PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tom rothrock
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 21, 2014 @ 07:17 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tom rothrock

Beer Reviews
(46)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

46
Beer Reviews from tom rothrock
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Willoughby Brewing Company, Willoughby, OH

I'm more than a little tardy in posting these comments, as they're based on my visit to the WBC in July of this year. My timing couldn't have been better; they'd just tapped their holiday "Wenceslas Ale" for a Christmas in July celebration. Among the seasonal specials I've sampled, that one has to be one of the best - smooth, balanced, great color and not overly "heavy" like some I've had. I also sampled their Amber which was excellent as well. WBC's kitchen also puts out fine work; I had the chopped Cobb salad which was an ideal accompaniment to the beer. Finally, the service was top notch - both friendly and efficient - and I received the type of treatment that encourages repeated returns. And I will, as hard as it's to be believe in our current economy, the treatment I enjoyed at the WBC is not universal.

(12/06/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Austin, TX

Surprised to see that there were no reviews of this location yet. Perhaps that's because Austin enjoys so many beer outlets - Draught House, Book & Candle, NXNW, etc. I was in Austin on biz in late October and discovered the FS on Pubcrawler. They really have their act together; the beer list - updated quarterly - is deep, rich and extensive - is an embarrassment of riches. When I travel I always opt for the local brews, so I had a 512 IPA, a Live Oak, and a wonderful robust ale from Austin Beerworks all of which were grand brews. The FS kitchen really puts out great work, too; I had the salad which was tasty and well presented. Finally - and this is a big deal if you, like me have suffered poor service at craft beer outlets - FS has selected and trained their staff to be sure - no matter how busy they are - to acknowledge and serve their patrons as if they were the only one. They really shine at that and wherever I travel, if there's a FS around, I'll be at the bar.

(11/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Houston, TX

I was in Houston on biz and discovered the FS on Pubcrawler. The prior month I'd patronized their Austin location, which was my 1st contact. They really have their act together; the beer list - updated quarterly - is deep, rich and extensive - is an embarrassment of riches. When I travel I always opt for the local brews, so I had a 512 IPA and a St. Arnold's, both of which were grand brews. The FS kitchen really puts out great work, too; I had the salad which was tasty and well presented. Finally - and this is a big deal if you, like me have suffered poor service at craft beer outlets - FS has selected and trained their staff to be sure - no matter how busy they are - to acknowledge and serve their patrons as if they were the only one. They really shine at that and wherever I travel, if there's a FS around, I'll be at the bar.

(11/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hopjacks Pizza Kitchen and Taproom, Mobile, AL

I was surprised that there were no reviews of Hopjacks on Pubcrawler. It's a solid establishment where you can enjoy a pleasant, laid back atmosphere, friendly service, great food and a stellar beer selection. At the time of my visit [1/16] they had 50 beers on tap and being from Colorado, I was enamored that my home state's beer output was well represented with offerings from Avery, Great Divide, Left Hand and Tommyknocker. It's great to be 900 miles from home and run into a place that feels like home. I tried a local - 'Back 40 Naked Pig' IPA which was excellent and a Magic Hat. Before I leave Mobile, I'm heading there again and I'd recommend you do, too!

(01/18/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Buffalo Wild Wings Grill and Bar, Yuma, AZ

I was in Yuma for business during December 2010. I hadn't been to Yuma for a very long time and knowing it's a small place, didn't hold out for the prospect of finding a good micro on tap and that all I'd have to choose from is the usual Bud-Miller-Coors triumvirate, which is really no choice at all.

The BWWG&B proved me wrong; they had several very nice Pyramid ales on tap at the time of my visit as well as Sam Adams' seasonals and Colorado's Fat Tire.

The service - at the bar - was both efficient and friendly. I was there during Sunday night football broadcasts and the place was jammed. Another big plus was that it sits within walking distance of several hotels along Yuma's I-8/16th Street corridor so your worries about 'consumption' are nil.

I'd return for a pint -or 2- on my next trip.

(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

I was at the BSB in December, 2010 while on a business trip to Flagstaff. This establishment is very well run and at the time of my visit, very busy as there were lots of folks in town for the NAU end-of-term graduation ceremonies.

I sat at the bar and enjoyed the energy of the place. They offer a very good IPA which has won recognition at the GABF. I had several and can report it's clear why the beer brought home the medals. I also had their Belgian, which I understand was a new offering and it too was a great offering following the IPA and it went down well with the Cobb salad I'd ordered.

My hat's off to the proprietors of the BSB - they've done a great job here!

Also - FYI - the same folks who're responsible for the BSB opened up a sister establishment called 'The Lumberyard' during 2010 which is a block away from the BSB. It too, is an outstanding place - they were pouring a Imperial Red and Amber that was superb.

If you're coming through Flagstaff, a stop at either of these places is a must for those who appreciate good beer & food!

(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Nimbus Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

I hit the Nimbus on a late weekday afternoon, around happy hour. It sits in a southeast Tucson area comprised of industrial parks and warehouses, off of I-10.

I had their IPA and Porter, both of which were superb. The IPA had that most pleasant and rewarding floral hops mouthfeel that hopheads like me savor.

It's a real friendly place; the service was excellent, efficient and accommodating. In addition, when I sat down at the bar, there were a couple of fellows who'd ordered up a plate of wings - it was more like a mountain of wings - and kindly offered some to me. That's always been a great thing about Tucson: it's a real friendly place where you're only a stranger once.

The same holds true for the Nimbus - head over there if you want to enjoy some great brew in a very comfortable and welcome atmosphere.

(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Barrio Brewing Company, Tucson, AZ

I stopped by BB during a business trip to Tucson in December, 2010. I hadn't spent any time in Tucson for about 30 years and at the time of my last visit, that neighborhood was a virtual no man's land - rail spurs and vacant warehouses - and the BB is a welcome addition.

I was warmly greeted and well served. I really liked their IPA and Stout. It's a real friendly place frequented by what I learned were 'regulars.'

Well worth the challenge involved in finding the place!

(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Five Seasons Brewing Company, Atlanta, GA

Hit the 5 Seasons on a biz trip to Atlanta. I got there twice - once after getting to town, directly from Hartsfield and again, right before I left. On both visits, i was greeted by friendly and efficient staff who knew about the beer, which I found to be extraordinary. Their IPA - the 'Hopgasm' is a wonderfully balanced brew which to my tastes, brought a new definition to what a IPA should be. I also had the Scottish Ale that reminded me of Oscar Blues' 'Old Chub' - one of my favorites, too. Their food offerings were extensive; I had a salad with a vinegarette that was a ideal offset to the IPA. My hat's off the the 5 Seasons' brewers and management; they've really richened Atlanta's beer offerings. Only one other concern: their per pint price is stiff @ $5.50 which doesn't seem to change - it's more than what I'm used to paying but I'm not complaining and I suspect their pricing reflects Georgia's goofy liquor laws, which don't allow growlers.

(11/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Upslope Brewery, Boulder, CO

Superb establishment manned by craftsmen who know their ales. Like our friends at Oscar Blues a little further down Hwy 36, Upslope has a killer IPA they're putting out in cans and they're enjoying increased distribution throughout metro Denver. The Upslope is a very friendly place to visit and is frequented by Boulder locals who always make you feel welcome and are knowledgeable about beer, biking, dogs and anything else thst msy come up!

(06/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

I'd not been to the B&B for a while, so a return was long overdue. As in the the case of my earlier visits, I was amply rewarded. I went on a weekday evening and it wasn't too busy although the bar had its usual collection of regulars holding court. I was pleased to see some new offerings from the B&B's most capable brewer - a very hoppy IPA called 'No Coast' which had an excellent mouthfeel, color and flavor. My 2nd choice was a more traditional Pale Ale called 'Hopsmith' - which reminded me of Boddington's Pub Ale. Last, I had their 'Hoppy' Pilsener - a ideal and refreshing brew for a summer's eve. By the way - in addition to the excellent efforts put forth on the beer front, the kitchen is still putting out stellar work. I had a bowl of the green chili, which was a great accompaniment to the beers. Denver's fortunate to have such a quality establishment.

(07/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tasty Weasel, Longmont, CO

The Tasty Weasel is yet another addition to my list of reasons "Why I'm lucky to live in Colorado." The Weasel is an outlet of the Oscar Blues brewing operation in Lyons. OB's success lead them on a search for additional brewing capacity and this location was the answer. It sits in an easy-to-locate industrial park in SW Longmont; just remember that the front entry faces Sunset Dr. on the east side of the building and the street address on Pike. Ah yes, the beer! I started with a grand dry-hopped IPA from Firken. I tried their Alt - not canned but available on tap which was an excellent offset to my bike ride on a summer's day. I also had their superb pilsener - 'Mama's Little Pils' - which won me over as soon as I tasted it - and I'm not really a pilsner guy. I also had the stellar Red Imperial Double IPA - Gordon's - which I savored. I can't say enough about how great the beers are here and I'm so glad that Oscar Blues is a success story; long may they thrive and prosper.

(07/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Coopersmith's Pub and Brewing, Fort Collins, CO

As the ratings imply, I'm grateful for Coopersmith's. And yesterday, I was REALLY grateful. I headed up to Ft. Collins to ride to Poudre River Trail and to attend the Colorado Brewers' Fest in Old Town. I spent more time on the trail than I expected. When I got to Old Town - around 2 pm, the line for the Brewfest was blocks long and was rumored to take an hour and a half to sustain. Rather than being trapped in the line with a bunch of rude, cigarette smoking, cell phone using bores and braggarts ["I'm here to get smashed!"], I headed over to Coopersmith's. They were busy, but were doing a great job in servicing the overflow from the CBF. I had the Punjabi IPA - on cask - and the Albert Dam Bitter. Both were superb and have been this establishment's mainstays over the years. They had a full range of offerings as well, a Belgian, Stout, Porter, Hefe and another Pale Ale. I had to limit myself though as I had a I-25 drive ahead of me.

I think the Brewfest has outlived its attractivness for me. Long live Coopersmith's!

(06/28/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Sandlot Brewery, Denver, CO

I was at the Sandlot on 6/21/09 - the Father's Day match up between the Rockies and the Pirates at Coors Field. The Rockies won and it was a great day to catch a game in one of America's best ballparks. The Sandlot contributed to the quality of the experience; they had on tap a splendid Hefe - which for a hot afternoon in the stands - is the ideal accompaniment. Their other offering was an Amber which had traces of a 'Belgian' flavor to it. I didn't know if it was by intent or the tap got crossed up with Coors' 'Blue Moon.' Compared to what passes for "beer" in the stands, I was deeply grateful for the Sandlot.

(06/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Yak and Yeti, Arvada, CO

Yak and Yeti occupies the operation formerly known as The Cheshire Cat - a British pub offering great brews and traditional pub fare. The good news: Yak and Yeti has preserved all of that and added a new dimension to the menu. First, let's talk about the beer - which is why we're here!

Chris Kennedy - of Rock Bottom fame - is now brewing @ Y&Y. On my visit, the offerings were many and varied: ESB; IPA; Amber; Hefe; Pilsener; and a Stout. Keeping my devotion to the Brits I had 2 of the "Himalaya" IPAs. It had a splendid rich finish and a great hops blast. I also sampled the ESB which was equally rewarding.

On the restaurant side - which I didn't have time to sample - offers Indian and Nepalese cuisine. While I was there, several customers came in for "to-go' orders and raved about the food. The menu retains shepherd's pie, fish and chips and bangers and mash from The Cheshire Cat.

I'll return soon to check out the food and the beers I didn't get to. We're fortunate that the new owners kept the pub theme; Arvada needs an outlet like this and anyone who appreciates good beer and food will be rewarded by stopping in at the Y&Y!

(06/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Dry Dock Brewing Company, Aurora, CO

To correct the prior post: thankfully, The Dry Dock is not closed. They've outgrown their space and are moving to a larger space on the same site, just slightly east of the old one. For details, check out their website:

http://www.drydockbrewing.com/

(06/14/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Vine Street Pub, Denver, CO

This establishment is a branch of the Mountain Sun/Southern operation in Boulder, who've successfully and consistently brewed stellar beers for a number of years. I'm glad they now have a presence in Denver; that saves me a 45 mile one-way drive! Vine Street has all of the excellent Mountain Sun offerings - the hoppy Colorado Kind, Illusion Dweller IPA and XXX Pale. Over the summer, they had a new offering - FYIPA - a double IPA which is stellar. Service a great; they're friendly folks who strive to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Note: They don't take plastic; so come with cash. There's one of those fee-for-use ATMs on the premises.

(11/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Northern Tavern, Denver, CO

I've not been to the GN since my last review but stopped by after I had business in the Tech Center. Their offerings have expanded; in addition to O'Dell's they have Stone's Superb IPA, Avery's IPA and Brown Ale as well as O'Dell's Isolation and 5 Barrel IPA. The best part? The Happy Hour pricing is still $2.50! In these dire economic times, this is the best beer @ the best price in Denver.

(10/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Toronado, San Francisco, CA

I have to admit - when it comes to establishments like Tornado - a place which caters to the pure beer devotee [or, 'snob' like my friends put it] I regularly patronize The Falling Rock Tap House in Denver, which truly sets the standard for such establishments. As far as San Francisco's concerned, the Tornado clearly exceeds that standard. I was there on a break in a business trip to SF and was greatly rewarded for the experience. Their offerings on tap run across the range of all of the great Northern California micros and many more in bottles, too. I didn't get to sample as many as I wanted but the the Governator says, "I'll be back!" A word on service-I was there on a weekday night and it did get busy but not to a point where I felt it was lacking. As a fellow patron [a regular] said while waiting to get his pint refilled, "Good beer, like anything, is worth waiting for."

(01/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

Stopped by the FD on a recent Saturday afternoon. The place was full of college football fans taking in the rays from the numerous screens in the dining area. I sat at the bar and availed myself of 2 Snake Dogs - a beer that gets better each time I sample it [and really superb when it's sampled mere yards from where it was brewed] followed by their illustrious Gonzo Porter which provided a rich offset to the hops rush of the Snake Dog. In between, I also had a bowl of their soup which was most satisfying and delivered by friendly, efficent and a cordial staff who made me feel welcome and want to return. Considering the indifference encountered in some establishments, this was as refreshing as the beer.

(09/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

For those of you from out-of-town and us lucky locals, this is great news:

03/20/07 - For Immediate Release - (Denver, CO)  On Monday, March 5, Great Divide Brewing Company (one of Americas most acclaimed craft breweries) will open the Great Divide Tap Room at the companys downtown Denver brewery.

The Tap Room features 8 taps serving Great Divides year-round beers, as well as seasonal beers and small batch brews that will only be served at the Tap Room. The tasting room will be open from 2-7 PM Monday-Friday, and Noon to 5 PM on Saturday.

The Tap Room also serves as the starting point for tours of Great Divides brewery, which take place at 2 and 4 PM Monday-Friday, and on the hour on Saturdays between Noon and 5 PM. The tours include four free tastings of Great Divide beers

The Titan IPA and Old Ruffian Barley Wine are worth the trip alone!

(08/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Willoughby Brewing Company, Willoughby, OH

I'm posting this review based on a visit earlier this year - I was visiting family in the area and was able to swing by the WBC one pleasant afternoon in time for happy hour. I sampled the Daisy Cutter and the Lost Nation - both were superb and splendidly executed. I'll have to say the Daisy Cutter provides the drinker a rush of complex flavors - it was my favorite and if I wasn't driving I would have polished off several. The service was friendly and responsive. We sat at the bar and took full appreciation of the fine work the owners put in the building, which was originally a railroad service structure. They are to be lauded for establishing such a class operation. May they thrive and prosper!

(08/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bear Republic Brewing Company, Healdsburg, CA

Long live the Bear! I'm from Colorado and have some expectations about brewpubs - after all, we've got the best! But the Bear is right up with them. I adore both the Hop Rod and the Racer 5 - both are candidates for my all time favorities list! The food was superbly executed in all respects. And the service was both friendly and efficent. Whenever my travels take me to the Bay Area, I'll be there!

(08/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Magnolia Pub and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Stopped in the Magnolia on a Friday for lunch. I'd never been to Haight-Ashbury district and wanted to check out the neighborhood. Let's say the Msgnolia was the "height" of my trip. What a great place! Friendly and knowledgeable bar staff and their beers -I had the bitter and the IPA - were both a credit to the brewer's craft and entirely pleasurable. They also offer a number of guest brews but I was so enamored with their offerings I never got that far. I will on the next trip - go there!

(08/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: San Francisco Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I was in SF on business and stopped by the SFBC on my way back to the train. I had the pale and the porter. Neither were "bad" but neither were that good - they lacked character and I expect more from a place that sits smack dab in a city known for good food and drink. Of more immediate concern-when you sit at the bar there's an odor - the kind you encounter when the place hasn't had a "stem to stern" cleaning in a long time. I know it's an old building but this clearly detracted from my experience.

(08/09/2007)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.168 seconds) 19:17:57 54.226.116.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS