is a tourist town, and you do not get what you pay for. At least they had poutine on the menu, even if it pales in comparison (as we were told) to that offered a thousand miles to the east.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ninkasi Brewing Company, Eugene, OR

Since my wife and I are hopheads, it did not matter to us that the selection was dominated by IPA-type beers. Others might disagree, I suspect they just happened to line up like this when we were there. We had the Tricerahops IPA, an excellent imperial IPA, Total Domination IPA was very good, while Quantum Pale Ale was lighter (as the type would suggest). The Radiator Ale (NW style pale ale) was delicious, the Believer Double red needed more body. The Oatis Oatmeal Stout was great, the Renewale (British stout) was uninteresting. The Imperiale, a higher gravity stout, was very good. There was a food cart outside, but we did not try it out.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Deschutes Brewery, Bend, OR

This is just a great all-around brewery to visit with an excellent restaurant--in fact, the food was better than the beer. Most of Deschutes products are too light for my tastes nowadays, but the food was very good. That being said, the Inversion IPA on tap was excellent, as was the Chainbreaker "white" IPA (this is certainly an excellent "summer beer"). The Belgian IPA was nice and spicy, but the Roggen beer was bit too light. We were extremely lucky in that they were just tapping the Black Butte XXIV, an imperial version of their standard porter. This is a truly amazing beer. We took a number of bottles home. If you see it, buy it!

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Klamath Basin Brewing Company @ Creamery Brewpub, Klamath Falls, OR

The Crystal Springs IPA was quite good, but the other offerings were not appealing. It is a fairly nice place to sit and hang out though, and if it were in my home town, we would go there regularly, but it is not worth going out of your way for.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

Sierra Nevada is like entering a palace. The restaurant was packed for a weekday lunch, but we squeezed into the bar, and had a seat. We are very familiar with most of their products, so we only drank the ones they do not bottle. The Hop Syndicate, a hopped pilsner (from beer camp) was excellent, the others were ok for the style, but not stand-outs. Shelled out the cash for a Brux, but it was disappointing. The beer camp beers remain the most interesting beers these guys produce (many brewers have caught and passed SN's IPA's, stouts and the other standard styles).

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Eddie McStiff's Micro-Brewery and Restaurant, Moab, UT

Their own beer here was awful. The did, however, have quite a few bottled Utah beers, and those were fine. Just avoid the draft beer if you must go here.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Moab Brewery, Moab, UT

It is Utah. The beer here is not bad. The IPA and Oatmeal stouts wre quite drinkable, though they lack the body of their higher-alcohol cousins.

(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Speakeasy Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Stopped by for a "Firkin Friday". For $3 tokens you get a "pint" of excellent beer. These events are awesome for us beer geeks---it is a lot of fun to hang around like-minded people, which is all you will find here if you attend. The black IPA was damn nice, but so were all of their beers. Avoid the $20 taxi rid from downtown and take the muni. The neighborhood is not as scary as it looks (at least on the ride down). A little cart was set-up that sold burritos. They were completely adequate for the purposes (in addition to the free popcorn).

(12/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Toronado, San Francisco, CA

This, along with Zeitgeist, are the two best beer bars to hit when in San Fran. There were something like 20 beers on tap here, with a number of rarities (it was nice to have a pint of "Pliny"!). The place was crowded on both Saturday and Sunday evenings when we went. The sausage shop next store absolutely adds to the whole experience! Yum. We had great service--the beers came as fast as we needed them to (all I really ask), and the bartenders were friendly (enough). The heavy metal was a bit loud, but tolerable. I will be back someday....

(12/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Zeitgeist, San Francisco, CA

This is certainly one of the best beer bars I have ever been to. It, and the Tornado, certainly are the places to hit in San Fran to find a large selection of quality beers. There must have been more than 20 beers on tap, with many varieties that I have never seen anywhere else. The crowd is quite "eclectic", but friendly (in some cases over-friendly ;-). We did not visit the patio to take "delight" in the aromas emanating from back there, but have been told it is "awesome" (wink, wink). The music is mostly metal, but was in-line with my tastes. A bit of a haul from the tram, but the Latino shops on the way are quite interesting in their own rite.

(12/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Firehouse Grill and Brewery, Sunnyvale, CA

Given the reviews for this place located below, I was not expecting much from this place. But since we had to walk by it on our way back from Hardy's Bavaria (yum!), we thought we would give it a try. The IPA and Porter were both decent--I have had much worse. Maybe it was low expectations, but these beers were not bad at all. The wait staff though were a different story--you'd think you were in Hollywood they way they struted their wares. The music was loud and annoying techno/hip-hop which was the main deficit. So, if you need something heavier than the German beers at Hardy's, try this place.

(12/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Tied House Cafe and Brewery, Mountain View, CA

We spent three consecutive evenings at the Tied House. This place is packed with people nearly all of the time as far as I can tell. The beer is good--though I must say that all I had were their higher alcohol "special" offerings, and none of the "regular" beers they list on their homepage. Had two IPAs, both were good. Their Belgian/Abbey style seasonal beer was excellent. Their double (oatmeal?) stout was the best of the bunch.

(12/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lucky Baldwin's, Pasadena, CA

They have one of the most interesting beer menus in the US. We spend as much time as possible at this place when in Pasadena. The food has a traditional British leaning that hits the spot when in the mood (for, say, bangers and mash). The J. W. Lee's Harvest Ale aged in a Lagavulin cask was the single best beer I have ever had (but I like Scotch, especially Lagavulin). The waitstaff were exceptionally friendly. Just the best place in Pasadena!

(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Mia's Lounge, Flagstaff, AZ

This is the other place in downtown Flagstaff for those that like a good selection of hoppy beers (the Green Room is the other). Actually, the selection here is among the best I've seen, with all types and styles available (some on tap, some in bottles). This place caters to a younger crowd than the Green Room (except, presumably when there is music at the GR). There is a small beer store attached for carryout.

(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing, Flagstaff, AZ

They have an excellent selection of good IPAs, including the Mogollon brewing's "Hornytoad" when we were there (it had been a while since they made it due to the hop shortage---rather silly). Lots of curious old barflies there. It is an excellent place to go for beer and conversation with locals. The bartenders were very attentive.

(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

The beers were poor representatives of their styles. All were much too light. This place has much in common with Blue Corn in Santa Fe---beer that is for people who don't like beer very much. The food we had was quite good.

(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

The beers are much too light for my tastes, though the Hefewiezen was ok.

(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

A large selection beyond the large number of Stone beers, including a gravity-fed IPA when we were there. The food is definitely CA oriented, overly-unique, but tasty anyway. The service wasn't spectacular.

(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

I have never had a bad beer there. Even their smoked beer was tasty. Nice Scotch selection too!

(11/21/1997)














(0.171 seconds) 23:48:18 54.161.225.73, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS