PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from wlr
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 28, 2014 @ 07:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
wlr

Beer Reviews
(17)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

17
Beer Reviews from wlr
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Red Rock Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

My least favorite of the three downtown brewpubs. Pleasant atmosphere with mediocre beer, mediocre food and mediocre service.

(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Desert Edge Brewery, Salt Lake City, UT

Decent little brewpub at the edge of town. Limited beer selection and food menu, but found the service friendly and attentive. Tried the cask conditioned Pale Ale which was above average and the regular stout (also very good). Worth a visit.

(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Squatter's Pub Brewery was Salt Lake Brewing Company, Salt Lake City, UT

A bustling brewpub in downtown SLC with good atmosphere and friendly, attentive staff. Unfortunately, the quality of the beer and food didn't mesh with obvious popularity of the place. Tried the Pale Ale (suprisingly bland) and Stout (also uninspired). Not a bad pub, but the beers at Desert Edge are a notch above these.

(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

A little gem in a modest residential neighborhood on the north side of Indianapolis. Nothing fancy in terms of decor, but this is what a brewpub should be. Tried the IPA which was excellent (lightly carbonated, full bodied and well-hopped). The ESB and Porter were also very good. Never thought there was much reason to go to Indianapolis, but now I know there's at least one.

(10/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant, Seattle, WA

Large, bustling restaurant/brewery in a converted brick factory across the street from the baseball stadium. Was a bit disappointed in the quality of the beers - the IPA and Pale Ale were served overly chilled and seemed indescript. I've had better Pyramid out of a bottle. Service and food were respectable. Overall, an okay place if you're in the area, but I wouldn't go out of my way to visit again.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: McMenamins / Six Arms Pub, Seattle, WA

Funky neighboorhood bar within walking distance of the Convention Center. Tried most of the beers, and thought the IPA was best. Others were decent but not overwhelming. A reasonable place for a burger and pint, but for really good beer keep walking up to Elysian.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Elysian Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Seattle, WA

Overall, this was our favorite brewpub during our Seattle tour. Very casual, friendly atmosphere in a neighboorhood just outside downtown. Tried the cask conditioned IPA and porter which were both excellent. The ESB, helles and Pale Ale were also very good. Not a mediocre beer in the place. Not sure if it's the place to dine, but for the ale aficionado, this one should not be missed.

(07/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

Moderately dingy brewpub in downtown Providence. Tried the ESB which was mediocre(a bit thin and too sweet), the IPA which was very good and the Pale Ale which was above average. Place apparently has a devoted following of chain-smoking regulars who seem to garner the attention of the staff. As first-timers, the service we received was indifferent. Didn't try the food, but, given the atmosphere, wouldn't be in a big hurry to. We probably would have loved this place back in our college days, but now that we have a few bucks, it's strictly a place for a last pint before heading back to the hotel. Worth a visit if you're nearby, but don't go out of your way.

(03/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Willimantic Brewing Company / Main Street Cafe, Willimantic, CT

Wonderful brewpub in converted Post Office. Casual, noisy, friendly atmosphere. Tried the house IPA which was quite good and the special International Medal IPA which was respectable. Very nice selection of guest beers including several from CT microbreweries. Food was unexpectedly good. Agree with comments that this is probably the best brewpub in CT based on quality of beers, atmosphere and food. Only wish it was closer to home. This one is worth a special trip to visit.

(03/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Sailor Hagar's Brew Pub, North Vancouver, BC

A bit noisy and disorganized when we visited (had to clean our own table and get menus while waiting for the waitress). Friendly service, but the big screen TVs and brightly lit interior gave the place the atmosphere of a college cafeteria. Tried the ESB and Pale Ale. Both were very smooth and delicately hopped, the former almost the equal of Yaletown's bitter. Try the pan-fried oysters with the ESB -- I was in heaven.

(10/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Yaletown Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

Pretty nice pub in the semi-seedy Yaletown district. Beers are generally flavorful, but all seemed a bit thin bodied for their style. The Red Brick Bitter was the best of the crop, dispensed from English beer engines. A great place where you can stand by the fireplace with a pint as the rain falls outside. Worth a visit.

(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Steamworks Brewing Company, Vancouver, BC

Cosey brewpub with a view of the harbor near the gaslight district. A little crowded and noisy on our visit, but friendly service. The ales are decent, but not top-tier quality for the Northwest. Thought the IPA was the best, although a little thin in body. The Porter was weak and the Pale Ale had a curious off-flavor. Worth a visit, but there are better in town.

(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Colorado Brewery and Trading Company, Danbury, CT

Popular new place in Danbury. Open, noisy atmosphere but friendly service and decent food. Beers are very respectable if not overwhelming. IPA was the favorite (very hoppy) followed by the stout. Worth a visit.

(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sherlock's Home, Minnetonka, MN

One of my all-time favorite brew-pubs. The Bishop's Bitter is outstanding, the Porter is excellent, the others range from very good to okay. Pleasant atmosphere and friendly service. A must-visit.

(03/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

Very nice casual brewpub outside Reno. The IPA and Helles were first-rate (the former akin to Sierra Nevada, but with a more pleasing malty finish). The Porter and Wild Horse Ale were very good but unremarkable. Above average pub fare in an unpretentious, friendly atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit.

(03/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Thomas Hooker was Troutbrook Brewing Company, Hartford, CT

Neat brewpub in converted factory in West Hartford. Lots of brick and brass. Tried the ESB which was very good if a little on the thin side and overcarbonated. The IPA was better. Above average pub grub (even the wife liked it). Service was friendly but incredibly slow -- waited 20 minutes after seating for our first round! Still, a fine establishment that merits a visit.

(01/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So

Establishment: Classic Rock Brewpub, Danbury, CT

With high hopes, visited for the first time the other day with some work friends. Only two beers were on tap -- the red ale and the brown ale. The quality of both was marginal. I recall an article in the paper saying the place brews from extract, and it certainly tastes like it. Overall, would put them on the level of mediocre home brew, which is a shame since the area could use a high quality brewing establishment. Okay bar food. Dark, somewhat dingy/dirty interior. I don't imagine this place will be around for long.

(12/28/1998)














(0.26 seconds) 19:21:15 54.167.175.240, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS