PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from ken
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 07:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
ken

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from ken
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pacific Beach Ale House, San Diego, CA

What was nice about the place is that both of the times I went in service was truly awesome. The staff was friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Both food items I had and other food items friends of mine had were very good. The bar had a good selection of sporting events on and plenty of tv's. Beer: Very good. The IPA was the typically heavy hopped "California" style, which for me is really good. I also had the pale ale which had a nice balance and also very good. Would I go back? Yes. Worth the trip down to the beach.

(09/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Bonaventure Brewing Company, Los Angeles, CA

First, good luck finding the place. It's on the fourth floor of the "mall" at the Westin Bonaventure. It's a royal pain to get there if you need an elevator. The outdoor patio is very nice. Inside is also nice and as another post said there are plenty of tv's to watch. The food is good and a slightly above pub fare. Beer... well if you came for their beer I would re-think things. The had three on tap (sorry I can't tell you exactly the types I believe it was a raspberry wheat, and light.) I had the pale ale. It was unremarkable, not bad but not worth an extra trip. Overall... If I was staying the Westin again, I'd stop buy otherwise... pass.

(09/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

Now called SunUp Brewing Company. Located in the same place as before. I believe the name change was to end confusion with Sonoran Brewing Company, located in Scottsdale.

(02/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Tombstone Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

CLOSED for a LONG time. It's been a sushi place for years.

(02/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

This location is closed. It was in a lousy, difficult location to find.

(02/14/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

I would have to agree with the previous writer. Of the three breweries in Flag this is the best one. When I was there they had three of their beers on tap. The had several other micros on tap and a decent variety of micros in bottles. They would have gotten awesome for a selection if they had more of their beer! I tried the ESB. Nice bitter flavor with the right amount of hops. They had a wiess and a "golden" beer. When I asked about the golden beer she said it was their lightest beer. The Food was good and service was awesome. I had zero trouble from the staff. I will warn this is somewhat of a hippy place, but hey it's Flag what did you expect? Would I go back? Yes especially when compared to the two other "Breweries" in town.

(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

If you have read my reviews before you will know I am a hop-head. The Hop Knott was excellent. The menu does not describe the beer as an IPA but the waitress did. A good aroma of hops and about the right bitterness, a nice beer. The Raj IPA was also good but a weak (not in a bad way) sister. Another good beer the Kiltlifter. Aptly names for it's bold taste and high Alc content. The Oatmeal Stout, smooth with the hint of coffee, and not very bitter. The Amber, decent, clean and crisp. The one lemon? The Peach Beer. YUCK. But I am not a "fruit" beer person, so take my opinion as you please. Service was good up till we wanted to pay up, then out waitress was no where to be found. The Food was good but nothing to go out of your way for. One warning, it was 109 the day we went and the really didn't have the AC on.

(07/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

Had the IPA and Hefe Wiess. The IPA was decent but not great. Not a whole lot of aroma but a decent hops taste. Now the Hefe; one of the worst beers I have had in a long time. Sour is the best description. I should have been warned when the menu said it had sour taste to it. Food was good, decent pub style food. Service... was a bit slow but not overly slow. Would I go back? Yea but I'd stay away from the Hefe.

(07/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Prescott Brewing Company, Prescott, AZ

Start with the great; Service. We got great service. Wonderful location. The food was also very good. Now the Beer... IPA Good, nice floral aroma, but not a whole lot of bite. If you're a hop-head it won't be up to par. That said it is better that a lot of IPAs I have had. Amber: light crisp taste, don't let the darker color fool you, pretty decent beer. Would I go back? Yep.

(06/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: SunUp Brewing was Sonora Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

If you are a Hop-head this is your brewery. Cask Conditioned IPA that was spectacular, the "regular" IPA that was fantastic, and a double blonde running 7.9% with a ton of hops, but oh so smooth... The evening was made with a fantastic bartender. She knew her beer, figured out I was a hop-head and gave me a sip of the double blonde. I wouldn't have even tried the double blonde if not for her. I was driving so I had to keep it down a notch. This is a great brewery, and if the food matches the beer, you're all set. Would I go back? Easy one... YOU BET.

(06/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Paddy's Pub, Milwaukee, WI

Irish Beer and Irish Pub. I have had the beer a number of times and it is always fresh. But you go here for the atmosphere. Summer; large, beautiful patio to enjoy those fleeting Milwaukee Summer days. Winter; Two beautiful stone fireplaces (gas). Imagine sitting there, warm, having a pint while it's miserable outside. This is a great place for a date. But be warned they can get busy.

(06/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Yard House, Phoenix, AZ

Lots of beers on tap at least 50 or more. Plenty of micros and imported. I had Bear Republic Pale Ale and Stone IPA on tap. Both were very good and fresh. Food was very good, sort of upscale Pub food (If there can be such a thing). The service was a bit off. The pub was a bit cool, the air was turned up being it was 105 outside. The attractive, braless woman in the booth next to us distracted our waiter. Would I go back? YOU BET.

(06/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Phoenix, AZ

Had two beers, Piranha Pale Ale (American Style) and Big Fish Ale. The Piranah was decent, not extremely hoppy and it finished too light. The Big Fish Ale was descibed as hoppy by our waiter. When I got it, it sure didn't smell that way, in fact it smelled fruity. When I tasted it, well I tasted like PEACH. OK maybe I'm cracked but the beer was AWFUL. The food was good. My wife had a good salad and I had a decent lasagna, not great. Would I go back? Yes, my beer verdict is still out.

(05/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Delafield Brewhaus, Delafield, WI

The bright spot: Bengal Bay IPA. Enough hops, had good aroma, and decent floral taster. The OK: The bock beer. Yea it was beer. Yea it wasn't Bud, but that's it. Not much of ringing endorsement. The Food? Well you'd be better fed and served at Rock Bottom or Appleby's. Would I go back??? I doubt it.

(03/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Riverside Brewery and Restaurant, West Bend, WI

My brother and I had a total of three beers here. The Amber, the best of the three. Had a nice balance. The Brown Ale, was OK. A little too sweet. Then the klunker, the Belgium Red. Vingar tasting cherry. I suggest trying it before ordering this one. Maybe we got a bad beer. The food was good and would reccommend on the food alone.

(03/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company, Appleton, WI

Two beers really stick out in my mind. The vanilla stout is to be avoided. It tastes almost like unsweetened vanilla from the bottle. Blech. The IPA had a very hoppy flavor, but no floral taste to accompany it. So/So there. The Porter and the Red were very good. Food was good and service was great. Would I go again? Yep.

(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Silver Creek Brewing Company, Cedarburg, WI

I was in on a Friday night. They had a lager and an IPA, of theirs. I only drank the IPA. I was not impressed. It was dark, almost porter dark. The beer was hoppy but had a smoky flavor to it. Thus it seemed to be a cross between an IPA and Porter. Their beer selection from other micros was great and pretty eclectic. I would recommend the place for those beers alone but be careful of their products.

(12/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great So So Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Warrenville, IL

Instead of Going to the Red Robin next door go to Rockbottom. But if you are looking for a "beer" experience this is not the place. Went on Saturday with the inlaws. The food was pretty good. Service not so good. The Pale Ale... well not worth the trouble. Would I go back? Yea especially when my choice would be TGI Fridays, Red Robin, or any of that ilk.

(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Silver Creek Brewing Company, Cedarburg, WI

Nice place. Like the last person discribed this place is hidden. It faces the Milwaukee River and has a wonderful view. They had one beer on tap, a lager. Decent but I would not go out of my way. I briefly met one of the owners and he says they have 4 more beers coming. My father who was with me said the place looked to still "looked to be getting it's feet under it". So don't expect perfect. They have a better amount of snacks this time, but they still don't really have food. The best part of this Brewery is their guest taps. A wide spectrum of micros including New Galarus Belgium, Dog Fish 60min IPA and many more.

(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company, Appleton, WI

This is the "old Alder Brau Brewery". I hope they made a few changes.

(05/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Start with the good, the Kolsh(sp?) a pretty hoppy beer. I wasn't expecting that. The dark beer (I forgot the German name they gave) was also pretty good. The others were pretty bad. The food was nice, but the place has no character what so ever. Would I go back? Yes, if I'm in the area, but I wouldn't go out of my way.

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Oak Creek Brewery And Grill, Sedona, AZ

Service was slow at the bar but our waiter was much better. The food was excellent and would come again just for the food. The beer ranged from good, the light beer, to great for the nut brown ale. One thing irked me though, why do breweries assume I want beer in the lightest in color to the darkest in color with the sampler?

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Zona Brewing Company was The Cowboy, Scottsdale, AZ

I am cautious about great reviews. I mean come on, can anyone be that good? Well I have been to my share of brewpubs and many just don't measure up. This place measures up. It's the real deal. I tried all of the beers, the ranged from great with the nut brown ale to speachless for the nitrus IPA. The food and service was excellent. I would definately recommend this place, and I will drink here again.

(04/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

Miller Lite or IPA? Hard to tell the difference here. I had the IPA and the Pale Ale both were very close to lousy. The service was very slow, but friendly. If you are a beer fan don't waste your time here. I myself won't be going back.

(03/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company, Appleton, WI

Ownership of this brewery has changed hands. According to the Great Lakes Brewing News that the former owner John Junger has retired. He sold out to Steve and Tom Lonsway. They also own the Homebrew Market in Appleton.

(03/19/2005)














(0.232 seconds) 19:06:59 54.211.27.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS