PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from todd hansell
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 30, 2014 @ 01:30 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
todd hansell

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from todd hansell
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Corolla Brewpub was Weeping Radish, Corolla, NC

Visited twice during vacation: Once with my Wife and daughters for lunch. We weren't terrible impressed by the food. The beer, however, is always good. I am sure that there isn't any beer actually being brewed here but it is getting here fresh from just down the road.

I visited again with my friends a couple of nights later and had a better experience (didn't order food). My favorite WR beer is the Black Radish. This is what I started with moved onto the Corolla Gold (I think I tasted spicy bananas... interesting). The third beer tasted was the Fest Bier (this is a beer with light flavor, color and body) not my cup of tea but not bad. I had a good taste of the Pilsner which was also a little too light for me. But all beers are very good and drinkable. One noticeable problem with the three Weeping Radish's is that they all close the doors by 900pm.

The Corolla branch is the smallest and is hiding in a shopping center. If you don’t know it is there you will miss it. If you are just interested in the beer then please visit and enjoy. If you are looking for food go back to the Kitty Hawk or Manteo branches.

There is a small gift shop for Ts, growlers, and six-packs etc… I didn’t buy a t-shirt this time around which surprised everyone.

(07/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub, Lahaska, PA

Well everyone knows by now that this is the old Buckingham Mountain brewpub. And everyone knows by now the River Hourse Brewing Company of Lambertville, NJ is operating the brewing end of this brewpub. Well I have visited this establishment a few times and I have very mixed feelings. As far as the beers go: I had the McHenry's Irish Stout that I found to be a pretty good and well-balanced brew. I also had the Dark Harvest Ale (lighter body and color then the stout but BIG on flavor). The Porter, however, is a little disappointing. You will notice a sweetness that never really goes away. As I tried it I kept hoping it would settle and be a great beer but it doesn't. I haven’t actually tried the food hear, however, friends have and said that liked it. He shall see.

(07/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: General Lafayette Inn and Brewery, Lafayette Hill, PA

Visited yesterday (12/16) for Christmas Brunch. We all got the buffet, which was GREAT. As the beers go I got a sampler so I could try a bunch - I was driving... Lisa (my wife) liked the Raspberry Mead Ale and referred to it as a "sweet girly beer with a major kick". The Sunset Red is described as a malty red ale - malty pretty much sums it up - A little on th4e sweet side for me. The John Doe Oatmeal Stout - The crowning glory of the brew - nice, dark, dry, crisp and clean. Holiday Cheer is pretty much a rye beer with extra ingredients - Not my bag. The Frostbite, despite its description, is a good crisp cooling beer with little aftertaste. The Cask Conditioned is brewed with the British bitter in mind. Right on the money and worth every cent (pence). Definitely worth visiting.

(12/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, King of Prussia, PA

The Successor to Brew Moon, Rock Bottom is the next brewpub to service the infamous King of Prussia Plaza Mall. We decided to visit while we were Christmas shopping. I was a Brew Moon cardholder and was sent a $20.00 coupon to Rock Bottom to cover the points I had accumulated. Lisa also know the way to get me to this mall is to mention the brewpub.

We started off with the Asagio Cheese Dip (that was awesome). My wife has the Smoked Chicken Enchilada. I had the Adobo Smoked Pork Loin. My daughter had the Pretzel dip appetizer as her meal – She loved it. My wife and I tasted each other’s food and realized we should have switched. As beer goes I first tried the Irish Dry Stout. I found it to be very good taste with a good aftertaste. It seems a little too “light-bodied” as Irish Stouts go. It is a remarkable brew just the same. The second brew tried was the Double Barrel IPA. Good but not as great as the stout. It has a better body then the stout and a more distinctive taste.

One little note is that Rock Bottom has two entrances - one from the mall and one from outside. If you enter the brewpub from the mall entrance you will see a sign to go to the other end of the restaurant to check-in with the hostess. I asked about this and was told that the brewpub wants people from the mall to know that there is a bar here (not just a restaurant).

I think this is a good “chain” brewpub and a good addition to the KoPP Mall Scene. This is the second or third Rock Bottom I have visited around the country and I haven’t been disappointed yet.

(12/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Porterhouse Restaurant and Brew Pub , Lahaska, PA

Wow! I get to comment right next to the great Lew Bryson!!! I just wanted to let you all know that I drove past the brepub the other day and there was definately some activity going on in the parking lot - Keeping the fingers and hop buds crossed...

(12/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brew Moon Restaurant and Microbrewery, King of Prussia, PA

It is always sad when a brewpub, any brewpub, bites the dust. It is gone but from the flames rises Rock Bottom (another brewpub chain).

(12/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Cedar Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Egg Harbor City, NJ

Unfortunately the last review is true. I saw that this place is still listed as active and still has a website (above link is wrong). I called them and it has become Millers... To Sad To Continue...

(12/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

I visited this brewpub with my wife, 3 year old daughter, and my parents. We thought the food was out of this world. The place is kid friendly and parent friendly. Even my 60 year old mother had a couple of the beers and loved them. Highly Recommended To All!

(12/05/2001)














(0.144 seconds) 13:30:27 54.81.77.93, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS