PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from kevin bosch
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 27, 2014 @ 01:50 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
kevin bosch

Beer Reviews
(49)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Located In: St. Charles, MO

49
Beer Reviews from kevin bosch
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good So So Good

Establishment: Six Row Brewing Company, St. Louis, MO

This brewpub is located just a block or two from SLU. It's a quaint little place in a former Falstaff Brewing Co building. Beautiful copper bar. This is the kind of brewpub I would love to love. However, there were a few things that prevented that from fully happening.

I went there for dinner last night with two friends. I arrived about 10 minutes before my friends. No server came by for that entire time. When she finally did arrive, she knew nothing about what they had on tap and could barely recite the 3 or 4 wines they had available for the friend who was drinking wine. This a big pet peeve of mine in brewpubs...please educate the servers about the ...beer! (If the owners read this, it was the blonde that I'm referring to...pretty girl, poor server).

The menu is pretty limited, but I get that...it really is a small place. Food was pretty good. They put a heavy emphasis on local items which I like.

They had only four beers (of their own) on tap; they were out of two. Again, small brewpub so I get that as well.

I will definitely go back. The quaintness of it was very appealling, even though that contributes to some of its drawbacks.

(01/15/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: William D. Alandale Brewing Company, Kirkwood, MO

Update: This place has new ownership, now called The Highlands Restaurant and Brewing.

(07/06/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Corner Pub was Endehouse Brewery and Restaurant, Reedsburg, WI

Quite possibly the smallest town I've ever seen a brewery (pop 9,000). That alone gives it cred. Small corner bar that happens to also brew their own beer. I tried the IPA (a little bland) and the Dill Pickle...interesting beer. An APA with dill and garlic.

When I told the brewer that I was a homebrewer, and that this beer was interesting to me, he printed off the recipe sheet for me. Very nice.

(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good So So

Establishment: Moosejaw Pizza and Brewing Company, Wisconsin Dells, WI

Do not go here expecting some beer-geek bonanza. It's a very high volume family restaurant first and foremost. Hell, they hand out moose antler head pieces. But, I still expected decent beer, and it was OK at best. Finally, it's a pizza place, and it was about the blandest pizza I've had in some time. Some in my party got burgers, and they were reaching for the salt shakers after one bite, so they were bland as well.

(06/15/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Beale Street Tap Room, Memphis, TN

An Oasis on Beale...a bit pricey, but it's on Beale, so to be expected.

(05/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Pearl Street Grill and Brewery, Buffalo, NY

Stopped in for some apps and had a sampler rack of all their beers. Bartender was very good. Great beer. I don't recall anything standing way out in my mind, but pleased with all.

(07/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flying Bison Brewing Company, Buffalo, NY

Stopped by a few weeks ago while in town, and was given a lot of personal time from the owner. He gave me several samples, including a Barleywine.

Great little brewery with some good people.

(07/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Richmond, VA

Mecca. Every beer bar should wish it was this place. God I wish I lived near here.

(03/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Eulogy Belgian Tavern, Philadelphia, PA

If you're into Belgian Beer...this place is heaven.

(03/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Boulevard Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Since there hasn't been a review in a while, I thought I'd provide an update.

They just opened their expanded brewery. This is now the best looking brewery I've ever seen, and I've seen some great ones.

Definitely get over there for the tour.

(11/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: William D. Alandale Brewing Company, Kirkwood, MO

Well, it appears that I am the first to review this place for Pubcrawler...I'll consider it an honor.

Alandale opened for business about 3 1/2 months ago. My wife and I made our first trip last night for her BDay. We were very impressed.

We showed up around 6pm, and were told that there would be a 40 minute wait. Noticing that we had our 17 month girl with us, they said that they would try to get us a table as quick as possible. We sat at the bar while we waited.

I had the IPA, wife had the Amber. Both were very good and true to style. They did serve them both in a glass from the cooler, which I don't care for. But there were true pints glasses...becoming more and more rare. Regular price: $3.50/pint; 50 cents for a sampler. WHAT A DEAL!

The bartender was very knowledgable about the food, beer, background on the place, etc. This was opened by 5 partners, most of which are siblings (the name represents all of their names).

Got a table in 20 minutes. Wait staff was fantastic. Tried the Dopplebock and Oatmeal Stout...both delicious. Food was great. Owner came around to ask how everything was.

This is the kind of dining experience you wish you had everytime...and they've only been open for 3 1/2 months!!! I honestly don't see any wrinkles needing ironing.

Highly recommnended, and can't wait to go back.

(11/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Square One Brewery, Saint Louis, MO

I am very contradicted about this place.

The beers are OK enough. Nothing unusual, nothing really outstanding, but all fine beers. It may be a bit early in their existence to expect anything unusual at this point, however.

Food is average.

The best thing about this place is the building/courtyard. Be sure to sit in the courtyard, weather-allowing. Very unique, great environment. Also check out the "window" in the floor of the main dining room, looking into the brewhaus below. Pretty cool.

definitely worth checking out, for more than the beer.

(11/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Bent River Brewing Company, Moline, IL

Only had time for samplers of 5 beers. Fantastic selection. Great beers. Very homey feel to this place. Look forward to returning for more in depth "research".

(09/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Blue Cat Brewpub, Rock Island, IL

I had a great experience here. Probably not repeatable, as Bernie (head brewers) spent a good amount of time with me, talking beer, providing samples of a couple of beers not yet on tap, giving a tour, etc.

The food was outstanding. Very eclectic menu and well prepared.

Nice big upstairs bar with pools tables...and open until 3am.

(09/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Front Street Brewery, Davenport, IA

Pretty weak. Small selection, below average beers, below average food.

(09/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Upstream Brewing Company, Omaha, NE

This place is located in a pretty cool location in Omaha (not being from here, didn't know that existed).

First off, probably the greatest building I've ever seen for a brewpub. An old firehouse from the early 1900s, one end, now a wall of window, was were the horse-drawn fire carriages came in. The building alone makes this place great.

They had one cask conditioned ale on my visit (their stout) and one seasonal (saison). I sampled everything, and all were good to great. Their ESB stood out in my opinion.

(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Moosehead Grill, Charlotte, NC

I lived in Charlotte during the late 90s, and this place ruled. Good crew, good patrons, and the best wings I've still ever had (the blackened...just typing it makes my mouth water).

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Flying Dog Brewery, Denver, CO

We walked in about 20 minutes before the pre-established tour time, and proceeded to sample some beers. The tasting room is down a corridor from a bar that is next door. I felt like I was sitting at a person's house, with someone pouring beers. And I don't mean that in a good way. I expect to be given some insight into the beers that I'm sampling, but I felt like I was interupting the conversation b/w the pourer and her buddies sitting around drinking free beer.

We eventually left before the tour, not so much because of the blaise attitude of the "hostess", but other reasons, but it sure didn't help.

Good beers, though.

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery and Pub, Denver, CO

Not bad, just expected more. Guess I have to go to Breckenridge for the Breckenridge experience.

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Don't miss this brewery tour. No "show up at 4pm" here, just give a call ahead, come by, get a personal tour with a cold sample in hand. Got to talk with the brewer, talk with anyone you want, and continue to fill your glass with excellent big beers.

They were in the process of setting up a tasting room.

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Wynkoop Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Echo all positive sentiments. Great place, great food, great history.

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Oskar Blues Grill and Brew, Lyons, CO

WOW! Let me say again, WOW! I stumbled across this place on brew vacation on our way from Estes to Boulder. Dale was very occomodating on our 10am arrival asking for a tour. Dave, the brewer, spent a good amount of time with us, and the whole experience was great. Now, I had not had their beers and still hadn't at this point. Tasting...my new favorite Pale Ale, hands down. outstanding.

I just with they distributed in STL. I did bring 3 cases of Pale, Old Chub, and Gordon's IPA home with me, so my withdrawals won't happen anytime soon.

Best brewpub I've ever been to, and I've been to some greats!

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Awesome! Good

Establishment: Estes Park Brewing Company, Estes Park, CO

Had a very mixed night here on our bi-annual CO hiking and brewpub vacation. Service was outstanding, pizza sucked, and beer was pretty good.

Got a heckuva deal on a jacket, though. :)

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Richbrau Brewing Company and Restaurant, Richmond, VA

Mmm. Maybe an off night, but I came in around 7pm tonight and sat at the bar. Asked about a sampler, and was told that she didn't have any sampler glasses, so I couldn't get it. Mmm. Cocktail glasses wouldn't work? Ordered an IPA. Probably the worse I've ever had, and I'm a bit of an IPA consumer. Then ordered a Pale Ale, OK at best. Ordered food. She forgot my clam chowder (or should I say never heard that part of the order, b/c she was barely paying attention once she finally asked if I wanted anything to eat, after I had asked for a menu 10 minutes before).

Ordered the fish n chips. Soggy. Then, without asking if I was done, she brought my check...I'm sitting at the bar! When I told her that I wasn't done, and wanted another drink, you'd think that I asked her to work the overnight shift.

By the way, there were only 3 other people at the bar when I arrived, then me and another guy after about 10 minutes, so it wasn't like she was busy.

Then, to top it off, after she brought my food, I had to ask for ketchup, silverware, etc...she stopped for a bite of her food on her way to get those items!!!

Unreal. If the beer had been good, I could get over the service, but the combo of crap beer, bad food, and very poor service, makes this the worse brewpub I've ever been to out of over 50.

(07/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Yesterday's Ale House, Newport, RI

Great pub. Bartender on this particular night knew his stuff, and had some recommendations that I probably would not have tried...did and enjoyed them. Had a very good dinner following an hour or so at the bar. Great place.

(06/09/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.294 seconds) 13:50:22 54.211.97.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS