PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tom madigan
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 21, 2014 @ 07:14 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tom madigan

Beer Reviews
(26)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

26
Beer Reviews from tom madigan
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

An absolute joke. This joint should be called WynPoop. In a state and city with some of the greatest beers in America, I wound up here. The beers were very thin, lifeless and without any amount of character, malt nor hops. What a shame. Don't waste your time here, see if Great Divide or Breckinridge is open, or go to the Falling Rock Beer Bar. They even offered me a damn beer brewed with thyme or oregano. What???

(09/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mount Rushmore Brewing Company, Hill City, SD

Boy, did I need this place. After visiting Devil's Tower, WY then Mt. Rushmore on a 100 degree day, I was glad to find the brewpub. First and foremost the barmaid, I forget her name!!! (I'm terrible at names which is ashame as I'm a teacher) was so welcoming and really knew her beers. She, like me travels the country in search of worthy brews, and it was because of her that I enjoyed this one. Well, the beer wasn't bad either. A little Gimicky with 4 beers each beginning with an initial of one of the 4 Presidents, like a wheat for Washington and a Red for Roosevelt, but they were decent. The wheat with a lemon was good, especially on a darn hot day. Worth the trip.

(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Terminal Gravity Brewing Company, Enterprise, OR

I was on a cross country drive from Ohio, and I met my brother here at this brewery. The brews were great! The fresh, hoppy IPA was my favorite, but I also really enjoyed the stout. We finished the evening with a 10, and wow what a powerhouse, malty brew that was. Enterprise is quaint, and nearby Joseph is great for breakfast. The IPA can be found in bottles, and they are expanding.

(07/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Moab Brewery, Moab, UT

Stopped in after the long drive from Denver. I had the Pale Ale, since it was the only beer with the potential of any hops. I wasn't expecting much, but it was very, very good. It was fresh, hoppy and citrusy. A true joy. I sampled the wheat and the steam beers, but they didn't warrent a full pint.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

Only had 1 beer, unfortunately, we were on a Boulder Brewpub crawl, but I did have one of the freshest, hoppiest, and tastiest pale ales that I've ever had. The food was delicious as well, this place is a must in Boulder, in fact, the best place in Boulder.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Unbelievable place. Just a small brewery in a warehouse, but the brewer Bernie and another guy, I forget his name, showed us around and gave us all the samples we could handle, which was pretty cool for 10:00 AM. (It was noon back home in Ohio). We only tried the biggies, like Hercules double IPA, Old Ruffian barleywine, and the best of all, Yeti, oak-aged imperial stout. This is the best brewery in all of Colorado, which says a lot and a top 5 brewery in America.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

Note: Disregard Todd Clingman in the previous rating. He was drunk as a monkey, and he kept ogling over the beautiful bar maid, Dawn.

Had 2 beers at the brewery, the Hop Goblin IPA and Oompa Loompa Chocolate stout. The IPA was very fresh, loaded with an abundance of citrusy hop flavor and a piquant, floral nose. The chocolate stout was also a beauty. It too was fresh with an explosion of dark, bitter chocolate. Very impressive.

(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Trailhead Brewing Company, Saint Charles, MO

Like any brewpub, I come for the beer, not the food nor the ambiance. To put it mildly, this beer was terrible. Bland, tasteless, thin, weak. I ordered a sampler like I always do, and I left 2 unfinished. I have never done that. The raspberry wheat was probably the worse beer I have ever had. On top of this waste of time and money, on the way out to my car, I peaked into the spent grain barrels, and there were used packages of liquid hop extract. Any homebrewer will be shocked at this. If you're not a HB, it is a cheap, ridiculous way to add a hop bitterness, flavor or aroma to your beer. The Ironic thing was, Trailhead had none of these 3 hop characteristics. I would have rather gone to Anheiser-Busch in St. Louis.

(04/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: New Holland Brewing Company, Holland, MI

Went on a 9 brewpub crawl in SW Michigan and my favorite was New Holland. The beers were excellent with a wide variety to choose from. They had some wonderful experimental brews like Dries something, I can't remember the name, and some of the standards like the Mad Hatter IPA which were flavorful and hoppy and so very fresh. The 2 bartenders were knowledgeable and very friendly and like to discuss beers. They had no ego like so many behind the bar. Go there for the well crafted, great tasting beers and everything else is just a bonus. There are beers for all tastes! By the way, it's located in a great shopping area, so take your wife or girlfriend, let her shop while you drink, you both win!

(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

One of the top breweries around. Great beers, huge beers! Had the Devil Dancer from 2003 and 2004. Huge! Also enjoyed the Centennial IPA, and Double Dirty Bastard which was like a barleywine style Ale. This is a must on any southern Michigan brew pub crawl. They don't mess around with wimpy brews.

(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A Good So So

Establishment: Arcadia Brewing Company, Battle Creek, MI

When it comes to rating an establishment such as this, it's all about the beer. Food is rarely different, it's all good. The beer, however, at Arcadia was a big disappointment. They were small, weak, light-bodied and watery. Other than that they were tasty. British style is not supposed to mean lame, there is a difference. I've been to England.

(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

On my way to Philadelphia, I stopped by with Great Expectations. However, I was gravely disappointed. The atmoshere was bad to begin with. The joint had absolutely no character. Nothing like Stoudt's just down the turnpike. The L- shaped bar went around a corner so I couldn't see anyone on the other side. The beer was surprisingly bland and lifeless as well. The Hop-Devil, which is a very respectable brew in a bottle, was more like a Hop-butterfly on draft. Quite a mystery. I tried a sampler, which were good pours, yet the beers just did nothing for me. They were were lifeless let downs. Later on the same trip, I managed to get to Dogfish Head Brewery, now there's a man's Brewery.

(11/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

I have traveled the country searching out brewpubs, much to the chagrin of my wife, and when I went to Dogfish, I realized how wonderful beer truly is. One of the top 3 breweries in all of the USA! Can you just imagine having Raison D'Extra (not D'Etre), Worldwide Stout and 120 Min IPA on DRAFT??! These 3 behemouths all register around 18-20 % WOW! I also visited their distillery and sampled their beautiful brown, honey rum. The 90 Min and the 60 Min were fantastic and so was my Crabmeat woodfired pizza. My hotel, being off-season was only $40, and it was close enough to stumble back to. An absolute must for beer lovers!

(11/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

I finally got to see what all the hype was about, and it is all justified. I went twice in a 3 day period and although they ran out of their Imperial IPA (I had something to do with that) and they did not have any of the Midway IPA, the beers were superb. This is a must in Chigago just to sit after a long day in the city and relax with some fantastic brews. Ask for Holly as your waitress, and you will get the friendliest service in town. The IPA is hoppy and out of this world.

(07/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Buckeye Beer Engine was Buckeye Brewing, Lakewood, OH

This past week a few of us went on a brewpub crawl in the Cleveland area. Buckeye was the best and that includes Great Lakes. I am a self described hop head, and Buckeye has 3 IPA's! 76 IPA is the best, it was so fresh and just bursting of hops. I also really enjoyed their Imperial Porter, which was a huge and tasty beer. This place is a no frills brew house that sits in a very nondescript building, but I loved it! The new bar maid, Dawn, was extremely friendly and talkative. She wasn't your typical no it all, snotty bar help that has become all too common. Buckeye also provides very good beers from other breweries as well.

(04/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

Although Columbus has several brew pubs, they are all just ok. Barley's is no exception. They do have a good selection, and they do have a barley wine style ale, but the brews are just good, certainly not great. The IPA was more like a pale ale as it fell way short of what an IPA should be. It was not big, bold nor was it exceptionally hoppy. The Imperial Stout on cask had a very good flavor, but it too fell short of an Imperial. Barley's is the best of Columbus, but the writer who previously said it was better than Great Lakes Brewing Company should get his head checked.

(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

My first impression of Broad Ripple was certainly positive. As it turned out, however, the building had more character than the beer. Not to be negative though, the beer was for the most part pretty good. I thought they were overall, rather weak and light-bodied. The IPA was great. It was fresh, hoppy and the best brew present. The porter and dunkel had decent flavor, but they were thin. I did enjoy myself, the food was good, and I will go back. It is about 2 miles away from Kahn's Wine and Beer Store, a fabulous place to buy fine wines and beers.

(10/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

Wow, what harsh reviews. I have been here 3 times, and I have enjoyed myself immensely. The beer is very good. Granted I like hoppier beer, but it's a German style place, so I take what I can get. I thought the food rocked. I loved the sausage and cheese platter and the sausage sampler. Great German slaw! But what completes this place is the band on a Friday or Saturday night. This is one loud, fun, crazy place to hang out. What is better than great beer and food, and listening to fun German music and dancing on picnic tables?

(10/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Greenshields Brewery and Pub, Cary, NC

Greenshields was very disappointing to say the least. It is in a very cool part of town, and my hopes were high despite the very low ratings for the brewery. Well, the ratings did not lie. The IPA was the worst excuse of an India that I have ever had. Give me a break. It had no hops or flavor to speak of. What an unexceptable experience.

(10/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub And Brewery, Pensacola, FL

I would like to think of myself as a well traveled beer drinker. On that note, I would like to say that McGuire's is overall my favorite place to imbibe and feast. The brews were great not awesome, but the overall experience was nothing short of amazing. The food was outstanding. I tried the New York strip, hamburgers, the 18 cent bean soup, and the cheesecake. Incredible! McGuire's has an incredible list of hamburgers and wines. The atmosphere was fun and exciting and the waitresses were beyond friendly. If the beer selection only had a pale ale or an IPA, it would be better, but I am not complaining. I will come back to Pensacola with McGuire's on my mind!

(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Of all the brewpubs I have been to, Monte Carlo was nothing out of this world. However, after the hustle and bustle of the strip, it was very nice to wind down the evening drinking pretty good beer. Though it was not spectacular, it was still 10 times better than budweiser. Well worth the stop.

(06/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

I had a weekend of activities planned in St. Louis, but I only had time for one brewpub visit. So, I went to my trusty Pubcrawler sight and found that of the 3 brewpubs in St. Louis, Schlafly's was the highest rated. Overall, the experience was good. However, if I'm going to judge the place on the beer alone, then it was a disappointment. The first let down was they got rid of the barleywine for a summer ale. A SUMMER ALE??? Let's be frank, a summer ale is a fancy name for a hopless, maltless, characterless, beer reminiscent of a typical light American swill lager. Why would you EVER get rid of a barleywine for a summer ale?? Next, the beers were just average. The pale ale, typically a big, hoppy beer, was more like Killian's, soft, red, and mild. The one decent beer was the unfiltered wheat beer. It was very fresh and flavorful. Finally, the food portions were small and not as tasty as we had hoped. I would certainly go back to give them another chance, maybe they were having a bad year.

(05/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Pike Brewery and Pub, Seattle, WA

Pike Brewery is located in the heart of the Pike Place Market and certainly worth the trip. It is very large inside with the back room being quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the Market atmosphere. The beer was pretty good, however not the best in the Pacific NW by far. The Stoudt was very tasty. Interestingly enough Pike had Belgium Lambics on draft, I believe Lindeman's. They were super fresh and unbelieveable! Try the Peach!

(11/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Seattle, WA

A great location before a Mariners game, I certainly agree. The food is good enough and so is the atmosphere and closeness to Safeco Field to make the trip worthwhile. However, the beer was very disappointing. They were very light with a strange absence of hops. Compared to Bud Lame, they were fresh and tasty. But, overall, the beers were too "small." The Curveball summer Ale was like drinking ice water. The barley wine was very good to end this on a positive note. Hey, go to wait for the Mariners, but don't claim the beer is the best in Seattle.

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay, Newport, OR

Remarkable, just plain remarkable. Truly one of the greatest breweries in the country. 22 beers on draft and they were so very fresh. If you are anywhere near Newport, OR or Portland, (there is a tastehouse in Portland) you must visit. Being from the Midwest, I have only had a handful of Rogue brews, and I never had the pleasure of tasting Brutal Bitter. Quite possibly, the greatest beer ever. It was so fresh, and the hops just exploded from your glass. Rogue is a absolute must stop for anyone who loves REAL beer. There are lighthouses in the area and a state park to compliment your journey along with fresh seafood. Try the Rogue Pub House in the downtown area!

(08/05/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.151 seconds) 19:14:11 54.226.116.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS