PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from irish
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 10:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
irish

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from irish
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good So So So So So So

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Freakin' Frog Beer and Wine Cafe, Las Vegas, NV

One of the diverse beer bars in Vegas - one of the professors of wine and sommelier from UNLV owns the place; and he takes pride that they have the larges selection of beer in the town. Not all are in stock at any one time mind you - the Nevada beer distributors seem to have a problem with that.

A usual UNLV student hangout, with those that are lovers of good beer and some of the art & literary folk. Good place, I do not get to go here enough.

I have yet to check out their whiskey attic, but it is on my list of things to do.

(10/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So So So

Establishment: Dundee Dell, Omaha, NE

Ugh. This place went downhill when they moved to the new location that it is now. The crowd is self absorbed 20 somethings, and Creighton students (not surprising, the owners/managers are alumni). The beer selection is good, and the food is not bad (depending on what you get). Do try the fish & chips, the only better in town is at the Brazen Head.

(09/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: McMullan's Irish Pub, Las Vegas, NV

Been here three or four times now, and I am torn. This place wants to be a good one, but something is holding it back. Could it be the interior design, that tries so hard to be an old Irish pub - but you can tell that it is relatively new? Could it be the exterior, across the street form the Orleans Casino in the typical Vegas strip mall stucco attire? Could it be the other customers, a mix of sheeple / chalk players / fallout from the game or other event at the Orleans Arena?

I am not sure.

They have bands every night of the week - so be warned if you are looking for a late meal you will be fighting the crowds and the sound. Yes the sound - the volume is overbearing to any conversation.

The food is ok - sort of on the high side for cost. The service rages from fair to crap. Last night was one of the worst. Quite a few reviews over on Pubcrawler.com mention the same service issues.

There are much better venues to go to in Vegas; check them out first. I would not go out of your way for this one.

(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Altamonte Ale House, Altamonte Springs, FL

Miller's Ale House & Raw Bar aka the Altamonte Ale House – went there for dinner tonight. Located in the parking lot of a mall in the northern suburbs of Orlando, it is one of a local Florida chain. A cross between a sports bar and coastal water themed, with plenty of families there at 6:30 pm. Plenty of seafood on the menu, which was ok but not stunning (nothing on the menu is over $15). Beer selection is ok at best – the usual domestic, micro brews, and imports. My first choice was over carbonated and tasted nasty (a Smithwick's Irish Ale on draft), so the waitress gave me a credit and gave me a Bass – which was better, though it still tasted over carbonated. Wine selection was the usual domestic generic. Looks to be a good place for the local males and families to enjoy. Not impressive, but not a total crap experience either.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

I'm just not impressed.

Their sampler was $8, with the best beer their special seasonal brew (no idea what it was called). The light & pale ale were just nasty, with the wheat & stout being ok (but not to my liking). The red ale was not bad though. The service staff took forever, with one gall telling us she just finished her shift but would help us anyway. The clam strips I purchased were dry with way too much batter. If you get there before 10, get your hand stamped to bypass the cover charge. Bathrooms are outside the brewpub & down the hall near the monorail past some stores, sort of how you have to drive down the strip & down the long driveway to get to the casino & parking area. One of the many places that are not very convenient to get to, though with the monorail it might be easier for your travelers. The DJ normally starts around 10 pm, a mix of stuff that the normal chalk players would like - I left when I could.

For the chalk player tourist who is looking for a good time on the strip, this might be for their liking. For the local, the PubCrawler, or someone who appreciates a good pint of beer this may not be for them.

(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Crown and Anchor British Pub, Las Vegas, NV

The Crown & Anchor recieves two thumbs up.

A bit on the saussage party, but a great selection of beer on tap and in bottles. The last two times I have been the music playing has been good, the jukebox well stocked for the diverse taste. Pool table, darts, and video slots/poker for the pub sports, as well as special admission for footie games (normally around $10). Bar staff is not bad (if the fake blonde was not hitting on one of her UNLV lawyer son customers). Some interesting conversation; reminding me of many of the small pubs I frequented when I lived in the UK.

Have yet to try the food - could not even think of it with all the stuff I consumed the last few days.

Being close to UNLV I was hoping for more of the college crowd - perhaps winter break sent everyone home?

(12/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV

Almost an exact copy of the original in Munic, Germany - it was a highlight to my trip in August. The Dunkel (dark) was superb, some Schnitzel and a pretzel made me feel like I was back in Bavaria. At first glance, someone not knowing would assume that the place is a tourist trap; and some ways it is. But I think it adds some much needed character to Vegas - I intend to go there again.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Winking Lizard Tavern, Cleveland, OH

Dropped off there by the hotel shuttle, it was a poor experience. The food stunk, the waitstaff was streched out & unable to bring everything we ordered. I also found some of the food prices to be a bit high, with their BBQ poor and disheartening. The number of TVs with sports blaring drowned out or conversation. Filled with chalk players, the experience was a dissapointment overall. They do have a wide selection of beer that we enjoyed, which was the saving grace.

(05/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Barrett's Barleycorn Pub and Grill, Omaha, NE

Big Creighton Uni bar, with many TV's for Creighton games, volleyball cort, outside seating. Ruben I had was not up to par, but the burger I had during the last visit was good. Typical preppie Creighton crowd. Some parking next to venue, otherwise on street.

(01/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Old Chicago, Omaha, NE

crap, carbon copy chain place.... Yuck. Food was lame, beer selection was spotty (for on tap), the server was lame.

(12/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Omaha, NE

Horrible experience – wait staff was not knowledgeable about beer, meager selection, atmosphere was non-existent. In a strip mall in west Omaha, a good place to play pool with the white bread yuppie folks who live out there. I stay away from this place if I can.

(07/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So So So

Establishment: Old Chicago, Omaha, NE

service was ok, small lunch crowd but waitress took her time. Large beer selection but nothing I can not find any were else – save yourself and go to a place that is not a chain and filled with college preppies.

(07/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Homy Inn, Omaha, NE

Food is from Sgt Feifers across the street - fair fake italian food. Atmosphere is good - love the menus on the wall from places long gone in Omaha.

(11/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: JT Schmid's Brewhouse and Eatery, Anaheim, CA

(11/16/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Upstream Brewing Company, Omaha, NE

One of the worst places I have been to. Crowd is buisness persons & pretentious Creighton students. Food is uninspiring, and I think made me sick the last time I was there. Their homebrewed rood beer was ok, but only have it availible on tap downstairs, not upstairs. I have been here a few times and have been unimpress or discussed every time. Go to the Dundee or the cresent for a good pint. Go here for hobnobbing.

(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Upstream Brewing Company, Omaha, NE

One of the worst places I have been to. Crowd is buisness persons & pretentious Creighton students. Food is uninspiring, and I think made me sick the last time I was there. Their homebrewed rood beer was ok, but only have it availible on tap downstairs, not upstairs. I have been here a few times and have been unimpress or discussed every time. Go to the Dundee or the cresent for a good pint. Go here for hobnobbing.

(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Brazen Head Irish Pub, Omaha, NE

They attempt to create a "real" irish pub in a strip mall. the decour may look like it at first, but overly try to make everything look old really makes it all look fake. This is a hangout for west Omaha yuppie & "them" crowd - get there early. I have not eaten there, but understand that the fish & chips are really good.

(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So So So

Establishment: Dubliner, Omaha, NE

This is a "local" establishment - get ready for the "stare" when you walk inside. Since it is in the basement air circulation is poor. Pictures on the wall from Omaha's heyday add to the decour.

(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Launch Pad, Albuquerque, NM

been here both times I have been to Abq, and keep missing the good shows!!! A neat place to hang out and catch a local show, with a normal wide selection of beers.

(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: O'Niell's Pub, Albuquerque, NM

Stopped in to check it out after going to Kelly's Brewpub earlier in the day. A bit posh for my taste, but the local artwork was unique. Since I was driving I did not drink, but they had the usual selections. My choice I would go to Kelly's - it is a bit more real.

(03/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Kelly's Brewpub, Albuquerque, NM

good location, great for people watching. Has the ruben which was ok, not authentic though (but it did hit the spot).

(03/26/2000)














(0.213 seconds) 22:59:00 54.227.17.116, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS