PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from todd clingman
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 19, 2014 @ 07:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
todd clingman

Beer Reviews
(52)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

52
Beer Reviews from todd clingman
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Great So So

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Hello George, you think that I should stick to Bud or soda? You say that you re read my review and question my rating but you neglect to point out that my tasting of the IPA was off the beer engine. "The IPA was off a beer engine which I enjoy for stout but few other styles. It made what was an OK IPA too soft." George, Do you understand what the affect of a beer engine is on an IPA? I did not have the opportunity to try the IPA on a normal draft as they were not offering such the day I visited. That being said, none of their other beers were very good, so I am not inclined to beleive that their IPA is awesome, although it might be very good. Have you ever tried any really good IPAs such as Stone, Great Divide, Avery, Dogfish Head, Founders, etc? You can keep your Bud for yourself George!

(07/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Dayton, OH

Well it doesn't surprise me that my November review was the last review. I was recently at Augusta Brewing Co in Augusta, MO. I got the chance to talk with the owner/brewer while trying a sampler. He asked me where I was from and when I said Centerville, Oh he told me that he was getting ready to travel to Centerville, OH. He was coming here to purchase the brewing equipment from Thirsty Dog. While they aren't very good in the big picture of craft brewery/brewpubs, they are the only game in town. I don't know if they are just stopping the brewside of the business or if they are going to get their beer from the Thirsty Dogs in northern OH, but this news sucks for the Miami Valley. Although I don't know if people in the Dayton area will even notice as they are too busy drinking Bud Light, eating chicken wings, and watching NASCAR. So much for my hopes that there beer would improve over time.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: AleSmith Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

I was upset to find on their website that they were not open on the weekend. I was only in SD for one day, a SAT, and had called numerous times the week leading up to my visit. After calls and messages trying to arrange a weekend appointment/visit as advised on the website, I was in and out of SD on that one day never having heard back from Alesmith. I have had two of their beers in bottle form, but would have loved a tour and draft tasting.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mountain Sun Pub and Brewery, Boulder, CO

NOTICE: Reviewer prior - Tom Madigan Kettering, OH - was absolutely ripped by the time he reached Mountain Sun. He does, however, give an accurate review. This was a huge surprise! I had never heard of Mountain Sun until this trip. Employees at Great Divide and Avery advised a visit to Mountain Sun. They were correct. I had a flavorful, medium bodied, dry IPA that was very good. Tom had a pale ale that was also very good. The food was good and the place is now on a must visit list for trips to Colorado.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rockies Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

I can't rate the beer selection as I came from Ohio to try Mojo and Mojo only. Mojo is quite possibly the perfect American IPA, slightly dry, but with enough body to not be overwhelmed by the hops, great flavor and unbelievable hop aroma.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Avery Brewing Company, Boulder, CO

How does Avery have a lower rating than Wynkoop in Denver? Wynkoop SUCKS! Avery exceeded all of myexpectations. I tried the Reverend Belgian Quad, 12 Saison, and New World Porter, all were excellent.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

AWESOME! I would like to A/B Stone's brews with Dogfish Head's for my favorite US craft brewer. Unfortunately they are about 3000 miles apart. There worst beers are great and their good beers are spectacular. The Sat that I visited they had a special batch off Ruination IPA that had the same recipe as normal with the addition of an Amarillo dry hopping. It had the powerful hop presance of Ruination with a floral hoppy aroma of a lighter IPA, an outstanding combination.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

This is what I expected from a trip to Denver. What an improvement over the previous night's trip to Wynkoop. They gave an interesting and informative tour with a great tasting of a variety of beers at the end. Oak Aged Yeti RIS and Hercules IPAx2 were EXCELLENT. Great Divide is in the company of elite breweries such as Stone, Dogfish Head, Founders, and Rogue.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A Good So So

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

How does this place have such a good pubcrawler rating? The beers are weak and flavorless. This place gives good brewpubs and craft breweries a bad name. I wouldn't use Wynkoop's beer to rinse my glass from Great Divide. I have an idea, use some hops in your beers. DO NOT BE AFRAID TO BREW BOLD FLAVORFUL BEERS.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Great So So

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

When the best house made beer is the root beer there is a problem. I had the sampler of 5 beers, the Hefeweizen, Pinhead Ale, Phantom IPA, Zeb's Peated Porter, and Siera Madre Stout. The IPA was off a beer engine which I enjoy for stout but few other styles. It made what was an OK IPA too soft. The Hefe had good flavor, but not quite great. All the other beers were soft, thin, and weak. Although they were not as bad as Wynkoop in Denver.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Falling Rock Tap House, Denver, CO

AWESOME!!!! This is the place to go in Denver along with Great Divide. The other breweries are lame, so you go to Falling Rock taphouse and get the best local brews along with a great selection of US micros and international beers.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A Good So So

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

More pub than brew, this is the problem with more and more brewpubs. I saw too many people drinking macro-super brews and/or mixed drinks than the house brews. I tried a sampler. They were all bad-soft-weak-watery and/or without flavor.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: Hermann Brewing Company, Hermann, MO

A nice place with only 3 brews on draft. I treid two of them and was underwhelmed. They were soft, too soft. One of their beers was a "summer stout"?

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Augusta Brewing Company, Augusta, MO

I was quite impressed with this small little brewpub in Augusta,MO, one of the smaller towns I have ever visited. The beers were verry good with the exception of the IPA. It wasn't bad , but had an odd flavor that I couldn't quite figure out. Brewer was very friendly and spoke with us about the establishment and the beers/recipes.

(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ballast Point Brewing Company, San Diego, CA

Ballast Point is sort of like Two Brothers from Chicago in that they are a homebrew store that is also a small brewery. I had never heard of them before, but will certainly remember them. I tried 1. Wahoo Wheat - Belgian Wit - excellent with the common hints of orange peel and corriander, but with a little more sourness much like the real Belgians - to many American BWs do not have this 2. Barmy Ale - big and slightly sweet with tastes of honey 3. Big Eye IPA - moderately hoppy with gteat flavor and aroma - excellent $. Sextrant Oatmeal Coffee Stout- not quite as creamy as I would expect for an oatmeal, but very good unique brew

(07/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

Their IPA was extremely fresh and flavorful, well hopped and very citrusy. Their Belgian Saison was also excellent. They rotate their beers frequently, so check before you go if you are wanting a specific style.

(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Peach's Grill, Yellow Springs, OH

As always, the beer is served way too cold. But I will live with it considering that Peaches, along with Boston's, is a diamond in the rough in the barren wasteland of beer known as the Miami Valley.

(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

You have to realize that this is german style beer. While mosy german beers do little for me, their Hefeweizen is spectacular! Weekend evenings here are an event. they have excellent food and a great atmosphere, just stick with the wheat.

(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

You have to realize that this is german style beer. While mosy german beers do little for me, their Hefeweizen is spectacular! Weekend evenings here are an event. they have excellent food and a great atmosphere, just stick with the wheat.

(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Beer Sellar, Newport, KY

As most places, the beer was way too cold. Good beer does not need to be served ICE COLD! Well this joint does indeed have 60 beers on draft, BUT, 45 of them are common and/or suck. I would rather see 20 really good beers on draft.

(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

Great location, but the beer is average at best. The food is good, but overpriced. Too many great places in New Orleans and especially the Quarter to waste time here.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

A great little brewpub, but the beer could improve. I will cut them a little slack as this area of the country isn't really known for brewing craft beers. This beer would have truly impressed me 5-7 years ago, but with all of the new breweries pushing the envelope on their recipes, Abita needs to kick things up a bit.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub And Brewery, Pensacola, FL

I visited in July of last year. Not a lot of different beers brewed on site, but the ones they do brew are very good. I had a Belgian Wit that was EXCELLENT, an explosion of flavor. I also tried a bottled and aged barleywine that made me want to never leave. The food was as good as I have ever had anywhere.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Water Street Brewery, Milwaukee, WI

I have to over rate this place as Sprecher and Lakefront were both closed for private parties. They were very friendly and the food was very good. After visiting the first two places only to find them closed, I enjoyed Water St very much. As I described in my review of Onopa,this place was very good compared to the other Milwaukee brewpubs, but average in the big picture of American micros/brewpubs.

(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Sprecher Brewing Company, Incorporated, Glendale, WI

Closed for a private party on a Saturady late afternoon. Would have liked to have tried it. Lakefront was also closed the same evening. what gives in this city?????????

(11/28/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.349 seconds) 19:40:12 54.166.62.226, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS