PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jking
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 30, 2014 @ 11:33 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jking

Beer Reviews
(181)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

181
Beer Reviews from jking
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Copper Canyon Grill and Brew Pub, Chandler, AZ

Just to put another place to rest, according to some "yelpers" place closed back in '07 or so. Made calls while down for Cactus League 2013 only to get "number no longer in service". And so it goes...

(03/31/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Drake's Brewing Company was Lind Brewing Company, San Leandro, CA

Time flies when you are having fun and Drake's is having fun. Now that they've opened their "Barrel House" shopping at Wal-Mart has become a lot more fun. One stop does it all. Couple dozen taps to taste from. From growlers and bombers to sixers and kegs. And they've really expanded their hours. Still BYOFood but that's not a problem. Walked out with a bomber each of the Black Robusto porter and the Imp.IPA,Denogginizer. The IPA lasted me most of the 49er-Falcon game. Great stuff on both counts. Go '9er! Go to Drake's!...Hopocalypse DIPA and TIPA coming out soon. Time to go shopping.

(01/24/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Doppelgangers Bar and Grill, Carson City, NV

No longer Doppelgangers. New owners and new name as of November 2010. It is now High Sierra Brewing.

(10/22/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Great Basin Brewing Company, Sparks, NV

This review is for their location in Reno near the Meadowwood Mall at S.Virginia and McCarren which hasn't made it on the list yet. Nice place. Plenty of activity without the hubbub of downtown Reno. Ten taps flowing, five regular/five seasonal to go along with a full bar and a good selection Belgian beers in the bottle. Tried a pint each of the Wild Horse Altbier, Icky IPA, Black Eye PA and the Smoke Jumper Smoked Porter. All were great but I'm a sucker for a Smoked Porter. Wasn't disappointed. Outstanding food menu. Had the mac'n'cheese which doesn't sound like all that, but when you added barley-crusted chicken to that top layer of Gouda cheese, now you're talking. Friendly,efficient staff. Great atmosphere. Ample parking. More than enough reasons to stop by.

(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great

Establishment: Klamath Basin Brewing Company @ Creamery Brewpub, Klamath Falls, OR

Used Klamath Falls as a respite from the rigors of camping around the Crater Lake area for a few days. Only thing better than a cold beer is a hot shower after a few days in the dust. Every motel has a shower but not every town has a brewpub. Glad Klamath Falls did. Nice place at the convergence of all the one-ways of "downtown". Had nine beers on the board(two were out) to go along with a full bar. Tried the Drop Dead Red, McCloughlin Scottish and the Vanilla Porter. Red was good. Loved the smoky flavor of the Scottish Ale. Vanilla Porter was a great "dessert". Food menu is a notch above pubgrub. Had the Italian sausage/mushroom manicotti. Very tasty and a load to boot. The bartender was working on a taco salad that had an uncanny resemblance to Crater Lake,deep and wide. Hate to downgrade the service but the guy poured me a second pint of Red even though I wanted to try something else. Can't knock a free beer but it threw me off my game plan. I'll still mark this as a place to hit if I'm in the Klamath Basin.

(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Mount Shasta Brewing Company, Weed, CA

Caught the place on a slow Saturday afternoon which was good considering the night before was "live music" and I heard it was nut-to-butts. Timing is everything. Seven beers to choose from covering a good variety along with a full bar. Had a pint each of the Amber, Mountain High IPA and the Shastafarian Porter. Good,great and the best. Smallish food menu but the flatbread pizza I had was excellent especially since the bartender/server/busperson cooked it.She did a great job. Decorations are worth a visit and the small taste of the clientele I got to experience was worth the price of admission.

(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Etna Brewing Company, Etna, CA

Can't go wrong with a small place in a small town out in the middle of nowhere that's been around since 1872. Jefferson State still survives in Etna. Seven taps going. Tried a pint each of the Phoenix Red, Mossback IPA and the Kappler Imperial Stout. All great but the Stout gets my vote of the trio. Good food menu. Had a tasty panini style tuna melt. Staff was very friendly and love to hear it's your first visit. Not so far off the beaten track that it isn't worth a side trip.

(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe, Flagstaff, AZ

Although I'd probably spend more time at Lumberyard BC, a short walk away, if I lived in the area, Beaver Street has it's own pluses. Has more of a "locals" feel to it. Nice pool room in the back. They even have a room with a sofa and TV for that homey feeling(if your home has a big picture window overlooking the Beaver Street street scene). Wood-fired pizza seems to be the specialty on the food menu. Had an open-faced ham and artichoke sandwich that was yummy. Same beer as Lumberyard with the exception of the Stout here and the Porter there.

(11/30/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Lumberyard Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

A new kid on the block, actually the younger sibling of Beaver Street BC, Lumberyard is a notch above the other two brewpubs in town. Great selection of beers to go along with a full bar. Nice atmosphere with lots of natural lighting and a good view of downtown. Large outdoor patio(seasonal). Big windows in the dining area looking into the brewery itself. Lots of good choices on the food menu. Can't recall any place I've visited that offered chicken wings, bone-in or boneless, by the 100 count. And several sauces on the side to go along with them. Nice touch. Had a great cheeseburger and the garlic bacon potato salad was a unique side. Went through a pint each of the Red,IPA and the Porter. Tasty brews. Liked the place so much went back a day later to try the Imperial Red. At 9.5%, it was sneaky good. I'd give them an "awesome" rating but have to give them a little wiggle room.

(11/30/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Flagstaff Brewing Company, Flagstaff, AZ

Honestly, the one thing good about Flagstaff BC is that it's within walking distance of Beaver St. and Lumberyard BCs.You have to wonder, when your guest taps outnumber the house beers 3:1.Tried a pint of the Red. Nothing special.Never got asked if I wanted some food. Finished my pint and left. And I think that's a first in over a couple hundred brewpubs visited. Borderline "lousy".

(11/22/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Four Peaks pretty much has it all going on. Two dining areas, big bar, outdoor patio and plenty of TVs. Beer list covers the basics. No problem going through a pint each of the Hop Knot IPA, Kilt Lifter Scotch Ale, Pumpkin'Porter and the Oatmeal Stout. Good food menu. On back-to-back trips had the chicken enchiladas then the carne adovada(bbq pork).Mui bueno! Friendly staff even when the place is hopping. Nice mix of clientele. Only downside might be parking particularly when there's a big crowd. Well worth the walk though.

(11/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

Great place to get away from the hurried pace of Manhattan. Liked the place so much went on back-to-back evenings catching a sweet sunset over the Hudson both nights. Eight taps were going along with a full bar. Went through a pint each of the Sunset Red, Hop Angel IPA, Pumpkin Ale and the Black Hole XXX Stout(8%). All were great but it was the Stout that made me come back for one more try. Small food menu but had the Buffalo wings both visits. Tasty and tangy. Thank God for Handi-wipes. Chelsea BC will be on my list on future visits to NYC.

(11/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Dogfish Head Brewings and Eats, Rehoboth Beach, DE

Stopped by on a Friday evening. The locals had the bar commandeered but managed to squeeze in. By the time I left felt like one of the crowd. Out of the dozen or more taps they had, tried a pint each of the 60' IPA, Indian Brown Ale, Punkin'Ale and the Chicory Stout. Voted the Brown as best in show but all were excellent. Limited food menu but the Gumbo I had was very tasty and filling.Despite a constant flow of customers, the bartender was on top of it when the glass became low. Lots of souveniers available. Walked out with a cool T-shirt and a "bomber" of their Squall for the nightcap.

(11/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

Well worth a visit particularly since there isn't much else going on, beerwise, in this neck of the woods. The tour is a short one and your not going to power down a pint during the tastings but you get a good taste. And if you like anything,you can pick it up in the gift shop for later. And construction is under way to expand the visitors area.

(11/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

Despite a bizarre location, Albany Pump Station is well worth seeking out. Big interior with views of the brew kettles, two dining areas and upstair seating for special events. Nine taps were running to go along with a full bar. Tried the Oktoberfest, Kick Ass Brown, Blueberry Trippel(13%) and the State St. Porter. Excellence all around. The Trippel goes down smooth and sneaks up on you. Lenghty food menu. Plenty of great selections. Had the Pump House burger w/sweet potato fries. Great burger. Even better fries. Love the open air feeling of the place despite being buried under a couple freeway on/off ramps. Well worth the visit.

(11/04/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

Nice place in the heart of d'town Burlington. Eight taps going on my visit to go along with a full bar. Tried a pint each of the Burly Irish Ale, Rocktoberfest and Blackwatch IPA. Good stuff. Big food menu. The veggie lasagna I had was great. Roomy dining area. One bar in the dining area, the other out in a greenhouse area. Also an outdoor patio when the weather accomodates. And if this place doesn't do it for you, American Flatbread is a half block away.

(11/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Fish Brewing Company / Fish Bowl Pub, Olympia, WA

Nice place in the heart of d'town Olympia. They had ten taps going with a mix of Fish Brewing and Leavenworth Brewing and one cask along with a decent wine selection. Went through a pint each of the Organic Amber,IPA and Mudshark Porter along with the Octoberfest on cask. All good drinking especially the Porter. Decent food menu. Enjoyed the Reuben I had. Service seems a bit skewed to the locals. Hate seeing my glass sit empty for very long. Sorry sports fans;no TVs. Guess you'll have to converse. Worth going there to see the aquatic-based murals outside,if nothing else.

(09/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Schlafly (aka The Saint Louis Brewery Tap Room), Saint Louis, MO

With all due respect to Anheuser-Busch and the "King of Beers", tourists should skip those parking hassles and long wait for tours and head to Schlaflys. This is what beer is about. They had twelve taps going with two beers on cask and a full bar.Had a pint each of the Witbier, Dry Hopped APA, Octoberfest and Oatmeal Stout. Great stuff from one to the next. Some bizarre food items on the menu.Fried frog legs. Pickled Herring. Lamb burger. Had a liverwurst sandwich with the warm potato salad that was to die for. Can see it's local friendly but,being a tourist, had no problem fitting in. Tours are available. Sorry sports fans didn't see any TV's around. More than enough happening around to keep you occupied.

(09/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Yard House, Kansas City, KS

Had to check this place out since they boast "worlds largest selection of draft beers." Stopped counting on the menu when I got passed 50. The food menu is out there too. Eclectic to say the least. Just bring your paycheck.Beer sizes vary from goblet to pint to the half-yard(2 1/2 pts). Went through a pint each of the Left Coast Great White, Grand Teton Bitch Creek ESB, Great Divide Hercules DIPA and Youngs Double Chocolate Stout. All were great. From the kitchen, tried the seared Ahi sushimi and a 14 oz. KC strip steak. Very edible. To round out the visit the asst.manager bought me a beer when I commented on being glad to know a Yard House is opening in the San Jose area next year. He was a Bay Area transplant. Thanks for the goblet of Delirium Tremens, kind sir. Waddled out a satisfied customer.

(08/30/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Kansas City, KS

Granite City started in St.Cloud,MN in'99. Now they have 26 stores in 11 states. I'd equate the place to Rock Bottom that came out of Colorado. This facility had five taps going with a full bar. Tried a pint each of the Duke of Wellington IPA, Brother Benedicts Bock and the Broad Axe Stout. All quite drinkable. Wish the beer menu was as extensive as the food menu. Lots to choose from grub-wise. Had a very tasty Southwest Chicken Salad. Employees are college age,well-trained and attentive. Good location in the Legends Mall and within sight of the Kansas Motor Speedway. Worth the visit if you're in the area.

(08/30/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Lazlo's Brewery and Grill, Lincoln, NE

Despite some previous reviews, thought Lazlo's was pretty damn good. Little pricey on the food menu but the Omaha filet w/spud I ordered was excellent. 7 regular taps and 2 seasonals were pouring to go along with a full bar. Tried a pint each of the Third Stone Brown, LunaSea ESB, Burning Skye Scottish Ale and the Collapser Oatmeal Stout. No problems with any of them. Staff was friendly and attentive. No shortage of 'Husker Red amongst the clientele. Haymarket District looks like a happening place. As an FYI, the beer is brewed by the Empyrean BC. Guess Lazlo's sounds better for a restaurant name.

(08/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Raccoon River Brewing Company, Des Moines, IA

Right in the heart of d'town Des Moines. Had 6 house taps going with 12 guest brews. Tried a pint of each of the Homestead Red, Bandit IPA and Stonecutter Stout. All good but not great. Love their food menu. "16 things that are sandwiches;17 that are not". My Firehouse Burger was great. Big place with upstairs,downstairs and an outdoor patio. Had to downgrade the service because, for whatever reason, just didn't feel welcome there. Maybe because I didn't have a suit and tie like most of the other male patrons. The only person that was cordial was a busboy and that was probably because he liked my "I Like Beer" t-shirt. Worth a visit just because it's there.

(08/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Fitger's Brewhouse, Duluth, MN

How can you lose with a place like Fitgers? Nice old historic building with its own water tank, smokestack and it's on Bob Dylan Way. Had 9 house taps going with one guest tap and a big wine and scotch selection. Tried the Double Hopped IPA, White Knight Wit Noir, Big Boat Oatmeal Stout and a goblet of the Hercules(10%). Excellence personified. Great food menu. My fish tacos were beyond yummy. Patrons and staff were very friendly. For what ever reason you might find yourself in Duluth,MN you have to put this place on your list. And if you've had a couple too many pints, go dip your tootsies in Lake Superior. Brrrr!

(08/29/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

Three words for this place; W-O-W! From the outside you'd think it is the standard commercial tilt-up. Inside it's incredible. High ceilings with natural lighting, upstairs and downstairs outdoor patios, great view from the bar area of the brewery room and a beautiful outdoor garden. And they've even got beer here too. 30 taps including a dozen of Stone's own to go along with a bottled beer list that's double the number of taps running (sorry Bud/Miller/Coors, no yellow fuzzy beers here). Yeah, the food menu is a bit pricey but the "fuego" vegan burger I had was great and didn't make me sick. Wish I'd had room in the tank to try the Duck Tacos but had to save room for beer. Tried five of Stones brews; Pale Ale, Oaked Arrogant Bastard, Ruination IPA, Smoked Porter and the 14th Anniversary Emperial IPA. At 5.4% the Pale ale was at the low end of the alcohol level. They make some strong beer. Worst thing I can say about the staff is they seemed a bit aloof but I'd attribute that to an early Father's Day lunch rush that had them on their heels a bit. Being a NorCal native, I'd be more than happy to have this place in my neighborhood.

(06/21/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Squatters Airport Pub, Salt Lake City, UT

Didn't have a chance to visit the d'town brewpub, so stopped in at the Terminal 1, Concourse B(?) to give Squatters a taste on ht e way out of town. Tried the Organic Amber and Polygamy Porter. Good enough. Wish I'd tried the bottle of Double Bock at 9% but didn't want Southwest kicking me off the plane.

(06/03/2010)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ ALL ]













(0.181 seconds) 11:33:55 54.205.99.71, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS