PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jim s.
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 02:44 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jim s.

Beer Reviews
(39)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

39
Beer Reviews from jim s.
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Most recent stop was 9/1 and was my 2nd overall visit. Well I have to say how disappointed I was this time around. The bartender seemed to concentrate on about one quarter of the bar space and completely ignore the other 75%. Took forever to get his attention to order beer and then had to repeat the process to get a menu and then again to place a food order. We ordered wings well done/extra crispy only to receive pink, raw and bloody and not the falvor we ordered. Also ordered nacho platter which was received with the shredded cheese sprinkled over the top and not in the least bit melted. I will never order food hear again as it was such a horrible experience. The beer was a bit better. Had a good selection of many different styles. Went with the Kipona Fest which tasted more like a nut brown than anything resembling a marzen. Was not bad, just not what I expected in a fest style beer. I have had many good experiences with these guys at various beer festivals over the years which makes it so shocking about how bad things were on my visit. Lastly on our way out we stopped and asked the hostess about some t-shirts at the gift counter. She was not even busy but displayed a surly I can't be bothered attitude when she had to look for certain sizes. BAD BAD BAD!!! Hoping it was just a one time thing and not the norm as I hate leaving negative reviews.

(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Troegs Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Stopped in for the saturday afternoon brewery tour on 9/1. First time visitor though I am very familiar with Troeg's products from my many travels in PA. Brother Chris was the tour guide and did a nice job in showing us around his very clean and modern production brewery. Generous with the free samples before and after the tour. Seemed like there was around 8 to 10 different ones to sample. All the beers were top quality. My favorite Nugget Nectar was out of season so it was not on. Would be nice if they could make this one year around as it it hugely popular and highly sought after. One of the most complete and well stocked gift shops that I have ever seen. Enjoyed my visit and would like to see Troeg's products in NY sometime in the future. Keep up the great work guys!

(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Selin's Grove Brewing, Selinsgrove, PA

Visited 8/31 which was my 2nd overall visit. Love the underground atmosphere of this place. Quite unique like no other brewpub that I have ever visited. Took quite a while to get in our beer orders at the bar as they seemed to be understaffed. The IPA was well worth the wait as it was very good. Would have liked to have spent more time here but was in a hurry so it was only a one beer stop. Considered a must stop while traveling down rte 15. Great brewpub!

(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

I always barcrawl Carson at least once every visit to Pittsburgh and seem to stop at Fatheads for one beer just about everytime. Most recent stop was 11/22. Alway a great well rounded draft selection with something for every beer geek. Happy to find Victory HopWallop on this time as I had never before had it on tap though I've had it bottled previously. A bit pricier at $5.00 a pint than Smokin' Joe's just down the street but still worth the stop. One of Pittsburgh's best beer bars for sure. ADD a bonus point for the nice bottle/gift shop located upstairs. Cool place to check out.

(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

I've been here several times before but just could never seem make The Church a regular Pittsburgh stop once the novelty of the location wore off. Honestly, I was one of the many hopheads that just felt unwelcome due to the fact that they never seemed to have any hoppy beers on. Then... I read about the ThunderHop IPA Anniversary Beer and I determine that it is time to give the Church another try. Good call on my part. This was by far the best beer that I have ever had at the Church and I finally felt welcome. Even though this was a special brewed by the recently departed brewmaster, I can only hope that someone there figures it out that it needs to be made year round and added to the regular beer menu. Then I can say that the Church is a must stop.

(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

I try to get to John Harvards at least once a year and luckily I was able to stop in Friday afternoon 11/24 when Andrew the brewmaster was at work. I always enjoy talking to Andrew as he is just a great person (even though he is a Flyers fan... BOOH!)and a top notch brewer of many wonderful beers. Took up his advice and ordered the sampler platter of 11 five ounce samples for $8.95 which is quite a bargain compared to their normal expensive beer pricing. Even got the normally not included Barley Wine as an added bonus bringing the total to 12. Enjoyed them all as none were clunkers. Even though John Harvards is part of a chain, don't let that be a deterrent. The beers are obviously custom brewed with much TLC and different from anything found at any other location. Decent atmosphere and attentive service. Looking forward to many more visits.

(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: Carl's Tavern, Monroeville, PA

2nd time visit to Carl's was on Friday afternoon 11/24. Just up the road from John Harvard's makes it a great 1 - 2 stop. An out of towner would only know about Carl's from PUBCRAWLER or by word of mouth as it is the kind of place that you would drive right by and never suspect as being the great tap house that it is. All kinds of quality beer on tap with Arcadia HopMouth and Great Lakes Nosferatu being my choices for this stop. Service from the bartender was outstanding as we got what amounted to almost a free pint for killing the HopMouth barrel and she also took time to go in the back to find Carl's T-shirts for us in our requested sizes. The one major negative that brings the overall rating down would have to be the big black cloud of cigarette smoke that hung in the bar room. The place was packed and 90% were smoking. If you can handle the smoke by all means stop, the beer is worth it!

(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Grill 424, Pittsburgh, PA

Tried to stop in on 11/22 but was closed. Previous review goes into their "issues" which are apparently unresolved.... Bummer. I always pass by when in Pittsburgh as I stay in Greentree and this is right on my way into the city. Was very much looking forward to my visit but am now unsure if it will ever happen now. I guess that I will no longer include Grill 424 on my agenda until I hear that they have reopened. Hopefully the locals can keep us updated.

(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ellicottville Brewing Company, Fredonia, NY

First time visit was Sunday afternoon 11/26. Found about a dozen house beers on tap as well as a few "others" with Southern Tier Porter being notable. Only had time for one pint of the Imperial Pale Ale which I was told was the hoppiest beer that was on.... Nice! Did not dare order a second as it was 10.2% ABV and I had much more driving ahead of me. Love the atmosphere and would like to spend additional time here when I'm able to. Just a quick 5 minute detour from NYS Thruway makes it conveniant to travelers and well worth a stop.

(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Buffalo Brew Pub / Brewing Company, Williamsville, NY

Stopped by for beers and dinner on August 26 while passing through area on way to concert in North Tonawanda. I've been here a few times over the years but it had been a long while since my previous visit. Place was slammed with customers and there was a wait for table seating. Luckily myself and a friend were able to snag a couple of seats at the supplemental bar area by the front door. I know better than to order the house beers as extract brewing just does not cut it anymore. It may have been groundbreaking 20 years ago but it's time has passed. Sadly due to space limitations I doubt that they will ever be able to upgrade to an all grain system. Thank goodness that they have a couple dozen other taps of mostly quality beer to choose from. Great Lakes Burning River Pale Ale on tap and also served in pitchers.... Hell Yeah! Took a while to get our orders taken due to the mass of customers but once we had placed our food order it arrived to us in under 10 minutes which I found rather amazing. Food was above average and I enjoyed my visit. Worth a stop but just do not have high expectations for the house beers.

(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: High Falls Brewing Company, Rochester, NY

Finally was able to score a tour of the brewery in mid August in conjunction with a BeerAdvocate event. I consider myself very fortunate as they do not give tours to the general public. Things tend to be on the upswing at High Falls due to their new Dundee's craft line of brews and some new marketing for the classic Genny Cream Ale. I like most all of their products and especially like the latest introduction .... The J.W. Dundee's IPA. I will be stocking up on this one as it will only be around as the Fall seasonal. People that may have had a negative view of the brewery in the past should give the newer products a chance. Dave Schlosser the lead brewmaster for the last 5 years has a strong craft beer background and really knows his stuff. Just look at all of the medals that they have won both nationally and internationally the last few years in beer competitions. Great products at a great price makes me proud to have High Falls as my local big brewery. Shame on those who would rather support Anheuser Busch or Coor's!

(09/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Good

Establishment: Monty's Krown, Rochester, NY

Visited Saturday afternoon 8/19 for the debut of the new JW Dundee's IPA. Had the very first one drawn that was for sale at any bar which I consider pretty special even though this beer made its public debut a few weeks earlier at the Flour City Brewers Fest. This IPA did not disappoint. As for Monty's Krown... Great beer selection with pretty much everything on draft being quality. Saw no crap beer on the tap system. Heavy on the Custom Brewcrafters (several taps), Also saw Victory, Sleeman,Woodchuck Pear Cider, etc. Also had many nice bottles listed on the beer menu. Service was spotty. 2 bartenders on but there were extended periods where no one was behind the bar... not sure why? Atmosphere somewhat dark and dingy to the point where I would say that this would be a dive bar not that I consider that a bad thing... I don't. Many beer geeks gather here for good reason. As with any Monroe Avenue bar, parking is limited. Enjoyed my visit and would be open to more in the future. My only other visit was close to 10 years ago when it was known as The Rose and Crown.

(08/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Good

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Fairport, NY

I've been regularly visiting the various MacGregors locations for many years. Mostly the now closed city location and also the Henrietta location but I have spent enough time in all of the others too. This, the Perinton location has always been my least liked of the lot and I've always made it a point to not spend a lot of time there. My biggest problem is not with the bar itself but with the people that this location attracts. Every visit I have been subjected to loudmouth, obnoxious types bragging up their kids or their wealth. To the same couple that always seems to be sitting at the one high top in the bar area: SHUT UP! NO ONE wants to hear about it! Now that I feel better I can go on. Found myself in the area on Sunday 7/16 and decided to stop as it had been about 2 years since my last visit there. Thrilled to find Southern Tier IPA (Yummy!) on special at the bargain price of $6.50 a pitcher. Bartender Megan was both attentive and friendly. Said that she had only been on the job for about a week but acted as if she had everything well under control. Had a pretty good visit going until that same loudmouth couple from past visits came in which sent me heading for the door. Would take my chances and stop in again if in area but would never make this location a destination stop. The other locations are far better and atttract a more down to earth clientele.

(07/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Donnelly's Public House, Fairport, NY

First time visit was on Sunday 7/16. Location is somewhat hidden a block or 2 off of Main St. I had to ask 3 different people by the canal bridge for directions. Seems that some of the locals are not even aware of Donnelly's existence which is a shame. Counted 21 taps with only 3 or 4 crap beers. Selections included Blue Point, Shipyard/Ringwood, Brooklyn, Rohrbachs, Victory, Harpoon, Rogue and one of my old favorites... Middle Ages ImPaled Ale. I ordered the Middle Ages as it has been quite a while since I have been able to find it on draft in the Rochester area. Pitcher price was a reasonable $9.25 . Went for the pulled pork sandwich for lunch which was huge and excellent just as I expected it to be. I've ordered this in the past at JB Quimby's which is the sister bar to Donnelly's so I kind of knew what to expect. I thoroughly enjoyed the beer, the food and the look of the interior. The bartender was really hustling trying to keep up with a full bar while also acting as the server to several tables in the dining area. I would say that they were understaffed but it was not a problem for me. My only complaint would be the lack of A.C. It was a hot sweltering day and the bar seemed only a couple degrees cooler on the inside. Air Conditioning should have been turned on or turned up. Overall a great visit and highly recommended!

(07/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Abbey Wright Brewing at the Valley Inn, Duboistown, PA

I only found out about this place from Lew Bryson's website. Good timing as I was passing through the area On the 4th of July. It's only a couple miles from the Bullfrog just across the river south of Williamsport. Visit the Valley Inn/Abbey Wright website to get directions as it is not on a main thoroughfare. The outside of the building is a bit deceiving as it looks a little run down, the inside is much nicer. When I walked in around 2pm I was the only customer. I indentified myself as a traveling beer geek and was quickly greeted with much enthusiasm from the bartender. I was given a complimentary sampler of the 4 beers (Hippee IPA, Mosquitoe Wheat, Irish Red Ale and Coeur de la Saison)made on premises. I also was given a tour of the brewhouse which I did not even have to ask for. The bartender told me that it was a used system that they had picked up somewhere he thought near Philly. The brewmaster is apparently a homebrewer that is making his first foray into commercial brewing. 2 of the beers were the initial runs and the other 2 I understood were from the 2nd run and had been tweeked a bit. The beer was not bad considering how early in the game they are. I thought the Saison was probably the best of the lot but decided to order a couple pints of the IPA just because that is my favorite style. Anyone that visits in the near future needs to enlist a little patience with the beer. You are not going to get a HopDevil when you order the IPA at this point. Who knows... in 6 months to a year, you might. Also understand that this is an established bar and restaurant that is only looking to expand upon their business by brewing some of their own beer. You are always going to find a large selection of mainstream swill beer on the 20 taps though there was also Smithwicks, Sierra Nevada Pale Ale and a couple Sam Adams. As for the food I had a dozen wings which arrived exactly like I ordered them... extra crispy. The wing sauces were delicious. It's great to get wings exactly how you want them as most places don't seem to understand what extra crispy means! Good Job! I liked enough of what I saw that I will certainly check this place out again next time I'm in the area to see how things are progressing. They seem to be heading in the right direction. Be open minded and show them some support.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Market Street Brewing Company and Restaurant, Corning, NY

Was pleasantly surprised to find this place open on July 4th as other years it has been closed on the holiday. Walked in during Happy Hour when all pints were $2.50 . 6 beers on tap: Red, Pale Ale, Blackberry Lager, Lager, Dark Ale and a Hefe. First beer I ordered was the Pale Ale which I would rate as a disappointment.... lacking any hop flavor. Second beer was the Dark Ale which was much better and I would have no problem ordering in the future. They should however consider being a bit more aggressive with their beer as times have changed since they first opened. What Market Street offers in beers pales in comparison to what you will find in just about any other established brewpub. Having said this... I do respect that they seem to have a good business as it has always seemed busy on the 6-8 times that I have visited over the years. Absolute perfect location on some prime real estate is probably the key to their success.... could not ask for a better site. I'm not going to rate the food as I have not eaten here in a few years. Meals in the past have been a mixed bag but that's ancient history. Worth a stop if you are passing through but would not make it a destination trip. I live only an hour away and only stop in every year or two. If they amped up the beer I would make this a regular stop. As for the hottie staff.... I did see a couple that fit into the eye candy category.

(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Johnstown Brewing Company, Johnstown, PA

Made my 2nd ever stop at around noon on Sunday 7/2. This was also only the 2nd time that I had ever even been to Johnstown, PA and both times were just to go to the brewery. Located in a unique looking facility that one of the staff told me used to be the Bethlehem Steel country club. I could see where the lower parking lot at one time had been tennis courts. For beer I found 9 on tap including at least 2 seasonals: Incline Plane Ale and also a pilsner that they brew in conjunction with a local biker event. I ordered a pint of the IPA which I was somewhat disappointed in as it was not all that hoppy or flavorful at least not compared to todays ultra hopped IPA's. I then asked about a sampler tray which I ended up ordering for $5.00. Generous samples of all 9 of the beers on tap as well as a sample of the homemade root beer. I found this to be a pretty good deal and while none of the beers was bad none stood out as being excellent either. I liked the Pale Ale the best and actually thought that it was better than the IPA. For lunch I ordered the warm Italian Hoagie which came with both coleslaw and a side of fries. The food was excellent and a great value as it was only about $5.00 also. They were also serving Sunday Brunch which must be a pretty big deal from what I saw going on in the dining room. Service was excellent despite that there was not a full time bartender at the bar where I sat. All of the wait staff that came in from the dining room to get drinks checked on me to make sure that all was well. Combining great food with adequate craft beer makes this one place that I will try to make a stop at each year.

(07/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company, Duncansville, PA

Made my 2nd and 3rd visits to Marzoni's on Saturday 7/1 for a late dinner and again for lunch on Monday 7/3. My only other time here was in July 2005. So this review is for my 2 most recent visits last weekend. 8 different beers on tap. 6 which are always on as well as 2 rotating seasonals. I got into the Avalanche IPA pretty hard on the 7/1 visit. Liked it so much that I ended up having 4 Imperial pints. The brewmaster told me that it had 120 IBUs and I think 6.9 ABV. Luckily it was only a short walk across the parking lot to find my lodging for the night. I ordered a meatball grinder for my dinner which was good. Dani the bartender was efficient but I was somewhat disappointed that she never followed up to ask how my meal was or that she never thanked me for the 30% PLUS tip that I handed her when settling my tab. Jo the bartender that was working Monday afternoon was much more professional and I would rate the service I received from her as excellent. Other comments on Marzoni's: Probably the cleanest brewpub I have ever been in...absolutely spotless! Liked the classic rock music feed in the bar area... great beer drinking music. They also have an excellent unpublicized Happy Hour which I unfortunately was unable to take advantage of because I only found out about it when I asked if they ran one. Overall Marzoni's is one great brewpub and I hope to spend many more hours in there next summer when I'm in the area again.

(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Otto's Pub and Brewery, State College, PA

Visited Otto's for a late lunch on Saturday 7/1. My only previous visit here was July 2005. I ordered a Red Mo Ale which I found to be mediocre at best. Found nothing that stood out about it. The bartender explained that Otto's Double D was their signature beer but that they were out of it for another week to 10 days. I'm sorry, but these guys have been in business way too long for that to be allowed to happen on a holiday weekend when many out of towners like myself would be traveling through checking out different spots. That is why my beer selection rating is only a good and not a great. For lunch I ordered the Philly sandwich which was very good and the side of pasta salad that came with it was even better. So I am up on the food at Otto's. ADD a bonus point for the nice collection of vintage Pennsylvania breweriana that was displayed on the walls. As a collector myself I can appreciate that. Hope to stop by again next year and actually get to try the Double D rather than just hear about it.

(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

Stopped by around noon on Saturday 7/1 and had a seat at the bar. This was the 2nd overall time that I have been to the Bullfrog. There were 11 beers on tap. I ordered a large Edgar IPA at $4.50. HOP DAMN.... was that tasty! Of the six brewpubs that I visited over the holiday weekend, the Edgar IPA at the Bullfrog was by far my favorite beer. At 7.8 ABV I had to stop at one as I had considerable driving ahead of me. I would have ordered lunch which would have led to a 2nd beer order but I was never even offered a menu which is why the SO SO service rating. That slight by the bartender was really the only blemish on my visit. I liked the atmosphere with all of the tanks lined up directly behind the bar and I thought that the gallon size growlers to go was a great idea as I had never seen them offered in that size before. I would recommend the Bullfrog to anyone that has not been and I will stop again my next trip down that way.

(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Acme Bar and Pizza, Rochester, NY

Acme Bar & Pizza is a great little place to find good beer on the Monroe Avenue strip in Rochester. Over 75 different beers available. Huge bottle selection with many that are hard to find around here. 14 tap lines that seem to frequently rotate. On recent visits I have found on draft: Custom BrewCrafters Inferno Pod Ale, Victory HopDevil, Rockies/Boulder Hazed and Infused as well as selections from Ithaca, Harpoon, Magic Hat and Sierra Nevada. Usually only 3 or 4 are dedicated to the Molson/Yuengling type swill. What makes this place even better is the all day Happy Hour in which all beer (minus pitchers) is 2 for 1 seven days a week until 7:00pm. I've never eaten here but have looked at the menu and have seen the food that others have ordered. Looked good and was reasonably priced. The Sunday afternoon bartender that I have dealt with on my last 2 visits was both friendly and attentive. On street parking can be tough to find during peek hours. Only major negative would have to be that nasty ass restroom that was located in the basement. Be careful what you touch in there! Overall a very worthy beer savvy bar that deserves to be supported. With the demise of the city MacGregors I probably will be spending a lot more time here. ADD bonus points for getting the NFL and MLB sports TV packages.

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Rochester, NY

Just a correction to my previous post: Kelly Cole's took over the former MacGregor's Syracuse location, NOT Kitty Hoynes.... though that is also a great downtown Syracuse bar.

(05/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Rochester, NY

It is with much sadness that I must post that this the original MacGregor's location has permanently closed. The last day of business was Sunday May 14th. I know that many beer travelers specifically sought out this location when in Rochester as it was by far the best of the 5 MacGregor's that were open. I've received no official explanation as for the reason of the closing... it was rather abrubt. As a longtime customer I had noticed that the MacGregor's chain became somewhat of a shadow of it's former great self which I attribute to Bob Carvotta leaving the business a couple years ago. The beer selection had slacked off considerbaly due to the countless battles with just about every area beer distributer and it was only getting worse. Even so, it was still a great place to knock back a few pints and watch Sunday football. I will miss this place tremendously as it was like a second home to me. I can only hope that the Gregory Street location can be fortunate enough to receive a another lease on life much like Kitty Hoynes taking over the Syracuse location when that one closed in 2004. If there is anything positive left out of all of this it is that some of the Gregory St. staff have accepted positions at the Henrietta and Gates locations which remain open as well as those in Perinton and Canandaigua.

(05/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Barnstormers, Henrietta, NY

You can show this place as being closed. Drove by on 4/2 and the MarketPlace Inn which housed Barnstormers was in the process of being gutted or more likely demolished. Barnstormers had not been much of a player in the beer scene in recent years but it was the site of the first brewpub in Rochester and one of the very first in New York State. Had my first ever brewpub beer here back in the mid 80's. R.I.P.

(04/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Homestead, PA

Hit the friday happy hour on 3/24. 2nd overall visit. My first was a few years back when they first opened. This is part of the Rock Bottom chain and I guess that the beers are a reflection of that. True beer snobs could adjust down a bit and mainstreamers could adjust up and everyone can try to be satisfied. The pale ale was nothing special and the same could be said for the Red Ale. Not bad, but not very good. The Brown was aggressive to the point of just about being a stout. I did find the happy hour pricing to be a real positive at just $2.00 a pint. Also had what looked like a good happy hour menu with discounts but was not my time to eat. Would have no problem coming back again but it probably won't be anytime soon. Just too many better options for beer in Pittsburgh than to make this place a priority.

(03/30/2006)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.135 seconds) 02:44:38 23.23.22.200, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS