PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from kurt o.
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 18, 2014 @ 04:45 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
kurt o.

Beer Reviews
(38)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

38
Beer Reviews from kurt o.
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rivertowne Pour House, Monroeville, PA

I agree with the previous comments regarding the brewers. The beers are excellent. I had the IPA and it was excellent. Very similar to Hopdevil, but smoother. Also sampled the Barleywine, and Scotch Ale, and both were superb.

(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

The beers are well done, love the IPA, and the pulled pork was the best I've ever had. The overall facility has been upgraded and the lunch hour was well attended. Quite suprised to see Hercules Double IPA on tap, and then shocked to see the familiar "Red V" of Victory Brewing as a guest beer. Great place to down a few pints!

(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: D's Six Packs and Dogz, Pittsburgh , PA

Amanda is right on. D's rocks. Always a good spot for a good beer, and food; now it's even better than ever. More taps, expanded menu, and great service. Dino has a vision and its awesome to see it come about. A can't miss spot in the Burgh.

(02/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Fredonia, NY

Hadn't been here for a while and glad I was able to get back. Usually I always order up the hoppiest item on the beer list, but a sample of their toasted lager changed my ways. What an excellent beer! I highly recommend this to all especially those like me who normally look for the hops. Of course, I did finish with the Imperial Pale Ale, which is World Class. Great aroma, taste, and mouth-feel.

(10/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Good

Establishment: Sharp Edge Bistro, Sewickley, PA

This is not your fathers Sharp Edge. This one definitely has a different feel to it, from the menu to the clientle. This is Sewickley after all. High society area and you could see it everywhere. That aside, it is a beautiful establishment, and the service we received from Megan, the bartender, couldn't have been any better. We'll go back because of her. They had 2 micro's on tap and a mystery beer, and the balance of the taps, 12-15, are Belgians. Just don't expect to find wings, or a regular hamburger on the menu. The burgers are buffalo, ostrich, turkey, Kobe, or veal. This is Sewickley by the way.

(10/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

I was in town for a Pirate-Cub game and had to stop. It was very busy, and we arrived late so we had to hurry through our lunch. I was able to throw down 2 IPA's and they were excellent. My wife had the Honker Ale and like it. I sampled my niece's Heffe-Weizen and it was very good. Next time I hope to stay longer.

(08/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

I only wish I could spend more time at Moon River. Usually we can only stop for a couple of beers and lunch, as we have to make our way back to Hilton Head the same day. The place just gets better. My only disappointment was that they didn't have a specialty beer available. Oh well. I made do.

(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

I'll try to be nice since I don't know all the circumstances. Apparently this place was recently sold to a New Jersey outfit. Not sure if it will continue to be a brewpub or not. We stopped there early on our vaction and they told us their beer wasn't quite ready. Stopped for dinner later that week and they were vague about the beer. The bottle selection is the typical swill you find on the island. Bud Bud Lite, Coors Lite, etc. The service was not good the night we were there, although the food was okay. (TIP- Avoid the rest rooms.) We ran in to other folks who make a habit of stopping at Hilton Head Brewing while on the Island, and they were also disappointed. One patron told a server she would never come back, and the server replied, "Good!". Oh well, if you're really looking for a good beer you'll have to stop at Mellow Mushroom, or head to Moon River in Savannah.

(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

The current choice is the Panther Pils. A very good offering of a European pilsner. It's close to a Victory Prima Pils without the big alcohol kick. I tried the Allegheny Pale Ale and was underwhelmed. Just a good session ber.

(07/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Trivia Pub, Moon Township, PA

Good selection, although not a lot of taps on hand. Seems to be a style for everybody. They had two of my favorites; Thirsty Dog Siberian Night, and Dogfish 90 Minute IPA.

(04/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

They now have lunch hours, and are open 11:00am everyday but Sunday, when they open at Noon.

(04/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

The hours are posted, I've seen them,so you must have missed the sign. It opens every day at 4:00pm. I think the web site issue is because this is a chain. Give this place another try. It's worth it.

(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

Very cool place with an Irish Pub feel to it. Beer selection was excellent, and the quality of the beer was very good. I recommend the IPA, Pale Ale, and Dortmunder. Service was excellent.

(03/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

I'v never reviewed Fatheads and I really don't know why. They are the absolute best. Pittsburgh has a short list of microbreweries (2), so this is the place to go. Not only is the beer selection the best in town, the food is incredible. On top of that is the service. They care. Amy & Sarah are the best bartenders in the city. You won't be, nobody is, disappointed here.

(01/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Magoo's Bar and Bistro, Pittsburgh, PA

Only about 12 taps, but at least 3 are micro's. Quality micro's. Nice atmosphere, and really want to be established as a good beer bar.

(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Fredonia, NY

Now up and running in the old Barkers Brewpub. This place has cleaned up nicely, and offers great beers and service. The Imperial IPA is excellent.

(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

Since my last review, I have been back twice now, and I have to report the service has been excellent. If you're lucky enough to have Sharon wait on you, then you'll see what I mean. As always, the food and beer is great. This is a great place to have a ite and a brew.

(12/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

IPA's were okay, but nothing to want to make me not go to Victory, which is not far away. The Prometheus was excellent. An Imperial Porter. Great selection.

(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery, King of Prussia, PA

Good place to unwind after walking the entire mall. Which we did! Ironically, the Pale Ale was from my hometown of Pittsburgh, as they had a problem locally. Typical Pittsburgh Ale, not to exciting. Service was great.

(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Visited Victory after a 5 year abscence, and what a treat it was to be back. The Hopdevil was outstanding, as well as the HopWallop & Storm King. The food was good as well. This visit was a promise to my wife to finally take her there, and she enjoyed every minute of it. Sorry I wasn't able to see Ron or Bill, or sample the Storm King Ice Cream. Oh well. That gives me reason to go back.

(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Good

Establishment: Sharp Edge Creekhouse, Pittsburgh , PA

I like this place because they always have a few good U.S. micro's on tap, and the food is great. The service here has never been great. I think they are short-staffed most of the time, especially during the lunch hour. I stopped by a few weeks ago during lunch, and sat at the bar, as did another gentleman, for 10-15 minutes before being waited on. I watch a table of 2 young ladies get up and leave without even ordering, and then a table of 3 got up and left before they could be waited on. Another table of 2 older gentlemen sat for a while, then hunted down a waitress. Service like that will kill them sooner or later.

(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Great So So

Establishment: Maumee Bay Brewing Company, Toledo, OH

This really is a beautiful place. Too bad the beer doesn't hold up to it. Some of the worst beers I've ever had at a microbrewery. To say they were "watery", does a disservice to water. The brewiana in this place is incredible. Worth a stop just to see that. But as they say, "don't drink the water". Wink-Wink.

(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Thirsty Dog Brewing Company, Dayton, OH

Not real easy to find, but I made it. They had just removed the brewing equipment, so it looks like they won't be brewing there any longer. The Hoppus was good, and the Siberian Stout great.

(09/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

The IPA was excellent, but the Russian Imperial Stout, Catherine the Great, was superb. Look out Victory Storm King!

(07/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good

Establishment: 3 Sons Dogs and Suds, Wexford, PA

Nothing on tap, but a great bottle selection. Hot dogs are not up to D's standards. Could use some ambiance.

(06/20/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.103 seconds) 16:45:01 54.80.120.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS