PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jim kirk
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 22, 2014 @ 04:55 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jim kirk

Beer Reviews
(14)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

14
Beer Reviews from jim kirk
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Spoetzl Brewery, Shiner, TX

I visited the brewery yesterday. It's been about 20 years since my last visit. The last time I was there it was a very small brewery which was just about to go into bankruptcy. There were no tours but the tasting room was set up so you could try as much of their beer as you wanted. It was all free and there was a really funky cool little gift shop which sold all sorts of stuff, mostly not related to the brewery.

Now the brewery is huge with lovely copper kettles and a very impressive bottling set-up. The beers were all good and true to style.

They do have tours now. Twice a day. As someone mentioned they seemed very scripted. They do not allow photos taken on the tour. The lady actually said "take no photos if you value your equipment". Seemed a bit harsh to me. She might have said "please take no photos". She knew her script and did a good job of giving us the history and the brewing procedure but when I asked her technical questions about the brewing techniques or the ingredients she just made up bogus answers.

When you get to the gift shop (now located in the brewery and not in the building next door) you get three wooden tokens which you can trade for 3 Dixie cups of the beers of your choice. That's a far cry from the old days. You shouldn't just give away as much free beer as someone can drink, but they seemed to have gone a bit overboard on the conservative side.

Overall I would rate my experience as a good one and will probably go back the next time I'm in the area.

(11/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great Great Good

Establishment: Buckner Brewing Company, Cape Girardeau, MO

Stopped in while on business in the Cape. They had 7 beers on tap. The place was decorated in green. It was St. Pat's day after all. Met the brewer. Very nice guy. The food was great. They had a hickory smoker out back. The beers, however, left a bit to be desired. The honey wheat and raspberry wheats were good albeit a little hoppy for style. The amber, porter, whiskey barrel coffee stout, Irish stout, and the Scottish all had something wrong with them. A very sour aftertaste. It was exactly the same taste for all. I suspect the serving lines were contaminated. If I'm in the area again I'll try it again.

(03/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Watson Brothers Bistro and Brewery, Blue Ash, OH

I stopped in on 1/15/2006 for a quick beer and lunch. There was not one car in the parking lot. A big white sign on the door explained they they were indeed open but for some reason had lost their liquor license. They were not able to sell any alcoholic beverages. Hmmm, a brewpub that can't sell beer?? Not a good business strategy. We didn't bother to go in. Instead we went off in search of the Barrelhouse Brewery. It was also closed.

Jim Kirk

(01/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Terre Haute Brewing Company and Tap Room, Terre Haute, IN

This is a wonderfully historic old brewing building. It's the original site of the Terre Haute Brewing Company that was started in the 1800's. The beers were cleanly brewed. No off flavors detected, however none were exceptional. The Champagne Velvet reminded me of a beer from the 60's, perhaps a Carling Black Label. I preferred the Velvet Amber while my wife liked the Champagne Velvet. They were out of the pale ale. The bartender told me the original brewer had gone and right now they were just trying to hang on with the 4 standard beers. Any brewers looking for work?? They also had a bock beer. Nothing special. The Budvar clone was nice, but again, nothing special. We also tried their root beer. It was very good. Friday nights they have half price appetizers. For the money they were all very good. Wonderful brewery memorabilia adorn the walls and showcases. That alone is worth the trip! We will stop back.

(01/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Turoni's Pizzery and Brewery, Evansville, IN

My wife and I really liked this place. We stopped in for lunch. The beers were all very good. Very clean, no off flavors. Pretty close to style. My wife liked Vinny's Light Lager, which is strange for her. She usually likes very bitter beers. I liked the Blue Eyed Moose IPA. I could use a little more bittering up front, but the hop aftertaste was wonderful. We both liked the winter ale, but it was 9.2%! so we decided not to have a pint of that as we had to drive by to Indianapolis. We both had the stromboli. It was very good. Nicely spiced and good portions for the price. We will definitely go back.

(01/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good Lousy

Establishment: Texas Cattle Company Border Grill and Brewery, Macon, GA

The food was Ok, but nothing special. The beers all were watered down and lacking in flavor for any style. I ordered a sampler tray of their beers. There were 5 beers. They brought me a tray with 5 shot glasses on it. Most of the shot glasses were less than half full, not really enough to even get a taste of the beers. For this they charged me $8.95! I'm used to at least getting kissed before a good screwing! Do yourself a favor, go somewhere else for beers.

(11/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Gettysbrew, Gettysburg, PA

My wife and I couldn't believe this place was as bad as the reviews would let on. It was worse! We were the only ones in the place and the waitress asked if we had a reservation. Of course we didn't, but she thought she could squeeze us in :-) We ordered the sampler. She seemed really proud of the beers. Every single one was bad. Not just bad, but infected as if they had never cleaned their equipment! We could only take one sip of each brew. More than that would have made us lose it. One reviewer was right. I've thrown out batches of beer that were better than these guys proudly served!

(08/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

My wife and I stopped in recently. We got the sampler. All of the beers were true to style and very flavorful. The food was excellent. We sure miss that habanero lime salsa though!

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So

Establishment: Bluegrass Brewing, Louisville, KY

My wife and I visited recently. We've been going to this place since they opened. I'm not sure what happened, or when, but the quality of beers has definitely gone downhill. We got the sampler and all beers were thin and watery. They had a huge selection, but none of them stood out. The food was very good, but the waiter was nowhere to be found whenever we needed something. I hope they get their act together. It used to be great.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Portsmouth Brewing Company/Mault's Brewpub, Portsmouth, OH

Technically speaking, there was nothing wrong with the beer. Not light struck. No infections or after tastes. They just tasted as if they were watered down. No flavor. I sampled all of the beers and found them all to be fairly tasteless. The selection was good. The food was great! If I'm in town again I'd give them another try.

(03/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

I have a nice photo of the fron of this place, but for some reason the system won't let me. Anyone know why?

(08/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Browning's Brewery, Louisville, KY

Didn't make it into the place. Finally figured out it's inside the stadium. Even though the stadium appears closed you can still get in to the pub. Go in the entrance on the north side as though you were going to park in the stadium parking lot. The sign up said "Sorry, lot full". It was all very confusing. If they want folks to show up, they need more signs showing people where to park and enter. I'll try it again next time I visit Louisville.

(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Cumberland Brews, Louisville, KY

We love this place. The wait staff are so sweet. The food is great. Try the habenero lime salsa! All beers are great. My favorite is the pale. Very hoppy!

(08/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

We visited in March 2002. The beers were pretty good and true to styles. The alt beer seemed to have a bit of a metallic after taste. The food was very good. Our waitress, Michelle from Detroit, was very nice. The service was good. They had a nice jazz band performing just inside the door.

I had 2 complaints. 1. They advertised 2 for 1 beer specials during happy hour. What they don't tell you is that is only if you are sitting in the bar. We had dinner and thought we were getting the 2 for 1 deal. We were quite surprised when we got the bill.

2. They refused to cash a $50 travellers check. They were doing a bang up business, so unless everyone was paying with credit cards they should have had loads of cash sitting around. I know our bill was way over $50. Did I mention the 2 for 1 beer screw up??

Somwhere I have a photo I took of the front of the place. I'll upload it when I get some time.

Overall I liked the place and would return.

(03/26/2002)














(0.092 seconds) 04:55:38 54.198.74.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS