PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jim
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 20, 2014 @ 04:40 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jim

Beer Reviews
(18)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

18
Beer Reviews from jim
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Trinity Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

This place is very laid back and has a great variety of brews on tap. The saison was the only house beer out of three that I found appealing when I went, but the tap selection that includes many other beers can satisfy anyone (was disappointed in the house IPA, and the fact that Trinity did not offer more brews). On my visit, Trinity used different glasses for different styles, and I hope that continues (hopefully customers won't steal glasses).

There's no food menu per se, but the selections are posted on a chalkboard, same as the beers. I thought the sweet potato fries were excellent. If you can get there at the right time, sit in the back room with the sofas.

(10/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mill Street Brewery, Toronto, ON

In my previous review, I didn't mean to imply the guy getting the balloon was slow. Rather, he really went out of his way to dig through things to make a customer happy.

(10/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mill Street Brewery, Toronto, ON

I'm a little late on actually commenting about this place, but I still feel compelled to do so. It was good beer and good food, but the people really sold me on this place. We went on a busy night in May, but it seems the people at this place bend over backwards for customers.

I have to start out with the people who run the merchandise store attached to the brewpub. The man running the place (don't know if it was one of the owners) went out of his way to make sure that my young son got a balloon, even though they were stashed away in the back and it took him forever to get it. The waitress also was attuned to our needs and was fantastic.

Now to the menu: As stated in previous reviews, the jambalaya is top-notch. It was the special of the day and well worth it. The PEI mussels were sold out, which was a big disappointment for us. Still, it seemed the menu had plenty of options.

I had the beer sampler. Their ales were satisfying, and I recall liking the porter most of all. I also liked the IPA, but I'm inclined that way. However, the organic brew was skunk.

I recommend this place even if you may be put off by the crowds that seem to be buzzing around the area.

(10/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Awesome! So So

Establishment: Phantom Canyon Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

Adam hits the nail on the head. What chaps me is Phantom Canyon hired a new brewer in the last 12 months, and he said things were going back to the way they were.

They haven't. To add to what Adam wrote, the Zebulon Porter has actually regressed and now just tastes like flavored water. I have given up on Phantom Canyon.

(10/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mill Street Brewery, Toronto, ON

You know what, Steve ... different strokes for different folks, and there are those of us that want to find what we like and know how to get there wherever we are. Your comparison is ridiculous and hold no weight as a proper comparison. Your attitude is lousy, and maybe you should keep your comments to yourself.

Besides, that post wasn't for you, little man. Your reviews read like a closed-minded "snob" who knows nothing outside your little 30-mile radius. You immediately try to discredit anyone who has different taste than you.

(05/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hoppers Grille and Brewery, New Port Richey, FL

This place is closed. Even if the owners didn't have issues stealing kegs from distributors, it would have closed due to poort service and inconsistent beers.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: Big Bear Brewing Company, Coral Springs, FL

If you like chain food and beer, this is your place. While it's not a chain restaurant, it acts like it, and you get the feeling that the owners want to franchise the place.

I was once a member of the Big Bear mug club, but I never found a reason to continue that relationship. The beer is flat and flavorless. The best on tap is probably the brown, but it is nothing exceptional. Don't dare request hops in this place.

The food is good, not great. Big Bear caters to a clientelle that cares more about wine than beer, and it shows. Head down the road to the ale house or wing place, where at least you'll get a Whitbread than something that tastes like it was brewed by a novice.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Florida Tap Room, Fort Lauderdale, FL

My favorite bar ever! I was a member of the mug club. I miss you, Florida Tap Room. R.I.P.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub And Brewery, Pensacola, FL

A lot of hype; not much to back it up. The stout is watery, and the porter does not register.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Awesome! Great

Establishment: Dunedin Brewery, Dunedin, FL

Used to live in the area, and I miss this place (even though I now live in the beer mecca). I make sure to hit it every time I return.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Arctic Craft Brewery, Colorado Springs, CO

This place is in a warehouse district off the beaten path. The guys running the place are home brewers who wanted to get into the beer business. I applaud that, and their beers are consistent.

However, for a town that loves hops, this brewery is lacking in that category. It's not my cup of tea, as most of the beers are middling.

That being said, the milk stout is very good.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Good Great

Establishment: Bristol Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

What's to say about Bristol? It is THE standard for brews in Colorado Springs. Whatever your beer pleasure, Bristol offers it. From the light beer drinker (if you like light beer, why are you here?) to the person who loves something triple hopped, Bristol aims to please.

It is a tap room, plain and simple, so don't expect a sandwich or something fancier. However, you will get pretzels served in dog bowls, an homage to the brewery's best-selling beer called "Laughing Lab."

I just wish the shuffleboard table was easier to get on, and I wish it were open later. However, it's a great place to have a few pints and get a growler fill.

(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Jack Quinn's, Colorado Springs, CO

The great thing about this place is you can secure a nook where you can have some privacy. This is the best Irish pub in Colorado Spings, though there aren't many pubs who fit that cetegory here. The tap lines are clean and the beers are poured well.

You can always find something good to eat here if you're in the mood for something along the lines of Irish fare. Also, they opened the bar in the morning for the last World Cup soccer tournament.

(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Palmer Lake Brewing at the Warehouse, Colorado Springs, CO

Move along. No more beers brewed here. The food is decent, but it's no longer a brewery.

(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Blicks Brewing Company, Colorado Springs, CO

This place closed (I think in fall 2006, can't remember the exact date). It is now the home to My Home Brew Shop, a great resource for home brewers.

(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Smokeless Joe, Toronto, ON

Shhh. Keep this one a secret. The beers are plentiful, even if they were all malty varieties like Belgian and English ales. I love mussels, so this place was great. And Eddie the manager was fantastic!

I highly recommend it.

(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mill Street Brewery, Toronto, ON

Curt, I'm a fellow hop head from the Springs, and I've had trouble finding a brew over 50 IBUs when I've visited Toronto (or any Canadian city, actually). Any other recommendations for well-hopped beer?

(04/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Establishment: C'est What?, Toronto, ON

The service was just OK, but it's one of the few places in Toronto that I've visited that offers hoppy beers on tap.

(04/22/2008)














(0.221 seconds) 16:40:57 54.87.15.219, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS