PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from hank miller
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 29, 2014 @ 01:23 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
hank miller

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from hank miller
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Wind Gourmet, California, MD

This is a delightful little gourmet restaurant that has one of, if not the best selections of beer and wine in Southern Maryland. Though it isn't a very large place, the beer selection is quite diverse, and comes from a wide range of cities and countries. A good selection of labels from Belgium, Germany, and the UK are available, as well as a fine selection of US microbreweries. The only weakness of this place is that the labels do not change much; with the good variety offered however, it will take far more than a few trips to be anything but delighted by the selections that are available. There is no beer served on tap, but as it is a restaurant, any beer purchased can immediately be consumed on premise. The food is fairly simple but delicious. Salads, soups, and sandwiches made with fresh ingredients are always bursting with flavor. I especially recommend the chicken tortilla soup. Though you are not particularly waited on, the food is brought to you when ready. The few people working there are always very nice, and there is always at least one beer guru available to answer any questions you may have. The Blue Wind is a hidden gem that will please beer, wine, and food snobs alike. :)

(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

Though not exactly what I expected, this is a quality beer establishment. There was a bar area with several small tables, as well as an adjoining room that seemed to be for people planning on having a full meal. There were around 30 beers on tap, mostly American craft brews, offering a good variety of styles. Most beers cost either $5.00 or 5.50, though a few of the imports were 8.50. My friend and I only ordered bar food during our stay; our appetizer of nachos was nondescript. High quality meat with interesting combinations of toppings made the hot dogs a very enjoyable break between beers, however, and only cost 3 or 4 bucks. Besides serving several tables, our waitress was also working at the bar itself, but was able to attend to us fairly well and answer questions I had about the beers in a pleasant manner. The beer cave was not, alas, an actual cave, but did offer an excellent and very large selection of beers, with an emphasis on American labels once again. There seemed to be close to if not all the different beers from some of the better Pennsylvanian breweries such as Victory and Weyerbacher. Prices were sometimes, but not always listed, and were neither atypically high nor low for the high quality brands carried.

This is a great place to go to hang out with friends and drink excellent beers that you may not have heard of.

CHOCOLATE STOUT ALERT – I had by far the most chocolate-flavored stout I have ever tasted here. It was South Tier’s Chokolat, and was on a completely different level than Brooklyn’s dark chocolate and Young’s double chocolate stouts. The beer does not even seem to be mentioned on South Tier’s website at the moment, but if you have yet to find a stout with enough chocolate flavor in it, this may well end your quest.

(01/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Sharp Edge Beer Emporium, Pittsburgh , PA

This place looks like a regular restaurant from the outside, but offers a superb beer and dining experience. There were 27 Belgian beers on tap; most were between 6.70 and 8.10, though there were several in the five dollar range as well. Beers were served in their appropriate glass, and it was possible to purchase a growler of any of them on tap. There were also around 100 bottled Belgian beers, many of them quite pricey.

23 non-Belgian beers were offered on tap, as well as one from a cask barrel which constantly changes. I did not look into them with as great detail, but they were of high quality and a bit less expensive than the Belgian beers. Again there was an extensive bottle list, listed by country; several sterling German varieties, a good selection of U.S. microbrews, and a fair amount of brands I hadn't heard of from countries not strongly associated with beer were available.

The menu offered many tantalizing options but the prices were quite reasonable, certainly lower than the Belgian-themed Eulogy in Philadelphia. The vegetables on a pizza my friend had were very fresh.

The only reason I didn't give the service an Awesome! was because it was quite crowded and our waitress had many other tables. What else would you expect on a Friday night? She was quite pleasant when we interacted with her however, and the beer and food orders came out fairly quickly. I imagine on non-weekend nights the servers are even more attentive to their diners.

A cozy, if slightly noisy (again probably because it was a Friday night) ambience combined with outstanding beers and excellent food made for a delightful experience that I advise all beer connoisseurs to try for themselves.

(01/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Dogfish Head Alehouse, Gaithersburg, MD

Dogfish Head produces some of the most unique, complex, and delicious beers that are being brewed anywhere. I have been to the Alehouse many times and enjoy it immensely. The waiters and bartenders are friendly and knowledgeable without being overbearing. I have had appetizers, sandwiches, pizzas, burgers, and main entrees and found them all to be quite tasty. The beers are wonderful. They consistently have their Shelter Pale Ale, Raison d'Etre, Indian Brown Ale, and 60 and 90 minute IPAs on tap. Depending on when you go, a seasonal beer and several of their once or twice a year releases may be available as well. Their rarer beers, on draft or in bottles are fairly expensive, but they do not disappoint. I check their website to see what selections are currently available. The restaurant draws a diverse crowd; the bar area and patio are often filled with people in their 20's and 30's, but I have also seen many families and older couples enjoying themselves as well. This place is a must, and will be a delight for anyone who considers themselves a sophisticated beer drinker.

(01/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Firestation 8 Bar and Cue was OldeTowne Firehouse, Gaithersburg, MD

I went there on a Wednesday night at around 9 and it was closed; looked like it might be closed permanently.

(01/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Buffalo Wings and Beer, Gaithersburg, MD

The beer selection is what you would find at any pub or restaurant - Bud, Miller, Blue Moon, Woodchuck, and a few others. I left as soon as I saw what was on tap, so I didn't get to soak in much of the ambience. The staff seemed nice enough; the building is alright on the inside, but does look pretty sketchy from the outside.

(01/09/2008)














(0.056 seconds) 13:23:26 54.166.148.189, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS