PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from tom allen
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 15, 2014 @ 04:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
tom allen

Beer Reviews
(12)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

12
Beer Reviews from tom allen
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Red Jacket Brewing Company was Michigan House Cafe, Calumet, MI

I visited Red Jacket yesterday. This was my third try to sample their stout. First time a couple of years ago, went on a Wednesday (this is the only day they are closed), second time was this past summer, no stout available (ran out), yesterday same story ran out, none available. There system is small as described in previous posts. Probably the only time you can get it would be on a Saturday. Bartender said they are putting in a larger brew system and should be ready by next spring. He said that should keep beer on tap all week. Long way to drive not to sample their beer, I will try again next year when I am in the area. Otherwise, if you stop by on any day other then Saturday you probably won't be able to sample their beer.

(11/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Fantail Brewing Company, Sturgis, MI

Our first visit to Fantail, they opened in Jan of 2008. Brewry is in a old Elks Lodge building. They have a nice set up, with nautical theme, restaurant is nice with flat screen TVs for sports fans. We only had an appetizer which was good, did not try any other food, but they had a nice menu, with several entrees, burgers, sandwiches, wraps and pizzas. Now to the beer. They had 5 beers on tap that they brewed, I sampled all 5 ending up having a pint of their Amber, I was not impressed with their beer, pumpkin ale was very sweet and watery, something was wrong with the pale ale cannot describe - maybe flat, very low aroma and flavor, amber was the same. Maybe the water they are using , hop selection, or overall brew process, not sure. Fortunately they had several guest taps (Bells and Dark Horse two of them). Dark Horse IPA is one of our favorites so had that for my second pint. They have a good variety of bottled micro brew beers too. This is the first review for them so I will be curious to see what others have to say on their beer. Overall I think the owner has a nice facility, good food menu and probably will do well since they carry a number of other brewries beers that you can drink.

(10/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Right Brain Brewery, Traverse City, MI

First time visit, was impressed with their 12 taps and one cast selection. They love to experiment with flavors, hops and styles. The bourbon stout and Gramercy ale were worth the visit. Outstanding flavors and aroma's. No food at this establishment but you can bring in your own. Service was friendly and ready to answer questions. The owner stopped by and chatted with him for awhile on the styles they make. They are constantly changing their selection of beers so what you might like on your visit may not be there when you return. If you want to try some very unique beers then put this pub on your list to visit.

(10/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: North Peak Brewing Company, Traverse City, MI

This was our second time at North Peak and were disappointed this time. The beer selection is still small, Had the Octoberfest and IPA, both were small on flavor and hops. Had to wait an hour and twenty minutes to get a table, they were really busy so you would think the food would be outstanding with so many people lined up, the dinner was OK but far from very good. Probably won't go back.

(10/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

The atmosphere was very nice, nice restaurant, food was very good. Our server was extremely nice and helpful with beer selections and food. He made himself at home by sitting at our table and chatting like we were long time customers. Liked that attention alot. We had the IPA which was very good in my opinion, did not try anything else.

(09/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Short's Brewing Company, Bellaire, MI

Visted Shorts in Oct on our upper Michigan pub crawl. As you may read in previous posts the beer is one of the best in Mich. and have to agree. Enjoyed the Huma Lupa IPA (IPA fan anyway), sampled many others. Their beer menu is extensive and they are trying new things all the time (check out their web site). Food selection is not that large but is good. Read in a beer magazine that Shorts is planning on moving to a new location, not sure where, but you may want to check before driving there.

(01/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Mountain Town Station, Mount Pleasant, MI

Visited Mountain Station at the end of Oct. We were pleasantly surprised with the atmosphere, beer and food. We typcially will sit at the bar so we have an opportunity to talk to the staff. They were friendly and helpful on selections. However, were not the beer experts. We enjoyed the ales, the food is worth going back for.

(01/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Jasper Ridge Brewery, Ishpeming, MI

This pub is not that hard to find as stated in previous posts. Go to Ishpeming on M28, there is a McDonalds (don't worry only one in town), right behind the Mcdonalds is Jasper Ridge. My wife and I tried the sampler, Stout, Brown, Kolsch, Octoberfest, Pale. We are not wheat fans so we did not try them. The Brown was OK but not as nutty as I like. Liked the Kolsch (if you are into this type of beer) it was clear, crisp and great flavor. Was impressed with their Octoberfest, slight fruity flavor mixed well with the malts and hops, I am an IPA fan, but they did not have one, so tried their Red Earth Pale, not as hoppy as I like, but it had good flavor and nice amber color. did not have dinner there so can't really rate their main menu, did have two appetizers which were very good, try the chicken quesadillas, some better one's I have had. Sarah was tending bar, very friendly made our stay an enjoyable one. If you are traveling the UP of Michigan, take a few minutes and try this pub.

(10/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro, Hastings, MI

This is our favorite stop over spot when traveling north. Quaint restaurant/micro brew using one of the old downtown buildings. Beer menu is somewhat limited but have good beers. Again, my favorite is the Hobnoxious IPA, excellent bitterness and hoppy, the way I like it. Their amber is good too. Superb menu with a variety of entrees presented very well. Not a typical hamburg/sandwich joint. Great place to relax.

(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: The Livery, Benton Harbor, MI

Stopped by on a whim, little hard to find from I94, but called them on the cell phone and they expertly guided me to the pub. Located in downtown in an old livery stable. Walked in a side door downstairs to a small pub area, they have a large upstairs for music and other activities. My wife and I enjoy the small pub atmosphere, cozy, friendly. Not much of a food menu, but their pretzels with homemade mustard/horse radish dip was superb. Bartender was extremely friendly and talked to us for a long time. Unfortunately did not try a sampler because I had to drive. Did settle on the McGlligans IPA, which was very good (hoppy)and crisp. They have a good selection, will have to go back to sample more.

(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Mishawaka Brewing Company, Mishawaka, IN

Pub was easy to find and was a nice atmosphere, Dana, server, was very friendly and attentive to our dining. Wife had the Four Horsemen Steak Pie which was good. I had the hamburger, excellent, watch out very big. If you have an appetizer, try the beer bread and cheese, outstanding but watch out it is huge and can serve 4-6 people. As far as the beer, we tried the sampler first, Four Horsemen which is their amber, Ok but did not make me want another. The pale ale was a little water downed, Kolsch was very good if you are into that style, ended up with the IPA, was not as hoppy as I like.

(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Arcadia Brewing Company, Battle Creek, MI

The IPA is my standard at Arcadia, have had a lot of different IPAs but always look forward going back to Arcadia for one of theirs. The staff is always ready to make your visit a pleasant one. Ask for Tracy she is one of our favorites.

(09/06/2007)














(0.076 seconds) 04:55:17 54.90.200.228, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS