PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tom rothrock
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 24, 2014 @ 08:20 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tom rothrock

Beer Reviews
(33)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

33
Beer Reviews from tom rothrock
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Awesome! Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Southern Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Splendid, splendid, splendid, splendid! I've frequented the flagship MS location many times on Pearl Street; this was my first time here. The beers are well executed and plentiful; I had the good fortune to be there on a recent weekday afternoon and enjoyed Happy Hour Pints @ $2! An embarassment of riches! I had the Triple X Pale [Hoppy!], the Colorado Kind, and the Porter. Also had the Vegetarian Chili to accompany the beer - we're blessed to have an institution of this caliber in our midst - don't miss it! [P.S. - forget the hype about the "hippies and politically correct Boulder" - these are good folk and they know their beer!]

(04/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

I've sung the praises of the B&B on these pages before and, as the saying goes one good turn deserves another. Returned last evening to sample the splendid Man Beer: cask conditioned "heaven on earth." Also had their Tower ESB followed up their regular IPA. These folks know what they're doing and never disappoint. A local note: a fire engulfed a nearby apartment building over the holidays, leaving a number of homeless. The ownership offered free meals to those unfortunate folks. This is a class operation from start to finish. Go there!

(01/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Il Vicino, Denver, CO

I was so glad to see that Il Vicino has an operation in Denver. Now, I won't have to drive to Colorado Springs to sample their work (although I'll continue to go to the Springs to visit Phantom Canyon.) And what fine work it is. Their award winning "Wet Mountain IPA" is worth a visit alone. On the day of my visit, they also had other local brews on tap, a Breck Brown Ale (I think) and Stella Artois. Their food is excellent; the offerings are wood-fired pizza, calzones, paninis and salads. I had the Il Vicono salad; a splendid accompaniment to several Wet Mountain IPA's. Finally, they're located in central Denver, in an grand old art-deco era building that once housed an auto dealership. It's a great space and an excellent adaptive reuse of the structure. May Il Vicino prosper there! I can't wait to go back and after your 1st visit, you won't either.

(08/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Il Vicino, Denver, CO

I've been a fan of Il Vicino's brews for sometime; for us hop devotees, their signature "Wet Mountain IPA" is pure bliss. I've sampled it at brewfest in Colorado as well as their place in Colorado Springs. Now, with the addition of this outlet, I won't have to make the drive to the Springs (other than to go to the Phantom Canyon, of course.) On the day of my visit, they also had Great Divide Stout and Stella Artois on tap. The menu offers a wide range of excellent Italian offerings; their feature is wood fired pizza, paninis, calzones...I had the Il Vicino salad and was very satisfied. Whether you're there for the food or beer, you can't go wrong with this place. May they prosper!

(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

First, a disclaimer. I didn't visit the brewery; I had the good fortune of having The Arrogant Bastard at the Ginger Man in NYC. It's superb stuff and these folks are "true keepers of the flame" when it comes to mastering their craft. And, in case you didn't notice, they've got a huge sense of humor, too. I can't wait to get out to San Diego and see their place. Many they prosper!

(07/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Il Vicino, Denver, CO

These folks have it down. I'm so happy they've made it to Denver; I'll avoid that drive to Colorado Springs just for their splendid, award winning "Wet Mountain IPA." I've sampled it for years at brewfests and for a while it was sold in a bomber but it's great to have a tap source. On the night I was there, they also offered Bristol Brewing's Laughing Lab, Great Divide's Stout, and Stella Artois. The food is excellent, solid fare and reasonably priced. Service was top notch. May they prosper!

(07/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Goosetown Tavern, Denver, CO

I returned to the Goosetown recently and pleased to report that it remains a solid and dependable outlet for excellent brews. I was surprised to return to pubcrawler and see no postings since mine of last year so I thought I'd offer another positive recommendation. Good mix of patrons, too. They still have the Phantom Canyon IPA which is pure heaven for me.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Englewood, CO

Stopped by recently to try out the Brewmaster's specialty - The Anvil. A wonderful concoction; good finish and strong hop presence. Think the alcohol content is around 8 so limit your consumption...and it's limited, too. After the initial few kegs are gone, that's it. If you get there and the Anvil is gone, you shouldn't be disappointed...they've got Buffalo Gold, Singletrack Ales and a great Porter, too. Although I didn't order from the menu on this trip, I know the kitchen does a superb job. A class operation.

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

I returned to the GLB a year after my 2002 visit and just wanted to add more kudos to the fine work that is being done here. I had sampled the Burning River, Edmund Fitzgerald, Elliot Ness, and Commodore Perry IPA. (Whew! a lot of work, but it would kill a lesser man.) Also had a salad from that splendid menu. All superb - keep up the good work!

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, New York, NY

Good atmosphere and good beer, too. They had all the stuff from Brooklyn Brewing and one of my all time favorites, Arrogant Bastard Ale. Crowd was predominately YUP the night I was there. It also has the feeling of an old NY neighborhood bar. Worth your time if you're in town.

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

I was really pleased with the Ginger; a splendid a generous offering of quality brews way too numerous to mention here. A virtual embarassment of riches! Service was excellent and they know their beer! Just make it there the next time you're in NYC and you won't be disappointed. Really!

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Heartland Brewery and Chophouse, New York, NY

For beer devotees, the Heartland will be a disappointed. For the Times Square "thrill seeker" crowd, they won't know the difference. I had the "Indiana Pale Ale"...pretty watered down stuff and I wondered when I'd get the "hops" bite that never came. Service was indifferent and we only went for the appetizers.

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ulrich's Tavern, Buffalo, NY

You can't go wrong with Ulrich's and the reason being is its longevity. The place is an institution and what makes this one so special is that its still working. I had several 1st Ward Red Ales from Bison Brewing along with a beef on kemmelweck...a classic Buffalo experience. May they sustain for another 135 years! If you're anywhere near Buffalo, you need to make it to Ulrich's!

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

Visited the Pearl twice, during a recent visit to the "Queen City of the Great Lakes." On both visits, I was richly rewarded. I really liked the "Lake Effect Pale", the Bock and the Stout. On the second visit, I met Paul Koehler, the brewmaster...a good guy who's deservedly proud of his work. The kitchen puts out good product also and the menu offerings are a tantalizing accompaniement to the beer. Go there!

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

The ratings I've assigned to Mountain Sun's offerings speak for themselves; they just do everything right! I was there on Friday evening (3/14) and the placed was packed. I waited at the bar for a table and had two superb pints - XXX Pale Ale and a Nitro IPA. I got a table and ordered a Colorado Kind and finished off with a Stout. I went for a soup/salad combination for dinner, which was well executed. The staff is both friendly and competant and they know their beer. It's a joy and a blessing to patronize a place like this.

(03/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Oasis Brewery, Boulder, CO

May it rest in peace. I'm disappointed, as it seemed to me that it was always well attended on my visits. There's a lot in this "new economy" I don't understand. Anyway, the good news is, according to the Rocky Mountain News, the proprietors are going to continue bottling their great brews!

(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

Note: Flying Dog has ceased their operations as a brewpub and restaurant at the Blake Street site and are doing bottling there. I'm glad the bottling operation is continuing and because I live in Denver, I'll still be able to sample their excellent offerings. I will, however, miss going in the place for several pints...

(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

As the review implies, I was quite pleased with the CCBC. Good representation of beers, although I did't sample all. I did like the IPA, which was hopped just right and the Amber Waves. The food offerings were well executed and I found the menu to offer a nice balance between typical "pub grub" and more "upscale" fare. Service was both top notch and cordial...something those of us from the west don't always encounter on the east coast. And you can't beat the venue...they did a marvelous job on the space and interior finishes. As Gen. McArthur said, "I'll be back!"

(10/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Moffat Station Restaurant and Brewery, Winter Park, CO

Happened upon Moffett Station on a off-season (summer) afternoon. Largely populated by locals and they've got a good happy hour scene. The beer offerings were limited to two light wheats, and a amber. The wheats were like drinking water. While refreshing on a hot day, I expect more from beer than water. The amber was a solid performer with a full bodied flavor and a great hoppy finish. Also had dinner there and the kitchen did a competant job, overall. Service was extraordinary.

(09/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good So So

Establishment: C.B. and Potts Restaurants / Big Horn Breweries, Englewood, CO

CB Potts is all about atmosphere, not the beer! I've been to this place numerous times and the beer offerings are frankly uninspiring. I thought the food selections were overpriced compared to other establishments.

(09/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

If 4 Peaks had been in Tempe 8 years ago, I might have not left town. (Of course, then, there's the heat...) The Peaks is a compentant and diligent provider of both brews and food. I'm big on the "8th St. Ale" and their IPA. I've been back several times and have never been let down.

(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

Stopped by the Sonora on a recent visit to Phx. I'd had their Amber in bottles and enjoyed it. I sampled it and the "Burning Bird" Pale on tap. The Pale is superb...a hoppy brew that satisfies all of the senses. The building is really nicely done, the service is both friendly and compentant and they should thrive here.

(07/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Ironworks Brewery and Pub, Lakewood, CO

The Ironworks is a solid operation and they know their beer. While the beer offerings are far more extensive than I was able sample on my visit, I stuck to my favorites...the nitro IPA and the ESB. I wasn't disappointed. The menu offers your typical pub fare which is executed quite well...the green chili has a pleasant "afterburn" which you can chase down with one of Ironwork's excellent brews. The place is kind of smoky, so if you're sensitive to that, stake out a table away from the bar.

(06/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Heavenly Daze, Denver, CO

I stopped by the Daze recently, which has reopened under new management since my prior visit. I found a good offering of well executed beers. The "Backpack IPA" is worth several pints by itself. The "Olympic" is a great one, too...a full bodied, yet hoppy concoction that comes in at 9% alcohol content, so watch your consumption on that one. They also had a few "guest" beers available. I'll certainly return to this place for more brews and to check out the menu offerings.

(06/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Goosetown Tavern, Denver, CO

I've been wanting patronize the Goosetown for some time, since it's one of John Hickenlooper's projects. I wasn't disappointed; GT puts forward some solid tap offerings: Phantom Canyon IPA (my ideal), Denver Pale Ale, Road Dog, Oasis Brown and some others. The menu offers a range of pub-style pizza, sandwiches, and salads...I had the "Greek Salad", which was excellent. A solid neighborhood establishment that covers all the bases...stop in; you won't be disappointed.

(06/10/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.24 seconds) 20:20:33 54.89.139.226, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS