PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from todd mccomb
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 18, 2014 @ 02:41 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
todd mccomb

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from todd mccomb
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good So So Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: SLO Brewing Company, San Luis Obispo, CA

This is a big place, with an upstairs and downstairs. They had over a dozen of their own brews on tap, including 3 varieties of IPA. It's hard not to like that. There was a mix of age groups there, but the place really turns into more of a "bar" atmosphere late at night. It's probably the liveliest late night brewpub I've seen, which was a mixed blessing since I'm not used to staying up -- but I didn't want to leave! Food is pretty limited, and the kitchen closes early.

(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great Good

Establishment: Morro Bay Brewing Company, Morro Bay, CA

Very small place with limited hours, and limited beer selection. However, I really enjoyed the pale ale, and the atmosphere there is excellent.

(04/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: North Coast Brewing Company, Fort Bragg, CA

We took a trip to stay in Fort Bragg for a few days, and unfortunately, North Coast was only open one of those days (it being the winter). The day they were open, they expressed dismay at the crowds (I sat at the bar all afternoon, pretty much), and were understaffed. So I'm not sure what they're thinking. Their Red Seal is a very nice amber, and they have many selections on tap, but most are really mediocre, especially the "Acme" offerings. In fairness, many people seemed to like their Scrimshaw pilsener, which isn't a style I like. Having the Red Seal also available in a cask is a nice touch. The pork chili was great, the pulled pork was interesting, and the cioppino was good too. The fried fingerfoods were so-so. This place could really use some renewed energy and creativity from ownership and brewmaster.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Anderson Valley Brewing Company, Boonville, CA

I was also pleased to stop in and try the Anderson Valley brews on tap at the Buckhorn Saloon (which should perhaps have a separate entry here). We were just passing through, so I had the beer sampler, and we had a bit of food... standard pub stuff, wings & burgers, etc. The menu is small and ordinary, but they cook it with some care. The wings were excellent. The beer everyone knows, and it was great on draft too. Since this was during the day, I can't really comment on the atmosphere. It was dull when I was there.

(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Pacific Rim Brewing Company, Astoria, OR

I enjoyed this place overall, but the beer really wasn't the highlight. It was definitely mediocre, in everything I tasted. The space is nice, though, and the location right on the Columbia is more than nice. Some interesting people were through there while I was there, mostly young people. Food was your standard brewpub food, although prices are good.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bill's Tavern and Brewhouse, Cannon Beach, OR

We enjoyed our stop here, and the beer was good in a fairly standard way. The vibe was interesting, in an upscale/hippy sort of way. I heard from other brewpubs on our tour that they have a reputation for being uppity, but they were nice to us. They've also opened a restaurant where they're serving beer from the brewpub.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Pelican Pub and Brewery, Pacific City, OR

In touring Oregon brewpubs, this place had a great reputation with other brewers, so it isn't only the people here. I'm not sure what it is that everyone loves so much, though. The beer was good, but nothing special, and the varieties were almost clicheed. The food was far too expensive, although that's probably because of the beach location. One nice thing is that they serve breakfast. They were undergoing a renovation when we were there, which might have hurt the overall experience. It's an attractive bar, possibly to become more attractive, but really seemed like a tourist spot.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Wild River Brewing and Pizza Company, Grants Pass, OR

There are two nearby locations for this brewery, and I'm sorry, but I am not sure which one is named by this address. One is more of a restaurant space, and one is more of a bar, which also has food. I went into the former, but there wasn't a real bar, so continued to the latter. Beer was good, in typical styles, and there was live music. Even in the more "bar"-like location, there were families.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Wild River Brewing and Pizza Company, Cave Junction, OR

The beer is good here, although I don't know if they brew it here or one of the other locations. It's super-quiet, though, at least when I went. It's like a pavilion with a bunch of picnic tables, not even a real bar. Pizza is pretty good, but it's a limited menu. It's a reasonable spot to stop in Cave Junction, that's for sure, but instead of spending the night, we continued to Grants Pass. Maybe there's a better evening vibe here than it seemed, but it was super-dead.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: Surfside Grill and Brewery, Crescent City, CA

They were closed when I was there too (April, 04), despite a nicely lit "open" sign in the window. I asked around town, and no one knew anything. The concierge at the Hampton Suites nearby said "no one in this town knows when they might be open; it's completely random." Having regular hours is the most basic part of being a service establishment, hence my rating. Who knows what the beer is like.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Lost Coast Brewery and Cafe, Eureka, CA

This place has a nice atmosphere and a good vibe, but the beer is very average. The varieties are standard, and there's just no sparkle to any of them. The food is probably a bit above average for a brewpub. It's a nice place to stop on a trip, but the beer is definitely forgetable.

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Great

Establishment: Sequoia Brewing Company, Fresno, CA

I wasn't sure what to expect in Fresno, but this place has some truly great beer, and with a real variety. They had about a dozen varieties on tap, from IPA & high-alcohol reds to more modest varieties. Their "moto" pale was very drinkable. The physical atmosphere is on the poor side, but the social atmosphere is superb there. Many great regulars. In fact, they told me they were the best, and it was tough to dispute. Food was not bad at all (I am pretty sure I take the food rating more seriously than most people here).

(08/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Great Adirondack Brewing Company, Lake Placid, NY

They had standard American ales, which were good. It's great to be able to travel and find good beer so many places, although nothing was really notable here. I did not try the food, but they seem to be a restaurant first, brewery second. They had opened an outdoor bar in the summer of '04, and that was a nice place to sit and watch the scenery and people.

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Grand Lake Brewing Company, Grand Lake, CO

I was also surprised to find such good beer here. The Plaid Bastard is indeed one of the best Scotch ales I've tried. They serve it in a snifter. There are many aggressive beers here, with a real "no compromises" brewer. Hopefully they do well. The bar area is tiny, and they have virtually no kitchen area, but do their best on the food. It wasn't bad at all for basically warmed-up food. They did decide not to open on Sunday when I was there, which was disappointing, and apparently an impromptu decision based on amount of business. I'm substracting some rating points for that, i.e. not knowing when they're open. Beer is definitely great, though.

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub, Olympia, WA

The beer here was superb, with a mixture of organic and non-organic ales, along with a rotating cask ale. Organic beer seems a bit like a gimick, but their organic IPA was superb. The 10% cask ale with 10 kinds of hops was certainly notable. The comments on food confuse me. They were renovating when I was there in Spring '04, presumably for the purpose of adding more food selection. The Northwest Brewpub Guide said they had no food, which seemed to be the case at the time. At least before the renovation, the space was rather cramped in a hole-in-the-wall way, but there were many regulars there (in the middle of the day on a weekday, no less).

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Rogue Ale Public House, Newport, OR

Rogue has just an incredible selection of beers on tap, mostly their own, but with a few "guest beers." The atmosphere is a little weird with the casino videogames in the bar area, but there are many locals. The selection is so big, I drank so many beers, I can't even remember which ones I liked best!

(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Bear Republic Brewing Company, Healdsburg, CA

Bear Republic is my favorite place for beer. The selection of hoppy beers is wonderful, as are their many high-alcohol choices. Sometimes they have cask-conditioned ales. Awesome beer. Also, this is one of the few brewpubs with genuinely good food. One downside is relatively high prices, typical of the area, but also because they do such a huge business with pass-through tourists. The restaurant space is great, but crowds don't offer a lot of personality. Sitting at the bar, you can begin to feel some local flavor, but in my experience it has been mostly young people. No offense intended to young people, but our conversation topics don't overlap sometimes. I would like to try this place on a slow night, if they ever have any.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Brown's Brewing Company was Troy Pub and Brewery, Troy, NY

I used to live in Troy, but before this place existed. It would've sure been nice to have back in those days. Anyway, I truly enjoyed the IPA, but the atmosphere of this place is truly great. (Shouldn't that be a rating category?) Lots of good conversations at the bar, very welcoming of a stranger like me, etc.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Awesome!

Establishment: Tied House Cafe and Brewery, Mountain View, CA

Since I added some comments on Indiana brewpubs, I wanted to note that this is my home bar. To be brutally honest, Tied House has been around for a long time now, and has fallen into a rut. The old stand-bys are still solid beers, but they could really use a spark and some originality. Still, it's a great group of people and a great atmosphere. I've made so many friends there.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Mad Anthony Brewing Company, Fort Wayne, IN

I've been here a few times, and usually the beer is good. One time, it was all completely flat. The waitress told me it was supposed to be that way, mildly suggesting that I might not be very familiar with real beer. That was really bizarre, because it was not just a *little* flat, it was completely flat, gone. That was a one-time thing, and I'd've hunted for the brewer if I wasn't there with my whole family in the dining room. The food there is actually pretty good, but the standards of cleanliness are on the frightening side. Do not plan to use the bathroom. That said, the beer is (usually) enjoyable, and I often go when visiting Ft. Wayne.

(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Great Good

Establishment: Oyster Bar Bistro and Brewery, Fort Wayne, IN

They did indeed stop brewing beer. I visited at the end of July. However, I should note that they now have a pretty good selection of regional microbrews on tap, so should qualify as a "beer bar." Food is good... among the best you'll find in Ft. Wayne. It's a regular stop for me when I visit.

(08/20/2004)














(0.301 seconds) 02:41:23 54.145.209.77, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS