PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from jim killalea
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 31, 2014 @ 12:38 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
jim killalea

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from jim killalea
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good So So Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: The Maine Beer Company, Portland, ME

quasi new kids on the block, but the result is terrific beer. standards are peeper and zoe but others such as mean old tom et al are sure to please. signature hops (citra?) alwyas set these guys apart. fresh, crisp, yummy!

(09/03/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good N/A

Establishment: Novare Res Bier Cafe, Portland, ME

top spot in the region for beer; hands down. glb stands proud with quantity, but novare stands above for quality. in truth, they're different destinations. i hate to go high/low brow here, but that's the essence. glb is lots of good beer, reasonably priced with decent vittles. novare is lots of great beer (some not so well priced and some suprisingly cheap) with muddling victuals. plus, novare's in the old port with a good patio (albeit no view, but brian boru has the only "view" in town) which always trumps the hassle of dealing with forest ave. i love them both, but prefer novare, and then spin over to thirsty pig for house made sausages and more good beer.

(09/03/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So N/A

Establishment: Prost International Tap House, Portland, ME

someone need to purge this site. this is yet another establishment that was dead on arrival. it sported a great beer selection but was destined to fail by miserable staff/management. it lasted a short while and is very closed.

(09/03/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Stone Coast Brewing Company, Portland, ME

i did have and like the 420 when it existed, but alas stone coast is no longer. i believe it survived a while under contract at shipyard but has since gone belly up. i've heard rumors that it may soon be resurrected (under new name most likely) with the original recipes, but only time will tell.

(09/03/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Kennebec Brewing Company, Gardiner, ME

not a well operated establishment and this is evidenced by their closure. hate to see any brewing location disappear, but that's how it goes.

(09/03/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

do i even need to review this mecca? yes, i've stated elsewhere that dewey's is the place for beer in the old port, but the bear is king of portland. maine beers are always represented as are many from away. brewer's/special pint nights. good, unpretentious victuals. how can you go wrong? well, you might never find a place to park, but ...

(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ebenezer Kezars Pub, Lovell, ME

once you find the place it's an absolute gem! great belgians rarely seen elsewhere both on tap and bottled. tight but friendly bar. i can only imagine a warm night with the screened room open for business. i only wish i hadn't already eaten before i showed up. granted, it was a very good steak down the road at bray's but i had to pass on the prime rib special here! it's off the beaten path, but it's worth the trip. the fun only begins with the journey.

(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Three Dollar Dewey's, Portland, ME

is there a better place for a brewski in the old port? i think not. always a multitude of well-kept beers at most reasonable rates. even better, you might be lucky enough to have friendly pour from lovely AND knowledgeable lass. a fine way to start (pause, fininsh..) the evening, and every stop through includes at least one foray through the doors at dew's. i've never been isnpired to eat there, but who needs food when you have beer!?

(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Brian Boru, Portland, ME

decent beer variety-downstairs taps are more plentiful. great mix in the crowd and just lots of fun especially with a band playing upstairs on a good night with the roof deck open. always worth a trip.

(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's Freeport Original Brewpub, Freeport, ME

let me just say: i LOVE gritty's in the old port. freeport-not so much. the beer's always good, but this location is clearly catering to the shopping crowd with tykes in tow. now it's nice to see a community partner that embraces (yields to) the masses, but not when it comes to a watering hole. granted, i haven't been in for quite a while, but the last visit was so distressing that i fear to return. a message to a fellow UofR alum (and you know who you are), shopping soccer moms be damned, import a bit o' the old port.

(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So

Establishment: Sea Dog Brewery, Topsham, ME

As much as I hate to blast a local establishment (as sea hag soon shall be), this is a significant disappointment. the only plus is the deck if you're fortunate enough to get out there. the beer is mediocre, the menu uninspiring, the environment unfriendly (and far too kid friendly), and the service sketchy at best. a plea to you sea dog: find a personality to infuse both your beer and your bar. rise up from the family-friendly brew-stop for the tourist hordes and become a worthy tenant of a prime location and representative of the generally quality maine beer family. it's understandable that you followed the cash; gritty's made the same mistake in freeport. adapt. overcome.

(08/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Molly Darcy's Traditional Irish Pub and Grill, Danbury, CT

Really not worth the visit. Food is overpriced, standard pub grub. Cook burned the server's meal: shepherd's pie. How do mess up shepherd's pie!? Taps were pretty limited and didn't even get a good guinness pour. It might be fun with enetrtainment since the place is quite large, but I won't be back.

(05/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: One Front Street, Bethel, CT

This place has closed. it is now "the spot". it's relevance as a "beer place" has yet to be reestablished.

(05/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

First off-English style ales, so don't expect anything to knock your socks off (in my humble opinion). Second, though the first note is true, there are some creative offerings here (vanilla, cherry, etc) even if the results are a bit too subtle. Lastly, the brews are reasonably priced and I experienced none of the nastiness of the other posters-I found the bartender and patrons to be very friendly. I actually only planned to stop in for a pint and wound up closing the place.

(05/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Elmwood Inn, Rochester, NY

i've stumbled in AND out of this place on many occasions while at the UofR many moons ago. they did have some darn good wings and sunday/monday night specials (nickel/dime wings; free pitchers w/wing orders, etc). granted, it's the only game in town, so to speak, for walking distance to campus (Distillery doesn't count). i'd like to see what it's like today and hope they haven't undone what was right!

(10/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Gasthof zur Gemutlichkeit, Minneapolis, MN

It's not possible to have a bad time here! Granted, it's not cheap, but what IS in this town!? The beer's good and plentiful; likewise the food and the waitresses are overworked but thoughtful-on my last visit I was presented with a free dessert to make up for slow service that I thought was fine! small token, but it's the little things that leave lasting impressions. Thanks. When you've had your fill, grab a snuff and head downstairs for more. yeah, the food's a little vanilla, but it's still good and plentiful. just reach for the boot and wash it down!

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: Patrick McGovern's Pub and Restaurant, Saint Paul, MN

a good upstairs room; literally night and day between the down (night) and up (day) bars. however-guinness in a plastic cup! shame on you!

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Sargent Preston's Saloon and Eatery, Minneapolis, MN

no. no. oh yeah, no. many taps, nothing special, pricey, flat. did i mention no?

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Minneapolis, MN

I was pleasantly surprised to find that this chain brewpub was not awful. i stopped in for a couple pints waiting for some friends and it wasn't half bad. it was early, and i might not have the same opinion if i had to fight for a beer, but i'll likely return.

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Great Waters Brewing Company, Saint Paul, MN

you're trying to hard to be hip. the twin cities already has way too much of that attitude.

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rosen's City Tavern was District Warehouse Brewing, Minneapolis, MN

Does this place really exist? I've gone in but have never seen anything but regular taps (no house brews). Of course, that's probably a good thing based on the revies found here.

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Granite City Food and Brewery, Saint Cloud, MN

Beautiful interior, cute duck pond, decent beer but PLEASE don't serve the beer so cold! that works ok for a pils on a hot day, but not for a stout on ANY day. there also seemed to be a distinct lack of life to all selections (head, depth, body, mouth, pick it) but it still beats a bud!

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Vine Park Brewing Company, Saint Paul, MN

Only a handful of options, but the stout is pretty tasty. They recently had a very good heffe as well. I only sampled some lack-luster app's. they unfortunately suffer from twin-cities chic-all promise and no substance. definitely worth stopping by for a pop especially if you're in town for a wild game, but don't believe the BOTS-it's NOT the best of the twin cities, for that you'll have to hit town hall. There's also a brew-on-site operation but WAY too expensive. I suggest that the brewing room be vented into the bar-but I love the smell of boiling wort, that's just me.

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So Good

Establishment: Sherlock's Home, Minnetonka, MN

The beer is good but nothing to write home about. The same can be said of the food. Service is patchy away from the bar itself so sit there or pray. Don't expect the waitstaff to help; I don't think they can be bothered. French attitude in an English pub is not a good combo. I've not ventured into the main room staying near the bar where I feel more at home. I suppose that's where it gets really bad (as noted by several other reviewers). Strangely though, it still all seems to add up. Perhaps I keep returning because it's the only place I've found a real bristle dartboard in the state of MN!

(10/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: O'Hara's Brew Pub and Restaurant, Saint Cloud, MN

This is probably not a bad place to hang out. It's certainly roomy. But, this is a pub that has house beer. Though the bartender was pleasant he was certainly not beer-knowledgable. The beer was drinkable but forgettable. Give the brewing some effort and you might be on to something; you can never have too much good beer but we already have too much bad stuff.

(10/23/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.15 seconds) 12:38:41 54.204.142.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS